Amended claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 16, 23, 35, 37, 44, 52, 54, 56-59, 61, 63, 65, 78, 79
are pending.
Claim Rejections – Improper Markush Group
The nonstatutory Markush grouping rejection is based on a judicially approved “improper Markush grouping” doctrine. Previously presented rejection of claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 16, 23, 35, 37, 44, 52, 54, 56-59, 61, 63, 65, 79 are rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives is maintained. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature.
A Markush claim contains an “improper Markush grouping” if:
(1) the species of the Markush group do not share a single structural similarity,”
OR
(2) the species do not share a common use.
Members of a Markush group share a "single structural similarity” when they belong to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same recognized physical or chemical class or to the same art-recognized class. Members of a Markush group share a common use when they are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent (see Federal Register, Vol. 76, No. 27, Wednesday, February 9, 2011, p. 7166, left and middle columns, bridging paragraph).
This rejection applies to the definition of the multiple moieties in the claimed monomer. These moieties are broad and divergent in nature.
The compounds do not even belong to a recognized class of compounds because every variable varies having complex meanings and endless permutations and combinations. The members of the recited Markush group are so disparate chemically as not to be members of a recognized chemical class of compounds. Further the point of attachment and how these are linked to each render the conceivable compounds structurally different and uncommon. In view of these claimed elements and the divergent substitutions on the above groups, the physical and chemical properties of claimed compounds are going to be different. Applicants’ may have to establish the core structure for their claimed compound. It cannot be said that all members of the Markush group have a single structural similarity, based on the above described structural differences. Specifically, the species of the Markush group do not share a “single structural similarity” because there are no required structural features within each variable definition such that each member of the group would have at least one structural feature, which feature is essential to the activity/function of the claimed compounds, in common. In addition alternatively usable member of the Markush group, for example, the inhibitors or binders of different enzymes, does not share a common use, absent evidence to the contrary.
The question of whether the lack of a specific statutory basis is a fatal flaw against a holding of an Improper Markush group was decided in In re Harnish, 206 USPQ 300, 305, where the court said, “…we think it should be clear from our actions in Weber and Haas II that we there recognized the possibility of such a thing as an "improper Markush grouping." We were and are aware that it does not have a specific statutory basis …” The court went on to reverse the rejection, (which had been made by the Board under Rule 196(b)) but not on the lack of a specific statutory basis but rather, “Clearly, they are all coumarin compounds which the board admitted to be "a single structural similarity." We hold, therefore, that the claimed compounds all belong to a subgenus, as defined by appellant, which is not repugnant to scientific classification. Under these circumstances we consider the claimed compounds to be part of a single invention so that there is unity of invention…” Thus, the rejection was overturned not because of any lack of a specific statutory basis, but because of the specific facts in the case. The Markush group was held proper in that case, as was the case also in Ex parte Price 150 USPQ 467, Ex parte Beck and Taylor, 119 USPQ 100, and Ex parte Della Bella and Chiarino 7 USPQ2d 1669. Cases where the Markush group was held improper include Ex Parte Palmer, 7 USPQ 11, In re Winnek, 73 USPQ 225, In re Ruzicka, 66 USPQ 226, Ex parte Hentrich, 57 USPQ 419, Ex parte Barnard, 135 USPQ 109, Ex parte Reid, 105 USPQ 251, Ex parte Sun and Huggins, 85 USPQ 516, In re Thompson and Tanner, 69 USPQ 148, In re Swenson, 56 USPQ 180, and In re Kingston, 65 USPQ 371. Note In re Milas 71 USPQ 212 in which the structural difference between vitamin A and D was sufficient to uphold the improper Markush rejection. Also see In re Winnek 73 USPQ 225 and In re Ruzicka 66 USPQ 226 in which structural differences were small and yet a similar holding was maintained. All these cases involved compounds in the pharmaceutical art known to be structure-sensitive. Of particular interest is Ex Parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, which reversed an improper Markush rejection “in view of the relatively large proportion of the structure of the compounds in the claimed class which is common to the entire class”. Here, by contrast, the amount in common is none.
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. §134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1) (emphasis provided).
Response to Remarks:
Amendments to claims and Applicants arguments are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the claimed compounds share ‘substantial structural feature’ (invariable) and common sue. This is not persuasive for the following reasons. The only at once recognizable structural feature is the phenyl ring and piperidine ring. Consider for example the ring B defined as
Because both are heterocyclic groups, that an unsubstituted a three membered B ring epoxide and a multiply substituted B ring 12 membered heterocyclic group with several heteroatoms share same structural feature is not persuasive. Further as evidenced by data in the Table 20, structurally similar compounds do not share similar cell proliferation properties (which ultimately needed for intended common use). Also see section under 112-1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previously presented rejection of claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 16, 23, 35, 37, 44, 52, 54, 56-58, 61, 63, 65 and 79 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for making few compounds, does not reasonably provide enablement for plethora of conceivable possibilities of formula I is maintained for reasons of record.
Applicant’s arguments are persuasive with respect to some of the issues raised, for example with respect to macromonomer.
Applicants argument that the claims can have inoperative elements is not persuasive. How much of the inoperative and operative elements that the claims contain(s) is/are the issue at hand. Further that the specification provides (see Remarks page 53 first full paragraph) extensive guidance, direction and working examples is not persuasive.
Consider for example, A substituted with more than one of any of the R1 groups.
That any and all R1 groups can be formed does not find support finds little support in the specification. Consider, for example, the disclosure at page 78 onwards. This relates to the vast majority of the compounds made by the alkylation of piperidine N. The page 78 method to make compound with R1=Cl (at a specific location on the
phenyl A ring, to make any and all
Similarly page 111 also discloses chemistry which is predicated on the Pd catalyzed reaction (removal of Br from starting material). As such any and all R1s including R1=any halogen just not enabled in this Scheme at page 111 or at page 78 scheme.
Consider for example, X=Y=CO; or X=CO and Y= CH2 with and Z=S, N or O;
Similarly, as to claims it is not seen where specification discloses compounds with Z being
. What deuterated derivative or C5=C9 aryls are intended here. How are these made. These just cannot be willed into existence
There is no disclosure as to how to procure such compounds of starting materials that could be substituted in the disclosed Schemes as the ones disclosed above that would predictably make the claimed compounds. That 3-memebered heterocycles are C7-C9 aryls is raises major chemistry issues, for example, the 3-memebered epoxide or thioperoxide could be B rings as part of druggable compounds cannot be supported, since these are alkylating agents. Likewise, that the C7 aryl, tropylium cation can be attached to N of piperidine raises issues of makeability Also see section under Claim Rejections – Improper Markush Group.
In this context, the following at page 4 in the document filed P.237.Receipt Date 08/07/2024,
is revealing and just cannot be overlooked.
Regardless of the above, the Issue here is combination of different possibilities of the alphaphets of the pictured formula. That all the different generically recited groups decorating the invariable core structures, are usable in interchangeable manner for predictable use defies commonsense with regards to structure and function, taught by the cited Venkatesh, Cannon, Sundaresan and biological principles and also as per Friedman, Jeganathan citations for the intended use.
Applicant is not responsive to any of these teachings.
As noted earlier, there is no structural guidance such as pharmacophore definition disclosed in the specification to guide one of skill in the art to choose from the plethora possibilities recited for the variables.
Predictable use is the issue here.
As per the data in the Table 20 of the 314 compounds tested some are structurally similar compounds show a widely different IP50 values ranging from <50 nM to >500 nM.
The disclosed results reflect predictability in the art that is/are consistent with the teachings of the multiple prior art references discussed in the previous action.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CA FC) 42 USPQ2d 1001, states “a patent is not
a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful
conclusion” and “[p]atent protection is granted in return.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 16, 23, 35, 37, 44, 52, 54, 56-58, 61, 63, 65, 78, 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray, ACS Omega (2021), 6(3), 2284-2311; Makinngs, US8258148, Takai, Bioorg.Med.Chem.Lett.24(2014) 3189–3193; Guardia, J. Med. Chem. 2018, 61, 11327−11340; Kenichi, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (2019), 62(7), 3407-3427 and US11976067 (provisional priority 01/18/2022), Guardia, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (2018), 61(24), 11327-11340 and Foye’s Principles of Medicinal Chemistry, 7th Edition, page 53 column B and Walsh J. Med. Chem. (1989) 32 (1): 105–118.
In view of amendments to claims, Foye ,Ray, Makinngs, Guardia and Kenichi (found already in the file wrapper), added here to augment previously presented rejection.
Specific responses to Applicant’s Remarks with regards to issued US patent is found following the reformatted rejection.
Ray at page 2286, Table 2:
X=O, Y=Z=R1a=R1b=H, instant A decorated with recited R1 is seen as R1 above
B = 5-memebered heteroaryl with Ra = 6-membered aryl
Guardia at page 11329 in Table 2, teaches pharmaceutically active thiophene (in red) and other heterocycle compounds, as well as instant invariable template of the instantly claimed formula. See Figure 1 at column A of 11328.
Likewise, Ray pages 2285, Tables 1-3 teach compounds falling under the scope of the instant formula (see section under 35 USC § 102).
Similarly, Takai page 3191 Table 1 and at page 3192 chemistry scheme teaches how to make (using elementary N-alkylation chemistry methods biologically active compounds having the core structure
Kenichi, in Scheme 3, also teaches compounds similar to compounds of claimed formula.
Compare compound 45 (deliberate) Claim 35 is
Makinngs, teach
The numbers in the above are Chemical Abstracts Registry numbers.
X=CH2; Y=Z=CH2 B is heterocycle; R1= halogen
Makings also teaches compound at column 209, line 28-29; Also see Table 1 at column 32 to column 183 and in claims at column 267 to column 374.
US11976067 teaches claims column 1362-1524 compounds similar to the instant formula as explained below:
Compare US11976067 claim 1 formula:
With entry 1, 6, 13 and 26
of independent claim 78 (which does fall under the scope of base claim 1 Z = CO; R1c of NR1c is H and Z is bond) are similar to the compounds of formula of claims of US11976067 (see dependent claims species in US11976067). Also compare bottom of instant claim 9 at claim page 10.
The difference is the presence of L2 in formula of claim 1 US11976067. In US11976067 is
. That is the R4 CH2 in instant formula is linked to the B ring. Otherwise, there is extensive overlap in the claims. See Walsh, see Table IV at page 110 for such routine modifications (O, NR for CH2).
The instantly claimed compounds are similar to pharmaceutically active compounds in the above cited prior art references. (Also see the structural correlation for anticipation under section 102) This is further explained below: .
Interchangeable use of thiophene and pyridine for instant (instant A = phenyl (ene) (euphemistically recited as 6-memebered aryl) in the cited references themselves. See pictured Ray Table. Also bioisoteric replacement of thiophene for phenyl ring is explicitly taught in the teachings of Foye at page 53 column B.
Foye also teaches F (claimed R1) replacement of H (of many compounds in the cited prior art).
The position taken is that the instant claimed formula limitations represent selective combination of prior art elements, recited with efforts to avoid rejection under anticipation. An example in this regard is the Kenichi compounds pictured above. This reference is not anticipatory for the limitation of dependent claim 35,
because,
the Kenichi in compound
the
part is not in claim 35 for R1c. However this
, is interchangeably useable for H and alkyl, (recited for multiple R groups in the claims as equivalents) as per compounds of independent claim 78 (see entry 41, 42 and 45).
The limitations of the method claims 58, 61, 63, 65 relate to the inherent property of the compounds about which the cited references are silent. Also note that As MPEP 2112 Requirements of Rejection Based on Inherency; Burden of Proof [R-10.2019], "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer."
As per MPEP 2144.09 Close Structural Similarity Between Chemical Compounds (Homologs, Analogues, Isomers) [R-01.2024]; A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). Further the above pointed out difference, CH2 replacement for O can be argued as ‘bioisosteric replacement’. See for example, Foye’s Principles of Medicinal Chemistry, 7th Edition, page 53 column B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to combine the instant ingredients for their known benefit since each is well known in the art for their beneficial properties. Again, the invention is a selective combination of the inventions by the prior arts done in a manner obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Patent for the combination of known elements wherein their functions remain the same withdraws “what is already known into field of its monopoly and diminishes resources available to skilled men”. Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc.189 USPQ 449, 425 US 273, (1976).
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a). From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office.
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, the claims do not recite an unobvious distinction over the prior art. Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Response to Applicant Remarks:
Applicant’s arguments focus on the Examiner admitted to the difference L2 (see previous action page 14, line 6 from the bottom!). For addition medicinal chemistry examples for use of CH2 for O or NR, see Walsh, J. Med. Chem. (1989) 32 (1): 105–118, Table 4.
Argument that the office has not articulated any reason for modification by osa (see page 42 last paragraph of Remarks). Further Applicant notes that the pointed out Foye does not teach the Examiner statements (with supporting Text Book reference) with regards to replacements and modifications. Parenthetically it is interesting to note that claim limitations for the alphaphets of claimed Formula 1, such modifications!. Applicant’s statements clearly reflects Applicant’s allegation of improper office action. This Examiner strongly encourages Applicant to contact Examiner’s Supervisor (SPE), because especially this specific Supervisory Patent Examiner is a big proponent of consideration of ‘bioisoteric replacement’ in obviousness analysis. Further such actions on the part of the Applicant is anticipated to facilitate compact of prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ray, ACS Omega (2021), 6(3), 2284-2311
Ray at page 2286, Table 2:
X=O, Y=Z=R1a=R1b=H, instant A decorated with recited R1 is seen as R1 above
B = 5-memebered heteroaryl with Ra = 6-membered aryl
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 16, 23, 37, 54, 56, 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated, Makinngs, US8258148.
Makinngs, teach
The numbers in the above (and also see below) are Chemical Abstracts Registry numbers.
X=CH2; Y=Z=CH2 B is heterocycle; R1= halogen
Makings also teaches compound at column 209, line 28-29; Also see Table 1 at column 32 to column 183 and in claims at column 267 to column 374.
Double Patenting
Amendment to claims and to augment the previously presented rationale new references are invoked.
Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 16, 23, 35, 37, 44, 52, 54, 56-58, 61, 63, 65, 78, 79 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4,6-7,10-11,18,22-24,29,33 and 35 and method claims 36, 37, 44-49 of copending Application No. 18714031 (reference application) is maintained for reasons of record.
Note that the entirety of references cited under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
And Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 is invoked here in the obviousness analysis as per Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966). That is prior art teachings discussed sections under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 and Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 are known to one of skill in the art when faced with subject matter of conflicting claims.
Applicant points out the NH of piperidine is unsubstituted in the conflicting claims. This is not persuasive,
because,
not only the NH compounds (of the conflicting claims) are synthetic intermediate for making the instant claims and in the secondary references,
it is routine in the drug discovery research to test in identifying the minimum structural requirement (pharmacophore) needed for (the same) intended use. This is also evidenced by the disclosure at the point out Takai.Bioorg.Med.Chem.Lett.24(2014) 3189–3193, Table 3191, entry 2. and disclosure in US9346805 NH and N-substituted compounds. Also see Abdelshaheed, Piperidine nucleus in the field of drug discovery, Futur J Pharm Sci. (2021) 7:188, 1-11.
Previously presented rejection of claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 16, 23, 35, 37, 44, 52, 54, 56-58, 61, 63, 65, 78, 79 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-55 of U.S. Patent No. 11866446 and claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12421249 is maintained.
Applicant points out what was already discussed in the previous action with regards to thiophene and the N-alkylation modification.
Obviousness of this bioisosteric modification is discussed under section 103 with Text Book references. Also see cited references for rejection over the claims of US Application No. 18714031.
Likewise (Likewise means for the same rationale discussed above),
claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 15, 16, 23, 35, 37, 44, 52, 54, 56-58, 61, 63, 65, 78, 79 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No US12421249.
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Feldman, Understanding ‘Evergreening’ : Making Minor Modifications Of Existing
Medications To Extend Protections, Health Affairs June 2022 41:6, 801-804
Dwivedi, Evergreening: A deceptive device in patent rights, Technology in Society 32
(2010) 324–330.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625