DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “the seal base defining a shape being an open curve in the shape of a spiral” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" in line 8 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 3 and 4 are indefinite in that the phrase “a fat end” is unclear. The phrase lacks antecedent basis in the specification and as such the examiner has no guidance as to what Applicant means by “fat end”. For examination purposes, the examiner will consider the alternative limitation “not being rotationally symmetric”.
Claim 10 and 13 recite the limitation "the first angle" inline 2 of each claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The recitation “the seal base comprising a seal opening” is substantially the same as “the seal base having a seal opening” recited in claim as both transitional phrase “having” and “comprising” are both open-ended transitional phrases. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ooka et al. (EP 0468058).
With regards to claim 1, Ooka et al. discloses a seal 10 for sealing a space between a sewer system and a repair assembly at a junction of a main pipeline and a lateral pipeline (col. 1, lines 11-13. Further, the recitation is an intended use recitation. As it has been held, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim), the seal comprising a seal base 20 having a first side for facing the sewer system (side with lips 22) and a second side opposite the first side for facing the repair assembly (fig. 1), the seal having a seal opening (opening that starts from the top as seen in the figures), and a lip 18 protruding from the seal base, the lip comprising a flexible material or a compressible material (col. 6, lines 8-16 and 54-56). Regarding the recitation “the lip being in a first state when no external force is exerted on the seal and the lip being in a second state when external force is exerted on the seal, such that pressure exerted on the seal by fluid flowing from outside or inside the sewer system reinforces the sealing during intended operational use of the seal”, Applicant should note that because Ooka et al. anticipates the claimed seal, its seal will also meet the recited functional language.
Regarding claim 2, see the figures.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, column 6, lines 17-18 and the figures.
Regarding claim 8, see figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 9, see lips 22.
Regarding claim 10, see figures 1 and 2. Because the lips are depicted as having the same angle, it follows that an angle of the second lip is no more than 25% different than the first angle.
Regarding claim 12, see figure 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooka et al. in view of KR’462 (KR2020180002462).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Ooka et al. discloses a seal as shown above. Although Ooka et al. does not explicitly disclose the seal base having an annular oval shape not being rotationally symmetric however, it is known to form such seal base in an annular oval shape not being rotationally symmetric as attested by KR’462, see figures 3 and 7. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the seal base of the seal of Ooka et al in an annular oval shape not being rotationally symmetric, in light of the teachings of KR’462, as is known in the art.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, see figures 8B and 8A of KR’462 respectively.
Regarding claim 13, see figure 8B.
Regarding claim 14, see figures 8A and 8B of KR’462.
Regarding claim 15, see figure 8A of KR’462.
Claim(s) 6, as best understood by the examiner, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooka et al.
Ooka et al. discloses a seal as shown above. Although Ooka et al. does not specifically disclose the seal base defining a shape being an open curve in the shape of a spiral however, having the seal base define a shape being an open curve in the shape of a spiral is an obvious matter of design choice that will depend on the shape of the damage to be repaired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746