DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 8/8/24 has been considered and entered. Claims 1-21 have been canceled. Claims 22-42 have been added and are the only remaining claims active for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
OR
Claims 22,24,25,29,30,34-37 and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being clearly anticipated by Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) or in the alternative rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847).
Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) teaches aa method of manufacturing semiconductor device for forming metal element-containing layer on insulating layer whereby a metal oxide layer is formed on the insulating layer (abstract). Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) teaches forming as a Manganese oxide layer (MnOx) using a Mn precursor and an oxygen reactive gas whereby the manganese precursor includes Cp2Mn, EtCp2Mn, CpMnCO3, etc. and the oxygen gas include O2 (molecular oxygen) as well as organic oxygen compounds and supplying these gases to a processing chamber and reacting at the surface of the substrate after (col. 8, line 5 – col. 10, line 10). Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) teaches the substrate to include glass (col. 17, lines 38-42).
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being clearly anticipated, Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) teaches the claimed Mn precursors, oxygen precursors as well as the substrate and hence meets the definition of a 35 USC 102 rejection, however, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847), the Mn precursor, oxygen precursor and the glass substrate are recited in a listing/group and the suggestion to select the claimed elements would have been within the skill of one practicing in the art to produce the desired results absent a showing of criticality thereof the particular claimed elements.
Regarding claim 24, Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) teaches feeding the gases to the processing chamber before forming the manganese oxide film (col. 10, 3-10).
Regarding claim 25, Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) teaches atmospheric pressure as teaches almost air pressure as well as a vacuum state (col. 20, lines 4-20).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) teaches forming the MnO film on a SiO interlayer (col. 3, line 54 – col. 4, line 15).
Regarding claim 34, Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) teaches the MnO is pyrolytic as it is formed by pyrolysis decomposition of precursors (col. 8, lines 43-65).
Regarding claims 35-37, Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) tecahes the organic oxygen containing compound to include esters which would be inclusive of alky groups with hydrogen (col. 9, lines 7-15 and col. 15, lines 23-31).
Regarding claim 40, Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) teaches the oxygen reactive gas can include O2 (molecular oxygen) (col. 9, lines 7-15 and col. 15, lines 23-31).
Regarding claims 41 and 42, Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) teaches (methylcyclopentadienyl) manganese (I) tricarbonyl or derivatives (col. 8, lines 43-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) in combination with Okahata et al. (2014/0302330).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) are incorporated here.
Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) fails to teach the substrate to be float glass.
Okahata et al. (2014/0302330) teaches forming an oxide such as manganese oxide on the surface of glass formed by the float process [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) process to form the manganese oxide film on a surface of fluorine tin oxide as evidenced by Okahata et al. (2014/0302330) with the expectation of producing the desired coating layer.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) in combination with Matsumoto et al. (2014/0183743).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) are incorporated here.
Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) fails to teach the MnOx film to be continuous.
Matsumoto et al. (2014/0183743) teaches forming manganese metal film whereby the MnO film is a continuous thin film [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) process to form a continuous film as evidenced by Matsumoto et al. (2014/0183743) with the expectation of producing the desired coating layer.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) in combination with Matsumoto et al. (2011/0049718).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) are incorporated here.
Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) fails to teach the MnOx film to be discontinuous.
Matsumoto et al. (2011/0049718) teaches forming manganese film whereby the MnO film is a discontinuous thin film [0189].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) process to form a discontinuous film as evidenced by Matsumoto et al. (2011/0049718) with the expectation of producing the desired coating layer.
Claims 28 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) are incorporated here.
Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) fails to teach the surface concentration MnOx film to be 0.10ug/cm2 or less and the glass temperature to be in the range of 1100F-1400F.
While Matsumoto et al. (2011/0049718) is silent with respect to the concentration of manganese as well as teaching lower processing temperatures, the Examiner takes the position that the manganese concentration as well as the temperatures are a matter of design choice by one practicing in the art of forming manganese films and would be within the skill to optimize these absent a showing of criticality thereof.
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) in combination with Macfarlane et al. (2014/0034510).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) are incorporated here.
Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) fails to teach the interlayer to be tin oxide or fluorine doped tin oxide.
Macfarlane et al. (2014/0034510) teaches forming manganese oxide on the surface of fluorine doped tin oxide (FTO) [0115].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) process to form the manganese oxide film on a surface of fluorine tin oxide as evidenced by Macfarlane et al. (2014/0034510) with the expectation of producing the desired coating layer.
Claims 38 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) in combination with Strickler (9,187,825).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) are incorporated here.
Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) fails to teach the oxygen containing compound to include ethyl acetate.
Strickler (9,187,825) teaches forming metal oxide films whereby the oxygen containing compound comprises ethyl acetate (claim 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsumoto et al. (9,245,847) process to form the manganese oxide film by utilizing ethyl acetate as the organic oxygen containing precursor as evidenced by Strickler (9,187,825) with the expectation of producing the desired MnO coating layer.
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712