Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “selection part”, “combination part” recited in claims 1-2, 9-12 and 16-17.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in fig. 6 of the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nandan, WO 20150044104 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Nandan discloses a signal processing apparatus (fig. 1, 102) comprising:
a selection part configured to select, from among a plurality of pieces of coded data obtained by encoding a plurality of media signals, pieces of the coded data targeted for combination without decoding the pieces of coded data (Para. 24 (the video traffic management system 102 selects a set comprising of one or more video streams from amongst the total number of video streams being received and there is no decoding before transmission of the set selected is scheduled)); and a
combination part configured to combine the pieces of coded data selected as the target for combination (Para. 24 (the set of videos selected from all the videos received when there is less than required bandwidth forms the target combination of video stream that will satisfy the determined bandwidth)).
Regarding claim 2, Nandan discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the selection part selects the pieces of coded data targeted for combination on a basis of a degree of importance calculated for each piece of the coded data (Para. 24-25 (priority is given to video streams with higher QoS (quality of service) factor in than those with a lower QoS and so on-this that video streams with higher QoS fact are more important/relevant than those with a lower QoS factor)).
Regarding claim 3, Nandan discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the degree of importance is calculated on a basis of attribute information corresponding to the coded data (Para. 24-25 (see QoS factor for attribute information)).
Regarding claim 11, Nandan does not explicitly disclose the signal processing apparatus, wherein the combination part weights, before combining, the pieces of coded data selected as the target for combination, the weighting being made according to the degree of importance (Para. 24-25 (priority is given to video streams with higher QoS (quality of service) factor than those with a lower QoS factor so that a video stream with a higher QoS factor is more important/relevant than the video with a lower QoS factor-iso in forming a set, high QoS factor videos are selected for combining and the QoS factors are identified first before the combination is done)).
Regarding claim 18, Nandan discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the media signals include at least a video signal, an audio signal, or a haptic signal (Para. 24 (video streams include video signals)).
Regarding claim 19, Nandan discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the pieces of coded data not selected as the target for combination are discarded (Para. 25 (when the transmission buffer is full or exceeded -low quality packets are dropped-dropping meets discarded)).
Regarding claim 20, Nandan discloses a signal processing method for causing a signal processing apparatus to perform:
selecting, from among a plurality of pieces of coded data, pieces of the coded data targeted for combination without decoding the pieces of coded data (Para. 24 (the video traffic management system 102 selects a set comprising of one or more video streams from amongst the total number of video streams being received and there is no decoding before transmission is scheduled)); and
combining media signals obtained by decoding the pieces of coded data selected as the target for combination (Para. 24 (the set of videos selected from all the videos received when there is less than required bandwidth is the target combination)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-10, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nandan, WO 20150044104 A1, in view of Brejka, WO 2018224839 A2.
Regarding claim 4, Nandan discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the signal processing apparatus is included in a server connected with a plurality of terminals individually used by a plurality of users (Para. 30 (client devices 104 meets terminals)), and
Nandan does not explicitly disclose the plurality of pieces of coded data are data transmitted from each of the plurality of terminals.
Brejka discloses a plurality of pieces of coded data are data transmitted from each of the plurality of terminals (pg. 20, ll. 25-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Brejka to include the plurality of pieces of coded data are data transmitted from each of the plurality of terminals as disclosed by Brejka in order to support generating and displaying the reactions of multiple viewers to the same video presentation at remote locations.
Regarding claim 5, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the attribute information indicates feature quantities of the media signals (Nandan: Para. 21 (video frame size or frame type meets feature quantities)).
Regarding claim 6, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the attribute information is information attached to the coded data when transmitted from the terminals (Brejka: pg. 14, ll. 3-5; pg. 15, ll. 22-23 (the reaction video includes reaction metadata for example time stamps for the frames of the reaction video captured by the camera-transmitted with the reaction videos)).
Regarding claim 7, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the feature quantities of the media signals include at least a size, a degree of change, or a type of the media signals (Nandan: Para. 21 (frame type , frame size)).
Regarding claim 8, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the attribute information indicates a degree of relation between the user of any of the terminals transmitting the coded data on one hand and the user of any of the terminals to which the combined coded data is transmitted on the other hand (Brejka: pg. 20, ll. 21-24 (the reaction videos are selectively transmitted back to group of users who are subscribed to the reaction video service-so the degree relationship here between the users who submitted reaction videos and those who received reaction videos is the subscription to the service information)).
Regarding claim 9, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the selection part selects the pieces of coded data targeted for combination in units of groups to which the users of the terminals transmitting the coded data belong, the groups being indicated by the attribute information (Brejka: pg. 20, ll. 21-24 (here subscribed group)).
Regarding claim 10, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses selecting the number of pieces of the coded data targeted for combination which number corresponds to at least either a processing load of the server or a load of communication with the terminals (Nandan: Para. 21, 24 (number frames that can be supported by available bandwidth-see frame rates)).
Regarding claim 13, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the signal processing apparatus is included in a terminal connected with a server that repeats transmission of the coded data, and the plurality of pieces of coded data are data transmitted from the server (Nandan: Para. 24, 35 (102 distributes video from video servers)).
Regarding claim 14, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the attribute information indicates attributes of the media signals (Nandan: Para. 24 (QoS factor)).
Regarding claim 15, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the attribute information is information attached to the coded data when transmitted from the server (Nandan: Para. 24 (QoS factor)).
Regarding claim 16, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the selection part selects the number of pieces of the coded data targeted for combination which number corresponds to at least either a processing load of the terminal or a reproduction environment for the combined media signals (Nandan: Para. 14-15 (see jitter network traffic to client)).
Regarding claim 17, Nandan in view of Brejka discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the combination part weights, before combining, the pieces of coded data according to the attribute information and a reproduction environment for the combined media signals (Nandan: Para. 14, 15, 21(number frames that can be supported by available bandwidth)).
Claim 12, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nandan, WO 20150044104 A1, in view of Rumereich, USPG_Pub. 20160007062.
Regarding claim 12, Nandan does not explicitly disclose the signal processing apparatus, wherein the combination part combines frequency signals obtained by decoding the coded data and encodes the combined frequency signals without converting them to time signals.
Rumereich discloses the signal processing apparatus, wherein the combination part combines frequency signals obtained by decoding the coded data and encodes the combined frequency signals without converting them to time signals (Para. 15 (orthogonal frequency division multiplexing allows multiples segments to be transmitted on different frequencies simultaneously as a single band-which gives broadcasters a very large shared channel which increases the bandwidth available to the broadcaster)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Nandan to include signal processing apparatus, wherein the combination part combines frequency signals obtained by decoding the coded data and encodes the combined frequency signals without converting them to time signals as disclosed by Rumereich in order to improve broadcast bandwidth of the broadcaster.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY BANTAMOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2422