Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed after the mailing date of the 08/07/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ericsson, "[Post116-e][242]
[Slicing] Slice-based Cell Reselection Algorithm (Ericsson)", R2-2200043, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2
#116-bis, January 17-25, 2022, 33 pages (hereafter “Ericsson”).
Regarding claim 1, A method for handling a slice based cell reselection in a wireless network, comprises: evaluating a cell reselection criteria based on a relative reselection priority for at least one frequency,
Ericsson, Page 24, [0003] Section 2.3.1; Recalculate the frequency priority based on slices
supported in current cell. 2) Re- evaluate if the cell fulfills the cell re-selection criteria.
a. Yes - > Reselect Cell
b. No - > Continue cell re-selection procedure, using the recalculated frequency priority for
this frequency until the highest ranked cell changes on the frequency.
wherein a frequency of the at least one frequency support at least one slice group including a highest priority slice group;
Ericsson, page 30, [0003], 5.2.4.X; The UE selects the slice group with highest priority slice.
The UE assigns the slice frequency priority corresponding to the selected slice group for NR
frequencies received in RRCRelease or in the system information messages.
Page 30, [0001]; 5.2.4.1. ; For a UE supporting slice-based cell reselection, if the UE is provided with
slice priorities from NAS, and if slice or slice group specific frequency priorities are included in the cell
reselection information used by the UE, UE performs slice-based cell reselection as described in clause
5.2.4.x.
identifying whether a best cell or a highest ranked cell in the frequency support the highest priority slice group;
Ericsson, page 30, [0003], 5.2.4.X, Bullet point 3 ; The UE performs measurements and selects the
highest ranked and suitable cell as candidate fix camping according to clauses 5.2.4.2, 5.2.4.3, 5.2.4.4,
5.2.4.5, 5.2.4.6 using the slice group specific NR frequency priorities. If the highest ranked and suitable
cell supports the selected slice, then the UE camps on the cell.
Ericsson, Page 2; Step 5: If the highest ranked cell is suitable (as defined in 38.304) and supports the
selected slice in step 2 then camp on the cell and exit this sequence of operation;
FFS: How the UE determines whether the highest ranked cell supports the selected
slice.
Step 2: Select slices in priority order starting with the highest priority slice.
changing the relative reselection priority, in case that that the best cell or the highest ranked cell in the frequency does not support the highest priority slice group;
Ericsson, Page 28, [0007], Proposal 3: in case prioritized slice is not supported in the highest ranked cell on the target frequency, the UE uses legacy frequency priority for that frequency, until another cell on the target frequency becomes highest ranked cell on the target frequency.
and re-evaluating the cell reselection criteria based on the changed relative reselection priority.
Ericsson, Page 24, [0003], Section 2.3.1; 1) Recalculate the frequency priority based on slices
supported in current cell. 2) Re-evaluate if the cell fulfills the cell re-selection criteria.
a. Yes - > Reselect Cell
b. No - > Continue cell re-selection procedure, using the recalculated frequency priority for
this frequency until the highest ranked cell changes on the frequency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson in view of Fujishiro et al. (US 2024/0276330 A1)(“Fujishiro”).
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, changing the relative reselection priority comprising: reducing the slice priority to a priority of the highest priority slice supported by the highest ranked cell or the best cell.
Ericsson, page 26, Figure 1 Example [0002]; The prioritized slices of a UE are A and B, in priority order. This is the UE's actions for ceil re-selection if the frequency priorities are re-calculated:
1) Based on slice specific broadcast from cell 21, the frequency priority of F2 is highest. Cell 22 is
highest ranked cell on the frequency.
2) Evaluate slice support on cell 22 -> Slice A is not supported.
3) Re-calculate slice priority for the frequency, (still using parameters broad casted in cell 21., but
assuming slice A is not supported): F2 have still highest priority, since slice B is supported in cell 22
(highest priority slice supported by the highest ranked cell ).
4) UE camps in cell 22
5) Register in cell 22, since new RA.-> PDU session 011 slice A closed, but continue using slice B.
Ericsson does not teach slice group.
Fujishiro teaches slice group.
Fujishiro[0077] The slice frequency information is information indicating a correspondence relationship between network slices, frequencies, and frequency priorities. For example, the slice frequency information indicates, for each slice (or slice group), a frequency (one or more frequencies) that supports the slice and a frequency priority assigned to each frequency. An example of the slice frequency information is illustrated in FIG. 10.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such that the slice group supported by the highest ranked cell.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above to substitute the slice with slice groups to extend
the cell reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 1, changing the relative reselection priority comprising: considering a legacy cell reselection priority and sub-priority without considering a slice priority, in case that the best cell or the highest ranked cell does not support all slice.
Ericsson, Page 28, [0007], Proposal 3: in case prioritized slice is not supported in the highest ranked cell on the target frequency, the UE uses legacy frequency priority for that frequency, until another cell on the target frequency becomes highest ranked cell on the target frequency (legacy cell reselection priority and sub-priority without considering a slice priority)
Ericsson does not teach slice group.
Fujishiro teaches slice group.
Fujishiro[0077] The slice frequency information is information indicating a correspondence relationship between network slices, frequencies, and frequency priorities. For example, the slice frequency information indicates, for each slice (or slice group), a frequency (one or more frequencies) that supports the slice and a frequency priority assigned to each frequency. An example of the slice frequency information is illustrated in FIG. 10.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such that the slice group supported by the highest ranked cell.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above to substitute the slice with slice groups to extend
the cell reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, The method of Claim 1 wherein changing the relative reselection priority comprising a higher priority frequency becoming a lower or equal priority or an equal priority frequency becoming a lower priority frequency,
Ericsson, Page 9, Section CMCC, [0001]; However, if the frequency priorities are not provided, we prefer· to prioritize F2 which supports more prioritized slices (slice A and and B) than F3 (slice B) for UE3.
Ericsson, Page 9, Section CMCC, [0002]; For option B more slices can be considered and it is beneficial
when the highest priority slice is not available but the second or lower slices can be available, e.g.
UE2 can use slice B at least (a higher priority frequency becoming a lower or equal priority).
and wherein the relative reselection priority between frequencies are derived using a slice priority of the at least one slice supported by the frequency.
Ericsson, Page 9, Section CMCC [0002]; For option B more slices can be considered and it is beneficial
when the highest priority slice is not available but the second or lower slices can be available, e.g.
UE2 can use slice B at least.
Ericsson does not teach slice group.
Fujishiro teaches slice group.
Fujishiro[0077] The slice frequency information is information indicating a correspondence relationship between network slices, frequencies, and frequency priorities. For example, the slice frequency information indicates, for each slice (or slice group), a frequency (one or more frequencies) that supports the slice and a frequency priority assigned to each frequency. An example of the slice frequency information is illustrated in FIG. 10.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such that the slice group supported by the highest ranked cell.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above to substitute the slice with slice groups to extend
the cell reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 1, the method further comprising: receiving, from a base station, a dedicated signaling message including at least one slice information including a list of frequencies associated with a slice and a priority associated with the slice;
Fujishiro [0076] In the slice-specific cell reselection procedure, the UE 100 performs cell reselection processing based on slice frequency information provided from the network 50. The slice frequency information may be provided from the gNB 200 to the UE 100 through broadcast signaling (for example, a system information block) or dedicated signaling (for example, an RRC release message).
Fujishiro [0077] The slice frequency information is information indicating a correspondence relationship between network slices, frequencies, and frequency priorities. For example, the slice frequency information indicates, for each slice (or slice group), a frequency (one or more frequencies) that supports the slice and a frequency priority assigned to each frequency. An example of the slice frequency information is illustrated in FIG. 10.
detecting at least one event;
Fujishiro [0082] The UE 100 may perform the cell reselection processing further based on cell information provided from the network 50.
deleting the at least one slice information based on the detection of the at least one event;
Fujishiro [0104] In step S200, the UE 100 clears all frequency priorities that are already applied for the selected network slice, before step S3. For example, when the frequency priorities are already applied for the selected network slice, the UE 100 removes the already applied frequency priorities for the selected network slice.
and performing a cell reselection among a slice aware cell reselection or a non-slice aware cell reselection applying slice information receiving from a broadcasting signaling message.
Fujishiro [0076] In the slice-specific cell reselection procedure, the UE 100 performs cell reselection processing based on slice frequency information provided from the network 50
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such the cell reselection is performed based on applying the
slice information.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above to perform the cell reselection based on the slice
information and delete at least one information for the cell reselection to extend
the reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 5, wherein the at least one event including at least one of a cell selection event,
Fujishiro [0082] The UE 100 may perform the cell reselection processing further based on cell information provided from the network 50.
an inter radio access technology (RAT) cell selection event, a change of a slice group information from a Non-access stratum (NAS) signal, a change of a slice information from the NAS signal, a cell res- election to a new radio access (RA) and a updated system information (SI) with a new RA information.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such the detection of event involves the cell reselection.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above to perform the cell reselection based on the slice
information to extend the reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality
(Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 7, The method of claim 5, the method further comprising: storing the at least one slice information in the UE, in case that the UE is in a limited service state;
Fujishiro [0105] Alternatively, when a frequency priority is configured through dedicated signaling (for example, an RRC Release message), the frequency priority may be prioritized (that is, may be continued to be applied= storing) within a predetermined amount of time after the UE 100 transitions to the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (limited active state) (for example, a period during which a timer T320 in the 3GPP standard is operating),
and using the at least one slice information stored in the UE, in case that the UE moves to a camped normally state.
[0144] After that, in step S420, the UE 100 performs the cell reselection processing based on step S410. For example, in step S420, the UE 100 may raise the priority of the frequency recorded in the first list to perform the cell reselection process. For example, a positive offset may be added to the frequency priority (absolute priority) of the frequency, or the frequency priority of the frequency may be the highest priority. In step S420, the UE 100 may perform the cell reselection processing only on the cell recorded in the second list. Here, the UE 100 may attempt cell reselection in descending order of frequency priority (slice-specific frequency priority) associated with the cell.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such the UE is storing the at least one slice information in the UE, in case that the UE is in a limited service state and using the at least one slice information stored in the UE, in case that the UE moves to a camped normally state.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above for the UE to stores the information in limited
service and uses the information to perform the cell reselection based on the slice information to extend
the reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 8, The method of claim 5, the method further comprising: deleting the at least one slice information upon expiry of a timer configured by a network entity;
Fujishiro [0105] Note that the frequency priorities cleared in step S200 may include the frequency priority provided through the broadcast signaling (for example, the SIB). Alternatively, when a frequency priority is configured through dedicated signaling (for example, an RRC Release message), the frequency priority may be prioritized (that is, may be continued to be applied) within a predetermined amount of time after the UE 100 transitions to the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (for example, a period during which a timer T320 in the 3GPP standard is operating), and the processing of step S200 may be applied after T320 expires.
[0104] In step S200, the UE 100 clears all frequency priorities that are already applied for the selected network slice, before step S3. For example, when the frequency priorities are already applied for the selected network slice, the UE 100 removes the already applied frequency priorities for the selected network slice.
Fujishiro [0129] The UE 100 receives the configuration information (configured by a network entity ) and performs the slice-specific cell reselection procedure based on the configuration information.
Fujishiro [0128] The configuration information may include the time limit value.
and performing the slice aware cell reselection using a broadcasted slice priority.
Fujishiro [0076] In the slice-specific cell reselection procedure, the UE 100 performs cell reselection processing based on slice frequency information provided from the network 50. The slice frequency information may be provided from the gNB 200 to the UE 100 through broadcast signaling (for example, a system information block) or dedicated signaling (for example, an RRC release message).
Fujishiro [0077] The slice frequency information is information indicating a correspondence relationship between network slices, frequencies, and frequency priorities. For example, the slice frequency information indicates, for each slice (or slice group), a frequency (one or more frequencies) that supports the slice and a frequency priority assigned to each frequency. An example of the slice frequency information is illustrated in FIG. 10.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such the UE deletes the at least one slice information upon expiry of a timer configured by a network entity;
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above for the UE to delete the information upon expiry
of timer and perform the cell reselection based on the slice information
to extend the reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, A terminal for handling a slice based cell reselection in a wireless network,
configured to:
evaluate a cell reselection criteria based on a relative reselection priority between frequencies,
Ericsson, Page 24, [0003] Section 2.3.1; Recalculate the frequency priority based on slices
supported in current cell. 2) Re- evaluate if the cell fulfills the cell re-selection criteria.
a. Yes - > Reselect Cell
b. No - > Continue cell re-selection procedure, using the recalculated frequency priority for
this frequency until the highest ranked cell changes on the frequency.
wherein a frequency of the at least one frequency support at least one slice group including a highest priority slice group;
Ericsson, page 30, [0003], 5.2.4.X; The UE selects the slice group with highest priority slice.
The UE assigns the slice frequency priority corresponding to the selected slice group for NR
frequencies received in RRCRelease or in the system information messages.
Page 30, [0001]; 5.2.4.1. ; For a UE supporting slice-based cell reselection, if the UE is provided with slice
priorities from NAS, and if slice or slice group specific frequency priorities are included in the cell
reselection information used by the UE, UE performs slice-based cell reselection as described in clause
5.2.4.x.
identify whether a best cell or a highest ranked cell in the frequency support the highest priority slice group;
Ericsson, page 30, [0003], 5.2.4.X, Bullet point 3 ; The UE performs measurements and selects the
highest ranked and suitable cell as candidate fix camping according to clauses 5.2.4.2, 5.2.4.3, 5.2.4.4,
5.2.4.5, 5.2.4.6 using the slice group specific NR frequency priorities. If the highest ranked and suitable
cell supports the selected slice, then the UE camps on the cell.
Ericsson, Page 2; Step 5: If the highest ranked cell is suitable (as defined in 38.304) and supports the
selected slice in step 2 then camp on the cell and exit this sequence of operation;
FFS: How the UE determines whether the highest ranked cell supports the selected
slice.
Step 2: Select slices in priority order starting with the highest priority slice.
change the relative reselection priority, in case that that the best cell or the highest ranked cell in the frequency does not support the highest priority slice group;
Ericsson, Page 28, [0007], Proposal 3: in case prioritized slice is not supported in the highest ranked cell on the target frequency, the UE uses legacy frequency priority for that frequency, until another cell on the target frequency becomes highest ranked cell on the target frequency.
and re-evaluate the cell reselection criteria based on the changed relative reselection priority.
Ericsson, Page 24, [0003], Section 2.3.1; 1) Recalculate the frequency priority based on slices
supported in current cell. 2) Re-evaluate if the cell fulfills the cell re-selection criteria.
a. Yes - > Reselect Cell
b. No - > Continue cell re-selection procedure, using the recalculated frequency priority for
this frequency until the highest ranked cell changes on the frequency.
Ericsson does not teach the terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive a
signal; and a controller coupled with the transceiver.
Fujishiro teaches the terminal comprising: a transceiver (Fujishiro, Fig. 2, Ref. 110 and Ref. 120)
configured to transmit and receive a signal; and a controller (Fujishiro, Fig. 2, Ref. 130) coupled with
the transceiver.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such the UE includes a transceiver and receiver.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above to build the UE with a transceiver and controller
to control the UE’s functions and to perform the reselection method to the slice groups with the highest
radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, The terminal of claim 9, the controller is further configured to: reduce the slice
priority to a priority of the highest priority slice group supported by the highest ranked cell or
the best cell.
Ericsson, page 26, Figure 1 Example [0002]; The prioritized slices of a UE are A and B, in priority order. This is the UE's actions for ceil re-selection if the frequency priorities are re-calculated:
1) Based on slice specific broadcast from cell 21, the frequency priority of F2 is highest. Cell 22 is
highest ranked cell on the frequency.
2) Evaluate slice support on cell 22 -> Slice A is not supported.
3) Re-calculate slice priority for the frequency, (still using parameters broad casted in cell 21., but
assuming slice A is not supported): F2 have still highest priority, since slice B is supported in cell 22
(highest priority slice supported by the highest ranked cell ).
4) UE camps in cell 22
5) Register in cell 22, since new RA.-> PDU session 011 slice A closed, but continue using slice B.
Ericsson does not teach slice group.
Fujishiro teaches slice group.
Fujishiro[0077] The slice frequency information is information indicating a correspondence relationship between network slices, frequencies, and frequency priorities. For example, the slice frequency information indicates, for each slice (or slice group), a frequency (one or more frequencies) that supports the slice and a frequency priority assigned to each frequency. An example of the slice frequency information is illustrated in FIG. 10.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such that the slice group supported by the highest ranked cell.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above to substitute the slice with slice groups to extend
the cell reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008])
Regarding claim 11, The terminal of claim 9, the controller is further configured to: consider a legacy
cell reselection priority and sub-priority without considering a slice priority, in case that the best cell or
the highest ranked cell does not support all slice.
consider a legacy cell reselection priority and sub-priority without considering a slice priority, in case that the best cell or the highest ranked cell does not support all slice.
Ericsson, Page 28, [0007], Proposal 3: in case prioritized slice is not supported in the highest ranked cell on the target frequency, the UE uses legacy frequency priority for that frequency, until another cell on the target frequency becomes highest ranked cell on the target frequency (legacy cell reselection priority and sub-priority without considering a slice priority)
Ericsson does not teach slice group.
Fujishiro teaches slice group.
Fujishiro[0077] The slice frequency information is information indicating a correspondence relationship between network slices, frequencies, and frequency priorities. For example, the slice frequency information indicates, for each slice (or slice group), a frequency (one or more frequencies) that supports the slice and a frequency priority assigned to each frequency. An example of the slice frequency information is illustrated in FIG. 10.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such that the slice group supported by the highest ranked cell.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above to substitute the slice with slice groups to extend
the cell reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, The method of claim 9, wherein changing the relative reselection priority comprising a higher priority frequency becoming a lower or equal priority or an equal priority frequency becoming a lower priority frequency,
Ericsson, Page 9, Section CMCC, [0001]; However, if the frequency priorities are not provided, we prefer· to prioritize F2 which supports more prioritized slices (slice A and and B) than F3 (slice B) for UE3.
Ericsson, Page 9, Section CMCC, [0002]; For option B more slices can be considered and it is beneficial
when the highest priority slice is not available but the second or lower slices can be available, e.g.
UE2 can use slice B at least (a higher priority frequency becoming a lower or equal priority).
and wherein the relative reselection priority between frequencies are derived using a slice priority of the at least one slice supported by the frequency.
Ericsson, Page 9, Section CMCC [0002]; For option B more slices can be considered and it is beneficial
when the highest priority slice is not available but the second or lower slices can be available, e.g.
UE2 can use slice B at least.
Ericsson does not teach slice group.
Fujishiro teaches slice group.
Fujishiro[0077] The slice frequency information is information indicating a correspondence relationship between network slices, frequencies, and frequency priorities. For example, the slice frequency information indicates, for each slice (or slice group), a frequency (one or more frequencies) that supports the slice and a frequency priority assigned to each frequency. An example of the slice frequency information is illustrated in FIG. 10.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such that the slice group supported by the highest ranked cell.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above to substitute the slice with slice groups to extend
the cell reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 13, The terminal of claim 9, the controller is further configured to: receive, from a base station, a dedicated signaling message including at least one slice information including a list of frequencies associated with a slice and a priority associated with the slice;
Fujishiro [0076] In the slice-specific cell reselection procedure, the UE 100 performs cell reselection processing based on slice frequency information provided from the network 50. The slice frequency information may be provided from the gNB 200 to the UE 100 through broadcast signaling (for example, a system information block) or dedicated signaling (for example, an RRC release message).
Fujishiro [0077] The slice frequency information is information indicating a correspondence relationship between network slices, frequencies, and frequency priorities. For example, the slice frequency information indicates, for each slice (or slice group), a frequency (one or more frequencies) that supports the slice and a frequency priority assigned to each frequency. An example of the slice frequency information is illustrated in FIG. 10.
detect at least one event;
Fujishiro [0082] The UE 100 may perform the cell reselection processing further based on cell information provided from the network 50.
Delete the at least one slice information based on the detection of the at least one event;
Fujishiro [0104] In step S200, the UE 100 clears all frequency priorities that are already applied for the selected network slice, before step S3. For example, when the frequency priorities are already applied for the selected network slice, the UE 100 removes the already applied frequency priorities for the selected network slice.
and perform a cell reselection among a slice aware cell reselection or a non-slice aware cell reselection applying slice information receiving from a broadcasting signaling message.
Fujishiro [0076] In the slice-specific cell reselection procedure, the UE 100 performs cell reselection processing based on slice frequency information provided from the network 50.
wherein the at least one event including at least one of a cell selection event,
Fujishiro [0082] The UE 100 may perform the cell reselection processing further based on cell information provided from the network 50.
an inter radio access technology (RAT) cell selection event, a change of a slice group information from a Non-access stratum (NAS) signal, a change of a slice information from the NAS signal, a cell res- election to a new radio access (RA) and a updated system information (SI) with a new RA information.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such the cell reselection is performed based on applying the
slice information.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above to perform the cell reselection based on the slice
information and delete at least one information for the cell reselection to extend
the reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 14, The terminal of claim 13, the controller is further configured to store the at least one slice information in the UE, in case that the UE is in a limited service state;
Fujishiro [0105] Alternatively, when a frequency priority is configured through dedicated signaling (for example, an RRC Release message), the frequency priority may be prioritized (that is, may be continued to be applied= storing) within a predetermined amount of time after the UE 100 transitions to the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (limited active state) (for example, a period during which a timer T320 in the 3GPP standard is operating),
and use the at least one slice information stored in the UE, in case that the UE moves to a camped normally state.
[0144] After that, in step S420, the UE 100 performs the cell reselection processing based on step S410. For example, in step S420, the UE 100 may raise the priority of the frequency recorded in the first list to perform the cell reselection process. For example, a positive offset may be added to the frequency priority (absolute priority) of the frequency, or the frequency priority of the frequency may be the highest priority. In step S420, the UE 100 may perform the cell reselection processing only on the cell recorded in the second list. Here, the UE 100 may attempt cell reselection in descending order of frequency priority (slice-specific frequency priority) associated with the cell.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such the UE is storing the at least one slice information in the UE, in case that the UE is in a limited service state and using the at least one slice information stored in the UE, in case that the UE moves to a camped normally state.
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above for the UE to stores the information in limited
service and uses the information to perform the cell reselection based on the slice information to extend
the reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, The method of claim 13, the controller is further configured to: delete the at least one slice information upon expiry of a timer configured by a network entity;
Fujishiro [0105] Note that the frequency priorities cleared in step S200 may include the frequency priority provided through the broadcast signaling (for example, the SIB). Alternatively, when a frequency priority is configured through dedicated signaling (for example, an RRC Release message), the frequency priority may be prioritized (that is, may be continued to be applied) within a predetermined amount of time after the UE 100 transitions to the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (for example, a period during which a timer T320 in the 3GPP standard is operating), and the processing of step S200 may be applied after T320 expires.
[0104] In step S200, the UE 100 clears all frequency priorities that are already applied for the selected network slice, before step S3. For example, when the frequency priorities are already applied for the selected network slice, the UE 100 removes the already applied frequency priorities for the selected network slice.
Fujishiro [0129] The UE 100 receives the configuration information (configured by a network entity ) and performs the slice-specific cell reselection procedure based on the configuration information.
Fujishiro [0128] The configuration information may include the time limit value.
and perform the slice aware cell reselection using a broadcasted slice priority.
Fujishiro [0076] In the slice-specific cell reselection procedure, the UE 100 performs cell reselection processing based on slice frequency information provided from the network 50. The slice frequency information may be provided from the gNB 200 to the UE 100 through broadcast signaling (for example, a system information block) or dedicated signaling (for example, an RRC release message).
Fujishiro [0077] The slice frequency information is information indicating a correspondence relationship between network slices, frequencies, and frequency priorities. For example, the slice frequency information indicates, for each slice (or slice group), a frequency (one or more frequencies) that supports the slice and a frequency priority assigned to each frequency. An example of the slice frequency information is illustrated in FIG. 10.
In view of Fujishiro, Ericsson is modified such the UE deletes the at least one slice information upon expiry of a timer configured by a network entity;
Ericsson and Fujishiro are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, cell reselection method.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Ericsson in the manner described above for the UE to delete the information upon expiry
of timer and perform the cell reselection based on the slice information
to extend the reselection method to the slice groups with the highest radio quality (Fujishiro [0008]).
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703- 756-1834.
Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct
uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478