DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/836,771 filed on 08/08/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 08/08/2024 (marked preliminary amendment), which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-20 are pending.
-claims 5, 6, 12, 17, 18 are amended.
-Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/CN2023/077877, filed 02/23/2023.
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 3, 4, 10, 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Claims 3, 4, 10, 11 recite instances of terms “and/or”. Utilization of “/” in the terms “and/or” can be interpreted as “and” and “or” as being equivalent substitutes for each other, or as “and” or “or” utilized possibly in the alternative, or possibly even as both “and” and “or” as considered together, etc. Questions are raised as to what applicant’s objective is for the terms “and/or”, including which one of many possible interpretations resulting from the utilization of “/” in the terms “and/or” is the objective of the applicant. For the purposes of examination limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to utilize descriptive word recitations in place of “/”, to appropriately address questions raised and avoid any potential issues with reflecting applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Regarding claims 17, 18, 19, 20 - where the claim 9 recites “A receiver device for the method according to claim 1”, claim 17 recites “cause implementation of operations of the method of , claim 18 recites “cause implementation of the method of , claim 19 recites “cause implementation of operations of the method of claim 16”, and claim 20 recites “cause implementation of the method of claim 16”, to avoid potential issues of clarity and for consistency, the office action suggests to incorporate and recite steps, processes, limitations recited in claim 15, and claim 16 where referenced, respectively into the limitations for claims 17, 18, 19, 20.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Claims 14 recites terms “the used bit in the DCI format” for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the used bit” and “the DCI format” ) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “used bit” and “DCI format”. There appears to be no preceding recitation of “used bit” and “DCI format” respectively introduced for provision of antecedent basis including in claim 11 or claim 8 from which claim 14 depends, and as such, this office action respectfully contends there is a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the used bit” and “the DCI format” in Claim 14 finds antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 17, 18, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
A. The claims 17, 19 do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims 17, 19 recite, inter alia, “A computer-readable storage medium […] ” After close inspection, the Examiner respectfully notes that the disclosure, as a whole, does not specifically identify what may be included as computer-readable medium and what is not to be included as a computer-readable medium or whether computer-readable medium excludes implementation as software or transitory propagating signals (See ¶0091).
An Examiner is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during examination. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer-readable medium (also called machine-readable storage medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of a computer-readable medium, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal, per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter.
Therefore, given the silence of the disclosure and the broadest reasonable interpretation, the computer-readable medium of the claim may include transitory propagating signals. As a result, the claim pertains to non-statutory subject matter.
However, the Examiner respectfully submits a claim drawn to such a computer-readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim. Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. For additional information, please see the Patents’ Official Gazette notice published February 23, 2010 (1351 OG 212).
B. Claims 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) 18, 20 do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites, inter alia, “A computer program product, wherein the computer program product comprises instructions […]”. Review of applicant’s specification indicates no clear distinction of what comprises “A computer program product” and furthermore what comprises “the computer program product” which “comprises instructions”, such as disclosed in ¶0091 of applicant’s specification which indicates “the machine-executable instructions in the machine-readable storage medium or program product”, i.e. “machine-executable instructions” and “program product” are interchangeable, and as further referenced in ¶0091 “A machine-readable storage media and a program product for carrying or including the above-described machine-executable instruction” where the specification, as a whole, does not specifically identify what may be included as machine-readable medium and what is not to be included as a machine-readable medium or whether machine-readable medium and a program product for carrying or including the above-described machine-executable instruction, i.e. the specification, as a whole, does not specifically identify whether “A computer program product” excludes implementation as software.
Therefore “A computer program product, wherein the computer program product comprises instructions” does not fall under any of the statutory categories, and therefore the claim pertains to non-statutory subject matter and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 as covering non-statutory subject matter i.e. “software per se”.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the claims 18, 19 be amended by applicant to include language as supported by applicant’s specification, to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §101 by clearly reciting and defining within the claims 18, 20 as to which one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter the “computer program product” belongs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
12. Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20230026297 A1) i.e. “KIM”, in view of TANG (US 20210195527 A1) i.e. “TANG”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Original) KIM teaches: An electronic device for a base station side (KIM FIG. 5, FIG. 11 & ¶0063 […] The UE may receive a DRX command MAC CE (or, long DRX command MAC CE) (1e-25) from the base station during the active time in the master DRX group. Upon receiving one of the MAC CEs, the UE stops drx-InactivityTimer timer and drx-onDurationTimer timer being running (1e-30), and uses a short DRX cycle (or long DRX) […] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0063 i.e. receive a DRX command MAC CE (or, long DRX command MAC CE) (1e-25) from i.e. the base station reads on: An electronic device for a base station side ),
the electronic device comprising a processing circuit configured to (KIM – FIG. 5 & ¶0116 […] The controller 1i-50 controls the overall operation of the main base station[…]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0116 i.e. controller 1i-50 reads on: the electronic device comprising a processing circuit. Furthermore per ¶0116 i.e. controls the overall operation reads on: configured to ):
provide a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration to a terminal device (KIM FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0057 […] The base station configures an SCell together with plural pieces of DRX configuration information to the connected mode UE (1d-25). Then, corresponding DRX configuration information is applied to each serving cell (1d-30) […] ; ¶0062 […] The UE applies long DRX cycles 1e-10 and 1e-60 to the two DRX groups by default, and monitors the PDCCH during onDuration periods 1e-05 and 1e-55 in each cycle. Here, as the DRX groups apply drx-onDurationTimer and drx-onDurationTimer2, respectively, the onDuration periods in the two DRX groups are different; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0057 i.e. The base station configures an SCell together with plural pieces of DRX configuration information reads on: provide a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration , i.e. to the connected mode UE (1d-25) reads on: a terminal device and where i.e. per ¶0062 i.e. The UE applies long DRX cycles 1e-10 and 1e-60 to the two DRX groups by default, and monitors the PDCCH during onDuration periods 1e-05 and 1e-55 i.e. at least a first or a second or both configurations together are provided for application ),
the first DRX configuration being used to cause the terminal device to activate and sleep with a first set of DRX parameters (KIM FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0057 See above ; ¶0062 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 5 & ¶0062 i.e. UE applies long DRX cycles 1e-10 i.e. and monitors the PDCCH during onDuration periods 1e-05 where i.e. FIG. 5 depicts an on duration within the Long DRX Cycle reads on: the first DRX configuration being used to cause the terminal device to activate, and furthermore FIG. 5 depicts sleep period within the Long DRX Cycle reads on: and sleep with a first set of DRX parameters );
and during an activation duration of the terminal device based on the first set of DRX parameters (KIM FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0057 See above ; ¶0062 see above; ¶0063 See above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0063 […] The UE may receive a DRX command MAC CE (or, long DRX command MAC CE) (1e-25) from the base station during the active time reads on: and during an activation duration of the terminal device, furthermore per ¶0063 i.e. in the master DRX group as depicted in FIG. 5 applying Long DRX Cycle reads on: based on the first set of DRX parameters , i.e. prior to application of Short DRX Cycle as depicted),
provide a second DRX configuration to the terminal device (KIM FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0057 See above ; ¶0062 see above; ¶0063 See above ; ¶0064 […] If the short DRX cycle is used (1e-40), the UE starts drx-ShortCycleTimer (1e-35). Here, to match the DRX cycles applied to the two DRX groups, when one DRX group uses the short DRX cycle, the other DRX group also uses the short DRX cycle at the same time ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0063 i.e. Upon receiving one of the MAC CEs, the UE stops drx-InactivityTimer timer and drx-onDurationTimer timer being running (1e-30), and uses a short DRX cycle reads on: provide a second DRX configuration to the terminal device. Furthermore and additionally per ¶0064 i.e. to match the DRX cycles applied to the two DRX groups, when one DRX group uses the short DRX cycle, i.e. the other DRX group also uses the short DRX cycle at the same time also reads on: provide a second DRX configuration to the terminal device ),
the second DRX configuration being used to cause the terminal device to sleep with a second set of DRX parameters (KIM FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0057 See above ; ¶0062 see above; ¶0063 See above ; ¶0064 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 5 depicting the short DRX Cycle 1e-40 & i.e. ¶0063 i.e. uses a short DRX cycle showing on durations and sleep duration within the Short DRX cycle applied reads on: the second DRX configuration being used to cause the terminal device to sleep , i.e. depicting the short DRX Cycle 1e-40 and i.e. drx-inactivityTimer 1e-20 reads on: with a second set of DRX parameters).
KIM does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. see italicized portions of the claim limitations): sleep with a second set of DRX parameters during the activation duration.
TANG teaches: during an activation duration of the terminal device based on the first set of DRX parameters, provide a second DRX configuration to the terminal device, the second DRX configuration being used to cause the terminal device to sleep with a second set of DRX parameters during the activation duration (TANG FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0091 […] sending, by the network device, the downlink control channel to the first terminal device in a first subframe or a first slot during the on-duration of the DRX cycle […] ; ¶0092 […] the network device may send the downlink control channel to the at least one terminal device. If the first terminal device in the at least one terminal device detects the downlink control channel in the ith DRX cycle of the first terminal device, DRX information of the first terminal device carried in the downlink control channel may indicate that the first terminal device wakes up or sleeps during the on-duration of the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device, or indicate the first terminal device to wake up or sleep during on-durations of the (i+1)th DRX cycle and several DRX cycles after the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0091 i.e. sending, by the network device, the downlink control channel to the first terminal device in a first subframe or a first slot during the on-duration of the DRX cycle reads on: during an activation duration of the terminal device based on the first set of DRX parameters. Per ¶0092 i.e. . If the first terminal device in the at least one terminal device detects the downlink control channel in the ith DRX cycle of the first terminal device reads on: provide , i.e. DRX information of the first terminal device carried in the downlink control channel may indicate that the first terminal device i.e. wakes up or i.e. sleeps during the on-duration of the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device, or indicate the first terminal device to wake up or sleep during on-durations of the (i+1)th DRX cycle and several DRX cycles after the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device reads on: a second DRX configuration to the terminal device, i.e. sleeps during the on-duration of the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device or sleep during on-durations of the (i+1)th DRX cycle and several DRX cycles after the (i+1)th DRX cycle reads on: the second DRX configuration being used to cause the terminal device to sleep with a second set of DRX parameters , furthermore i.e. during on-durations reads on: during the activation duration ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KIM with teachings of TANG, since TANG enables DRX procedures where the terminal device can reduce power consumption by stopping receiving the control channel (in this case, the terminal device stops the blind detection of the control channel), thus prolonging battery life (TANG - ¶0003).
Regarding Claim 4. (Original) KIM in view of TANG teaches: The electronic device of claim 1,
furthermore TANG teaches: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to provide the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through downlink control information (DCI), the second DRX configuration comprising the second set of DRX parameters per se (TANG FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0070 […]the downlink control channel carries Download Control Information (DCI), and the DCI carries N pieces of DRX information of N terminal devices; ¶0091 See claim 1; ¶0092 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0091 i.e. sending, by the network device, the downlink control channel to the first terminal device in a first subframe or a first slot during the on-duration of the DRX cycle reads on: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to provide the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through downlink control information (DCI) where per ¶0070 the downlink control channel can be DCI. Per ¶0092 i.e. . If the first terminal device in the at least one terminal device detects the downlink control channel in the ith DRX cycle of the first terminal device. Furthermore i.e. DRX information of the first terminal device carried in the downlink control channel may indicate that the first terminal device i.e. wakes up or sleeps during the on-duration of the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device, or indicate the first terminal device to wake up or sleep during on-durations of the (i+1)th DRX cycle and several DRX cycles after the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device reads on: the second DRX configuration comprising the second set of DRX parameters per se ),
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
wherein whether the second DRX configuration is enabled is indicated by higher layer signaling or DCI (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KIM in view of TANG, further with the teachings of TANG, since TANG enables DRX procedures where the terminal device can reduce power consumption by stopping receiving the control channel (in this case, the terminal device stops the blind detection of the control channel), thus prolonging battery life (TANG - ¶0003).
Regarding Claim 8. (Original) KIM teaches: An electronic device for a terminal device side(KIM FIG. 5, FIG. 10 & ¶0063 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0063 i.e. receive a DRX command MAC CE (or, long DRX command MAC CE) (1e-25) i.e. The UE may receive reads on: An electronic device for a terminal device),
the electronic device comprising a processing circuit configured (KIM FIG. 10 & ¶0109 […] the storage 1j-30 provides stored data in response to a request from the controller 1j-40; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0109 i.e. the controller 1j-40 reads on: the electronic device comprising a processing circuit configured )
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 8 recites features in conjunction with a terminal device side that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1 in conjunction with a base station side, where for example the base station side of claim 1 associates with “provide a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration to a terminal device” and “during an activation duration of the terminal device based on the first set of DRX parameters provide a second DRX configuration to the terminal device”, and correspondingly and reciprocally the terminal device of claim 8 associates with “receive a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration” from the base station side, and “receive a second DRX configuration during an activation duration based on the first set of DRX parameters”. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 8. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) to: receive a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, the first DRX configuration being used to cause the terminal device to activate and sleep with a first set of DRX parameters; receive a second DRX configuration during an activation duration based on the first set of DRX parameters; and sleep with a second set of DRX parameters during the activation duration (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 8 recites features in conjunction with a terminal device side that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1 in conjunction with a base station side, where for example the base station side of claim 1 associates with “provide a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration to a terminal device” and “during an activation duration of the terminal device based on the first set of DRX parameters provide a second DRX configuration to the terminal device”, and correspondingly and reciprocally the terminal device of claim 8 associates with “receive a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration” from the base station side, and “receive a second DRX configuration during an activation duration based on the first set of DRX parameters”. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 8. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 9. (Original) KIM in view of TANG teaches: The electronic device of claim 8,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 9 recites features in conjunction with a terminal device side that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 2 in conjunction with a base station side, where for example the base station side of claim 2 associates with “provide a predefined DRX parameter set to the terminal device through higher layer signaling” and “provide the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through lower layer signaling”, and correspondingly and reciprocally the terminal device of Claim 9 associates with “receive a predefined DRX parameter set through higher layer signaling”, and “receive the second DRX configuration through lower layer signaling”. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 9. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: receive a predefined DRX parameter set through higher layer signaling, and receive the second DRX configuration through lower layer signaling, wherein the second DRX configuration is used to indicate the second set of DRX parameters from the predefined DRX parameter set, wherein whether the second DRX configuration is enabled is indicated by higher layer signaling or lower layer signaling(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 9 recites features in conjunction with a terminal device side that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 2 in conjunction with a base station side, where for example the base station side of claim 2 associates with “provide a predefined DRX parameter set to the terminal device through higher layer signaling” and “provide the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through lower layer signaling”, and correspondingly and reciprocally the terminal device of Claim 9 associates with “receive a predefined DRX parameter set through higher layer signaling”, and “receive the second DRX configuration through lower layer signaling”. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 9. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 13. (Original) KIM in view of TANG teaches: The electronic device of claim 8,
furthermore TANG teaches: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to obtain the second DRX configuration from one or more bits in a DCI format(TANG FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 - ¶0067[…] before act 310, that is, before the first terminal device detects the downlink control channel sent by the network device, the method further includes: receiving, by the first terminal device, second configuration information sent […] ; ¶0068 […] act 310, detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel sent by the network device includes: detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel according to the channel format of the downlink control channel; ¶0070 […]the downlink control channel carries Download Control Information (DCI), and the DCI carries N pieces of DRX information of N terminal devices; […] ¶0079 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0068 i.e. act 310, detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel sent by the network device includes: detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel according to the channel format of the downlink control channel and likewise per ¶0079 i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values, which are respectively used for representing DRX information of N terminal devices. i.e. If the network device informs that the number of the first terminal device is 1 reads on: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to obtain the second DRX configuration , where per ¶0079 i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values reads on: from one or more bits per ¶0068 i.e. ¶0068 i.e. act 310, the downlink control channel sent by the network device includes: detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel according to the channel format of the downlink control channel reads on: in a DCI format)
wherein the processing circuit is further configured to obtain the second DRX configuration from one or more bits in a DCI format (TANG FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 - ¶0067 See above ; ¶0068 See above; ¶0070 See above ; ¶0079 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0079 i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values, which are respectively used for representing DRX information of N terminal devices. i.e. If the network device informs that the number of the first terminal device is 1 reads on: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to obtain the second DRX configuration , where per ¶0079 i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values reads on: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to obtain the second DRX configuration from one or more bits . Furthermore per ¶0068 & ¶0070 i.e. the quantity of bits used for representing multiple pieces of DRX information in the DCI of the first DCI format reads on: in a DCI format),
the one or more bits comprising at least one of the following: a new bit in the DCI format; a reserved bit in the DCI format; or a used bit in the DCI format(TANG FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 - ¶0067 See above ; ¶0068 See above; ¶0070 See above ; ¶0079 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0070 i.e. the quantity of bits used for representing multiple pieces of DRX information in the DCI of the first DCI format is greater than the quantity of bits used for representing multiple pieces of DRX information in the DCI of the second DCI format i.e. whether first DCI format is used or second DCI format is used by size at least existing configured bits are used reads on: the one or more bits comprising at least one of the following: a used bit in the DCI format .
NOTE: Also See rejection of claim 6 - While Claim 13 depends directly from Claim 8, and Claim 13 does not like claim 6 (which has similar features to Claim 13) require features from intermediate dependent claim 3 (from which claim 6 depends), Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 (i.e. assuming arguendo applying prior art LUO – where currently LUO is not applied to Claim 13) would also additionally apply similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 14. (Original) KIM in view of TANG teaches: The electronic device of claim 11,
furthermore TANG teaches: wherein the used bit in the DCI format is used for indicating time domain resource allocation (TANG FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 - ¶0067 See above ; ¶0068 See Claim 13; ¶0070 See Claim 13 ; ¶0079 See claim 1; ¶0091 See claim 1; ¶0092 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0079 i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values, which are respectively used for representing DRX information of N terminal devices. i.e. If the network device informs that the number of the first terminal device is 1, where per ¶0079 i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values reads on: wherein the used bit , where per ¶0068 & ¶0070 i.e. the quantity of bits used for representing multiple pieces of DRX information in the DCI of the first DCI format reads on: in the DCI format. , where per ¶0091 i.e. sending, by the network device, the downlink control channel to the first terminal device in a first subframe or a first slot during the on-duration of the DRX cycle Per ¶0092 i.e. . If the first terminal device in the at least one terminal device detects the downlink control channel in the ith DRX cycle of the first terminal device. Furthermore i.e. DRX information of the first terminal device carried in the downlink control channel may indicate that the first terminal device i.e. wakes up or sleeps during the on-duration of the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device, or indicate the first terminal device to wake up or sleep during on-durations of the (i+1)th DRX cycle and several DRX cycles after the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device reads on: is used for indicating time domain resource allocation),
and the processing circuit is further configured to sleep during a period of time corresponding to a time domain resource(TANG FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 - ¶0067 See above ; ¶0068 See above; ¶0070 See above ; ¶0079 See claim 1; ¶0091 See claim 1; ¶0092 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0091 i.e. sending, by the network device, the downlink control channel to the first terminal device in a first subframe or a first slot during the on-duration of the DRX cycle Per ¶0092 i.e. If the first terminal device in the at least one terminal device detects the downlink control channel in the ith DRX cycle of the first terminal device. Furthermore i.e. DRX information of the first terminal device carried in the downlink control channel may indicate that the first terminal device i.e. wakes up or sleeps during the on-duration of the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device, or indicate the first terminal device to wake up or sleep during on-durations of the (i+1)th DRX cycle and several DRX cycles after the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device reads on: and the processing circuit is further configured to sleep during a period of time corresponding to a time domain resource),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
sleep after a time corresponding to the time domain resource which is used as an offset value(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 15. (Original) KIM teaches: A communication method (KIM FIG. 5, FIG. 11 & ¶0063 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0063 i.e. receive a DRX command MAC CE (or, long DRX command MAC CE) (1e-25) from i.e. the base station reads on: A communication method),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) comprising: providing a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration to a terminal device, the first DRX configuration being used to cause the terminal device to activate and sleep with a first set of DRX parameters; and during an activation duration of the terminal device based on the first set of DRX parameters, providing a second DRX configuration to the terminal device, the second DRX configuration being used to cause the terminal device to sleep with a second set of DRX parameters during the activation duration (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 16. (Original) KIM teaches: A communication method(KIM FIG. 5, FIG. 11 & ¶0063 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0063 i.e. The UE may receive a DRX command MAC CE (or, long DRX command MAC CE) (1e-25) reads on: A communication method),
(See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 16 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 16. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) comprising: receiving a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, the first DRX configuration being used to cause a terminal device to activate and sleep with a first set of DRX parameters; receiving a second DRX configuration during an activation duration based on the first set of DRX parameters; and sleeping with a second set of DRX parameters during the activation duration (See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 16 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 16. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 17. (Currently Amended) KIM teaches: A computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions stored thereon, which executable instructions, when executed by one or more processors(KIM FIG. 11 & ¶0111 […] a storage 1i-40, and a controller 1i-50; ¶0115 […] The storage 1i-40 stores data such as basic programs, application programs, and configuration information for the operation of the main base station […] the storage 1i-40 provides stored data in response to a request from the controller 1i-50 […] ; ¶0116 […] The controller 1i-50 controls the overall operation of the main base station; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0111 & ¶0115 i.e. The storage 1i-40 stores data such as basic programs, application programs, and configuration information for the operation reads on: A computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions stored thereon, where per ¶0116 i.e. The controller 1i-50 controls the overall operation of the main base station reads on: which executable instructions, when executed by one or more processors . NOTE: also see TANG combined in this rejection - disclosures associated with FIG. 8 & ¶0136 for similar teachings ),
cause implementation of operations of the method of claim 15 (See the rejection of Claim 15, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 15, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 15 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 18. (Currently Amended) KIM teaches: A computer program product, wherein the computer program product comprises instructions which, when executed by a computer(KIM FIG. 11 & ¶0111 […] a storage 1i-40, and a controller 1i-50; ¶0115 […] The storage 1i-40 stores data such as basic programs, application programs, and configuration information for the operation of the main base station […] the storage 1i-40 provides stored data in response to a request from the controller 1i-50 […] ; ¶0116 […] The controller 1i-50 controls the overall operation of the main base station; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0111 & ¶0115 i.e. The storage 1i-40 stores data such as basic programs, application programs, and configuration information for the operation reads on: A computer program product, wherein the computer program product comprises instructions, where per ¶0116 i.e. The controller 1i-50 controls the overall operation of the main base station reads on: which, when executed by a computer. NOTE: also see TANG combined in this rejection - disclosures associated with FIG. 8 & ¶0136 for similar teachings), cause implementation of the method of claim 15 (See the rejection of Claim 15, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 15, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 15 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 19. (New) KIM teaches: A computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions stored thereon, which executable instructions, when executed by one or more processors (KIM FIG. 10 & ¶0109 […] The storage 1j-30 stores data such as basic programs, application programs, and configuration information for the operation of the UE […] the storage 1j-30 provides stored data in response to a request from the controller 1j-40; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0109 i.e. The storage 1j-30 stores data such as basic programs, application programs, and configuration information reads on: A computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions stored thereon, and per ¶0109 i.e. the storage 1j-30 provides stored data in response to a request from the controller reads on: which executable instructions, when executed by one or more processors. NOTE: also see TANG combined in this rejection – disclosures associated with FIG. 7 & ¶0121 for similar teachings ),
cause implementation of operations of the method of claim 16 (See the rejection of Claim 16, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 16, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 16 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. (New) KIM teaches: A computer program product, wherein the computer program product comprises instructions which, when executed by a computer(KIM FIG. 10 & ¶0109 […] The storage 1j-30 stores data such as basic programs, application programs, and configuration information for the operation of the UE […] the storage 1j-30 provides stored data in response to a request from the controller 1j-40; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0109 i.e. The storage 1j-30 stores data such as basic programs, application programs, and configuration information reads on: A computer program product, wherein the computer program product comprises instructions, and per ¶0109 i.e. the storage 1j-30 provides stored data in response to a request from the controller reads on: which, when executed by a computer . NOTE: also see TANG combined in this rejection – disclosures associated with FIG. 7 & ¶0121 for similar teachings),
cause implementation of the method of claim 16 (See the rejection of Claim 16, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 16, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 16 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
13. Claims 2, 3, 5-7, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of TANG further in view of LUO et al. (US 20240349392 A1) i.e. “LUO”.
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) KIM in view of TANG teaches: The electronic device of claim 1,
furthermore TANG teaches: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: provide a predefined DRX parameter set to the terminal device through higher layer signaling (TANG - ¶0077 […] before the first terminal device determines the DRX information of the first terminal device according to the number of the first terminal device, the method further includes: receiving, by the first terminal device, third configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the third configuration information is used for indicating the number of the first terminal device; ¶0078 […] The third configuration information may be, for example, sent by the network device to the first terminal device through an RRC signaling or an MAC CE […] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0077 i.e. receiving, by the first terminal device, third configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the third configuration information is used for indicating the number of the first terminal device reads on: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: provide a predefined DRX parameter set , and furthermore i.e. receiving, by the first terminal device reads on: to the terminal device . Furthermore per ¶0078 i.e. The third configuration information may be, for example, sent by the network device to the first terminal device through an RRC signaling reads on: through higher layer signaling ),
and provide the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through lower layer signaling (TANG - ¶0079 […]the downlink control channel includes N bit values, which are respectively used for representing DRX information of N terminal devices. The N bit values correspond to N pieces of DRX information of N terminal devices one by one. When numbers of terminal devices are different, the corresponding pieces of DRX information are different, which indicates that the bit values of the DRX information are also different. If the network device informs that the number of the first terminal device is 1, the first terminal device wakes up during the on-duration of a next DRX cycle according to the corresponding bit value of 1. If the network device informs that the number of the first terminal device is 2, the first terminal device sleeps during the on-duration of a next DRX cycle according to the corresponding bit value of 0. […]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0079 i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values, which are respectively used for representing DRX information of N terminal devices. i.e. If the network device informs that the number of the first terminal device is 1 reads on: and provide the second DRX configuration to the terminal device , where i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values reads on: through lower layer signaling ),
wherein the second DRX configuration is used to indicate the second set of DRX parameters from the predefined DRX parameter set (TANG - ¶0079 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0079 i.e. If the network device informs that the number of the first terminal device is 1, the first terminal device wakes up during the on-duration of a next DRX cycle according to the corresponding bit value of 1 reads on: wherein the second DRX configuration is used to indicate the second set of DRX parameters . Furthermore per ¶0077 i.e. receiving, by the first terminal device, third configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the third configuration information is used for indicating the number of the first terminal device reads on: from the predefined DRX parameter set ),
wherein whether the second DRX configuration is enabled is indicated by higher layer signaling
or
lower layer signaling (TANG - ¶0079 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0079 i.e. If the network device informs that the number of the first terminal device is 1, the first terminal device wakes up reads on: wherein whether the second DRX configuration is enabled during the on-duration of a next DRX cycle according to the corresponding bit value of 1 reads on: is indicated , where i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values reads on: lower layer signaling).
While TANG teaches wherein the second DRX configuration is used to indicate the second set of DRX parameters from the predefined DRX parameter set, in that i.e. the second set of DRX parameters is derived based upon or from mapping to the number of the first terminal device i.e. from i.e. the predefined DRX parameter set, assuming arguendo TANG does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest i.e. indicate the second set of DRX parameters from the predefined DRX parameter set, and therefore:
Kim in view of TANG (i.e. Assuming arguendo) does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note: i.e. see italicized portions of the claim limitations): indicate the second set of DRX parameters from the predefined DRX parameter set;
LUO teaches: further configured to: provide a predefined DRX parameter set to the terminal device through higher layer signaling (LUO fig. 2 & ¶0109 […]the network device may send the first configuration information to the user equipment through one or more combinations of a higher layer signaling, a MAC CE signaling or a physical layer protocol specification ; FIG. 3 & ¶0119 […] S302, the network device sends the first configuration information to the user equipment.; ¶0120 […] S303, the user equipment determines the N groups of candidate parameter sets according to the first configuration information ; ¶0121 […] [0121] It should be noted that the steps S301˜S303 are similar to the solution in the embodiment shown in FIG. 2;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0119 […] S302, the network device sends the first configuration information to the user equipment.; ¶0120 […] S303, the user equipment determines the N groups of candidate parameter sets according to the first configuration information reads on: further configured to: provide a predefined DRX parameter set to the terminal device. Furthermore per FIG. 2 & FIG. 3 , ¶00121 i.e. S301˜S303 are similar to the solution in the embodiment shown in FIG. 2 and per ¶0109 i.e. the network device may send the first configuration information to the user equipment through one or more combinations of a higher layer signaling reads on: through higher layer signaling),
and provide the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through lower layer signaling, wherein the second DRX configuration is used to indicate the second set of DRX parameters from the predefined DRX parameter set (LUO FIG. 3 & ¶0122 […] S304 the network device sends a target indication signaling to the user equipment; ¶0123 […] S305, the user equipment obtains a target parameter set of a target DRX transmission from the N groups of candidate parameter sets according to the target indication signaling sent by the network device; ¶0124 The target indication signaling is at least one of a DCI signaling, a MAC CE signaling or a higher layer signaling;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0122 S304 the network device sends a target indication signaling to the user equipment reads on: and provide the second DRX configuration to the terminal device per ¶0124 The target indication signaling is at least one of a DCI signaling, a MAC CE signaling reads on: through lower layer signaling; per ¶0123 i.e.S305, the user equipment obtains a target parameter set of a target DRX transmission reads on: wherein the second DRX configuration is used to indicate the second set of DRX parameters per ¶0123 i.e. from the N groups of candidate parameter reads on: from the predefined DRX parameter set ) ,
wherein whether the second DRX configuration is enabled is indicated by higher layer signaling (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
lower layer signaling (LUO FIG. 3 ¶0164 […] S306, when the user equipment determines that a preset condition is met, the user equipment switches the target parameter set of the target DRX transmission to a preset parameter set; ¶0169 […] the user equipment determines that the preset condition is met when at least one of the following situations is met; ¶0175 […] the user equipment receives a RRC reconfiguration message sent by the network device, where the RRC reconfiguration message is used to modify the target parameter set of the target DRX transmission; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0164 i.e. the user equipment switches the target parameter set of the target DRX transmission to a preset parameter set i.e. when the user equipment determines that a preset condition is met reads on: wherein whether the second DRX configuration is enabled , where per ¶0169 i.e. the user equipment determines that the preset condition is met when per ¶0175 i.e. the user equipment receives a RRC reconfiguration message sent by the network device, where the RRC reconfiguration message is used to modify the target parameter set of the target DRX transmission reads on: is indicated by higher layer signaling ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KIM in view of TANG with teachings of LUO, since LUO enables a discontinuous reception (DRX) mechanism in order to improve timeliness and energy saving of a data transmission process (LUO - ¶0083).
Regarding Claim 3. (Original) KIM in view of TANG and LUO teaches: The electronic device of claim 2,
furthermore LUO teaches: wherein providing the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through lower layer signaling comprises activating the second DRX configuration through a MAC CE and indicating the second DRX configuration through downlink control information (DCI) (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
wherein the second DRX configuration is used to carry the second set of DRX parameters per se (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
identification information of the second set of DRX parameters (LUO FIG. 23 & ¶0126 […] The target parameter set index indication information is used to indicate to the user equipment to determine the target parameter set from the N groups of candidate parameter sets according to the indication information ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 3 & S 304 ¶0126 i.e. The target parameter set index indication information is used to indicate to the user equipment to determine the target parameter set reads on: wherein providing the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through lower layer signaling comprises wherein the second DRX configuration is used to carry identification information of the second set of DRX parameters i.e. used to determine to determine the target parameter set from the N groups of candidate parameter sets ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KIM in view of TANG and LUO, further with teachings of LUO, since LUO enables a discontinuous reception (DRX) mechanism in order to improve timeliness and energy saving of a data transmission process (LUO - ¶0083).
Regarding Claim 5. (Currently Amended) KIM in view of TANG and LUO teaches: The electronic device of claim 3 [[or 4]],
furthermore TANG teaches: wherein the second set of DRX parameters comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
the following: offset value, indicating an offset time from receiving the second set of DRX parameters to entering sleep (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
one or more sleep durations(TANG FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0091 See claim 1; ¶0092 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0091 i.e. sending, by the network device, the downlink control channel to the first terminal device in a first subframe or a first slot during the on-duration of the DRX cycle Per ¶0092 i.e. . If the first terminal device in the at least one terminal device detects the downlink control channel in the ith DRX cycle of the first terminal device. Furthermore i.e. DRX information of the first terminal device carried in the downlink control channel may indicate that the first terminal device i.e. wakes up or sleeps during the on-duration of the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device, or indicate the first terminal device to wake up or sleep during on-durations of the (i+1)th DRX cycle and several DRX cycles after the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device reads on: wherein the second set of DRX parameters comprises at least one of the following: one or more sleep durations );
one or more DRX cycles(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a number of times for sleep (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KIM in view of TANG, further with the teachings of TANG, since TANG enables DRX procedures where the terminal device can reduce power consumption by stopping receiving the control channel (in this case, the terminal device stops the blind detection of the control channel), thus prolonging battery life (TANG - ¶0003).
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently Amended) KIM in view of TANG and LUO teaches: The electronic device of claim 3 [[or 4]],
furthermore LUO teaches: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to provide the second DRX configuration by using one or more bits in a DCI format, the one or more bits comprising at least one of the following: a new bit in the DCI format; a reserved bit in the DCI format; or a used bit in the DCI format (LUO FIG. 3 & ¶0128 […]Adding an information field of 1˜M bits in the DCI signaling, the MAC CE signaling or the higher layer signaling, where indication information carried in the information field is used to indicate to the user equipment to determine one or more target parameter sets of a target DRX transmission from the N groups of candidate parameter sets ; ¶0130 […] the format of the scheduling DCI signaling is, for example, 0_0/1_0/0_1/1_1/0_2/1_2: the format of the non-scheduling DCI signaling is, for example, 0_1/1_1 […] ; ¶0131 […] a 1-bit information field can be used to indicate an index of the target parameter set in the N groups of parameter candidate sets, where the index is used for the user equipment to obtain the target parameter set from the N groups of parameter candidate sets; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0128 i.e. Adding an information field of 1˜M bits in the DCI signaling, the MAC CE signaling or the higher layer signaling, where indication information carried in the information field is used to indicate to the user equipment and per ¶0130 i.e. the format of the scheduling DCI signaling is, for example, 0_0/1_0/0_1/1_1/0_2/1_2: the format of the non-scheduling DCI signaling is, for example, 0_1/1_1 […] reads on: wherein the processing circuit is further configured to provide the second DRX configuration by using one or more bits in a DCI format. Furthermore per ¶0131 i.e. a 1-bit information field can be used to indicate an index of the target parameter set in the N groups of parameter candidate sets reads on: the one or more bits comprising at least one of the following: per ¶0128 i.e. Adding an information field of 1˜M bits reads on: a new bit in the DCI format ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KIM in view of TANG and LUO, further with teachings of LUO, since LUO enables a discontinuous reception (DRX) mechanism in order to improve timeliness and energy saving of a data transmission process (LUO - ¶0083).
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) KIM in view of TANG and LUO teaches: The electronic device of claim 6,
furthermore LUO teaches: wherein the used bit in the DCI format is a bit used (See claim 6; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0128 i.e. Adding an information field of 1˜M bits in the DCI signaling, the MAC CE signaling or the higher layer signaling, where indication information carried in the information field is used to indicate to the user equipment and per ¶0130 i.e. the format of the scheduling DCI signaling is, for example, 0_0/1_0/0_1/1_1/0_2/1_2: the format of the non-scheduling DCI signaling is, for example, 0_1/1_1 […] reads on: wherein the used bit in the DCI format is a bit used.);
furthermore TANG teaches: wherein the used bit in the DCI format is a bit used for indicating time domain resource allocation (TANG FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 - ¶0067 See above ; ¶0068 See Claim 13; ¶0070 See Claim 13 ; ¶0079 See claim 1; ¶0091 See claim 1; ¶0092 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0079 i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values, which are respectively used for representing DRX information of N terminal devices. i.e. If the network device informs that the number of the first terminal device is 1, where per ¶0079 i.e. the downlink control channel includes N bit values reads on: wherein the used bit , where per ¶0068 & ¶0070 i.e. the quantity of bits used for representing multiple pieces of DRX information in the DCI of the first DCI format reads on: in the DCI format is a bit used. , where per ¶0091 i.e. sending, by the network device, the downlink control channel to the first terminal device in a first subframe or a first slot during the on-duration of the DRX cycle Per ¶0092 i.e. . If the first terminal device in the at least one terminal device detects the downlink control channel in the ith DRX cycle of the first terminal device. Furthermore i.e. DRX information of the first terminal device carried in the downlink control channel may indicate that the first terminal device i.e. wakes up or sleeps during the on-duration of the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device, or indicate the first terminal device to wake up or sleep during on-durations of the (i+1)th DRX cycle and several DRX cycles after the (i+1)th DRX cycle of the first terminal device reads on: for indicating time domain resource allocation)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
used for indicating the offset value(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of KIM in view of TANG and LUO, further with the teachings of TANG, since TANG enables DRX procedures where the terminal device can reduce power consumption by stopping receiving the control channel (in this case, the terminal device stops the blind detection of the control channel), thus prolonging battery life (TANG - ¶0003).
Regarding Claim 10. (Original) KIM in view of TANG and LUO teaches: The electronic device of claim 9,
(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 10 recites features in conjunction with a terminal device side that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 3 in conjunction with a base station side, where for example the base station side of Claim 3 associates with “providing the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through lower layer signaling comprises activating the second DRX configuration through a MAC CE and indicating the second DRX configuration through downlink control information (DCI)”, and correspondingly and reciprocally the terminal device of Claim 10 associates with “receiving the second DRX configuration through lower layer signaling comprises receiving the second DRX configuration through downlink control information (DCI), the second DRX configuration being activated through MAC CE”. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein receiving the second DRX configuration through lower layer signaling comprises receiving the second DRX configuration through downlink control information (DCI), the second DRX configuration being activated through MAC CE, and/or wherein the second DRX configuration is used to carry the second set of DRX parameters per se or identification information of the second set of DRX parameters (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 10 recites features in conjunction with a terminal device side that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 3 in conjunction with a base station side, where for example the base station side of Claim 3 associates with “providing the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through lower layer signaling comprises activating the second DRX configuration through a MAC CE and indicating the second DRX configuration through downlink control information (DCI)”, and correspondingly and reciprocally the terminal device of Claim 10 associates with “receiving the second DRX configuration through lower layer signaling comprises receiving the second DRX configuration through downlink control information (DCI), the second DRX configuration being activated through MAC CE”. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 11. (Original) KIM in view of TANG teaches: The electronic device of claim 8,
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 11 recites features in conjunction with a terminal device side that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 4 in conjunction with a base station side, where for example the base station side of Claim 4 associates with “provide the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through downlink control information (DCI)”, and correspondingly and reciprocally the terminal device of Claim 11 associates with “to receive the second DRX configuration through downlink control information (DCI)”. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 11. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the processing circuit is further configured to receive the second DRX configuration through downlink control information (DCI), the second DRX configuration comprising the second set of DRX parameters per se, and/or wherein whether the second DRX configuration is enabled is indicated by higher layer signaling or DCI (See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 11 recites features in conjunction with a terminal device side that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 4 in conjunction with a base station side, where for example the base station side of Claim 4 associates with “provide the second DRX configuration to the terminal device through downlink control information (DCI)”, and correspondingly and reciprocally the terminal device of Claim 11 associates with “to receive the second DRX configuration through downlink control information (DCI)”. The rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 11. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 12. (Currently Amended) KIM in view of TANG and LUO teaches: The electronic device of claim 10 [[or 11]],
(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 12 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 12. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the second set of DRX parameters comprises at least one of the following: offset value, indicating an offset time from receiving the second set of DRX parameters to entering sleep; one or more sleep durations; one or more DRX cycles; or a number of times for sleep (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 12 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 12. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
07/16/2026.
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414