DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 8, 10-13, 16-18, 22-32 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 23-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner notes that the rejection corresponding to 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), written description, herein appears from Applicant mixing two different embodiments, i.e., embodiment of figure 1D (species IV) and embodiment of figures 1I-1J (species VII).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species VII (claims 23, 25, 26, and 29-32 in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that independent claim 23 is generic to species IV and VII, where they both “[...] include thermal initiators including a thermal source configured to direct thermal energy to implode the implosion chamber. See paras. [0047], [0050], and [0059]-[0064].” Though, Examiner agrees with this statement being true for independent claim 23, Examiner is not persuaded about the statement corresponding to species VIII, IX, X, XI, and XII not being distinct from species IV and VII “[...] as they provide detail to other features not more explicitly described and/or shown in the figures designated as Species IV and VII.” Though the various species in question all relate to having an activation mechanism to cause implosion of an element, they are not obvious variants, but rather distinct as they clearly do not overlap in scope and require separate searches. Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant’s representative failed to provide any specific detail as how the species are not distinct. For prosecution purposes, claims 1, 8, 10-13, 16-18, and 22 are being treated as withdrawn.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "104" and "202" have both been used to designate the same element (see figure 2B). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “thermal initiator” and “thermal source” must be shown in the species VII embodiment or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claimed “thermal initiator” and “thermal source” is suggested to be incorporated in the instant specification corresponding to the species VII embodiment, without adding any new matter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 25 recites: “[...] wherein the thermal source includes a heating element and the heating element is disposed within an outer wall of the implosion chamber.” Applicant indicates that claims 23, 25-26, and 29-32 read on elected to species VII. However, paragraphs [0052-0057] of the instant specification (which support species VII), fail to show support for the limitation, as it appears that the rather the “thermal source” of species VII is outside of the implosion chamber wall, as further shown in figures 1I-1J. Due to claim 25 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), the corresponding dependent claims are also rejected.
Claim 27 recites: “[...] wherein the implosion chamber, the stretchable sleeve, and the non-explosive initiator define an implosion device, and the well completion tool further comprises a sampling device coupled to the implosion device and configured to passively sample surrounding fluids when the implosion device is activated.” There is a lack of support for species VII to act as a sampling device and “passively sample surrounding fluids when the implosion device is activated”. Rather, it appears as if the sampling support is directed to different embodiments, i.e., figures 2-4 and paragraphs [0059-0072]. The claim lacks written description support as the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved. Due to claim 27 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), the corresponding dependent claims are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates et al. (US Publication Number 2008/0236935 A1; herein “Coates”) in view of Saugier (US Publication Number 2003/0106688 A1; herein “Saugier”).
In regard to claim 23, Coates discloses: A well-completion tool (402 — abstract, figure 4, paragraph [0026], and claim 1), comprising:
an implosion chamber (i.e., chamber of 402);
a sleeve (i.e., wellbore casing) surrounding the implosion chamber (Examiner notes that at least paragraphs [0005, 0016-0017] teaches that the implosion devices are to be dropped in wellbore(s) comprising casing which radial surround it); and
a non-explosive initiator (400) configured to implode the implosion chamber, wherein the non-explosive initiator comprises a thermal initiator including a thermal source configured to direct thermal energy to implode the implosion chamber (figure 4 and paragraph [0026]).
However, Coates is silent in regard to: a stretchable sleeve surrounding the implosion chamber.
Nonetheless, Saugier teaches wellbore(s) comprising casing (abstract, paragraphs [0019-0026, 0031, 0033], and figures 1-4), similar to that of Coates, “[...] to isolate the drilling and production fluids from the formation surrounding the casing, thereby preventing loss of these fluids into the formation, cross-contamination of the drilling fluids and formation fluids, and degradation of the surrounding formation” (paragraph [0006] of Saugier). Saugier teaches that the casing can be stretched onto the wellbore wall during installation, via drilling assembly, right after drilling the wellbore with the drilling assembly (paragraphs [0019-0026, 0031] and figures 1-4).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the installation of the wellbore casing, as taught by Coates, with that of Saugier, to allow for “[...] drilling and casing operations can be completed on a single trip into the wellbore, thereby saving the operating company time and cost” (paragraph [0033] of Saugier).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates et al. (US Publication Number 2008/0236935 A1; herein “Coates”) in view of Saugier (US Publication Number 2003/0106688 A1; herein “Saugier”) in further view of Johnson (US Patent Number 5,836,393; herein “Johnson”).
In regard to claim 24, Coates in view of Saugier discloses the preceding claim.
However, Coates in view of Saugier is/are in silent in regard to: wherein the thermal source includes a cooling source configured to cool the implosion chamber to implode the implosion chamber.
Nonetheless, Johnson teaches that it is known for an initiator to cause implosion of a device in the wellbore (column 1, lines 17-23 — Johnson), similar to that of Coates. Johnson teaches a direct correlation between cooling and imploding a device in a wellbore (column 1, lines 17-23).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to simply substitute the temperature source, as taught by Coates, to be a cooling temperature source, as taught by Johnson, to yield the predictable result of creating an implosion in the wellbore (column 1, lines 17-23 — Johnson). See MPEP 2143, section I, subsection B.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676