Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,7,8,10,11,14,15 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goyal et al. (US PGPUB 20220295442 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goyal teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising
at least one memory (see section [0046] “The non-removable memory 130 may include random-access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), a hard disk, or any other type of memory storage device. The removable memory 132 may include a subscriber identity module (SIM) card, a memory stick, a secure digital (SD) memory card to store the data”),
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (see sections[0046], [0047], FIG. 1B “The processor 118 of the WTRU 102 may be coupled to memory, may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory”),
receive, from a configuring device, a sidelink measurement window configuration (see section [0151] “The target WTRU (UE) performs sidelink positioning measurements on reference signals received from specifically configured anchor WTRUs using configured sidelink resources and timing parameters”),
perform sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on the sidelink measurement window configuration (see section [0158], FIG. 10 “the target WTRU may (e.g., for a period, such as a current period) monitor for and/or receive the sidelink reference signal(s) on the sidelink resource(s)… the target WTRU may calculate a measurement (e.g., RSTD measurement) associated with a received sidelink reference signal”),
transmit, to the configuring device, the sidelink positioning measurements for the UE (see section [0158], FIG. 10 “the target WTRU may send such measurement(s) to the configured anchor WTRU (e.g., using a configured sidelink resource such as a sidelink resource configured in the group positioning request)”).
Regarding claim 2, Goyal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Goyal teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration includes multiple instances of sidelink positioning reference signals (PRS) (see section [0127] “a WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) may monitor for reference signals over a sidelink channel, an indication of a measurement type (PRSs)”),
the sidelink positioning measurements are averaged over the multiple instances of the sidelink PRS (see sections [0127], [0151] “sidelink positioning procedure where anchor WTRUs transmit PRSs, and target WTRU performs positioning measurement. The measurements may be reported individually or as average of multiple PRS measurement values to improve positioning accuracy”).
Regarding claim 3, Goyal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Goyal teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration includes multiple instances of sidelink positioning reference signals (PRS) (see section [0127] “a WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) may monitor for reference signals over a sidelink channel, an indication of a measurement type (PRSs)”),
the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform sidelink timing error mitigation based on one or more of the multiple instances of the sidelink PRS (see sections [0127], [0128] “The target WTRU may be configured to perform measurements for each period (timing) and report the measurement with the highest RSRP (timing error mitigation) measured over each respective period.“).
Regarding claim 4, Goyal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Goyal teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to jointly perform the sidelink positioning measurements (see sections [0138], [0152] FIG. 8 “WTRU the user service, base station network node and sidelink is direct device-to-device communication used for measurements and positioning”),
one or more of downlink positioning measurements or uplink positioning measurements (see sections [0097], [0110]- [0112] FIG. 2, FIG. 3 “positioning measurements using both uplink and downlink reference signals to estimate position”).
Regarding claim 7, Goyal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Goyal teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration is one of user equipment (UE) UE-based, UE-configured (see sections [0085], [0090] WTRU-based , [0104] “A WTRU may be configured to perform positioning measurements”),
UE-based, network configured; UE-assisted, UE-configured; or UE-assisted, network configured (see sections [0085] “ WTRU-assisted positioning and WTRU-based positioning”, [0038], [0146] “The indication of the determination to the network may be configured as an event based notification or report, where the configuration may be provided by the network.”).
Regarding claim 8, Goyal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, In addition, Goyal teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration is associated with a measurement window identifier (ID) (see sections [0127]- [0129] “the network configures a target WTRU with identification, timing, periodic measurement, and reporting parameters for sidelink- based group positioning measurement window”),
the at least one processor and the transceiver are is configured to cause the UE to report the sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on the measurement window ID (see sections [0127]- [0129] “the network configures a target WTRU with identification, timing, periodic measurement, and reporting parameters for sidelink- based group positioning measurement window”).
Regarding claim 10, Goyal teaches at least one memory (see section [0046] “The non-removable memory 130 may include random-access memory (RAM), read-only memory (ROM), a hard disk, or any other type of memory storage device. The removable memory 132 may include a subscriber identity module (SIM) card, a memory stick, a secure digital (SD) memory card to store the data”),
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to (see sections[0046], [0047], FIG. 1B “The processor 118 of the WTRU 102 may be coupled to memory, may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory”),
transmit a sidelink measurement window configuration to a responding device that performs sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on the sidelink measurement window configuration (see sections [0151], [0152] “read as a positioning server, or anchor WTRU transmits a sidelink measurement configuration to a target WTRU/ device for sidelink-based group positioning”),
receive, from the responding device, the sidelink positioning measurements (receive, from the responding device, the sidelink positioning measurements (see section [0151], “The target WTRU may be configured with a measurement configuration, e.g., received from a network entity or anchor WTRU. The measurement configuration may include one or more of the following: a sidelink configuration (e.g., time and/or frequency resources), which may be used to receive reference signals from one or more anchor WTRUs”).
Regarding claim 11, Goyal teaches all the limitations of claim 10, In addition, Goyal teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration is configured to a group of responding devices for groupcast sidelink positioning (see section [0117] “ WTRU group positioning, one or more WTRUs may be configured to send reference signals, (e.g., PRSs dedicated for WTRU positioning”),
the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the sidelink measurement window configuration to the group of responding devices that perform respective sidelink positioning measurements (see sections [0138], [0158], FIG. 8 - FIG. 11 “ “group positioning procedure using sidelink communication where WTRUs directly transmit sidelink signals to a target WTRU, the target WTRU monitors sidelink signals, calculates positioning measurement send back using sidelink resources.”),
receive the respective sidelink positioning measurements from one or more of the responding devices of the group of responding devices (see section [0158] “ the target WTRU may receive a configuration (e.g., group positioning request) associated with sidelink reference signals to be monitored and/or associated sidelink resources”).
Regarding claim 14, Goyal teaches all the limitations of claim 10, In addition, Goyal teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration includes information comprising at least one or more of a measurement window identifier (ID), a start time, a window length, an end time, or a periodicity that indicates a number of repetitions of a sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS) transmission (see sections [0127]- [0129] “the network configures a target WTRU with identification, timing, periodic measurement,, repeated transmission, and reporting parameters for sidelink- based group positioning measurement window”).
Regarding claim 15, Goyal teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a configuring device, a sidelink measurement window configuration (see section [0151] “The target WTRU (UE) performs sidelink positioning measurements on reference signals received from specifically configured anchor WTRUs using configured sidelink resources and timing parameters”),
performing sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on the sidelink measurement window configuration (see section [0158], FIG. 10 “the target WTRU may (e.g., for a period, such as a current period) monitor for and/or receive the sidelink reference signal(s) on the sidelink resource(s)… the target WTRU may calculate a measurement (e.g., RSTD measurement) associated with a received sidelink reference signal”),
transmitting, to the configuring device, the sidelink positioning measurements (see section [0158], FIG. 10 “the target WTRU may send such measurement(s) to the configured anchor WTRU (e.g., using a configured sidelink resource such as a sidelink resource configured in the group positioning request)”).
Regarding claim 21, Goyal teaches A processor for wireless communication comprising (see section [0049] “The processor 118 may further be coupled to other peripherals which may include wired or wireless connectivity”),
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to (see sections [0041], [0042] “ The processor 118 may be a general purpose processor, a special purpose processor, a controller, a microcontroller”),
receive, from a configuring device, a sidelink measurement window configuration (see section [0151] “The target WTRU (UE) performs sidelink positioning measurements on reference signals received from specifically configured anchor WTRUs using configured sidelink resources and timing parameters”),
perform sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on the sidelink measurement window configuration (see section [0158], FIG. 10 “the target WTRU may (e.g., for a period, such as a current period) monitor for and/or receive the sidelink reference signal(s) on the sidelink resource(s)… the target WTRU may calculate a measurement (e.g., RSTD measurement) associated with a received sidelink reference signal”),
transmit, to the configuring device, the sidelink positioning measurements (see section [0158], FIG. 10 “the target WTRU may send such measurement(s) to the configured anchor WTRU (e.g., using a configured sidelink resource such as a sidelink resource configured in the group positioning request)”).
Regarding claim 22, Goyal teaches all the limitations of claim 21, In addition, Goyal teaches wherein: the sidelink measurement window configuration includes multiple instances of sidelink positioning reference signals (PRS) (see section [0127] “a WTRU (e.g., target WTRU) may monitor for reference signals over a sidelink channel, an indication of a measurement type (PRSs)”),
the sidelink positioning measurements are averaged over the multiple instances of the sidelink PRS (see sections [0127], [0151] “sidelink positioning procedure where anchor WTRUs transmit PRSs, and target WTRU performs positioning measurement. The measurements may be reported individually or as average of multiple PRS measurement values to improve positioning accuracy”),
or
sidelink timing error mitigation is performed based on one or more of the multiple instances of the sidelink PRS (see sections [0127], [0128] “The target WTRU may be configured to perform measurements for each period (timing) and report the measurement with the highest RSRP (timing error mitigation) measured over each respective period.“).
Regarding claim 23, Goyal teaches all the limitations of claim 21, In addition, Goyal teaches wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to jointly perform the sidelink positioning measurements (see section [0138], [0152] FIG. 8 “WTRU the user service, base station network node and sidelink is direct device-to-device communication used for measurements and positioning”),
one or more of downlink positioning measurements or uplink positioning measurements (see sections [0097], [0110]- [0112] FIG. 2, FIG. 3 “positioning measurements using both uplink and downlink reference signals to estimate position”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5,6,9,24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al. (US PGPUB 20220295442 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 21 above and further in view of DAI et al. (US PGPUB 20240377497 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Goyal teaches all the limitation of claim 1, Goyal fails to teaches
wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration includes multiple pre-defined time instances of sidelink PRS; and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to compute at least one of absolute location information or relative location information for one or more of the multiple pre-defined time instances of the sidelink PRS.
DAI teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration includes multiple pre-defined time instances of sidelink PRS (see sections [0163], [0167] FIG. 10 “read as the target UE 104, fixed anchor 1002, and moving anchor 1006 may directly communicate and transmit positioning signals, e.g., DL PRS, UL PRS (SRS for positioning) or SL PRS and communicate between fixed and moving anchors and the target UE, using PRS and TDOA measurement over multiple time instances for V2X positioning”),
the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to compute at least one of absolute location information or relative location information for one or more of the multiple pre-defined time instances of the sidelink PRS (see sections [0162], [0165] FIG. 10 “read a fixed anchor is a stationary/reference device that communicates with other devices using sidelink (SL) signals, The devices exchanged PRS signals multiple times and measurement such as TDOA(Time Difference of Arrival) are calculated to estimate the relative position/location between devices”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify Goyal with DAI to include wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration includes multiple pre-defined time instances of sidelink PRS; and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to compute at least one of absolute location information or relative location information for one or more of the multiple pre-defined time instances of the sidelink PRS thereby, to improve location accuracy to use RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques as taught by DAI (see section [0125]).
Regarding claim 6, Goyal teaches all the limitation of claim 1, Goyal fails to teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration is a common configuration applicable to multiple responding devices; and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform the sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on instances of sidelink PRS corresponding to the UE in the sidelink measurement window configuration
DAI teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration is a common configuration applicable to multiple responding devices (see sections [0172], [0203], [0208] & FIG. 11, 14 “read as UE positioning by treating a moving anchor as multiple virtual anchors over time and using repeated RSTD measurement with a fixed anchor to compute an accurate location, repeated sidelink/DL-PRS RSTD positioning measurement where anchor with accurately known or continuously updated positions transmit signals over multiple time instances to help determine the target UE’s relative or absolute position or anchors”),
the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform the sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on instances of sidelink PRS corresponding to the UE in the sidelink measurement window configuration (see section [0148], [0172] “ sidelink positioning, e.g., using another UE or other device having a known position, that may communicate with the target UE 104 via sidelink communications, may be used in measurement procedures in place of one or more base stations. The use of sidelink for positioning may be desirable as it permits a more flexible deployment with UE-form anchor devices”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify Goyal with DAI to include the sidelink measurement window configuration is a common configuration applicable to multiple responding devices; and the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to perform sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on instances of sidelink PRS corresponding to the apparatus in the sidelink measurement window configuration thereby, reduce interference by muting some PRS signals (reducing the power of the PRS signal as taught by DAI (see section [0084]).
Regarding claim 9, Goyal teaches all the limitation of claim 1, Goyal fails to teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration of a sidelink expected reference signal time difference (RSTD) search window; and measure a sidelink RSTD within the sidelink expected RSTD search window
DAI teaches receive a configuration of a sidelink expected reference signal time difference (RSTD) search window (see sections [0149],[0208] FIG. 14 “ RSTD measurement instance 1410, the anchor 1406 transmits a reference signal (e.g., SL or DL PRS) to the target UE 104.”),
measure a sidelink RSTD within the sidelink expected RSTD search window (see sections [0149] “Anchor/reference devices (include UEs, RSUs, and base station) may transmit or measure DL-PRS, UL-PRs or sidelink PRS signals and report timing/ positioning measurements such as RSTD, RxTx timing, and RSRP to support UE positioning “).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify Goyal with DAI to include wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration of a sidelink expected reference signal time difference (RSTD) search window; and measure a sidelink RSTD within the sidelink expected RSTD search window thereby, reduce interference by muting some PRS signals (reducing the power of the PRS signal as taught by DAI (see section [0084]).
Regarding claim 24, Goyal teaches all the limitation of claim 21, Goyal fails to teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration includes multiple pre-defined time instances of sidelink PRS; and the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to compute at least one of absolute location information or relative location information for one or more of the multiple pre-defined time instances of the sidelink PRS
DAI teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration includes multiple pre-defined time instances of sidelink PRS (see sections [0163], [0167] FIG. 10 “read as the target UE 104, fixed anchor 1002, and moving anchor 1006 may directly communicate and transmit positioning signals, e.g., DL PRS, UL PRS (SRS for positioning) or SL PRS and communicate between fixed and moving anchors and the target UE, using PRS and TDOA measurement over multiple time instances for V2X positioning”),
the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to compute at least one of absolute location information or relative location information for one or more of the multiple pre-defined time instances of the sidelink PRS (see sections [0162], [0165] FIG. 10 “read a fixed anchor is a stationary/reference device that communicates with other devices using sidelink (SL) signals, The devices exchanged PRS signals multiple times and measurement such as TDOA(Time Difference of Arrival) are calculated to estimate the relative position/location between devices”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify Goyal with DAI to include wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration includes multiple pre-defined time instances of sidelink PRS; and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to compute at least one of absolute location information or relative location information for one or more of the multiple pre-defined time instances of the sidelink PRS thereby, to improve location accuracy to use RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques as taught by DAI (see section [0125]).
Regarding claim 25, Goyal teaches all the limitation of claim 21, Goyal fails to teaches wherein: the sidelink measurement window configuration is a common configuration applicable to multiple responding devices; and the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to perform the sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on instances of sidelink PRS in the sidelink measurement window configuration
DAI teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration is a common configuration applicable to multiple responding devices (see sections [0172], [0203], [0208] & FIG. 11, 14 “read as UE positioning by treating a moving anchor as multiple virtual anchors over time and using repeated RSTD measurement with a fixed anchor to compute an accurate location, repeated sidelink/DL-PRS RSTD positioning measurement where anchor with accurately known or continuously updated positions transmit signals over multiple time instances to help determine the target UE’s relative or absolute position or anchors”),
the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to perform the sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on instances of sidelink PRS in the sidelink measurement window configuration (see section [0148], [0172] “sidelink positioning, e.g., using another UE or other device having a known position, that may communicate with the target UE 104 via sidelink communications, may be used in measurement procedures in place of one or more base stations. The use of sidelink for positioning may be desirable as it permits a more flexible deployment with UE-form anchor devices”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify Goyal with DAI to include the sidelink measurement window configuration is a common configuration applicable to multiple responding devices; and the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to perform the sidelink positioning measurements based at least in part on instances of sidelink PRS in the sidelink measurement window configuration thereby, reduce interference by muting some PRS signals (reducing the power of the PRS signal as taught by DAI (see section [0084]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal et al. (US PGPUB 20220295442 A1) as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (US PGPUB US 20240168122 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Goyal teaches all the limitation of claim 11, Goyal fails to teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration is configured as a common measurement window configuration to the group of responding devices for the groupcast sidelink positioning
MANOLAKOS teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration is configured as a common measurement window configuration to the group of responding devices for the groupcast sidelink positioning (see section [0129] “A network device (e.g., LMF) configures a common measurement window that is shared access multiple positioning methods and possibly multiple devices”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify Goyal with MANOLAKOS to include the sidelink measurement window configuration is configured as a common measurement window configuration to the group of responding devices for the groupcast sidelink positioning thereby, to help reduce interference by muting some PRS signals (reducing the power of the PRS signal as taught by MANOLAKOS (see section [0098]).
Regarding claim 13, Goyal teaches all the limitation of claim 11, Goyal fails to teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration is configured as separate measurement window configurations to a subset of the group of responding devices for the groupcast sidelink positioning
MANOLAKOS teaches wherein the sidelink measurement window configuration is configured as separate measurement window configurations to a subset of the group of responding devices for the groupcast sidelink positioning (see section [0134] “multiple different measurement windows are configured and each window is commonly applied to a specific combination/subset of positioning methods, different windows create different PRS resource subsets”.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify Goyal with MANOLAKOS to include the sidelink measurement window configuration is configured as separate measurement window configurations to a subset of the responding devices for the groupcast sidelink positioning thereby, to help reduce interference by muting some PRS signals (reducing the power of the PRS signal as taught by MANOLAKOS (see section [0098]).
Conclusion
/ARTIBEN JAIMIN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2645
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645