DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/836,723 filed on 08/07/2024 in which claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 13-15, 18-20, 22, 23 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2021/0227602 A1) in view of Qi (US 2021/0167925 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Li teaches an apparatus for performing sidelink positioning (Figures 2 and 3, Paragraphs [0131], [0312], and [0361] resources available for SL transmission in a slot), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor
configured to:
Li does not explicitly disclose receive a resource block comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols in a slot, wherein the slot comprises a plurality of slot portions, a first slot portion of the plurality of slot portions comprising at least a first sidelink symbol with at least a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource and a second slot portion of the plurality of slot portions comprising at least a second sidelink symbol with at least a second SL-PRS resource and process at least one SL-PRS resource in each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot.
Qi teaches receive a resource block comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols in a slot, wherein the slot comprises a plurality of slot portions, a first slot portion of the plurality of slot portions comprising at least a first sidelink symbol with at least a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource and a second slot portion of the pluralityof slot portions comprising at least a second sidelink symbol with at least a second SL-PRS resource and process at least one SL-PRS resource in each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot (Qi, Fig. 4-6 and Paragraphs [0017] and [0025] distributing a plurality of positioning reference signals on a per-slot basis).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receive a resource block comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols in a slot, wherein the slot comprises a plurality of slot portions, a first slot portion of the plurality of slot portions comprising at least a first sidelink symbol with at least a first sidelinkpositioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource and a second slot portion of the pluralityof slot portions comprising at least a second sidelink symbol with at least a second SL-PRS resource and process at least one SL-PRS resource in each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot as taught by Qi in the system of Li for improvements in location based services see Paragraph [0002] and title of Qi.
2. Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Qi teaches wherein the at least one processor is
configured to receive the resource block for a resource reservation period (Li Paragraph [0107] resource reservation period, Qi figure 5).
3. Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Qi teaches, wherein the first SL-PRS resource
comprises one of a transmit PRS or a receive PRS, and wherein the second SL-PRS resource comprises one of a transmit PRS or a receive PRS (Qi Paragraph [0032] both uplink and downlink).
4. Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Qi teaches, wherein at least one of the first slot
portion or the second slot portion comprises a sidelink control channel resource (Li, Paragraphs [0073] to [0076] PSCCH and PSSCH).
5. Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Qi teaches wherein the sidelink control channel
resource is a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resource (Li, Paragraph [0073] PSCCH).
6. Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Qi teaches wherein the sidelink control channel
resource is frequency division multiplexed with the first SL-PRS resource or the second SL-PRS resource (Li Paragraph [0467] frequency division multiplexed; sidelink slots).
7. Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Qi teaches, wherein the first slot portion comprises a first sidelink control channel resource, and wherein the second slot portion comprises a second sidelink control channel resource (Li, Paragraphs [0073] to [0076] PSCCH and PSSCH).
8. Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Qi teaches, wherein both the first slot portion and
the second slot portion do not comprise a sidelink control channel resource (Li Figure 14).
9. Regarding claim 13, Li in view of Qi teaches, wherein the at least one processor is
configured to: output, for transmission to a network entity, information associated with an application of at least one of the plurality of slot portions of the slot for sidelink (SL) positioning (Li, Figure 14, Paragraphs [0073] to [0076] PSCCH and PSSCH; Qi, Fig. 4-6 and Paragraphs [0017] and [0025] distributing a plurality of positioning reference signals on a per-slot basis).
10. Regarding claim 14, Li in view of Qi teaches wherein the at least one processor is
configured to: output, for transmission to a network entity, information associated with a configuration of the plurality of slot portions of the slot for a resource reservation period (Li Paragraph [0107] resource reservation period, Qi figure 5).
11. Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Qi teaches wherein the at least one processor is
configured to: receive, from a network entity, a configuration for at least one of the plurality of slot portions of the slot for sidelink positioning (Li, Figure 14, Paragraphs [0073] to [0076] PSCCH and PSSCH; Qi, Fig. 4-6 and Paragraphs [0017] and [0025] distributing a plurality of positioning reference signals on a per-slot basis).
12. Regarding claim 18, Li in view of Qi teaches, wherein a SL-PRS resource
configuration is repeated in the plurality of slot portions of the slot (Qi Paragraph [0083] and [0084] PRS pattern is repeated on slot).
13. Regarding claim 19, Li in view of Qi teaches wherein the at least one processor is
configured to: receive, from a network entity, information associated with a SL-PRS resource configuration for each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot (Qi Paragraph [0083] and [0084] PRS pattern is repeated on slot).
14. Regarding claim 20, Li in view of Qi teaches wherein the information is an indication of one or more slot portions of the plurality of slot portions of the slot that are enabled or disabled for one or more SL-PRS resources (Qi Paragraphs [0083] to [0086]and [0084] PRS pattern is repeated on slot).
15. Regarding claim 22, Li in view of Qi teaches wherein the information specifies the
SL-PRS resource configuration on at least one of a slot portion level or a slot level (Li, Figure 14, Paragraphs [0073] to [0076] PSCCH and PSSCH; Qi, Fig. 4-6 and Paragraphs [0017] and [0025] distributing a plurality of positioning reference signals on a per-slot basis).
16. Regarding claim 23, Li in view of Qi teaches wherein the SL-PRS resource
configuration is independent for each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot (Li, Figure 14, Paragraphs [0073] to [0076] PSCCH and PSSCH; Qi, Fig. 4-6 and Paragraphs [0017] and [0025] distributing a plurality of positioning reference signals on a per-slot basis).
17. Regarding claim 28, Li in view of Qi teaches wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE), and further comprising:
at least one transceiver configured to receive the resource block (Li, Figures 2 and 3, Paragraphs [0131], [0312], and [0361] resources available for SL transmission in a slot).
18. Regarding claim 29, Li teaches a method for performing sidelink positioning at a user equipment (UE) (Figures 2 and 3, Paragraphs [0131], [0312], and [0361] resources available for SL transmission in a slot), comprising:
Li does not explicitly disclose receiving a resource block comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols in a slot, wherein the slot comprises a plurality of slot portions, a first slot portion of the plurality of slot portions comprising at least a first sidelink symbol with at least a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource and a second slot portion of the plurality of slot portions comprising at least a second sidelink symbol with at least a second SL-PRS resource and processing at least one SL-PRS resource in each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot.
Qi teaches receiving a resource block comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols in a slot, wherein the slot comprises a plurality of slot portions, a first slot portion of the plurality of slot portions comprising at least a first sidelink symbol with at least a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource and a second slot portion of the plurality of slot portions comprising at least a second sidelink symbol with at least a second SL-PRS resource and processing at least one SL-PRS resource in each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot (Qi, Fig. 4-6 and Paragraphs [0017] and [0025] distributing a plurality of positioning reference signals on a per-slot basis).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving a resource block comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols in a slot, wherein the slot comprises a plurality of slot portions, a first slot portion of the plurality of slot portions comprising at least a first sidelink symbol with at least a first sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource and a second slot portion of the plurality of slot portions comprising at least a second sidelink symbol with at least a second SL-PRS resource and processing at least one SL-PRS resource in each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot as taught by Qi in the system of Li for improvements in location based services see Paragraph [0002] and title of Qi.
19. Regarding claim 30, Li teaches an apparatus for performing sidelink positioning ), comprising: at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor
configured to (Figures 2 and 3, Paragraphs [0131], [0312], and [0361] resources available for SL transmission in a slot):
Li does not explicitly disclose generate a resource block comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols in a slot, wherein the slot includes a plurality of slot portions, each slot portion from the plurality of slot portions of the slot comprising at least one sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource and transmit the resource block to a user equipment (UE).
Qi teaches generate a resource block comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols in a slot, wherein the slot includes a plurality of slot portions, each slot portion from the plurality of slot portions of the slot comprising at least one sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource and transmit the resource block to a user equipment (UE).
(Qi, Fig. 4-6 and Paragraphs [0017] and [0025] distributing a plurality of positioning reference signals on a per-slot basis).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide generate a resource block comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols in a slot, wherein the slot includes a plurality of slot portions, each slot portion from the plurality of slot portions of the slot comprising at least one sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) resource and transmit the resource block to a user equipment (UE) as taught by Qi in the system of Li for improvements in location based services see Paragraph [0002] and title of Qi.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2021/0227602 A1) in view of Qi (US 2021/0167925 A1) in further view of Baek et al. (WO 2021/086114 A1).
20. Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the first slot portion or the second slot portion comprises an automatic gain control (AGC) resource.
Baek teaches wherein one of the first slot portion or the second slot portion comprises an automatic gain control (AGC) resource (Figure 11a and 11b AGC symbol).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein one of the first slot portion or the second slot portion comprises an automatic gain control (AGC) resource as taught by Baek in the system of Li in view of Qi for a slot structure see Figure 11a.
21. Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first slot portion comprises a first automatic gain control (AGC) resource, and wherein the second slot portion comprises a second AGC resource.
Baek teaches wherein the first slot portion comprises a
first automatic gain control (AGC) resource, and wherein the second slot portion comprises a second AGC resource (Figure 11a, 12 and 13 AGC symbol).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first slot portion comprises a first automatic gain control (AGC) resource, and wherein the second slot portion comprises a second AGC resource as taught by Baek in the system of Li in view of Qi for a slot structure see Figure 11a, 12 and 13.
22. Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the first slot portion or the second slot portion comprises a gap, wherein a gap is a symbol without data.
Baek teaches wherein one of the first slot portion or
the second slot portion comprises a gap, wherein a gap is a symbol without data.
(Figure 11a, 12 and 13 AGC symbol).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein one of the first slot portion or the second slot portion comprises a gap, wherein a gap is a symbol without data as taught by Baek in the system of Li in view of Qi for a slot structure see Figure 11a, 12 and 13.
23. Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first slot portion comprises a first gap and the second slot portion comprises a second gap, and wherein the first gap and the second gap are each a symbol without data.
Baek teaches wherein the first slot portion comprises a
first gap and the second slot portion comprises a second gap, and wherein the first gap and the second gap are each a symbol without data (Figure 11a, 12 and 13 AGC symbol).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first slot portion comprises a first gap and the second slot portion comprises a second gap, and wherein the first gap and the second gap are each a symbol without data as taught by Baek in the system of Li in view of Qi for a slot structure see Figure 11a, 12 and 13.
Claims 21 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2021/0227602 A1) in view of Qi (US 2021/0167925 A1) in further view of Xiao et al. (US 2022/0279310 A1) .
24. Regarding claim 21, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly disclose wherein the information is included as part of assistance data (AD).
Xiao teaches wherein the information is included as part of assistance data (AD) (Paragraphs [0122] and [0131] assistance data).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the information is included as part of assistance data as taught by Xiao in the system of Li in view of Qi for location determination see abstract of Xiao.
25. Regarding claim 24, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to: output sidelink control information (SCI) for transmission to a receive user equipment (UE).
Xiao teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: output sidelink control information (SCI) for transmission to a receive user equipment (UE) (Paragraphs [0122] and [0131] transmits assistance data through SCI).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the at least one processor is configured to: output sidelink control information (SCI) for transmission to a receive user equipment (UE) as taught by Xiao in the system of Li in view of Qi for location determination see abstract of Xiao.
26. Regarding claim 25, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly disclose wherein the SCI comprises information related to a SL-PRS resource configuration for each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot.
. Xiao teaches wherein the SCI comprises information
related to a SL-PRS resource configuration for each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot (Paragraphs [0122] and [0131] assistance data through SCI; PRS slots).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the SCI comprises information related to a SL-PRS resource configuration for each of the plurality of slot portions of the slot as taught by Xiao in the system of Li in view of Qi for location determination see abstract of Xiao.
27. Regarding claim 26, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly wherein the information specifies the SL-PRS resource configuration on at least one of a slot portion level or a slot level.
. Xiao teaches wherein the information specifies the
SL-PRS resource configuration on at least one of a slot portion level or a slot level
(Paragraphs [0122] and [0131] assistance data through SCI; PRS slots).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the information specifies the SL-PRS resource configuration on at least one of a slot portion level or a slot level.
as taught by Xiao in the system of Li in view of Qi for location determination see abstract of Xiao.
28. Regarding claim 27, Li in view of Qi does not explicitly wherein the information is an indication of one or more slot portions of the plurality of slot portions of the slot that are enabled or disabled for one or more SL-PRS resources.
. Xiao teaches wherein the information is an indication
of one or more slot portions of the plurality of slot portions of the slot that are enabled or
disabled for one or more SL-PRS resources (Paragraphs [0122] and [0131] assistance data through SCI; PRS slots).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the information is an indication of one or more slot portions of the plurality of slot portions of the slot that are enabled or disabled for one or more SL-PRS resources as taught by Xiao in the system of Li in view of Qi for location determination see abstract of Xiao.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Panteleev et al. (US 2022/0086860 A1) Paragraph [0675] AGC and gap
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466