DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/836,548 filed on 08/07/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 08/07/2024, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-20 are pending.
-Claims 1-11, 13-20 are rejected.
-Claim 12 is objected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/CN2022/076077, filed 02/11/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 2, 6, 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Regarding Claim 2 - Claim 2 recites “wherein the detected resource collision for the second reserved resource”, where to avoid questions of ambiguity, claim 2 is interpreted as intended to possibly recite “wherein the detected resource collision” is “for the second reserved resource”, based upon possible and related parallel claim recitations and claim subject matter utilized in dependent claim 18 presented.
Should applicant contend otherwise and for verification, applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted. Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible.
B. Claims 6, 7 both recite instances of terms “(pre)configured”. Utilization of parenthesis i.e. “(pre)” in the terms “(pre)configured” can be interpreted as “pre”“configured” and “configured” as being equivalent substitutes for each other, or as “pre”“configured” or “configured” utilized possibly in the alternative, or possibly even as both “pre”“configured” and “configured as considered together, etc. Questions are raised as to what applicant’s objective is for the terms “(pre)configured”, including which one of many possible interpretations resulting from the utilization of “(pre)” in the terms “(pre)configured” is the objective of the applicant. For the purposes of examination utilization of the parenthesis i.e. “(pre)” interpreted as “pre”“configured” or “configured” presented in the alternative an not required together.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to utilize descriptive word recitations in place of utilization of the parenthesis i.e. “(pre)”, to appropriately address questions raised and avoid any potential issues with reflecting applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 1-13, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Claims 1, 2, 3, 8, 17 (Utilizing Claim 1 as an example representing claims, 2, 3, 8, 17) – Claim 1 recites each of terms “the received first SCI format payload” and “the detected resource collision”, for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the received first SCI format payload” and “the detected resource collision”) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “received first SCI format payload” or “detected resource collision”. While “the received first SCI format payload” and “the detected resource collision” appear associated with “receive from a second UE a first sidelink control information (SCI) format payload” and “detect resource collision” respectively, there appears to be no preceding recitation of “received first SCI format payload” or “detected resource collision” introduced for provision of antecedent basis, and as such, this office action respectfully contends there is a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the received first SCI format payload” and “the detected resource collision” in Claim 1 find antecedent basis.
Claim 17 recites similar features and is subject to the same issues identified. Furthermore claims 2, 3, 8, recite at least “the detected resource collision” and are subject to similar issues associated as noted herein above.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Claim 12 recites of terms “the PSFCH for HARQ”, for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. the PSFCH for HARQ), without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “PSFCH for HARQ”. While preceding recitation “the PSFCH sequence for HARQ” in claim 11 from which claim 12 depends, appears associated with “the PSFCH for HARQ” in claim 12, there appears to be no preceding recitation of “PSFCH for HARQ” introduced for provision of antecedent basis. Furthermore two separate recitations of “HARQ” in (1) “the PSFCH sequence for HARQ” in claim 11 and later (2) in “the PSFCH for HARQ” in claim 12, raises questions as to whether the “HARQ” in claim 11 provides antecedent basis for the “HARQ” in claim 12, or whether the “HARQ” in claim 12 references a separate instance of “HARQ” different from the “HARQ” in claim 11. As such, this office action respectfully contends there is a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the PSFCH for HARQ” in Claim 12 finds antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
C. Regarding Claims 2-13, 18-20, which depend from respective independent claims 1, 17, these claims (Claims 2-13, 18-20) are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph at least via dependency to the respective independent claims.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
9. Claims 1- 10, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO et al. (US 20240349327 A1) i.e. “GUO”, in view of Ganesan et al. (US 20240057121 A1) i.e. “Ganesan”.
Regarding Claim 1. GUO teaches: A user equipment (UE) (GUO – FIG. 2 & FIG. 6 & ¶0075 […] reference number 602, the first UE may receive SCI (e.g., SCI-1 and/or SCI-2) from multiple UEs including the second UE. The SCI may indicate a resource reservation for an upcoming sidelink transmission. For example, SCI transmitted by the second UE may indicate resource reservations for upcoming sidelink transmissions by the second UE; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0075 i.e. the first UE reads on: A user equipment (UE) ),
comprising: a transceiver; and a processor configured to (GUO & FIG. 2 & ¶0044 […] the UE 120 includes a transceiver […] The transceiver may be used by a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 280) and the memory 282 ; ¶0046 […] the controller/processor 280 of the UE 120; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0046 i.e. The transceiver reads on: comprising: a transceiver; Per ¶0044 i.e. used by a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 280) i.e. to perform aspects reads on: and a processor configured to ) :
receive from a second UE a first sidelink control information (SCI) format payload identifying a number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE (GUO FIG. 6 & FIG. 7 & ¶0075 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0075 i.e. 602 the first UE may receive SCI i.e. SCI transmitted by the second UE reads on: receive from a second UE . Furthermore i.e. 602 the first UE may receive SCI i.e. SCI transmitted reads on: a first sidelink control information (SCI) format payload which per ¶0075 indicates i.e. resource reservations for upcoming sidelink transmissions reads on: identifying a number of resources reserved . Per ¶0075 i.e. SCI transmitted by the second UE may indicate resource reservations for upcoming i.e. sidelink transmissions by the second UE reads on: for transmission by the second UE );
based on the received first SCI format payload and one or more resources selected by the UE for transmission (GUO FIG. 6 & FIG. 7 & ¶0077 […] the SCI transmitted by the second UE may indicate an upcoming transmission, and the first UE may determine that the upcoming transmission of the second UE may conflict with an upcoming transmission of the first UE […] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0077 i.e. the SCI transmitted by the second UE may indicate an upcoming transmission reads on: based on the received first SCI format payload . Furthermore per ¶0077 i.e. and the first UE may determine that the upcoming transmission of the second UE may conflict with i.e. an upcoming transmission of the first UE reads on: and one or more resources selected by the UE for transmission ),
detect resource collision corresponding to the one or more resources of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE (GUO FIG. 6 & FIG. 7 & ¶0076 […] reference number 604, the first UE may select, from multiple resource conflict indications derived from the multiple SCIs, a resource conflict indication […] ; ¶0077 See above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0076 i.e. reference number 604, the first UE may select, from multiple resource conflict indications and ¶0077 i.e. and the first UE may i.e. determine that the upcoming transmission of the second UE may conflict reads on: detect resource collision with i.e. an upcoming transmission of the first UE reads on: corresponding to the one or more resources, and where per ¶077 i.e. an upcoming transmission of the first UE, which may conflict with or overlap i.e. the SCI transmitted by the second UE may indicate an upcoming transmission reads on: of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE i.e. the transmission of the first UE conflicts or overlaps the transmission resources of the second UE and therefor is of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE);
and in response to the detected resource collision, send a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) to the second UE for inter-UE coordination (IUC) of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE (GUO FIG. 6 & FIG. 7 (See block 730) & ¶0069 […] The first UE may transmit, via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict. […] the indication may indicate a presence of an expected/potential resource conflict on resources indicated by the second UE's SCI. The first UE may transmit the indication using a container/signaling format. The container/signaling format may be associated with a PSFCH-like signaling, a sidelink control information stage 1 (SCI-1), a sidelink control information stage 2, or a PSFCH. ; ¶0076 See above; ¶0081 […] reference number 606, the first UE may transmit, to at least one of the multiple UEs including the second UE, the resource conflict indication in accordance with a transmission power level; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: subsequent to per ¶0076 i.e. reference number 604 select, from multiple resource conflict indications reads on: and in response to the detected resource collision, per ¶0081 i.e. reference number 606, the first UE may transmit, to at least one of the multiple UEs including the second UE, the resource conflict indication, combined with per ¶0069 i.e. The first UE may transmit, via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict, i.e. using a container/signaling format, which is i.e. a PSFCH reads on: send a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) per ¶0081 i.e. the first UE may transmit, to at least one of the multiple UEs including the second UE reads on: to the second UE, where per ¶0069 i.e. The first UE may transmit, via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict reads on: for inter-UE coordination (IUC) , where per ¶0081 i.e. reference number 606, the first UE may transmit, to at least one of the multiple UEs including the second UE, the resource conflict indication and per the conflict information comprises ¶0077 i.e. the upcoming transmission of the second UE may conflict with an upcoming transmission of the first UE and per ¶0069 i.e. The first UE may transmit, via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict. i.e. the indication may indicate a presence of an expected/potential resource conflict on resources indicated by the second UE's SCI reads on: of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE ).
While GUO in teaches a number of resources as noted above where resource reservations indicates or implies a number, assuming arguendo GUO implies a number and therefore i.e.,
GUO (i.e. assuming arguendo) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (GUO implies i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): a number;
Ganesan teaches (i.e. specific to claim elements to be combined as referenced above pertaining to GUO): receive from a second UE a first sidelink control information (SCI) format payload identifying a number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE (Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0082 […] exemplary message flow of a procedure 200 for indicating a sidelink resource conflict using a feedback channel, according to embodiments of the first solution; ¶0083 […] at Step 1a as the UE-B 210 sends SCI on Physical Sidelink Control Channel (“PSCCH”) to the UE-A 205 (see messaging 215). Here, the SCI contains an indication of future resources that are reserved for future transmissions; ¶0098 Tx UE can perform resource (re)selection trigger or reselect another resource from the candidate set only when the PSFCH feedback arrives at or before resource (re)evaluation timeline/deadline which is m-T3 defined in 3GPP 38.213, where T3 is the time required to reselect the resource and m is the transmission time slot of the reserved resource; ¶0100 […] In a first slot, the Rx UE (e.g., UE-A 205) receives SCI 405 carrying an initial transmission and two reservations of future resources, i.e., at slot 410 and slot 415; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0100 i.e. the Rx UE (e.g., UE-A 205) receives SCI 405 reads on: receive i.e. per the first solution which is applied to FIG. 4 per ¶0083 i.e. the UE-B 210 sends SCI reads on: from a second UE, furthermore per ¶0100 i.e. the Rx UE (e.g., UE-A 205) receives SCI 405 carrying an initial transmission and two reservations of future resources, i.e., at slot 410 and slot 415 reads on: a first sidelink control information (SCI) format payload. Furthermore per ¶0100 i.e. the Rx UE (e.g., UE-A 205) receives SCI 405 carrying an initial transmission and i.e. two reservations of future resources, i.e., at slot 410 and slot 415 reads on: identifying a number of resources reserved for transmission per ¶0083 UE-B 210 sends SCI and per ¶0100 carrying an initial transmission and two reservations of future resources and per ¶0098 i.e. m is the transmission time slot of the reserved resource reads on: by the second UE );
based on the received first SCI format payload, detect resource collision corresponding to the one or more resources of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE(Ganesan - FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0082 See above; ¶0083 See above; ¶0098 See above; ¶0100 See above; ¶0101 […] At a time after reception of the SCI with the initial transmission, the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 420 carrying HARQ feedback for the initial transmission. At a time prior to the first of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 410), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 425 carrying conflict indication feedback for the first occurring of the reserved resources. At a time prior to the second of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 415), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 430 carrying conflict indication feedback for the second occurring of the reserved resources. Time slot offset (time gap) could be (pre)-configured per resource pool or dynamically indicated in the SCI 405. Multiple feedback occasions can be configured and each of the feedback occasion corresponds to a reserved resource. Time gap between the feedback and the reserved resource may be before or at m-T3 for each of the feedback occasion;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. after reception of the SCI with the initial transmission reads on: based on the received first SCI format payload per ¶0101 i.e. At a time prior to the first of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 410), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 425 carrying conflict indication feedback for the first occurring of the reserved resources and i.e. At a time prior to the second of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 415), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 430 carrying conflict indication feedback for the second occurring of the reserved resources reads on: detect resource collision corresponding to the one or more resources of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE );
and in response to the detected resource collision, send a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) to the second UE for inter-UE coordination (IUC) of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE (Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0077 […] PSFCH occasion is derived by a slot where expected/potential resource conflict occurs on PSSCH resource indicated by UE-B's SCI. In this option, the UE-A transmits the PSFCH in a latest slot that includes PSFCH resources for inter-UE coordination information and is at least T3 slots of the resource pool before the PSSCH resource indicated by UE-B's SCI in which expected/potential resource conflict occurs; ¶0082 See above; ¶0083 See above; ¶0085 […] At Step 2, the UE-A 205 determines a whether a resource conflict exists for the indicated future resources that are reserved for future transmissions (see block 225). In one embodiment, the resource conflict may be a time-domain collision (half-duplex problem). ;¶0098 See above; ¶0100 See above; ¶0101 See above;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the first solation per ¶0085 i.e. At Step 2, the UE-A 205 determines a whether a resource conflict exists for the indicated future resources that are reserved for future transmissions reads on: and in response to the detected resource collision , and furthermore as also applied to the first solution per ¶0101 i.e. At a time prior to the first of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 410), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 425 carrying conflict indication feedback for the first occurring of the reserved resources and i.e. At a time prior to the second of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 415), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 430 carrying conflict indication feedback for the second occurring of the reserved resources reads on: send a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) to the second UE where per ¶0077 the UE-A transmits the PSFCH in a latest slot that includes PSFCH resources for inter-UE coordination information reads on: for inter-UE coordination (IUC) and is at least T3 slots of the resource pool before the PSSCH resource indicated by UE-B's SCI in which expected/potential resource conflict occurs. Furthermore per ¶0100 i.e. the Rx UE (e.g., UE-A 205) receives SCI 405 carrying an initial transmission and i.e. two reservations of future resources, i.e., at slot 410 and slot 415 reads on: of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO with teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication, to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 2. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 1,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE includes a first reserved resource and a second reserved resource (Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0082 See claim 1; ¶0098 See claim 1; ¶0100 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0100 i.e. the Rx UE (e.g., UE-A 205) receives SCI 405 carrying an initial transmission and i.e. two reservations of future resources, i.e., at slot 410 and slot 415 reads on: wherein the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE includes a first reserved resource and a second reserved resource),
and wherein the detected resource collision for the second reserved resource, and the second reserved resource is used for transmission of a transport block (TB) later in time after the first reserved resource (Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0044 […]ACK means that a Transport Block (“TB”)—also referred to as a “packet”—is correctly received while NACK (or NAK) means a TB is erroneously received; ¶0077 See claim 1; ¶0082 See claim 1; ¶0083 See claim 1; ¶0085 See claim 1;¶0098 See claim 1; ¶0100 See claim 1; ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the first solution per ¶0101 i.e. At a time prior to the second of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 415), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 430 carrying conflict indication feedback for the second occurring of the reserved resources reads on: and the second reserved resource where per ¶0085 i.e. the indicated future resources that are reserved for future transmissions (see block 225) reads on: is used for transmission of a transport block (TB) where per ¶0044 it is well known in prior art that transmissions involve at least a TB such as initial transmission corresponding to FIG. 4 feedback 425 i.e. TB on initial transmission and likewise TBs carried on 410 and 415. Per FIG. 4 & ¶0101 depicting i.e. where Slot 415 i.e. after slot 410 reads on: later in time after the first reserved resource .
Note: Prior art GUO also teaches reiterates that resources reserved is used for transmission of a transport block - see ¶0051 […] the PSCCH may carry SCI, which may indicate various control information used for sidelink communications, such as one or more resources (e.g., time resources, frequency resources, and/or spatial resources) where a transport block (TB) may be carried on the PSSCH. The TB may include data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 3. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 2,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to send the PSFCH to the second UE before the first reserved resource in response to the detected resource collision (Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0077 See claim 1; ¶0082 See claim 1; ¶0083 See claim 1; ¶0085 See claim 1;¶0098 See claim 1; ¶0100 See claim 1; ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the first solution per ¶0101 i.e. At a time prior to the first of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 410), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 425 carrying conflict indication feedback for the first occurring of the reserved resources reads on: wherein the processor is further configured to send the PSFCH to the second UE . Furthermore Per FIG. 4 & ¶0101 depicting i.e. PSFCH 420 is before Slot 410 reads on: before the first reserved resource . Furthermore i.e. as applied to the first solation per ¶0085 i.e. At Step 2, the UE-A 205 determines a whether a resource conflict exists for the indicated future resources that are reserved for future transmissions reads on: in response to the detected resource collision).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 4. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 2,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to send the PSFCH to the second UE after the first reserved resource and before the second reserved resource(Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0077 See claim 1; ¶0082 See claim 1; ¶0083 See claim 1; ¶0085 See claim 1;¶0098 See claim 1; ¶0100 See claim 1; ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the first solution per ¶0101 i.e. At a time prior to the second of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 415), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 430 carrying conflict indication feedback for the second occurring of the reserved resources reads on: wherein the processor is further configured to send the PSFCH to the second UE. Furthermore Per FIG. 4 & ¶0101 depicting i.e. PSFCH 430 is after Slot 410 and prior to the second of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 415) reads on: after the first reserved resource and before the second reserved resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 5. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 2,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein the first reserved resource and the second reserved resource each is used for transmission of a same TB (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
different TBs (Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0077 See claim 1; ¶0082 See claim 1; ¶0083 See claim 1; ¶0085 See claim 1;¶0098 See claim 1; ¶0100 See claim 1; ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0085 i.e. the indicated future resources that are reserved for future transmissions (see block 225) reads on: wherein the first reserved resource and the second reserved resource each is used for transmission of different TBs. Note: See claim 2 - ¶0044 it is well known in prior art that transmissions involve at least a TB such as initial transmission corresponding to FIG. 4 feedback 425 i.e. TB on initial transmission and likewise TBs carried on 410 and 415 i.e. future transmissions or separate or different corresponding TBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 6. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 2,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to send the PSFCH to the second UE for IUC a (pre)configured or predefined number of periods before the second reserved resource for which the resource collision is detected(Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0077 See claim 1; ¶0082 See claim 1; ¶0083 See claim 1; ¶0085 See claim 1;¶0098 See claim 1; ¶0100 See claim 1; ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the first solution per ¶0101 i.e. At a time prior to the second of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 415), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 430 carrying conflict indication feedback for the second occurring of the reserved resources reads on: wherein the processor is further configured to send the PSFCH to the second UE for IUC. Furthermore per ¶0098 i.e. Tx UE can perform resource (re)selection trigger or reselect another resource from the candidate set only when the PSFCH feedback arrives at or before resource (re)evaluation timeline/deadline which is m-T3 defined in 3GPP 38.213, where T3 is the time required to reselect the resource i.e. a period of at least T3 before m reads on: a (pre)configured or predefined number of periods before, furthermore per ¶0098 i.e. and m is the transmission time slot of the reserved resource i.e. to slot 415 as applied reads on: the second reserved resource for which the resource collision is detected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 7. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 6,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein the (pre)configured or predefined number of periods is one period(Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0077 See claim 1; ¶0082 See claim 1; ¶0083 See claim 1; ¶0085 See claim 1;¶0098 See claim 1; ¶0100 See claim 1; ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0098 i.e. Tx UE can perform resource (re)selection trigger or reselect another resource from the candidate set only when the PSFCH feedback arrives at or before resource (re)evaluation timeline/deadline which is m-T3 defined in 3GPP 38.213, where T3 is the time required to reselect the resource i.e. a period of at least T3 before m as applied to slot 415 m being the time of the time slot reads on: wherein the (pre)configured or predefined number of periods is one period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 8. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 1,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to build and send a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) sequence according to the detected resource collision and the PSFCH to the second UE for the IUC (Ganesan - FIG. 3A & 3B & ¶0077 See claim1; ¶0094 […] In a first implementation of the first solution, multi-bit PSFCH is proposed where first bit carries feedback about the initial transmission and the rest of the bits/last bit carries feedback about the conflict indication for the reserved transmission, […] in Table 1 where one or more dedicated bits are configured to report conflicted indication and SL HARQ-ACK reports. […] TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 […] More bits First bit indicates HARQ-ACK […] Each of the remaining bits indicate conflict indication for the reserved resources - number of remaining bits is equal to the number of reserved resources; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the first solution where per FIG. 3A SCI received and per FIG. 3B PSFCH with Conflict indication transmitted per ¶0094 i.e. the rest of the bits/last bit carries feedback about the conflict indication for the reserved transmission, such as i.e. in Table 1 where one or more dedicated bits are configured to report conflicted indication reads on: wherein the processor is further configured to build and send a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) sequence according to the detected resource collision where per FIG. 3A & 3B depicting conflict sent on PSFCH reads on: and the PSFCH to the second UE. Furthermore per ¶0077 i.e. PSFCH resources for inter-UE coordination and per ¶0094 i.e. configured to report conflicted indication reads on: for the IUC ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 9. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 8,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein the PSFCH sequence identifies at least one resource of the number of resources for which the resource collision is detected in more than one period(Ganesan - FIG. 3A & 3B & ¶0077 See claim1; ¶0094 See claim 8; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the first solution where per FIG. 3A SCI received and per FIG. 3B PSFCH with Conflict indication transmitted per ¶0094 i.e. the rest of the bits/last bit carries feedback about the conflict indication for the reserved transmission, such as i.e. in Table 1 where one or more dedicated bits are configured to report conflicted indication – TABLE 1 i.e. Each of the remaining bits indicate conflict indication for the reserved resources - number of remaining bits is equal to the number of reserved resources reads on: wherein the PSFCH sequence identifies at least one resource of the number of resources for which the resource collision is detected . Furthermore per ¶0098 i.e. Tx UE can perform resource (re)selection trigger or reselect another resource from the candidate set only when the PSFCH feedback arrives at or before resource (re)evaluation timeline/deadline which is m-T3 defined in 3GPP 38.213, where T3 is the time required to reselect the resource i.e. a period of at least T3 before m i.e. for each applicable of more than one reserved resource indicates that mor than one T3 will be applied such as for slot 310 and slot 315 depicted in FIG. 3A reads on: in more than one period ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 10. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 9,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein the PSFCH sequence identifies a resource of the number of resources in a next transmission period(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a reserved resource of the number of resources by the second UE (Ganesan - FIG. 3A & 3B & ¶0077 See claim1; ¶0094 See claim 8; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the first solution where per FIG. 3A SCI received and per FIG. 3B PSFCH with Conflict indication transmitted per ¶0094 i.e. the rest of the bits/last bit carries feedback about the conflict indication for the reserved transmission, such as i.e. in Table 1 where one or more dedicated bits are configured to report conflicted indication – TABLE 1 i.e. Each of the remaining bits indicate conflict indication for the reserved resources - number of remaining bits is equal to the number of reserved resources reads on: wherein the PSFCH sequence identifies a reserved resource of the number of resources by the second UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 13. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 1,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein sending of the PSFCH to the second UE for the IUC is performed based on one or more of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “on one or more of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
UE capabilities(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “on one or more of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
a higher layer configuration of the UE(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “on one or more of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
a resource pool configuration at the UE (Ganesan FIG. 2 , FIG. 3A & FIG. 3B, FIG. 4 ¶0075 […] A resource pool level configuration (or pre-configuration) may use either of the following options:; ¶0077 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 2 & FIG 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 the solutions depicting and per ¶0101 sending conflict information on PSFCH reads on: wherein sending of the PSFCH to the second UE for the IUC is performed , where per ¶0075 i.e. A resource pool level configuration (or pre-configuration) may use per ¶0077 i.e. option 2 where i.e. the UE-A transmits the PSFCH in a latest slot that includes PSFCH resources for inter-UE coordination information and is at least T3 slots of the resource pool before the PSSCH resource reads on: one or more of: a resource pool configuration at the UE i.e. where accordingly i.e. the resource pool before the PSSCH resource indicated by UE-B's SCI in which expected/potential resource conflict occur),
and a specific implementation of the UE(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “on one or more of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 14. GUO teaches: A user equipment (UE) (GUO – FIG. 2 & FIG. 6 & ¶0075 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0075 i.e. the second UE reads on: A user equipment (UE) ,
comprising: a transceiver; and a processor configured to( GUO & FIG. 2 & ¶0044 See claim 1 ; ¶0046 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0046 i.e. The transceiver reads on: comprising: a transceiver; Per ¶0044 i.e. used by a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 280) i.e. to perform aspects reads on: and a processor configured to ):
transmit to a second UE a first sidelink control information (SCI) format payload identifying a number of resources reserved for transmission (GUO FIG. 6 & FIG. 7 & ¶0075 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0075 i.e. 602 the first UE may receive SCI reads on: transmit to a second UE i.e. SCI transmitted by the second UE. Furthermore i.e. 602 the first UE may receive SCI i.e. SCI transmitted reads on: a first sidelink control information (SCI) format payload which per ¶0075 indicates i.e. resource reservations for upcoming sidelink transmissions reads on: identifying a number of resources reserved . Per ¶0075 i.e. SCI transmitted by the second UE may indicate resource reservations for upcoming i.e. sidelink transmissions by the second UE reads on: for transmission);
in response to the first SCI format payload (GUO FIG. 6 & FIG. 7 & ¶0077 […] the SCI transmitted by the second UE may indicate an upcoming transmission, and the first UE may determine that the upcoming transmission of the second UE may conflict with an upcoming transmission of the first UE […] ; ¶0081 See claim1 NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: subsequent to per ¶0076 i.e. reference number 604 select, from multiple resource conflict indications and per ¶0077 i.e. and the first UE may determine that the upcoming transmission of the second UE may conflict with an upcoming transmission of the first UE i.e. in response to the conflict indication identified by the SCI received from the second UE reads on: in response to the first SCI format payload ),
receive a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE for inter-UE coordination (IUC) (GUO FIG. 6 & FIG. 7 (See block 730) & ¶0069 See claim 1; ¶0076 See Claim 1; ¶0081 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0081 i.e. reference number 606, the first UE may transmit, to at least one of the multiple UEs including the second UE, the resource conflict indication, combined with per ¶0069 i.e. The first UE may transmit, via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict, i.e. using a container/signaling format, which is i.e. a PSFCH reads on: receive a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) per ¶0081 i.e. the first UE may transmit, to at least one of the multiple UEs including the second UE reads on: from the second UE, where per ¶0069 i.e. The first UE may transmit, via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict reads on: for inter-UE coordination (IUC) );
and in response to the received PSFCH, detect resource collision for one or more resources of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the UE(GUO FIG. 6 & FIG. 7 (See block 730) & ¶0069 See claim 1; ¶0076 See Claim 1; ¶0081 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0081 i.e. reference number 606, the first UE may transmit, to at least one of the multiple UEs including the second UE, the resource conflict indication, combined with per ¶0069 i.e. The first UE may transmit, via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict, i.e. using a container/signaling format, which is i.e. a PSFCH reads on: and in response to the received PSFCH , per ¶0069 i.e. via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict reads on: detect resource collision for one or more resources of the number of resources, per ¶0077 i.e. the upcoming transmission of the second UE may conflict with reads on: reserved for transmission by the UE i.e. per ¶0077 i.e. with an upcoming transmission of the first UE).
While GUO in teaches a number of resources as noted above where resource reservations indicates or implies a number, assuming arguendo GUO implies a number and therefore i.e.,
GUO (i.e. assuming arguendo) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (GUO implies i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): a number;
Ganesan teaches (i.e. specific to claim elements to be combined as referenced above pertaining to GUO): transmit to a second UE a first sidelink control information (SCI) format payload identifying a number of resources reserved for transmission(Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0082 See Claim 1; ¶0083 See Claim 1; ¶0098 See Claim 1; ¶0100 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0100 i.e. the Rx UE (e.g., UE-A 205) receives SCI 405 reads on: transmit to a second UE the i.e. the Rx UE (e.g., UE-A 205) being the second UE which per the first solution which is applied to FIG. 4 per ¶0083 i.e. the UE-B 210 sends SCI. Furthermore per ¶0100 i.e. the Rx UE (e.g., UE-A 205) receives SCI 405 carrying an initial transmission and two reservations of future resources, i.e., at slot 410 and slot 415 reads on: a first sidelink control information (SCI) format payload. Furthermore per ¶0100 i.e. the Rx UE (e.g., UE-A 205) receives SCI 405 carrying an initial transmission and i.e. two reservations of future resources, i.e., at slot 410 and slot 415 reads on: identifying a number of resources reserved for transmission per ¶0083 UE-B 210 sends SCI and per ¶0100 carrying an initial transmission and two reservations of future resources and per ¶0098 i.e. m is the transmission time slot of the reserved resource);
in response to the first SCI format payload, receive a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) from the second UE for inter-UE coordination (IUC); and in response to the received PSFCH, detect resource collision for one or more resources of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the UE (Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0077 See Claim 1; ¶0082 See Claim 1; ¶0083 See Claim 1; ¶0085 See Claim 1;¶0098 See Claim 1; ¶0100 See Claim 1; ¶0101 See Claim 1; ¶0088 […] Step 4, the UE-B 210 performs resource reselection if the feedback second set of feedback resources indicating the resource conflict (see block 235); ¶0101 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the first solation per ¶0085 i.e. At Step 2, the UE-A 205 determines a whether a resource conflict exists for the indicated future resources that are reserved for future transmissions, which is per ¶0101 i.e. after reception of the SCI i.e. FIG. 2 Step 1b. reads on reads on: in response to the first SCI format payload , and furthermore as also applied to the first solution per ¶0101 i.e. At a time prior to the first of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 410), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 425 carrying conflict indication feedback for the first occurring of the reserved resources and i.e. At a time prior to the second of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 415), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 430 carrying conflict indication feedback for the second occurring of the reserved resources reads on: receive a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) where per ¶0077 the UE-A transmits the PSFCH in a latest slot that includes PSFCH resources for inter-UE coordination information reads on: from the second UE for inter-UE coordination (IUC) . Per ¶0088 i.e. Step 4, the UE-B 210 performs resource reselection if i.e. the feedback second set of feedback resources indicating the resource conflict (see block 235) and per ¶0101 i.e. the Tx UE (e.g., UE-B 210) may decide—based on the conflict indication—to re-select the reserved resource reads on: detect resource collision for one or more resources of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the UE );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO with teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
Regarding Claim 15. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 14,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies similarly to claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the number of resources reserved for transmission includes a first reserved resource and a second reserved resource, the second reserved resource is used for transmission of a transport block (TB) later in time after the first reserved resource(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies similarly to claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 16. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 15,
furthermore Ganesan teaches: wherein the resource collision for the one or more resources of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the UE corresponds to a time slot of a resource for which the resource collision is detected(Ganesan FIG. 2 & FIG. 3A & 3B, FIG. 4 & ¶0077 See claim 1; ¶0082 See claim 1; ¶0083 See claim 1; ¶0085 See claim 1;¶0098 See claim 1; ¶0100 See claim 1; ¶0101 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the first solution per ¶0101 i.e. At a time prior to the second of the reserved resources (i.e., in slot 415), the Rx UE transmits PSFCH 430 carrying conflict indication feedback for the second occurring of the reserved resources reads on: wherein the resource collision for the one or more resources of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the UE where Per FIG. 4 & ¶0101 depicting i.e. where Slot 415 reads on: corresponds to a time slot of a resource for which the resource collision is detected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan, further with the teachings of Ganesan, since Ganesan enables solutions where the feedback channel configuration contains separate bits/separate resources for indicating HARQ-ACK reports and conflict indication to further improve conflict indication for sidelink communication (Ganesan ¶0044).
10. Claims 11, 17 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO in view of Ganesan, further in view of 5G; NR; Physical layer procedures for control (3GPP TS 38.213 version 16.2.0 Release 16) - ETSI TS 138 213 V16.2.0 (2020-07) i.e. “ETSI”.
Regarding Claim 11. GUO in view of Ganesan teaches: The UE of claim 8,
furthermore GUO teaches: wherein the processor is further configured to prioritize the PSFCH sequence for the IUC with the PSFCH sequence for HARQ (GUO ¶0078 See claim 14; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0078 i.e. The first UE may transmit the resource conflict indication in accordance with the priority scheme reads on: : wherein the processor is further configured to prioritize. Furthermore per ¶0078 i.e. the first UE may prioritize HARQ-ACK feedback over expected/potential conflict indications and detected conflict indications reads on: the PSFCH sequence for the IUC with the PSFCH sequence for HARQ),
GUO in view of Ganesan does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): prioritize the PSFCH, an uplink transmission, and a long- term evolution (LTE) sidelink transmission or reception;
ETSI teaches: prioritize the PSFCH with the PSFCH sequence for HARQ, an uplink transmission, and a long- term evolution (LTE) sidelink transmission or reception (ETSI Page 0164 Section 16.2.4.1 Simultaneous NR and E-UTRA transmission/reception […] the UE transmits only the channel/signal with the higher priority as determined by the SCI formats scheduling the transmissions or, in case of a S-SS/PSBCH block or a sidelink synchronization signal using E-UTRA radio access, as indicated by higher layers or, in case of PSFCH, equal to the priority of the corresponding PSSCH.; Page 165 – Section 16.2.4.2 See claim 17 ; Section 16.2.4.3.1 See claim 17 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. PSFCH transmissions in a slot have a same priority value as the smallest priority value among PSSCH receptions with corresponding HARQ-ACK information provided by the PSFCH transmissions in the slot. Reads on: prioritize the PSFCH , i.e. A UE performs prioritization between SL transmissions and UL transmissions reads on: an uplink transmission , 16.2.4.2. i.e. using E-UTRA radio access as applied to 16.2.4.2 i.e. the UE transmits or receives only a set of PSFCHs, and as applied to 16.2.4.3.1 i.e. prioritization between SL transmissions reads on: and a long- term evolution (LTE) sidelink transmission or reception );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan with teachings of ETSI, since ETSI the UE transmits or receives only the channel/signal with the higher priority (ETSI Page 164 Section 16.2.4.1 – Ln 23).
Regarding Claim 17. GUO teaches: A method (GUO – FIG. 2 & FIG. 6 & ¶0075 […] reference number 602, the first UE may receive SCI (e.g., SCI-1 and/or SCI-2) from multiple UEs including the second UE. The SCI may indicate a resource reservation for an upcoming sidelink transmission. For example, SCI transmitted by the second UE may indicate resource reservations for upcoming sidelink transmissions by the second UE; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0075 i.e. reference number 602, the first UE may receive SCI (e.g., SCI-1 and/or SCI-2) from multiple UEs including the second UE reads on: A method),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies similarly to claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)comprising: receiving, at a first user equipment (UE) from a second UE, a first sidelink control information (SCI) format payload identifying a number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE; based on the received first SCI format payload and one or more resources selected by the first UE for transmission, detecting, by the first UE, resource collision corresponding to the one or more resources of the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE; in response to the detected resource collision, transmitting, from the first UE to the second UE, a PSFCH for inter-UE coordination (IUC) notifying the second UE of the detected resource collision (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies similarly to claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
and prioritizing, by the first UE, transmission of the PSFCH for the IUC along transmission of HARQ (GUO ¶0078 […] the first UE may transmit the resource conflict indication to the second UE based at least in part on the SCI received from the second UE. The first UE may transmit the resource conflict indication in accordance with the priority scheme. In some aspects, the first UE may prioritize HARQ-ACK feedback over expected/potential conflict indications and detected conflict indications […]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0078 i.e. The first UE may transmit the resource conflict indication in accordance with the priority scheme reads on: and prioritizing, by the first UE, transmission . Furthermore per ¶0069 i.e. The first UE may transmit, via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict, i.e. using a container/signaling format, which is i.e. a PSFCH reads on: transmission of the PSFCH for the IUC, where per ¶0078 i.e. in accordance with the priority scheme. Where i.e. the first UE may prioritize HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: along transmission of HARQ i.e. over expected/potential conflict indications).
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 1 applies similarly to claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate);
GUO in view of Ganesan does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): prioritizing, transmission of the PSFCH, an uplink transmission, and a sidelink transmission or reception;
ETSI teaches: prioritizing, by the first UE, transmission of the PSFCH along transmission of HARQ, an uplink transmission, and a sidelink transmission or reception (ETSI Page 165 – Section 16.2.4.2 […] If a UE - would transmit […] PSFCHs and receive […] PSFCHs, and - transmissions of the […] PSFCHs would overlap in time with receptions of the […] PSFCHs the UE transmits or receives only a set of PSFCHs corresponding to the smallest priority field value, as determined by a first set of SCI format 1-A and a second set of SCI format 1-A […] ; Section 16.2.4.3.1. […] A UE performs prioritization between SL transmissions and UL transmissions after performing the procedures described in Clause 9.2.5 and in Clause 6.1 of [6, TS 38.214]. PSFCH transmissions in a slot have a same priority value as the smallest priority value among PSSCH receptions with corresponding HARQ-ACK information provided by the PSFCH transmissions in the slot.[…] the SL transmission has higher priority than the UL transmission if a smallest priority value of the SL transmission(s) is smaller than sl-PriorityThresholdULURLLC; otherwise, the UL transmission has higher priority than the SL transmission; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: 16.2.4.3.1 i.e. PSFCH transmissions in a slot have a same priority value as the smallest priority value among PSSCH receptions with corresponding HARQ-ACK information provided by the PSFCH transmissions in the slot reads on: prioritizing, by the first UE, transmission of the PSFCH along transmission of HARQ , 16.2.4.3.1 i.e. A UE performs prioritization between SL transmissions and UL transmissions or i.e. the SL transmission has higher priority than the UL transmission or i.e. the UL transmission has higher priority than the SL transmission reads on: an uplink transmission , 16.2.4.3.1 i.e. prioritization between SL transmissions or 16.2.4.2 i.e. the UE transmits or receives only a set of PSFCHs corresponding to the smallest priority field value reads on: and a sidelink transmission or reception );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of GUO in view of Ganesan with teachings of ETSI, since ETSI the UE transmits or receives only the channel/signal with the higher priority (ETSI Page 164 Section 16.2.4.1 – Ln 23).
Regarding Claim 18. GUO in view of Ganesan and ETSI teaches: The method of claim 17,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies similarly to claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the number of resources reserved for transmission by the second UE includes a first reserved resource and a second reserved resource, and wherein the resource collision is detected for the second reserved resource, the second reserved resource is used for transmission of a transport block (TB) later in time after the first reserved resource(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 2 applies similarly to claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 19. GUO in view of Ganesan and ETSI teaches: The method of claim 18,
(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 3 applies similarly to claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein transmitting the PSFCH for the IUC (GUO ¶0069 i.e. per ¶0069 i.e. The first UE may transmit, via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict, i.e. using a container/signaling format, which is i.e. a PSFCH reads on: transmitting the PSFCH for the IUC; Furthermore Ganesan as combined ¶0077 i.e. PSFCH resources for inter-UE coordination reads on: transmitting the PSFCH for the IUC ) comprises transmitting the PSFCH to the second UE before the first reserved resource in response to detecting the resource collision(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 3 applies similarly to claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. GUO in view of Ganesan and ETSI teaches: The method of claim 18,
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 4 applies similarly to claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein transmitting the PSFCH for the IUC (GUO ¶0069 i.e. per ¶0069 i.e. The first UE may transmit, via the inter-UE coordination information, an indication that indicates the expected resource conflict, i.e. using a container/signaling format, which is i.e. a PSFCH reads on: transmitting the PSFCH for the IUC; Furthermore Ganesan as combined ¶0077 i.e. PSFCH resources for inter-UE coordination reads on: transmitting the PSFCH for the IUC ) comprises transmitting the PSFCH to the second UE after the first reserved resource and before the second reserved resource(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of claim 4 applies similarly to claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 12. The UE of claim 11, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein to prioritize the PSFCH sequence for the IUC, the processor is further configured to: determine a higher priority among the PSFCH sequence for the IUC, the PSFCH sequence for HARQ, the uplink transmission, and the LTE sidelink transmission or reception; and in response to determining that the PSFCH sequence for the IUC has the highest priority, and the PSFCH sequence for IUC overlaps with the PSFCH for HARQ, prioritize the PSFCH for HARQ over the PSFCH for IUC”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
07/30/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414