Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15, 8-10, 16-19, 1-4, 22, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng (US-20230088189-A1).
Regarding claim 12, Tseng teaches a method, performed by a user equipment (UE), of managing configuration information for small data transmission (SDT) operation, the method comprising:
receiving from a radio access network (RAN), while the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (Pg. 4, [0052]: “In some implementations, the SDT configuration may be received while the UE is staying in an E-UTRA/NR RRC connected state.”), a first message including an SDT configuration for use when the UE operates in an RRC inactive state (Fig. 4 [401] - Small Data Transmission (CDT) Configuration (via RRC signaling));
after receiving the first message, and while the UE is in the RRC inactive state (Fig.4 [402] [Transmission to RRC Inactive State]., Examiner notes it should read “Transition to RRC Inactive State”), receiving from the RAN a second message);
and in response to receiving the second message, transitioning from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state (Page 7, [0095]: “After receiving the RRCResume message or the dedicated RRC message from the serving cell (e.g., during the RRC-less SDT procedure), the UE may move to the RRC connected state),
and based on a message type of the second message, either retaining or releasing the SDT configuration ( [0095]:” After receiving the RRCResume message or the dedicated RRC message from the serving cell (e.g., during the RRC-less SDT procedure), the UE may move to the RRC connected state and reply with an RRCResumeComplete message or an RRC message responding to the dedicated RRC message (with available idle/inactive measurement reports). In some implementations, after receiving the RRCResume message or the dedicated RRC message from the serving cell, the UE may move to the RRC connected state and release/suspend the stored SDT configuration”. Examiner notes suspend is retained and unused).
Regarding claim 13, Tseng teaches wherein the second message is an RRC message, and wherein retaining or releasing the SDT configuration is based on an RRC message type of the RRC message (See claim 12 either release or retain the SDT configuration).
Regarding claim 14, Tseng teaches the RRC message type of the second message is an RRC setup message, and the method comprises releasing the SDT configuration based on the RRC message type (Pg. 6, [0083]: “In some implementations, after receiving the RRCSetup message from the serving cell, the UE may move to the RRC idle state (or idle mode) and release the stored SDT configuration (e.g., CG-SDT/RA-SDT configuration).”);
or the RRC message type of the second message is an RRC resume message, and the method comprises retaining the SDT configuration based on the RRC message type ( Pg. 7, [0095]: ”After receiving the RRCResume message or the dedicated RRC message from the serving cell (e.g., during the RRC-less SDT procedure), the UE may move to the RRC connected state and reply with an RRCResumeComplete message or an RRC message responding to the dedicated RRC message (with available idle/inactive measurement reports). In some implementations, after receiving the RRCResume message or the dedicated RRC message from the serving cell, the UE may move to the RRC connected state and release/suspend the stored SDT configuration”. Examiner notes suspend is retained and unused).
Regarding claim 15, Tseng teaches the message type of the second message is an RRC resume message, wherein the method comprises retaining the SDT configuration based on the message type (see claim 14 RRC Resume), and wherein the method further comprises:
after receiving the first message and before receiving the second message, communicating data with the RAN using the SDT configuration while the UE is in the inactive state (Fig. 4, 403] Small data Transmission (SDT) Session);
and after transitioning to the RRC connected state and while retaining the SDT configuration, communicating data with the RAN without using the SDT configuration (Pg 18, [0298]: “The key enablers for small data transmission in NR, namely the INACTIVE state, 2-step, 4-step RACH, and configured grant type-1 have already been specified as part of legacy. So, this work builds on these building blocks to enable small data transmission in the INACTIVE state for NR.” Examiner notes that in RRC connected state small data transmission is not being used and so is SDT configuration).
Regarding claim 8, Tseng teaches a method, performed by a user equipment (UE), of managing configuration information for small data transmission (SDT) operation, the method comprising:
receiving from a radio access network (RAN), while the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (Pg. 4, [0052]: “In some implementations, the SDT configuration may be received while the UE is staying in an E-UTRA/NR RRC connected state.”), a first message including an SDT configuration for use when the UE operates in an RRC inactive state (Fig. 4 [401] - Small Data Transmission (CDT) Configuration (via RRC signaling));
after receiving the first message, and while the UE is in the RRC inactive state (Fig.4 [402] [Transmission to RRC Inactive State]., Examiner notes it should read “Transition to RRC Inactive State”), receiving from the RAN a second message;
and in response to receiving the second message,
i) transitioning from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state, and
(ii) releasing the SDT configuration (Page 7, [0095]: “After receiving the RRCResume message or the dedicated RRC message from the serving cell (e.g., during the RRC-less SDT procedure), the UE may move to the RRC connected state and reply with an RRCResumeComplete message or an RRC message responding to the dedicated RRC message (with available idle/inactive measurement reports). In some implementations, after receiving the RRCResume message or the dedicated RRC message from the serving cell, the UE may move to the RRC connected state and release/suspend the stored SDT configuration.”).
Regarding claim 9, Tseng teaches wherein the UE is further configured to:
after receiving the first message and before receiving the RRC release message, communicate data with the RAN using SDT configuration while the EU is in the RRC inactive state (Fig.4 [402] [Transmission to RRC Inactive State]; Examiner notes it should read “Transition to RRC Inactive State”; Fig. 4 [403] [Small Data Transmission (SDT) Session]).
Regarding claim 10, Tseng teaches wherein the second message is an RRC resume message, an RRC setup message, or an RRC release message (Fig. 4, [404] RRCRelease message; Pg. 6, [0083]: “In some implementations, after receiving the RRCSetup message from the serving cell, the UE may move to the RRC idle state (or idle mode) and release the stored SDT configuration“; Pg 7, [0095]: “In some implementations, after receiving the RRCResume message or the dedicated RRC message from the serving cell, the UE may move to the RRC connected state and release/suspend the stored SDT configuration (e.g., CG-SDT/RA-SDT configuration).”);
Regarding claim 16, Tseng teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising one or more processors (Fig. 6 Processor 628) and configured to:
receive from a radio access network (RAN) (Fig. 4 - [420] RAN), while the UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (Pg. 4, [0052]: “In some implementations, the SDT configuration may be received while the UE is staying in an E-UTRA/NR RRC connected state.”), a first message including a small data transmission (SDT) configuration for use when the UE operates in an RRC inactive state (Fig. 4 [401] - Small Data Transmission (CDT) Configuration (via RRC signaling));
after receiving the first message, and while the UE is in the RRC inactive state ( Fig.4 [402] [Transmission to RRC Inactive State]., Examiner notes it should read “Transition to RRC Inactive State”; Pg. 4, [0057]: “After receiving the SDT configuration from the serving cell, the UE may store the received SDT configuration after the UE moves to or when the UE stays in the RRC inactive state.”), receive from the RAN an RRC release message (Fig. 4 [404]- RRCRelease message (to finish the active SDT session));
and when the RRC release message includes a release indication for releasing the SDT configuration, release the SDT configuration (Pg. 19 [321]: “In order to finish the active SDT session, in action 404, the second serving cell may transmit a second RRCRelease message to instruct the UE 410 to finish the SDT session. In some implementations, the UE 410 may keep the stored SDT configuration and stay in the RRC inactive state after receiving the second RRCRelease message to finish the active SDT session.”. e.g. If the active SDT session is finished, the UE releases SDT configuration and in some implementations where the active SDT session is not finished, then the UE may keep the stored SDT configuration and stay in RRC active state in order to finish the active SDT)
Claim 1 is the method claim of EU claim 16, therefore it is rejected by the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, Tseng teaches wherein the release indication is in a field of the RRC release message (See claim 1 - release SDT configuration. Examiner notes that when SDT is released, the release indication is implicit in the RRC release message. Examiner further notes that RRC message structures including their fields are specified in 3GPP Technical Specification).
Claim 2 is the method claim of EU claim 17, therefore it is rejected by the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, Tseng teaches wherein the UE is further configured to:
after receiving the first message and before receiving the RRC release message, communicate data with the RAN using SDT configuration while the EU is in the RRC inactive state (Fig.4 [402] [Transmission to RRC Inactive State]; Examiner notes it should read “Transition to RRC Inactive State”; Fig. 4 [403] [Small Data Transmission (SDT) Session]).
Claim 3 is the method claim of EU claim 18, therefore it is rejected by the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, Tseng teaches wherein the RRC release message is a second RRC release message (Fig.4 [404] RRCRelease message (To finish the active SDT session)) and the first message is a first RRC release message; (Page 4, [0053]: “In some implementations, the SDT configuration may be transmitted via an RRCConnectionRelease/RRCRelease message which instructs the UE to move to an E-UTRA/NR RRC inactive state or an E-UTRA/NR RRC idle state”).
Claim 4 is the method claim of EU claim 19, therefore it is rejected by the same rationale.
Regarding claim 22 and 7: (New) The UE of claim 16, wherein the UE is further configured to:
when the RRC release message does not include a release indication for releasing the SDT configuration, retain the SDT configuration (Pg. 6, [0095]:” In some implementations, after receiving the RRCResume message or the dedicated RRC message from the serving cell, the UE may move to the RRC connected state and release/suspend the stored SDT configuration (e.g., CG-SDT/RA-SDT configuration). “. Examiner notes suspend is considered retain. Examiner further notes that when SDT is retained, the release indication is implicitly null in the RRC release message.);
Claim 7 is the method claim of EU claim 22, therefore it is rejected by the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 5, 11, 21, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng (US-20230088189-A1 ) in view of Jincan (NPL: 2021 IEEE- “Small Data Transmission in Inactive State”).
Regarding claim 20 and 5, Tseng teaches wherein the UE is further configured to: after receiving the first message, transition to the RRC inactive state (Fig. 4 [402] [Transition to RRC Inactive State]).
Tseng does not teach starting an SDT time alignment timer;
Jincan teaches starting an SDT time alignment timer (Pg. 153, [C. TAT-SDT], 2nd Paragraph, Lines 6 -to end of Paragraph: “In legacy, the UE can start the TAT upon reception of a TA command from gNB, e.g. in RAR. Similarly, the TAT-SDT can be started after receiving the TAT-SDT configuration from gNB, i.e. in RRCRelease message. In the same way, the UE can also (re)start the TATSDT upon reception of TA command from gNB.”, TAT is TA timer);
and in response to receiving the RRC release message, stop the SDT time alignment timer (Pg. 153, [B. SDT failure detection timer], lines 1-6: “In the legacy RRC resume procedure, the T319 timer is used to detect the resume procedure failure. Specifically, when the UE sends the RRCResume request message to the network, the timer will be started. Upon the reception of the RRC resume, RRC release, RRC reject or others, the timer will be stopped.”);
Tseng and Jincan are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are both directed to Small Data Transmission in Inactive State. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Jincan into Tseng in order to detect resume procedure failure.
Claim 5 is the method claim of EU claim 20, therefore it is rejected by the same rationale.
Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 20 and claim 5 therefore it is rejected using the same rationale.
Regarding claim 21, Tseng teaches wherein the UE is further configured to: in response to receiving the RRC release message, remain in the RRC inactive state (Page 19, [0321]: “In order to finish the active SDT session, in action 404, the second serving cell may transmit a second RRCRelease message to instruct the UE 410 to finish the SDT session. In some implementations, the UE 410 may keep the stored SDT configuration and stay in the RRC inactive state after receiving the second RRCRelease message to finish the active SDT session”).
Claim 6 is the method claim of EU claim 21, therefore it is rejected by the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
CN 113841437 A discloses sending radio resource control release RRC release message to the terminal, the RRC release message carries configuration information suitable for the terminal to perform small data transmission SDT in non-activated inactive state.
CN 115398987 A discloses when in the radio resource control (RRC) CONNECTED state, the UE receives the RRC release message from the base station (BS), the RRC release message at least comprises configured authorization (CG) configuration and time calibration (TA) timer. Then, the UE responds to the received RRC release message, converts to the RRC-INACTIVE state, and starts or restarts TA timer.
CN 202211440033 A discloses instructing the wireless communication terminal to enter a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode, and at least one small data transmission (SDT) configuration is sent to the wireless communication terminal.
CN 115885576 A discloses (RRC) release message from a base station (BS), the RRC release message indication comprises SDT configuration and a timer SDT configuration.
WO 2022155414 A1 discloses wireless device to a radio resource control (RRC) connected state from at least one of a RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state. The base station CU sends, to a base station distributed unit (DU) and based on the determining, a notification indicating release of configuration parameters for a small data transmission (SDT) procedure of the wireless device.
WO 2022015057 A1 discloses A method performed by a terminal for small data transmission (SDT) in a wireless communication system.
US 20240040626 A1 discloses receiving, from a base station, an SDT configuration including a plurality of uplink configured grant (UL-CG) configurations for the SDT procedure.
US 20230189380 A1 discloses small data exchange handling by a user equipment in inactive state.
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648