DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 1.22.25. In view of this communication, claims 10-29 are now pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims below are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “a rotor rotatable about a motor shaft “. It is not clear from the specification or the drawings whether there is relative rotary motion between rotor and shaft. For e.g., in Fig 3, shaft 33 is shown connected to rotor 31 with a fastener. To advance prosecution , Examiner interprets rotor and shaft rotating together. Claim 10 further recites “one side“ multiple times. It is not clear if they are same or not. Claims 11-29 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 10 . Claims 11-13 recite “another side” multiple times. It is not clear if they are all the same. Claim 12-13 , 20-29 recites the limitations “the other side“ which does not have a basis on any claims it depends upon. It is not clear if they are the same as “one side” and/or “another side”. Because of lack of clarity in claim recitation, Examiner is interpreting “one side”, “another side”, “other side” as any side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-15, 18-19,24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US2905289A), hereinafter Lee in view of Schmengler et al (US20200370357A1), hereinafter Schmengler.
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses (Figs 1-2) an electric actuator comprising:
a motor portion (1,2,3,4,5) that includes a rotor (4,5) rotatable
a gear (12) to output (Fig 1) rotation of the rotor;
a brake (20-22, 14-19) to brake rotation of the rotor;
a position detector (29-36 is a mechanism that in effect detects axial position of rotor) to detect a position change of the rotor; and
a cover (1, 9 has portion that covers motor axially) that is located on one side in the axial direction (AA) of the motor portion and accommodates (Fig 1) the motor portion inside; wherein
the gear (12), the brake (20-22, 14-19), the motor portion (1-5), are sequentially arranged in the axial direction (AA) from one side in the axial direction (Fig 1);
the brake includes:
a first brake portion (21,17) including a magnetic material (20 is a electromagnet and 21 is armature) located on one side in the axial direction (AA) of the rotor, the first brake portion being movable in the axial direction between a braking position (Fig 1) for braking rotation of the rotor and a non- braking (Fig 2) position away from the braking position toward one side in the axial direction (Fig 1 discloses a braking operation where brake is on under solenoid non-energized condition and brake release when solenoid is energized) ;
a second brake portion (14,15,16) that rotates in synchronization with the rotor, is in contact with the first brake portion (21) at the braking position, and is in non-contact with the first brake portion at the non-braking position (Fig 1); and
a solenoid (20) that switches a position of the first brake portion between the braking position and the non-braking position according to an energized state; and
the brake is accommodated inside the cover (9).
Lee does not explicitly disclose a reduction gear to decelerate output and the reduction gear , the brake, the motor portion , and the position detector are sequentially arranged in the axial direction.
Schmengler discloses (Fig 4) a reduction gear (220 is a worm gear assembly which is a reducer) to decelerate output and the reduction gear (220) , the brake (230), the motor portion (210), and the position detector 9213) are sequentially arranged in the axial direction (AA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric actuator of Lee with reduction gear and position detector and location of Schmengler in order to have output speed of choice and control operation of the motor using electronics based on information such as speed, acceleration of shaft as a function of position sensor signal output.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 10. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses further comprising an elastic portion (Lee, 22) that pushes the first brake portion (21,17) toward another side (right side in Fig 1 for e.g., see 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection) in the axial direction (AA); wherein the first brake portion is operable to:be located at the non-braking position (Fig 3) against a pushing force (22 is compressed in non braking condition) of the elastic portion when the solenoid (20) is energized; and be located at the braking position (Fig 1) by the pushing force (22 spring preload) of the elastic portion when the solenoid is not energized.
Regarding Claim 12, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 10. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the cover(Lee,1,9) includes: an annular peripheral wall portion (9a) that is orthogonal to the axial direction (AA) and extends in a circumferential direction around (Fig 1) the axial direction; an outer peripheral wall (9po) extending from an outer edge of the peripheral wall portion to the other side in the axial direction over an entire circumference; and an inner peripheral wall (9pi) extending from an inner edge of the peripheral wall portion to the other side in the axial direction over an entire circumference; the solenoid (20) is fixed to another side of the peripheral wall portion in the axial direction; and the first brake portion (21,17) is located on another side in the axial direction (AA) of the solenoid (20).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 11. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the cover(Lee,1,9) includes: an annular peripheral wall portion (9a) that is orthogonal to the axial direction (AA) and extends in a circumferential direction around (Fig 1) the axial direction; an outer peripheral wall (9po) extending from an outer edge of the peripheral wall portion to the other side in the axial direction over an entire circumference; and an inner peripheral wall (9pi) extending from an inner edge of the peripheral wall portion to the other side in the axial direction over an entire circumference; the solenoid (20) is fixed to another side of the peripheral wall portion in the axial direction; and the first brake portion (21) is located on another side in the axial direction (AA) of the solenoid (20).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 12. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the first brake portion (21,17) has a length (17 is a disc) in the circumferential direction (C) opposing a portion of the peripheral wall portion (9a) (9a is axially opposite 21,17 and it has a length in the circumferential direction as 17 is a brake disc); and the solenoid (20) is located to oppose (20 is axially opposite to 21the first brake portion (21).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 13. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the first brake portion (21,17) has a length (17 is a disc) in the circumferential direction (C) opposing a portion of the peripheral wall portion (9a) (9a is axially opposite 21 and 21,17 has a length in the circumferential direction as 17 is a brake disc); and the solenoid (20) is located to oppose (20 is axially opposite to 21the first brake portion (21).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 12. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the first brake portion (21,17) has an annular shape (17 is disc) over an entire circumference; the solenoid (20) includes a coil (20Co) wound in a circumferential direction (this is inherent to produce a force to attract 21) and a case (20Ca) accommodating (Fig 1) the coil; and the coil and the case are annularly arranged (Fig 1) over an entire circumference at positions opposing the first brake portion (21,17) in the axial direction (AA).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 13. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the first brake portion (21,17) has an annular shape (17 is disc) over an entire circumference; the solenoid (20) includes a coil (20Co) wound in a circumferential direction (this is inherent to produce a force to attract 21) and a case (20Ca) accommodating (Fig 1) the coil; and the coil and the case are annularly arranged (Fig 1) over an entire circumference at positions opposing the first brake portion (21,17) in the axial direction (AA).
Regarding Claim 24, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 10. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the first brake portion (Lee, 21,17) includes a first brake pad (17) opposing the other side in the axial direction (AA); and the second brake portion (14,15,16) includes a second brake pad (15) in surface contact with the first brake pad (17) at the braking position (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 25, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 11. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the first brake portion (Lee, 21,17) includes a first brake pad (17) opposing the other side in the axial direction (AA); and the second brake portion (14,15,16) includes a second brake pad (15) in surface contact with the first brake pad (17) at the braking position (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 26, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 12. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the first brake portion (Lee, 21,17) includes a first brake pad (17) opposing the other side in the axial direction (AA); and the second brake portion (14,15,16) includes a second brake pad (15) in surface contact with the first brake pad (17) at the braking position (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 27, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 13. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the first brake portion (Lee, 21,17) includes a first brake pad (17) opposing the other side in the axial direction (AA); and the second brake portion (14,15,16) includes a second brake pad (15) in surface contact with the first brake pad (17) at the braking position (Fig 1).
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Schmengler and Inoue (WO2021015053A1 English translation).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 10. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses the first brake portion (Lee, 21,17) and second brake portion (14,15,16) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first brake portion includes a projecting portion protruding to the other side in the axial direction; in the second brake portion, a gap and a tooth portion are alternately arranged on an outer periphery over an entire circumference; and radial positions of the gap and the tooth portion are positions overlapping the projecting portion at the braking position.
Inoue discloses (Fig 18) wherein the first brake portion (260) includes a projecting portion (261) protruding to the other side in the axial direction (AA); in the second brake portion (270), a gap and a tooth portion (271 is a spline, therefore it has gap and tooth) are alternately arranged on an outer periphery over an entire circumference (Fig 18); and radial positions of the gap and the tooth portion are positions overlapping the projecting portion at the braking position (Fig 18 discloses radial overlap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric actuator of Lee in view of Schmengler with braking structure including projection and tooth and gap of Inoue in order to have a larger holding torque between the rotating and non rotating leading to reduced size of electromagnet.
Regarding Claim 21, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 11. Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the first brake portion (Lee, 21,17) and second brake portion (14,15,16) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first brake portion includes a projecting portion protruding to the other side in the axial direction; in the second brake portion, a gap and a tooth portion are alternately arranged on an outer periphery over an entire circumference; and radial positions of the gap and the tooth portion are positions overlapping the projecting portion at the braking position.
Inoue discloses (Fig 18) wherein the first brake portion (260) includes a projecting portion (261) protruding to the other side in the axial direction (AA); in the second brake portion (270), a gap and a tooth portion (271 is a spline, therefore it has gap and tooth) are alternately arranged on an outer periphery over an entire circumference (Fig 18); and radial positions of the gap and the tooth portion are positions overlapping the projecting portion at the braking position (Fig 18 discloses radial overlap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric actuator of Lee in view of Schmengler with braking structure including projection and tooth and gap of Inoue in order to have a larger holding torque between the rotating and non rotating leading to reduced size of electromagnet.
Regarding Claim 22, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 12. Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the first brake portion (Lee, 21,17) and second brake portion (14,15,16) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first brake portion includes a projecting portion protruding to the other side in the axial direction; in the second brake portion, a gap and a tooth portion are alternately arranged on an outer periphery over an entire circumference; and radial positions of the gap and the tooth portion are positions overlapping the projecting portion at the braking position.
Inoue discloses (Fig 18) wherein the first brake portion (260) includes a projecting portion (261) protruding to the other side in the axial direction (AA); in the second brake portion (270), a gap and a tooth portion (271 is a spline, therefore it has gap and tooth) are alternately arranged on an outer periphery over an entire circumference (Fig 18); and radial positions of the gap and the tooth portion are positions overlapping the projecting portion at the braking position (Fig 18 discloses radial overlap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric actuator of Lee in view of Schmengler with braking structure including projection and tooth and gap of Inoue in order to have a larger holding torque between the rotating and non rotating leading to reduced size of electromagnet.
Regarding Claim 23, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 13. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses the first brake portion (Lee, 21,17) and second brake portion (14,15,16) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first brake portion includes a projecting portion protruding to the other side in the axial direction; in the second brake portion, a gap and a tooth portion are alternately arranged on an outer periphery over an entire circumference; and radial positions of the gap and the tooth portion are positions overlapping the projecting portion at the braking position.
Inoue discloses (Fig 18) wherein the first brake portion (260) includes a projecting portion (261) protruding to the other side in the axial direction (AA); in the second brake portion (270), a gap and a tooth portion (271 is a spline, therefore it has gap and tooth) are alternately arranged on an outer periphery over an entire circumference (Fig 18); and radial positions of the gap and the tooth portion are positions overlapping the projecting portion at the braking position (Fig 18 discloses radial overlap).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric actuator of Lee in view of Schmengler with braking structure including projection and tooth and gap of Inoue in order to have a larger holding torque between the rotating and non rotating leading to reduced size of electromagnet.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Schmengler and Amamiya et al(JPS6352660A English translation).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 12. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the first brake portion (Lee, 21,17) is provided in an annular shape (17 is a disc) over an entire circumference but does not explicitly disclose a plurality of the solenoids are arranged at positions opposing the first brake portion at intervals in a circumferential direction.
Amamiya discloses (Figs 1,4) a plurality of the solenoids (18-26, 16-24,14-22,12-20) are arranged at positions opposing the first brake portion (56) at intervals in a circumferential direction (Fig 4) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric actuator of Lee in view of Schmengler with multiple solenoid structure of Amamiya in order to reduce leakage magnetic flux that can potentially affect the operation of other components such as rotating shaft.
Regarding Claim 17, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 13. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the first brake portion (Lee, 21,17) is provided in an annular shape (17 is a disc) over an entire circumference but does not explicitly disclose a plurality of the solenoids are arranged at positions opposing the first brake portion at intervals in a circumferential direction.
Amamiya discloses (Figs 1,4) a plurality of the solenoids (18-26, 16-24,14-22,12-20) are arranged at positions opposing the first brake portion (56) at intervals in a circumferential direction (Fig 4) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric actuator of Lee in view of Schmengler with multiple solenoid structure of Amamiya in order to reduce leakage magnetic flux that can potentially affect the operation of other components such as rotating shaft.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Schmengler and Yan et al(US20200132165A1), hereinafter Yan.
Regarding Claim 28, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 10. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the rotor (Lee,4-5) and the stator (3) oppose each other with a gap (Fig 1 has radial gap between rotor and stator) interposed therebetween but does explicitly disclose rotor and stator opposing each other in the axial direction with a gap therebetween.
Yan discloses (Fig 1) the rotor (13) and the stator (12) oppose each other in the axial direction (C) with a gap (Fig 1 has axial airgap between 12 and 13) interposed therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the electric actuator of Lee in view of Schmengler with axial flux motor structure of Yan in order to reduce packet size in axial direction and provide reduction gear with higher drive capability.
Regarding Claim 29, Lee in view of Schmengler discloses the electric actuator according to claim 13. Lee in view of Schmengler further discloses wherein the rotor (Lee,4-5) and the stator (3) oppose each other with a gap (Fig 1 has radial gap between rotor and stator) interposed therebetween but does explicitly disclose rotor and stator opposing each other in the axial direction with a gap therebetween.
Yan discloses (Fig 1) the rotor (13) and the stator (12) oppose each other in the axial direction (C) with a gap (Fig 1 has axial airgap between 12 and 13) interposed therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the electric actuator of Lee in view of Schmengler with axial flux motor structure of Yan in order to reduce packet size in axial direction and provide reduction gear with higher drive capability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boyland et al (US20180200896A1) discloses relevant structure for motor, encoder,gear and brake
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834