DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/7/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 6, the term “PDCCH” should be recited “Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)” in this first instance. Also, on line 10, the term “RRHs” should be recited “Remote Radio Heads (RRHs)” in this first instance. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dalsgaard et al. (U.S. 2024/0349348) (hereinafter “Dalsgaard”). Dalsgaard teaches all of the limitations of the specified claims with the reasoning that follows.
Regarding claim 1, “a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a timing advance command from a network-side equipment” is anticipated by the gNB1 (network-side equipment) that indicates an adjusted timing advance value TA to a UE via RRH1 by using a MAC CE TA update command TAC (timing advance command) or a RAR message as shown in step 708 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0094].
“Performing transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state switching from a source TCI state to a target TCI state” is anticipated by the UE that switches the TCI state from gNB1 RRH1 (source) to gNB1 RRH2 (target) based on the TCI state switch command received from gNB1 RRH1 as shown in step 710 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0095]-[0096].
Lastly, “identifying uplink timing based on the received timing advance command and downlink timing related information, wherein the downlink timing related information comprises a downlink timing T1 associated with the source TCI state and a downlink timing T2 associated with the target TCI state; and transmitting an uplink signal to the network-side equipment based on the identified uplink timing” is anticipated by the UE that receives DL reference signals (downlink timing T1) from gNB1 RRH1 (associated with source TCI state) as well as DL reference signals (downlink timing T2) from gNB1 RRH2 and/or gNB2 RRH1 (associated with target TCI state) as shown in steps 702, 704, and 705 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0092]; and where the UE transmits uplink data to gNB1 RRH2 based at least partly on the adjusted TA value (identified uplink timing) indicated from gNB1 RRH2 as shown in step 713 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0097].
Regarding claim 2, “wherein the downlink timing T2 is obtained by the UE based on a downlink reference signal comprising at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB), channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or tracking reference signal (TRS), wherein the downlink reference signal corresponds to the target TCI state” is anticipated by the UE that receives one or more DL reference signals via SSB and/or CSI-RS signaling as spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0092].
Regarding claim 8, “wherein the UE comprises at least one of: a UE with a specific radio frequency power class; a UE with a specific user equipment type; and a UE supporting uplink timing adjustment” is anticipated by the UE that transmits uplink data to gNB1 RRH2 based at least partly on the adjusted TA value indicated from gNB1 RRH2 (UE supports uplink timing adjustment) as shown in step 713 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0097].
Regarding claim 9, “wherein the UE with the specific user equipment type comprises a high-speed train roof-mounted UE” is anticipated by the high-speed train FR2 network deployment shown in Figure 2, where the train may comprise customer-premises equipment (CPE) 200, for example mounted on the roof of the train, where the CPE 200 comprise UEs as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0070].
Regarding claim 12, “receiving third information from the network-side equipment, wherein the third information comprises at least one of the following: a medium access control control element (MAC CE) for indicating TCI state related information, the MAC CE indicating a TCI state corresponding to a UE-specific PDCCH and whether a beam corresponding to the TCI state and a beam corresponding to a TCI state of a currently used PDCCH meet a first specific condition; information in configuration information for the UE indicating a relationship between SSBs, or correspondence between SSBs and RRHs; information in configuration information for the UE indicating a relationship between TCI states or correspondence between TCI states and RRHs; and a MAC CE indicating a TCI state corresponding to a UE-specific PDCCH and UE timing advance command” is anticipated by the gNB1 that indicates an adjusted TA value to the UE via gNB1 RRH2 by using a MAC CE TA update command TAC (timing advance command) as spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0097]; where the TCI state indication may be for a UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE, and where the TCI state indication for the UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with a logical channel identifier (LCID) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0113].
Regarding claim 13, “a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to: control the transceiver to receive a timing advance command from a network-side equipment” is anticipated by the gNB1 (network-side equipment) that indicates an adjusted timing advance value TA to a UE via RRH1 by using a MAC CE TA update command TAC (timing advance command) or a RAR message as shown in step 708 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0094]; where the UE 1200 of Figure 12 includes a processor 1210 coupled to a connectivity unit 1250 (transceiver) as spoken of on page 10, paragraphs [0117] and [0123].
“Perform transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state switching from a source TCI state to a target TCI state” is anticipated by the UE that switches the TCI state from gNB1 RRH1 (source) to gNB1 RRH2 (target) based on the TCI state switch command received from gNB1 RRH1 as shown in step 710 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0095]-[0096].
Lastly, “identify an uplink timing based on the received timing advance command and downlink timing related information, wherein the downlink timing related information comprises a downlink timing T1 associated with the source TCI state and a downlink timing T2 as- sociated with the target TCI state; and control the transceiver to transmit an uplink signal to the network-side equipment based on the identified uplink timing” is anticipated by the UE that receives DL reference signals (downlink timing T1) from gNB1 RRH1 (associated with source TCI state) as well as DL reference signals (downlink timing T2) from gNB1 RRH2 and/or gNB2 RRH1 (associated with target TCI state) as shown in steps 702, 704, and 705 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0092]; and where the UE transmits uplink data to gNB1 RRH2 based at least partly on the adjusted TA value (identified uplink timing) indicated from gNB1 RRH2 as shown in step 713 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0097].
Regarding claim 14, “a method performed by a network-side equipment in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting a timing advance command to a user equipment (UE)” is anticipated by the gNB1 (network-side equipment) that indicates an adjusted timing advance value TA to a UE via RRH1 by using a MAC CE TA update command TAC (timing advance command) or a RAR message as shown in step 708 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0094].
“Configuring transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state switching from a source TCI state to a target TCI state” is anticipated by the UE that switches the TCI state from gNB1 RRH1 (source) to gNB1 RRH2 (target) based on the TCI state switch command received from (configured by) gNB1 RRH1 as shown in step 710 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0095]-[0096].
Lastly, “receiving an uplink signal from the UE, wherein the uplink signal is received based on an uplink timing associated with the transmitted timing advance command and downlink timing related information, wherein the downlink timing related information comprises a downlink timing T1 associated with the source TCI state and a downlink timing T2 associated with the target TCI state” is anticipated by the UE that receives DL reference signals (downlink timing T1) from gNB1 RRH1 (associated with source TCI state) as well as DL reference signals (downlink timing T2) from gNB1 RRH2 and/or gNB2 RRH1 (associated with target TCI state) as shown in steps 702, 704, and 705 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0092]; and where the UE transmits uplink data to (received by) gNB1 RRH2 based at least partly on the adjusted TA value (identified uplink timing) indicated from gNB1 RRH2 as shown in step 713 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0097].
Regarding claim 15, “A network-side equipment in a wireless communication system, the network-side equipment comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to control the transceiver to: transmit a timing advance command to a user equipment (UE)” is anticipated by the gNB1 (network-side equipment) that indicates an adjusted timing advance value TA to a UE via RRH1 by using a MAC CE TA update command TAC (timing advance command) or a RAR message as shown in step 708 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0094]; where the base station 1300 (network-side equipment) of Figure 13 includes communication control circuitry 1310 (processor) coupled to communication interface 1330 (transceiver) as spoken of on pages 10-11, paragraphs [0125] and [0129].
“Configure transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state switching from a source TCI state to a target TCI state” is anticipated by the UE that switches the TCI state from gNB1 RRH1 (source) to gNB1 RRH2 (target) based on the TCI state switch command received from (configured by) gNB1 RRH1 as shown in step 710 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraphs [0095]-[0096].
Lastly, “receive an uplink signal from the UE, wherein the uplink signal is received based on an uplink timing associated with the transmitted timing advance command and downlink timing related information, wherein the downlink timing related information comprises a downlink timing T1 associated with the source TCI state and a downlink timing T 2 associated with the target TCI state” is anticipated by the UE that receives DL reference signals (downlink timing T1) from gNB1 RRH1 (associated with source TCI state) as well as DL reference signals (downlink timing T2) from gNB1 RRH2 and/or gNB2 RRH1 (associated with target TCI state) as shown in steps 702, 704, and 705 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0092]; and where the UE transmits uplink data to (received by) gNB1 RRH2 based at least partly on the adjusted TA value (identified uplink timing) indicated from gNB1 RRH2 as shown in step 713 of Figure 7 and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0097].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalsgaard in view of Chen (U.S. 2025/0008457).
Regarding claim 3, Dalsgaard teaches claim 1 as described above. Dalsgaard does not explicitly teach “wherein an absolute value of a downlink timing difference between the downlink timing T2 and the downlink timing T1 is greater than a certain threshold”.
However, Chen teaches a communication method in a high-speed train environment where a UE determines that a timing difference exceeds (greater than) a first threshold (certain threshold) and that there is a large timing error such that the UE applies a first adjustment to adjust the transmission timing; where the timing difference includes a timing difference between receiving timing at a time instant T1 and receiving timing at a time instant T2 as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0165] and [0169].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of a threshold in relation to a timing difference as taught in Chen to the system of Dalsgaard in order to provide a way to detect a large timing error, thereby ensuring that these particular timing errors are accounted for and that network accuracy is improved as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0165] of Chen.
Regarding claim 6, Dalsgaard teaches claim 1 as described above. Dalsgaard does not explicitly teach “performing an uplink timing adjustment, such that a timing advance (TA) value used by the UE gradually approaches (NTA+NTAoffset)*Tc, wherein NTAoffset is a timing advance offset, NTA is identified based on the received timing advance command, and Tc is a constant”.
However, Chen teaches a communication method in a high-speed train environment where a UE adjusts the uplink transmission timing according to the last TA command to ensure that the error between the actual transmission timing 1-(NTA1 + NTA_offset)*Tc) and the ideal transmission timing 2-(NTA1 + NTA_offset)*Tc) satisfies a certain precision requirement Te as spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0131].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of the above transmission timing adjustment taught in Chen to the system of Dalsgaard in order to meet specific technical standards for timing, thereby improving network accuracy as spoken of on pages 4-5, paragraph [0131] of Chen.
Regarding claim 7, Dalsgaard teaches claim 1 as described above. Dalsgaard does not explicitly teach “receiving first information from the network-side equipment, wherein the first information indicates whether one shot uplink timing adjustment is enabled, and the first information is received through cell broadcast information or configuration information for the UE”.
However, Chen teaches a communication method in a high-speed train environment where a network device transmits first indication information (configuration information) that indicates whether a UE is to start a first adjustment (whether enabled); where the first adjustment includes adjustment of the transmission timing by the UE as a one shot UL timing adjustment as spoken of on page 1, paragraph [0036], as well as page 3, paragraph [0088].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of one shot UL timing adjustment as taught in Chen to the system of Dalsgaard in order to ensure that timing errors are corrected quickly, thereby improving user experienced quality of service.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalsgaard in view of Matsumura et al. (U.S. 2025/0119927) (hereinafter “Matsumura”).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Dalsgaard teaches claim 1 as described above. Dalsgaard does not explicitly teach “transmitting second information to the network-side equipment, wherein the second information comprises at least one of: user equipment capabilities; and user equipment operating states” or “wherein the user equipment capabilities comprise at least one of the following: a radio frequency power class of the UE; a UE type corresponding to the radio frequency power class of the UE; capabilities in a high-speed railway scenario corresponding to the UE type corresponding to the radio frequency power class of the user equipment; and a capability as to whether the UE supports uplink timing adjustment”.
However, Matsumura teaches a communication method in a high-speed train environment where a threshold value may be reported by a UE (to the network side) as a UE capability, and where the threshold indicates a beam switch timing (indicates UE supports uplink timing adjustment) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0055].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the UE capability reporting as taught in Matsumura to the system of of Dalsgaard in order to increase awareness in the network such that communications are performed within UE capabilities, thereby increasing the reliability of network communications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467