DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 7-16 in the reply filed on 03 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a shared technical feature exists among Groups I and II, and thus the groups should be prosecuted together (see Response at Pg. 6). This is not found persuasive because the shared feature does not constitute a special technical feature in view of WO 2020/263631 to Thothadri et al. and US 2015/0132552 to Kang et al. as discussed herein. Accordingly, the identified groups lack unity of invention and thus merit election.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-6 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08 August 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/263631 to Thothadri et al. (“Thothadri”) in view of US 2015/0132552 to Kang et al. (“Kang”).
With regard to Claim 7, Thothadri teaches a method of forming a cover lens structure comprising depositing a hardcoat layer on a substrate via a wet deposition process, depositing an adhesion promotion layer thereon, and depositing another hardcoat layer thereon via a dry deposition process (see Abstract; FIG. 1; ¶¶ [0059]-[0060], [0072], [0074]-[0075], [0084], [0100]). Thothadri further teaches depositing an anti-smudge layer and disposing the coated substrate on a touch panel display device (see FIG. 1; ¶¶ [0059]-[0060], [0072]-[0075], [0084], [0100], [0108]-[0109], [0141]-[0142]). Thothadri does not expressly teach provision of a hardcoat layer via a wet process on an opposing substrate side. Kang is similarly directed to hardcoat layers on display devices (see Abstract; ¶ [0010]), and teaches provision of hardcoat layers via a wet deposition process on both sides of a treated substrate yielding improved coated article properties (see ¶¶ [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0041], [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have applied a hardcoat layer on both substrate sides in the method of Thothadri, as taught by Kang, in order to obtain improved properties.
With regard to Claim 8, Thothadri teaches roll-to-roll formation of layers (see ¶¶ [0075], [0084]) and provision of a sacrificial adhesion layer degradable at 60-120°C (see ¶¶ [0137]-[0138]). To the extent that the disclosure of Thothadri does not imply deposition from a roll at temperatures within the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have applied roll-deposited layers at temperatures within the claimed range to avoid prematurely degrading the sacrificial layer.
With regard to Claims 9-10, Thothadri teaches polyethylene terephthalate substrates (see ¶ [0072]).
With regard to Claim 11, Thothadri teaches spray coating as a wet deposition process, and subsequent curing (see ¶¶ [0082], [0109]). Kang additionally teaches provision of hardcoat layers comprising a solvent and subsequent curing (see ¶ [0041]).
2. Claim 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thothadri in view of Kang as applied to Claim 11, and further in view of WO 2012/136529 to Yan et al. (“Yan”).
With regard to Claims 12-16, Thothadri teaches deposition of layers via roll-to-roll processes (see ¶ [0075]). To the extent that the reel rotation and arrangement features of Claims 12-16 are not expressly taught by Thothadri, Yan is directed to a continuous roll-to-roll multilayer coating process and apparatus, and teaches the claimed reel arrangements comprising a plurality of winding/unwinding storage reels, transfer rollers, and rotation thereof (see Abstract; FIG. 1; Pgs. 21, 23, 24-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have pursued roll-to-roll multilayer coating in the method of Thothadri in view of Kang as claimed in order to conduct a continuous coating operation as taught by Yan.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712