Detailed Action
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34-36, 38-43, 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by JP 2021534629 A in further view of KO (US 2023/0283434 A1).
Regarding claims 34 & 41, JP 2021534629 A discloses a method for performing sidelink positioning at a user equipment (UE), an apparatus for preforming sidelink positioning, comprising:
At least one memory (see processor and memory top of page 17); and
At least oen processor coupled to the at least one memory (see processor and memory top of page 17), the at least on one processor configured to:
receiving, at the UE, a resource block (see resource block middle of page 22) comprising a plurality of sidelink symbols in a slot (see page 23, third para “, the resources in the sidelinks are multiple symbols in time (eg, symbol pool), and many RBs available in frequency”), wherein the resource block comprises a plurality of slot portions (see bottom of page 23, “, the resources in the sidelinks are multiple symbols in time (eg, symbol pool), and many RBs available in frequency”), wherein a first slot portion of the plurality of slot (see first minislot, middle page 24) portions comprises a first sidelink symbol (see first two symbols, middle page 24) of the plurality of sidelink symbols with at least a first sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS) resource (see SL-PRS, first full para page 48) and a second sidelink symbol of the plurality of sidelink symbols (see first two symbols, middle page 24); and processing, by the UE, at least one resource in each slot portion of the plurality of slot portions of the slot (see bottom, page 53, “for more accurate use in time, measurements for SL-RSRP, SL-RSRQ, or SL-RSSI can also be configured via RRC or Sl-RRC, per symbol, per minislot, Or it may be based on a specific time unit, such as per slot.”).
JP 2021534629 A does not specifically disclose however Ko discloses with at least a second sidelink PRS resource (see [0009] S-PRS and second sidelink signals include S-PRS);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of JP 2021534629 A with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding method of claim 42 and apparatus of claim 35, Ko better discloses wherein the first sidelink PRS resource is a receive sidelink PRS resource, and the second sidelink PRS resource is a transmit sidelink PRS resource (see [0009]-[0010], discloses transmitting and/or receiving from different PRS resources);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of JP 2021534629 A with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding method of claim 43 and apparatus of claim 36, Ko better discloses wherein the first sidelink PRS resource is a transmit sidelink PRS resource, and the second sidelink PRS resource is a receive sidelink PRS resource (see [0009]-[0010], discloses transmitting and/or receiving from different PRS resources);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of JP 2021534629 A with that of Ko. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding method of claim 38 and apparatus of claim 45, JP 2021534629 A discloses method of claim 44, wherein the gain control resource is an automatic gain control (AGC) resource (see AGC, top of page 48);
Regarding method of claim 39 and apparatus of claim 46, Ko better discloses, wherein the first slot portion of the plurality of slot portions further comprises a third sidelink symbol of the plurality of sidelink symbols with at least a gap comprising no data (see measurement gap, [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 37 and 44 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 1-33 are allowed.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643