DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21, 23-31, and 33-42 are presented for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 23-31, and 33-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. [ US Patent Application No 2023/0189348 ].
3. As per claim 21, Kim discloses the invention as claimed including a method comprising:
determining, for an enhanced-reduced capability user equipment, a type of data that will be communicated with the enhanced-reduced capability user equipment [ i.e. redcap device type information included in UE capability information and reported by a UE to a base station, device type for each use case such as Industrial Wireless sensor (IWS), video surveillance, wearables ] [ paragraphs 0244, and 0277-0290 ];
selecting, based on the type of data, a maximum data rate scaling factor [ i.e. the scaling factor given by the higher layer parameter scalingFactor, and the maximum data rate can be computed ] [ Table 8; and paragraphs 0247-0252 ]; and
communicating, with the enhanced-reduced capability user equipment, data using the maximum data rate scaling factor [ i.e. to transmit and receive a channel/signal/data/information ] [ Figure 16; and paragraphs 0035, 0379, and 0393 ].
4. As per claim 23, Kim discloses dynamically determining the maximum data rate scaling factor using a maximum data rate for the enhanced-reduced capability user equipment [ i.e. scalingFactor and can take values ] [ Table 8; and paragraphs 0247-0252 ].
5. As per claim 24, Kim discloses buffering, in memory, data for the enhanced- reduced capability user equipment using the maximum data rate scaling factor [ i.e. buffer Status report on an amount of data available for transmission ] [ paragraph 0156 ].
6. As per claim 25, Kim discloses wherein communicating the data comprises communicating, to the enhanced-reduced capability user equipment, buffered data from the memory [ i.e. buffer Status report ] [ paragraph 0156 ].
7. As per claim 26, Kim discloses wherein communicating the data comprises sending, by a base station, the data to the enhanced-reduced capability user equipment [ i.e. receiving from base station ] [ Abstract; and Figures 7, 8A, and 8B ].
8. As per claim 27, Kim discloses wherein communicating the data comprises receiving, by a base station, the data from the enhanced-reduced capability user equipment [ i.e. transmit to the base station ] [ Abstract; and Figures 7, 8A, and 8B ].
9. As per claim 28, Kim discloses wherein determining the maximum data rate scaling factor comprises determining the maximum data rate scaling factor selected from a group comprising 0.1, 0.2, 0.4, 0.8, or 1 [ i.e. scalingFactor can take values of 1, 0.8, 0.4 ] [ Table 8 ].
10. As per claim 29, Kim discloses wherein determining the maximum data rate scaling factor comprises determining, by a base station, the maximum data rate scaling factor using a user equipment capability report [ i.e. Redcap device type information included in UE capability information and reported by a UE to a base station/network ] [ paragraph 0244-0246 ].
11. As per claim 30, Kim discloses determining the maximum data rate scaling factor comprises determining, by a base station, the maximum data rate scaling factor using a scaling factor index received from the enhanced-reduced capability user equipment [ Figures 3-5; and paragraph 0093 ].
12. As per claims 31, 33-40, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 21, 23-30.
13. As per claim 41, Kim discloses wherein the type of data comprises industrial wireless sensor data, economic video data, lo-tier high-end video data, mid-tier high-end video data, and top-tier high-end video data [ i.e. industrial wireless sensor device types 1 and 2, video surveillance device types 2, 3, wearables device types 4, 5, 6, 7, and low-end services ] [ paragraphs 0206-0216, and 0278-0280 ].
14. As per claim 42, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 41.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21, 23-31, and 33-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. [ US Patent Application No 2023/0189308 ] discloses reduced capability user equipment comprising communication module to receive configuration information for configuring a first downlink bandwidth part and a first uplink bandwidth part to be used for an initial access procedure
/DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446