DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination received 7 July 2026 is acknowledged. Clams 1-3 and 6-9 amended 7 July 2026 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katou (US Pub. No. 2020/0338737) in view of Watanabe (US Pub. No. 2004/0133312).
As per Claim 1, Katou discloses a teach pendant (30) configured to send a command to a robot controller (20) configured to control motion of a robot (10) (Fig. 1; ¶15-16), the teach pendant (30) comprising:
a microphone (40) configured to receive a voice command (as per S12 in Fig. 4) input by a worker (as per “an operator” in, e.g., ¶15, 17, 27) (Figs. 1, 4; ¶15, 27); and
a processor (as per “The robot teaching device 30 may have a general computer configuration including a CPU” in ¶15) configured to
recognize (as per S12, S14 in Fig. 4) the voice command (as per S12 in Fig. 4) acquired by the microphone (40) (Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶15-18, 27); and
transmit, to the robot controller (20), at least one of a command (as per “in response to various commands input from the robot teaching device 30” in ¶16) for an operation of a motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) of the robot (10) and {a command for a reset of an alarm}, based on a result of recognition (as per S12, S14 in Fig. 4) of the voice command (as per S12 in Fig. 4) (Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶15-18, 27, 40-43), wherein
with respect to the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42), an annotation (as per “recognition target word whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined determination criteria” in ¶36; as per “The recognition target word editing section 315 provides functions for editing, such as adding, changing, and deleting, information stored in the correspondence storage 312” in ¶41; as per “a program name of the operation program newly created” in ¶43) different (as per “target words whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined criterion” in ¶36 and “even when the operator utters words that are somewhat different from a recognition target word or even when a slight recognition error occurs in the voice recognition processing, these are added as recognition target words, thereby making it possible to subsequently use such recognition target words” in ¶39) from a name of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) is set as attribute information (as per “a new target word in the corresponding storage 312” in ¶43) (Fig. 2; ¶36-43),
the processor (as per “The robot teaching device 30 may have a general computer configuration including a CPU” in ¶15) is configured to, in response to recognizing (as per 311) that a voice of the worker (as per “an operator” in, e.g., ¶15, 17, 27) matches (as per “target words whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined criterion” in ¶36 and “even when the operator utters words that are somewhat different from a recognition target word or even when a slight recognition error occurs in the voice recognition processing, these are added as recognition target words, thereby making it possible to subsequently use such recognition target words” in ¶39) the annotation (as per “recognition target word whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined determination criteria” in ¶36; as per “The recognition target word editing section 315 provides functions for editing, such as adding, changing, and deleting, information stored in the correspondence storage 312” in ¶41; as per “a program name of the operation program newly created” in ¶43), transmit, to the robot controller (20), the command (as per “in response to various commands input from the robot teaching device 30” in ¶16) for the operation of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) corresponding to the annotation (as per “recognition target word whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined determination criteria” in ¶36; as per “The recognition target word editing section 315 provides functions for editing, such as adding, changing, and deleting, information stored in the correspondence storage 312” in ¶41; as per “a program name of the operation program newly created” in ¶43) (Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶15-18, 27, 36-43), and
the operation of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) of the robot (10) includes selection (as per “selecting an operation program” in ¶22) of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) of the robot (10) (Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶15-27, 40-43).
Katou does not expressly disclose wherein the operation of the motion program of the robot includes activation and a stop of the motion program of the robot.
Watanabe discloses a robot mechanism (1) and a robot control unit (2) for controlling the robot mechanism unit (1) (Fig. 1; ¶35). The robot control unit (2) includes a program memory (23) for storing a robot program (23a) and management data (23b) for managing the robot program (23a) (Fig. 1; ¶35). The management data (23b) stores an operation command issued by an operator by voice to the robot through a microphone (42) including an operation command (M2) for “prepare to resume” and an operation program (M1) for “stop cycle” (Fig. 2; ¶38). As such, Watanabe discloses wherein an operation of the motion program (23a) of the robot (1) includes activation (as per M2) and a stop (as per M1) of the motion program (as per 23a) of the robot (1). In this way, even an unskilled operator can easily issue a command for a robot (¶65). Like Katou, Watanabe is concerned with robot control systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Katou and Watanabe, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Watanabe to the system of Katou since doing so would enhance the system by allowing even an unskilled operator to easily issue a command for a robot.
As per Claim 2, the combination of Katou and Watanabe teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Katou further discloses
a display (31) configured to detect an input operation of touching a screen (as per “touch panel” in ¶17) by the worker (as per “… a soft key (not illustrated) arranged as an image is provided. The operator may operate an operation key (soft key) to teach or operate the robot 10” in ¶17), wherein
the display (31) is configured to display on the screen (as per “touch panel” in ¶17) at least one icon (as per “The operator may operate an operation key (soft key) to teach or operate the robot 10” in ¶17”) for the operation of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) of the robot (10) (Figs. 1-2, 7; ¶15-17, 36-43) or {for the reset of the alarm}, and
the processor (as per “The robot teaching device 30 may have a general computer configuration including a CPU” in ¶15) is configured to, based on the input operation of touching the at least one icon (as per “soft key” in ¶17) displayed on the screen (as per “touch panel” in ¶17) by the worker (as per “operator” in ¶17), transmit a command (as per “in response to various commands input from the robot teaching device 30” in ¶16) corresponding to the icon (as per “The operator may operate an operation key (soft key) to teach or operate the robot 10” in ¶17”) to the robot controller (20) (Fig. 1; ¶15-17).
As per Claim 3, the combination of Katou and Watanabe teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Katou does not expressly disclose:
a speaker configured to output predetermined information by another voice, wherein
the processor is configured to cause the speaker to output the another voice related to the voice command of the worker.
Watanabe discloses a robot mechanism (1) and a robot control unit (2) for controlling the robot mechanism unit (1) (Fig. 1; ¶35). The robot control unit (2) includes a communications port (26) that connects with a voice/character data conversion device (3), a teaching pendant (6), and an information processing device (7) (Fig. 1; ¶35). A speaker device (5) is connected to the voice/character data conversion device (3) and the speaker device (5) publicly addresses the voice input by an operator into the voice/character data conversion device (3) for public announcement and check of the input voice command (Fig. 1; ¶36). As such, Watanbe discloses: a speaker (5) configured to output predetermined information by another voice (as per “for public announcement and check of the input voice command” in ¶36), wherein the processor (3) is configured to cause the speaker (5) to output the another voice (as per “for public announcement and check of the input voice command” in ¶36) related to the voice command of the worker (as per “input voice command” in ¶36”). Like Katou, Watanabe is concerned with robot control systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Katou and Watanabe, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Watanabe to the system of Katou since doing so would enhance the system by providing a check of the input voice command.
As per Claim 8, Katou discloses a robot control system (20, 30) (Fig. 1; ¶15-16), comprising:
a teach pendant (30) (Fig. 1; ¶15); and
a robot controller (20) configured to control motion of a robot (10) based on a command (as per “in response to various commands input from the robot teaching device 30” in ¶16) from the teach pendant (30) (Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶15-18, 27, 40-43), wherein
the teach pendant (30) comprises:
a microphone (40) configured to acquire a voice command (as per S12 in Fig. 4) input by a worker (as per “an operator” in, e.g., ¶15, 17, 27) (Figs. 1, 4; ¶15, 27); and
a processor (as per “The robot teaching device 30 may have a general computer configuration including a CPU” in ¶15) configured to
recognize (as per S12, S14 in Fig. 4) the voice command (as per S12 in Fig. 4) acquired by the microphone (40) (Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶15-18, 27), and
transmit, to the robot controller (20), at least one of a command (as per “in response to various commands input from the robot teaching device 30” in ¶16) for an operation of a motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) of the robot (10) and {a command for a reset of an alarm}, based on a result of recognition (as per S12, S14 in Fig. 4) of the voice command (as per S12 in Fig. 4) (Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶15-18, 27, 40-43),
with respect to the motion program(as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42), an annotation (as per “recognition target word whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined determination criteria” in ¶36; as per “The recognition target word editing section 315 provides functions for editing, such as adding, changing, and deleting, information stored in the correspondence storage 312” in ¶41; as per “a program name of the operation program newly created” in ¶43) different (as per “target words whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined criterion” in ¶36 and “even when the operator utters words that are somewhat different from a recognition target word or even when a slight recognition error occurs in the voice recognition processing, these are added as recognition target words, thereby making it possible to subsequently use such recognition target words” in ¶39) from a name of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) is set as attribute information (as per “a new target word in the corresponding storage 312” in ¶43) (Fig. 2; ¶36-43),
the processor (as per “The robot teaching device 30 may have a general computer configuration including a CPU” in ¶15) is configured to, in response to recognizing (as per 311) that a voice of the worker (as per “an operator” in, e.g., ¶15, 17, 27) matches (as per “target words whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined criterion” in ¶36 and “even when the operator utters words that are somewhat different from a recognition target word or even when a slight recognition error occurs in the voice recognition processing, these are added as recognition target words, thereby making it possible to subsequently use such recognition target words” in ¶39) the annotation (as per “recognition target word whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined determination criteria” in ¶36; as per “The recognition target word editing section 315 provides functions for editing, such as adding, changing, and deleting, information stored in the correspondence storage 312” in ¶41; as per “a program name of the operation program newly created” in ¶43), transmit, to the robot controller (20), the command (as per “in response to various commands input from the robot teaching device 30” in ¶16) for the operation of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) corresponding to the annotation (as per “recognition target word whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined determination criteria” in ¶36; as per “The recognition target word editing section 315 provides functions for editing, such as adding, changing, and deleting, information stored in the correspondence storage 312” in ¶41; as per “a program name of the operation program newly created” in ¶43) (Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶15-18, 27, 36-43), and
the operation of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) of the robot (10) includes selection (as per “selecting an operation program” in ¶22) of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) of the robot (10) (Figs. 1-2, 4; ¶15-27, 40-43).
Katou does not expressly disclose wherein the operation of the motion program of the robot includes activation and a stop of the motion program of the robot.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Watanabe.
Therefore, from these teachings of Katou and Watanabe, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Watanabe to the system of Katou since doing so would enhance the system by allowing even an unskilled operator to easily issue a command for a robot.
As per Claim 9, the combination of Katou and Watanabe teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Katou further discloses wherein the processor (as per “The robot teaching device 30 may have a general computer configuration including a CPU” in ¶15) is further configured to, in response to recognizing (as per 311) a selection (as per “selecting an operation program” in ¶22) command (as per S12 in Fig. 4) followed by the annotation (as per “recognition target word whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined determination criteria” in ¶36; as per “The recognition target word editing section 315 provides functions for editing, such as adding, changing, and deleting, information stored in the correspondence storage 312” in ¶41; as per “a program name of the operation program newly created” in ¶43),
identify the name (as per “a program name of the operation program newly created” in ¶43) of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42) corresponding to the annotation (as per “recognition target word whose difference from a voice-inputted word satisfies predetermined determination criteria” in ¶36; as per “The recognition target word editing section 315 provides functions for editing, such as adding, changing, and deleting, information stored in the correspondence storage 312” in ¶41; as per “a program name of the operation program newly created” in ¶43), and
transmit, to the robot controller (20), the name (as per “a program name of the operation program newly created” in ¶43) of the motion program (as per “an editing screen 351 of an operation program displayed on the display device 31 by the program editing section 322” in ¶42).
Katou does not expressly disclose wherein the processor is configured for recognizing a predetermined start phrase.
See rejection of Claim 1 for discussion of teachings of Watanabe.
Therefore, from these teachings of Katou and Watanabe, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Watanabe to the system of Katou since doing so would enhance the system by allowing even an unskilled operator to easily issue a command for a robot.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katou (US Pub. No. 2020/0338737) in view of Watanabe (US Pub. No. 2004/0133312), further in view of Ozaki (US Pub. No. 2018/0056520).
As per Claim 6, the combination of Katou and Watanabe teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Katou does not expressly disclose wherein the robot is a cooperative robot configured to perform work together with the worker.
Ozaki discloses a robot (3) that cooperates with a human (1) to transport a workpiece (W) (Fig. 4; ¶59). As such, Ozaki discloses wherein the robot (3) is a cooperative robot configured to perform work (as per transporting the workpiece W) together with the worker (1). Like Katou, Ozaki is concerned with robot control systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Katou, Watanabe, and Ozaki, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Watanabe and Ozai to the system of Katou since doing so would enhance the system by: by allowing even an unskilled operator to easily issue a command for a robot; and adapting the system to transport a specified workpiece.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katou (US Pub. No. 2020/0338737) in view of Watanabe (US Pub. No. 2004/0133312; “Wanatabe 2004”), further in view of Watanabe (US Patent No. 6,088,628; “Watanabe ‘628”).
As per Claim 7, the combination of Katou and Watanabe 2004 teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Katou further discloses:
a display (31) configured to display an image (as per “… a soft key (not illustrated) arranged as an image is provided. The operator may operate an operation key (soft key) to teach or operate the robot 10” in ¶17) (Fig. 1; ¶15-17).
Katou does not expressly disclose wherein the processor is configured to cause the display to display a three-dimensional image of the robot such that the three-dimensional image of the robot corresponds to a current posture of the robot.
Watanabe ‘628 discloses a robot (20), a robot controller (10), and a teaching operation panel (30) (Figs. 1-2; 3:45-4:62). The teaching operation panel (30) includes a control section (33) and functions as a graphic display device for displaying a graphic image (20’) of the real robot (20) (Figs. 1-2; 4:6-62). The graphic image (20’) is updated based on two-dimensional data on the position of a hand (A’) of the graphic image (20’) which is designated by the touch panel (30) and data for designating a plane and the robot controller (10) receives three-dimensional position data prepared by the teaching operation panel (30) and thereby controls the movement of the real robot (20) (Figs. 2-3; 4:33-67). In a jog-feeding operation, the hand (A’) of the robot (20’) imaged on the display screen (30) moves and stops as indicated by the arrow and the hand of the real robot (20) also moves and stops following the movement of its image as indicated by the arrow (12:52-59). As such, Watanabe ‘628 discloses wherein the processor (33) is configured to cause the display (30) to display a three-dimensional image (Figs. 2-3) of the robot (20’) such that the three-dimensional image (Figs. 2-3) of the robot (20’) corresponds to a current posture (as per jog-feeding operation) of the robot (20). Like Katou, Watanabe ‘628 is concerned with robot control systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Katou, Watanabe 2004, and Watanabe ‘628, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Watanabe 2004 and Watanabe ‘628 to the system of Katou since doing so would enhance the system by: providing a check of the input voice command; and facilitating a jog-feeding operation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7 July 2026 have been fully considered as follows.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 102 should not be maintained in view of the amendments (page 5-7 of Amendment). Upon further consideration of the teachings of Katou and the amended claim language, rejections under 35 USC 102 are not maintained.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 103 should not be maintained in view of the amendments because “Watanabe at the cited portions does not describe that an operator can select, activate and stop the motion program by inputting by voice a word different from the name of the motion program” (page 8 of Amendment). However, no rejection involves an assertion that Watanabe individually discloses the limitations at issue. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not relevant to the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 103 should not be maintained in view of the amendments because “Because the cited portions of Kato and Watanabe do not teach or suggest the above-mentioned features in claim 1, the cited portions of Kato and Watanabe do not render claim 1 obvious” (page 8 of Amendment). However, no rejection involves an assertion that Katou or Watanabe individually discloses the limitations at issue. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not relevant to the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 103 should not be maintained in view of the amendments because “cited portions of other applied art of record … do not rectify the deficiencies of the cited portions of Kato and Watanabe (page 8 of Amendment). However, as discussed above, the alleged deficiencies are not present in the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is moot.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 103 should not be maintained in view of the amendments because “Watanabe at the cited portions does not rectify the deficiencies of Katou at the cited portions” (page 9 of Amendment). However, as discussed above, the alleged deficiencies are not present in the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is moot.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 103 should not be maintained in view of the amendments because “Ozaki at the cited portions does not rectify the deficiencies of Katou at the cited portions” (page 10 of Amendment). However, as discussed above, the alleged deficiencies are not present in the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is moot.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 103 should not be maintained in view of the amendments because “Watanabe'628 at the cited portions does not rectify the deficiencies of Katou at the cited portions” (page 10 of Amendment). However, as discussed above, the alleged deficiencies are not present in the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kassow (US Pub. No. 2009/0289591) and Kitamura (US Pub. No. 2021/0003991) disclose interface control systems.
/STEPHEN HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656