DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 25 February 2025
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10, 19-24, 26 and 27 are pending;
Claims 1, 5 and 19 are currently amended;
Claims 2-4, 6-10, 20-24, 26 and 27 were previously presented;
Claims 11-18, 25 and 28-31 and are cancelled;
Claims 1-10, 19-24, 26 and 27 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 25 February 2025 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive. Regarding the orientation limitation, the limitation is being claimed broadly and in the case of SMDL the figures show a pivoting connection at a fixed point between share 10 and body 8. At the top of share 10 where the pivot axis is located, the orientation of the share 10 with respect to body 8 remains fixed as it does not translate horizontally nor vertically. An additional rejection is being incorporated in view of the new limitations presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 19-22, 24, 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soil Machine Dynamics Limited (Europe Patent Publication No. 3,121,917) “SMDL”.
As to Claim 1, SMDL discloses an underwater plough (2) for providing an elongated element into a submerged surface, the underwater plough comprising:
A body portion (8) for receiving and guiding an elongated element therethrough, the body portion having:
A first end (Front half of 8) positioned at or towards the front of the underwater plough;
A second end (Rear half of 8) positioned at or towards the rear of the underwater plough; and
A longitudinal axis along which the first end and second end are spaced (Figure 1A);
A plough share (10) extending from an underside of the body portion (8), the plough share comprising a cutting edge (Cutting shoe of 10 shown in Figure 1I) for cutting a bottom of a trench in which the elongated element (4) is to be deposited;
At least one support member (12, 14) for supporting the underwater plough with respect to a submerged surface, the at least one support member comprising:
A first set of at least one support member (12) extending from an underside of the body portion (8), the at least one support member of the first set having a contact portion for contacting the submerged surface (Figures 1H and 1I); and
A second set of at least one support member (14) extending from an underside of the body portion (8), the at least one support member of the second set having a contact portion for contacting the submerged surface (Figures 1H and 1I), wherein the contact portion of the at least one support member (12) of the first set and the contact portion of the at least one support member (14) of the second set define a contact plane (Figure 1H);
Wherein the at least one support member (12) of the first set is rotatable with respect to the body portion (With the assistance of actuator 16, the support member 12 pivots to change position. Pivoting is a type of rotation. Compare Figures 1I and 1J) and the at least one support member (14) of the second set is rotatable with respect to the body portion (With the assistance of actuator 18, the support member 14 pivots to change position. Pivoting is a type of rotation. Compare Figures 1I and 1J),
A first actuating assembly (16) coupled to the body portion and the at least one support member of the first set, the first actuating assembly comprising at least one actuator configured to rotate the at least one support member of the first set with respect to the body portion (Figures 1H, 1I and 1J); and
A second actuating assembly (18) coupled to the body portion and the at least one support member of the second set, the second actuating assembly comprising at least one actuator configured and/or to rotate the at least one support member of the second set with respect to the body portion (Figures 1H, 1I and 1J),
Wherein the underwater plough (2) has an operational configuration for a ploughing operation in which:
The at least one support member (12) of the first set extends from the body portion in a first direction (Figure 1I shows support 12 extending towards the southwest);
The at least one support member (14) of the second set extends from the body portion in a second direction, at an angle to the first direction (Figure 1I shows support 14 extending towards the southeast);
The longitudinal axis of the body portion (8) is angled with respect to the contact plane, with the longitudinal axis being closer to the contact plane at the first end of the underwater plough than at the second end of the underwater plough (In Figure 1I, body 8 is inclined with the left or front half -i.e. first end- near 12 closer to the seabed and contact plane than the right or rear half -i.e. second end- near 14); and
The cutting edge is positioned so as to contact with the submerged surface or the bottom of the trench during the ploughing operation (Figure 1I shows the cutting edge within a trench below the seabed); and
The orientation of the plough share (10) with respect to the body portion (8) is fixed (Figure 1l shows a pivoting connection at a fixed point between share 10 and body 8. At the top of share 10 where the pivot axis is located, the orientation of the share 10 with respect to body 8 remains fixed as it does not translate horizontally nor vertically),
Wherein the underwater plough is configured such that actuation of the first actuating assembly (16) and/or the second actuating assembly (18) within the operational configuration varies the first direction and the second direction (Compare Figure 1A and 1H) changing the orientation of the longitudinal axis of the body portion (8) with respect to the contact plane and/or the distance between the body portion (8) and the contact plane (Compare Figures 1I and 1J) while the underwater plough is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set (12, 14).
As to Claim 2, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein the underwater plough (2) is configured such that, in the operational configuration, the at least one support member (12) of the first set and the at least one support member (14) of the second set contact the submerged surface such that the weight of the underwater plough (2) on the submerged surface is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set so that the plough orientation and the depth of the resultant trench can be controlled by varying the first direction and second direction (Compare Figures 1A, 1H, 1I and 1J).
As to Claim 3, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein the plough share (10) comprises a heel portion (Diagonal portion of 10) extending rearwardly from the cutting edge (Cutting shoe of 10), wherein in the operational configuration the heel portion (Diagonal portion of 10) is angled with respect to the contact plane so that the heel portion can remain elevated from the submerged surface or a bottom of the trench during the ploughing operation.
As to Claim 4, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein the first direction is such that the at least one support member (12) of the first set extends towards, or past, the front of the underwater plough (2).
As to Claim 5, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein the second direction is such that the at least one support member (14) of the second set extends towards, or past, the plough share at the rear of the underwater plough (2).
As to Claim 7, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein a connection point between the at least one support member of the first set (12) and the body portion (Pivot connection between 12 and 8) is located towards, or proximal to (“Proximal” is relative), the first end of the body portion (8); and wherein a connection point (Pivot connection between 14 and 8) between the at least one support member (14) of the second set and the body portion is located towards, or proximal to, the first end of the body portion (“Proximate” is relative).
As to Claim 8, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein a connection point between the plough share (10) and the body portion (8) is located towards, or proximal to (“Proximal” is relative), the second end of the body portion.
As to Claim 9, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 7 (Refer to Claim 7 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein the at least one support member (14) of the second set is sized so as to be able to extend from the connection point (Pivot connection between 14 and 8) between the at least one support member of the second set and the body portion to the cutting edge of the plough share (Figure 1A).
As to Claim 10, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein in the operational configuration the at least one support member (14) of the second set extends from the connection point (Pivot connection between 14 and 8) between the at least one support member of the second set and the body portion up to, or past, the cutting edge of the plough share (Figure 1I).
As to Claim 19, SMDL discloses a method of operating an underwater plough for providing an elongated element into a submerged surface, the method comprising:
Providing an underwater plough (2) comprising:
A body portion (8) for receiving and guiding an elongated element therethrough, the body portion having:
A first end (Front half of 8) positioned at or towards the front of the underwater plough;
A second end (Rear half of 8) positioned at or towards the rear of the underwater plough; and
A longitudinal axis along which the first end and second end are spaced (Figure 1A);
A plough share (10) extending from an underside of the body portion (8), the plough share comprising a cutting edge (Cutting shoe of 10 in Figure 1I) for cutting a bottom of a trench in which the elongated element (4) is to be deposited;
At least one support element (12, 14) for supporting the underwater plough with respect to a submerged surface, the at least one support element comprising:
A first set of at least one support member (12) extending from an underside of the body portion (8), the at least one support member of the first set having a contact portion for contacting the submerged surface (Figures 1H and 1I); and
A second set of at least one support member (14) extending from an underside of the body portion (8), the at least one support member of the second set having a contact portion for contacting the submerged surface (Figures 1H and 1I);
Wherein the at least one support member of the first set is rotatable with respect to the body portion (With the assistance of actuator 16, the support member 12 pivots to change position. Pivoting is a type of rotation. Compare Figures 1I and 1J) and the at least one support member of the second set is rotatable with respect to the body portion (With the assistance of actuator 18, the support member 14 pivots to change position. Pivoting is a type of rotation. Compare Figures 1I and 1J),
A first actuating assembly (16) coupled to the body portion and the at least one support member of the first set, the first actuating assembly (16) comprising at least one actuator configured to rotate the at least one support member of the first set with respect to the body portion (Figures 1H, 1I and 1J); and
A second actuating assembly (18) coupled to the body portion and the at least one support member of the second set, the second actuating assembly (18) comprising at least one actuator configured to rotate the at least one support member of the second set with respect to the body portion (Figures 1H, 1I and 1J),
Positioning the underwater plough on the submerged surface in an operational configuration in which:
The at least one support member (12) of the first set extends from the body portion in a first direction, the first direction being angled away from the longitudinal axis of the body portion (Figure 1I shows support 12 extending towards the southwest);
The at least one support member (14) of the second set extends from the body portion in a second direction, at an angle to the first direction, the second direction being angled away from the longitudinal axis of the body portion (Figure 1I shows support 14 extending towards the southeast);
The contact portion of the at least one support member (12) of the first set and the contact portion of the at least one support member (14) of the second set are in contact with the submerged surface (Figures 1I);
The longitudinal axis of the body portion is angled with respect to the submerged surface, with the longitudinal axis being closer to the submerged surface at the first end of the underwater plough than at the second end of the underwater plough (In Figure 1I, body 8 is inclined with the left or front half -i.e. first end- near 12 closer to the seabed and contact plane than the right or rear half -i.e. second end- near 14); and
The cutting edge is in contact with the submerged surface or the bottom of the trench (Figure 1I shows the cutting edge within a trench below the seabed); and
The orientation of the plough share (10) with respect to the body portion (8) is fixed (Figure 1l shows a pivoting connection at a fixed point between share 10 and body 8. At the top of share 10 where the pivot axis is located, the orientation of the share 10 with respect to body 8 remains fixed as it does not translate horizontally nor vertically),
Performing a ploughing operation with the underwater plough (2); and
Actuating the first actuating assembly and/or the second actuating assembly (16, 18) with underwater plough in the operational configuration such that the first direction and the second direction (Compare Figure 1A and 1H) are varied to change the orientation of the longitudinal axis of the body portion with respect to the submerged surface and/or the distance between the body portion and the submerged surface (Compare Figures 1I and 1J) while the underwater plough is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set (12, 14).
As to Claim 20, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein in the operational configuration, the at least one support member (12) of the first set and the at least one support member (14) of the second set contact the submerged surface such that the weight of the underwater plough (2) on the submerged surface is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set so that the plough orientation and the depth of the resultant trench can be controlled by varying the first direction and second direction (Compare Figures 1A, 1H, 1I and 1J).
As to Claim 21, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein the first direction is such that the at least one support member (12) of the first set extends towards, or past, the front of the underwater plough (2).
As to Claim 22, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein the second direction is such that the least one support member (14) of the second set extends towards, or past, the plough share at the rear of the underwater plough (2).
As to Claim 24, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein a connection point (Pivot connection between 12 and 8) between the at least one support member of the first set and the body portion (8) is located towards, or proximal to (“Proximal” is relative), the first end of the body portion; and wherein a connection point (Pivot between 14 and 8) between the at least one support member of the second set and the body portion (8) is located towards (“Proximal” is relative), or proximal to, the first end of the body portion.
As to Claim 26, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein the at least one support member (14) of the second set is sized so as to be able to extend from the connection point (Pivot connection between 14 and 8) between the at least one support member of the second set and the body portion to the cutting edge of the plough share (Figure 1A).
As to Claim 27, SMDL discloses the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). SMDL also discloses wherein in the operational configuration the at least one support member (14) of the second set extends from the connection point (Pivot connection between 14 and 8) between the at least one support member of the second set and the body portion up to, or past, the cutting edge of the plough share (Figure 1H).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soil Machine Dynamics Limited (Europe Patent Publication No. 3,121,917) “SMDL” alone.
As to Claim 6, SMDL as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Although SMDL as modified does not explicitly teach wherein in the operational configuration the angle between the first direction and the second direction is from about 80 degrees to about 180 degrees, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the angle between the first direction and the second direction is from about 80 degrees to about 180 degrees since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 23, SMDL as modified teaches the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). Although SMDL as modified does not explicitly teach wherein in the operational configuration the angle between the first direction and the second direction is from about 80 degrees to about 180 degrees, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the angle between the first direction and the second direction is from about 80 degrees to about 180 degrees since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 1-10, 19-24, 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grinstead (U.K. Patent Publication No. 2,364,358) in view of Soil Machine Dynamics Limited (Europe Patent Publication No. 3,121,917) “SMDL”.
As to Claim 1, Grinstead discloses an underwater plough for providing an elongated element into a submerged surface, the underwater plough comprising:
A body portion (1) for receiving and guiding an elongated element (7) therethrough, the body portion having:
A first end (Front half of 1) positioned at or towards the front of the underwater plough;
A second end (Rear half of 1) positioned at or towards the rear of the underwater plough; and
A longitudinal axis along which the first end and second end are spaced (Figure 1);
A plough share (3) extending from an underside of the body portion (1), the plough share comprising a cutting edge (Bottom triangular shaped edge of share 3) for cutting a bottom of a trench in which the elongated element (7) is to be deposited;
At least one support member (2, 23) for supporting the underwater plough with respect to a submerged surface, the at least one support member comprising:
A first set of at least one support member (2) extending from an underside of the body portion (1), the at least one support member of the first set having a contact portion (Dashed line in Figure 5) for contacting the submerged surface; and
A second set of at least one support member (23) extending from an underside of the body portion (1), the at least one support member of the second set having a contact portion for contacting the submerged surface, wherein the contact portion of the at least one support member (2) of the first set and the contact portion of the at least one support member (23) of the second set define a contact plane (Dashed line in Figure 5);
Wherein the at least one support member (2) of the first set is rotatable with respect to the body portion and the at least one support member (23) of the second set is rotatable with respect to the body portion (Compare Figures 5 and 6),
A first actuating assembly (32) coupled to the body portion (1) and the at least one support member (2) of the first set, the first actuating assembly comprising at least one actuator configured to rotate the at least one support member of the first set with respect to the body portion (Compare Figures 5 and 6); and
A second actuating assembly (Piston connected to skid 23 in Figure 6) coupled to the body portion (1) and the at least one support member (23) of the second set, the second actuating assembly comprising at least one actuator configured to rotate the at least one support member of the second set with respect to the body portion (Compare Figures 5 and 6),
Wherein the underwater plough has an operational configuration for a ploughing operation in which:
The at least one support member (2) of the first set extends from the body portion (1) in a first direction (Figure 6 shows support element 2 extending towards the southwest);
The at least one support member (32) of the second set extends from the body (1) portion in a second direction, at an angle to the first direction (Figure 6 shows support element 32 extending at an angle to the first direction towards the southeast);
The cutting edge (Bottom triangular shaped edge of share 3) is positioned so as to contact with the submerged surface or the bottom of the trench during the ploughing operation; and
The orientation of the plough share with respect to the body portion is fixed (The bottom of share 3 is always parallel to the bottom of body 1 as all figures show).
However, Grinstead does not explicitly disclose that the longitudinal axis of the body portion is angled with respect to the contact plane, with the longitudinal axis being closer to the contact plane at the first end of the underwater plough than at the second end of the underwater plough; wherein the underwater plough is configured such that actuation of the first actuating assembly and/or the second actuating assembly within the operational configuration varies the first direction and the second direction changing the orientation of the longitudinal axis of the body portion with respect to the contact plane and/or the distance between the body portion and the contact plane while the underwater plough is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set. SMDL discloses an underwater plough (2) with an operational configuration for a ploughing operation in which at least one support member (12) of a first set extends from a body portion (8) in a first direction (Figure 1I shows support 12 extending towards the southwest); at least one support member (14) of a second set extends from the body portion in a second direction, at an angle to the first direction (Figure 1I shows support 14 extending towards the southeast); a longitudinal axis of the body portion (8) angled with respect to a contact plane (Figure 1H), with the longitudinal axis being closer to the contact plane at the first end of the underwater plough than at the second end of the underwater plough (In Figure 1I, body 8 is inclined with the left or front half -i.e. first end- near 12 closer to the seabed and contact plane than the right or rear half -i.e. second end- near 14); and wherein the underwater plough is configured such that actuation of actuating assembles (16, 18) within the operational configuration varies the first direction and the second direction (Compare Figure 1A and 1H) changing the orientation of the longitudinal axis of the body portion (8) with respect to the contact plane and/or the distance between the body portion (8) and the contact plane (Compare Figures 1I and 1J) while the underwater plough is supported by the support members (12, 14). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the longitudinal axis of the body portion angled with respect to the contact plane, with the longitudinal axis being closer to the contact plane at the first end of the underwater plough than at the second end of the underwater plough; wherein the underwater plough is configured such that actuation of the first actuating assembly and/or the second actuating assembly within the operational configuration varies the first direction and the second direction changing the orientation of the longitudinal axis of the body portion with respect to the contact plane and/or the distance between the body portion and the contact plane while the underwater plough is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set. The motivation would have been to allow the plough to adopt different configurations to accommodate a wide array of project requirements for increased utility.
As to Claim 2, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein the underwater plough is configured such that, in the operational configuration, the at least one support member (2) of the first set and the at least one support member (23) of the second set contact the submerged surface such that the weight of the underwater plough on the submerged surface is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set so that the plough orientation and the depth of the resultant trench can be controlled by varying the first direction and second direction (Compare Figures 2 to 6).
As to Claim 3, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein the plough share (3) comprises a heel portion (Diagonal portion of 3) extending rearwardly from the cutting edge (Cutting shoe of 3), wherein in the operational configuration the heel portion (Diagonal portion of 3) is angled with respect to the contact plane so that the heel portion can remain elevated from the submerged surface or a bottom of the trench during the ploughing operation.
As to Claim 4, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein the first direction is such that the at least one support member (2) of the first set extends towards, or past, the front of the underwater plough.
As to Claim 5, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein the second direction is such that the at least one support member (23) of the second set extends towards, or past, the plough share at the rear of the underwater plough.
As to Claim 6, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Although Grinstead as modified does not explicitly teach wherein in the operational configuration the angle between the first direction and the second direction is from about 80 degrees to about 180 degrees, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the angle between the first direction and the second direction is from about 80 degrees to about 180 degrees since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 7, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein a connection point between the at least one support member (2) of the first set and the body portion (Pivot connection between 1 and 2) is located towards, or proximal to (“Proximal” is relative), the first end of the body portion (1); and wherein a connection point (Pivot connection between 23 and 1) between the at least one support member (23) of the second set and the body portion is located towards, or proximal to, the first end of the body portion (“Proximate” is relative).
As to Claim 8, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein a connection point between the plough share (3) and the body portion (1) is located towards, or proximal to (“Proximal” is relative), the second end of the body portion.
As to Claim 9, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 7 (Refer to Claim 7 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein the at least one support member (23) of the second set is sized so as to be able to extend from the connection point (Pivot connection between 23 and 1) between the at least one support member of the second set and the body portion to the cutting edge of the plough share (Figures 3 and 4).
As to Claim 10, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein in the operational configuration the at least one support member (23) of the second set extends from the connection point (Pivot connection between 23 and 1) between the at least one support member of the second set and the body portion up to, or past, the cutting edge of the plough share (Figure 5).
As to Claim 19, Grinstead discloses a method of operating an underwater plough for providing an elongated element into a submerged surface, the method comprising:
Providing an underwater plough comprising:
A body portion (1) for receiving and guiding an elongated element (7) therethrough, the body portion having:
A first end (Front half of 1) positioned at or towards the front of the underwater plough;
A second end (Rear half of 1) positioned at or towards the rear of the underwater plough; and
A longitudinal axis along which the first end and second end are spaced (Figure 1);
A plough share (3) extending from an underside of the body portion (1), the plough share comprising a cutting edge (Bottom triangular shaped edge of share 3) for cutting a bottom of a trench in which the elongated element (7) is to be deposited;
At least one support member (2, 23) for supporting the underwater plough with respect to a submerged surface, the at least one support member comprising:
A first set of at least one support member (2) extending from an underside of the body portion (1), the at least one support member of the first set having a contact portion (Dashed line in Figure 5) for contacting the submerged surface; and
A second set of at least one support member (23) extending from an underside of the body portion (1), the at least one support member of the second set having a contact portion (Dashed line in Figure 5) for contacting the submerged surface;
Wherein the at least one support member (2) of the first set is rotatable with respect to the body portion and the at least one support member (23) of the second set is rotatable with respect to the body portion,
A first actuating assembly (32) coupled to the body portion (1) and the at least one support member (2) of the first set, the first actuating assembly comprising at least one actuator configured to rotate the at least one support member of the first set with respect to the body portion (Compare Figures 5 and 6); and
A second actuating assembly (Piston connected to skid 23 in Figure 6) coupled to the body portion (1) and the at least one support member (23) of the second set, the second actuating assembly comprising at least one actuator configured to rotate the at least one support member of the second set with respect to the body portion (Compare Figures 5 and 6),
Positioning the underwater plough on the submerged surface in an operational configuration in which:
The at least one support member (2) of the first set extends from the body portion in a first direction, the first direction being angled away from the longitudinal axis of the body portion (Figure 6 shows support element 2 extending towards the southwest);
The at least one support member (23) of the second set extends from the body portion in a second direction, at an angle to the first direction, the second direction being angled away from the longitudinal axis of the body portion (Figure 6 shows support element 32 extending at an angle to the first direction towards the southeast);
The contact portion of the at least one support member (2) of the first set and the contact portion of the at least one support member (23) of the second set are in contact with the submerged surface (Figures 5 and 6);
The cutting edge (Bottom triangular shaped edge of share 3) is in contact with the submerged surface or the bottom of the trench; and
The orientation of the plough share with respect to the body portion is fixed (The bottom of share 3 is always parallel to the bottom of body 1 as all figures show),
Performing a ploughing operation with the underwater plough (Figures 2 to 4); and
Actuating the first actuating assembly (32) and/or the second actuating assembly (Piston connected to skid 23 in Figure 6) with the underwater plough in the operational configuration.
However, Grinstead does not explicitly disclose that the longitudinal axis of the body portion is angled with respect to the submerged surface, with the longitudinal axis being closer to the submerged surface at the first end of the underwater plough than at the second end of the underwater plough; actuating the first actuating assembly and/or the second actuating assembly with the underwater plough in the operational configuration such that the first direction and the second direction are varied to change the orientation of the longitudinal axis of the body portion with respect to the submerged surface and/or the distance between the body portion and the submerged surface while the underwater plough is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set. SMDL discloses an underwater plough (2) with an operational configuration for a ploughing operation in which at least one support member (12) of a first set extends from a body portion (8) in a first direction (Figure 1I shows support 12 extending towards the southwest); at least one support member (14) of a second set extends from the body portion in a second direction, at an angle to the first direction (Figure 1I shows support 14 extending towards the southeast); a longitudinal axis of the body portion (8) angled with respect to a submerged surface (Figure 1H), with the longitudinal axis being closer to the submerged surface at the first end of the underwater plough than at the second end of the underwater plough (In Figure 1I, body 8 is inclined with the left or front half -i.e. first end- near 12 closer to the seabed and contact plane than the right or rear half -i.e. second end- near 14); and actuating the first actuating assembly and/or the second actuating assembly (16, 18) with the with underwater plough in the operational configuration such that the first direction and the second direction (Compare Figure 1A and 1H) are varied to change the orientation of the longitudinal axis of the body portion with respect to the submerged surface and/or the distance between the body portion and the submerged surface (Compare Figures 1I and 1J) while the underwater plough is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set (12, 14). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the longitudinal axis of the body portion angled with respect to the submerged surface, with the longitudinal axis closer to the submerged surface at the first end of the underwater plough than at the second end of the underwater plough; and to actuate the first actuating assembly and/or the second actuating assembly with the underwater plough in the operational configuration such that the first direction and the second direction are varied to change the orientation of the longitudinal axis of the body portion with respect to the submerged surface and/or the distance between the body portion and the submerged surface while the underwater plough is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set. The motivation would have been to allow the plough to adopt different configurations to accommodate a wide array of project requirements for increased utility.
As to Claim 20, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein in the operational configuration, the at least one support member (2) of the first set and the at least one support member (23) of the second set contact the submerged surface such that the weight of the underwater plough on the submerged surface is supported by the at least one support member of the first set and the at least one support member of the second set so that the plough orientation and the depth of the resultant trench can be controlled by varying the first direction and second direction (Compare Figures 2 to 4).
As to Claim 21, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein the first direction is such that the at least one support member (2) of the first set extends towards, or past, the front of the underwater plough.
As to Claim 22, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein the second direction is such that the least one support member (23) of the second set extends towards, or past, the plough share at the rear of the underwater plough.
As to Claim 23, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). Although Grinstead as modified does not explicitly teach wherein in the operational configuration the angle between the first direction and the second direction is from about 80 degrees to about 180 degrees, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the angle between the first direction and the second direction is from about 80 degrees to about 180 degrees since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 24, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein a connection point (Pivot connection between 2 and 1) between the at least one support member of the first set and the body portion (1) is located towards, or proximal to (“Proximal” is relative), the first end of the body portion; and wherein a connection point (Pivot between 23 and 1) between the at least one support member of the second set and the body portion (1) is located towards (“Proximal” is relative), or proximal to, the first end of the body portion.
As to Claim 26, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein the at least one support member (23) of the second set is sized so as to be able to extend from the connection point (Pivot connection between 23 and 1) between the at least one support member of the second set and the body portion to the cutting edge of the plough share (Figures 3 and 4).
As to Claim 27, Grinstead as modified teaches the invention of Claim 19 (Refer to Claim 19 discussion). Grinstead as modified also teaches wherein in the operational configuration the at least one support member (23) of the second set extends from the connection point (Pivot connection between 23 and 1) between the at least one support member of the second set and the body portion up to, or past, the cutting edge of the plough share (Figure 5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678