DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and Species A1 (polyacrylates) in the reply filed on 5/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Prud’Homme et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0096595).
Regarding claim 1, Prud’Homme et al. teach a film comprising a layer including a two dimensional polymer (paragraphs [0012], [0133]), the film having a low permeability (paragraph [0156]).
Regarding claim 5, Prud’Homme et al. teach wherein the layer further includes a polyacrylate (paragraphs [0113], [0115]).
Regarding claim 6, Prud’Homme et al. teach wherein the layer further includes a polymethacrylate (paragraphs [0113], [0115]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prud’Homme et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0096595).
Prud’Homme et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 2, Prud’Homme et al. do not disclose wherein the film has an oxygen permeability of less than 6x10-5 barrer. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in oxygen permeability involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to the oxygen permeability of Prud’Homme et al. in order to improve gas barrier properties (paragraphs [0013], [0156]).
Regarding claim 3, Prud’Homme et al. do not disclose wherein the film has an oxygen permeability of less than 0.13x10-5 barrer. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in oxygen permeability involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to the oxygen permeability of Prud’Homme et al. in order to improve gas barrier properties (paragraphs [0013], [0156]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prud’Homme et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0096595) in view of Boscia et al. (US Patent Application No. 2011/0086956).
Prud’Homme et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 4, Prud’Homme et al. fail to teach wherein the two-dimensional polymer is polyaramide. However, Boscia et al. teach a composite material comprising polyaramide (paragraphs [0002], [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyaramide of Boscia et al. in the film of Prud’Homme et al. in order to improve mechanical performance (Boscia et al., page 1, paragraph [0002]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prud’Homme et al. (US Patent Application No. 2010/0096595) in view of Helms et al. (US Patent Application No. 2018/0085744).
Prud’Homme et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 12, Prud’Homme et al. fail to teach wherein the two dimensional polymer includes a controlled porosity. However, Helms et al. teach a film comprising a layer including a two dimensional polymer (paragraph [0046]), wherein the film includes a controlled porosity (paragraph [0085]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the porosity of Prud’Homme et al. to that of Helms et al. in order to provide selective permeability (Helms et al., paragraph [0047]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 6/23/2026