DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0160334 (Kawanaka) in view of WO 2021096312 (Kang).
Regarding claim 1, Kawanaka teaches a battery system (Fig. 1 shows a battery system), comprising:
a plurality of battery packs (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of battery packs 12) [0039-0040];
a main controller (Fig. 1 shows vehicle controller 30);
a plurality of pack battery management systems (BMS) (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of battery pack monitoring IC 21a(21)-21b(21), power supply monitoring apparatus 23, controller 26) [0038, 0043-44], wherein each pack BMS is configured to monitor a respective battery pack of the plurality battery packs (Fig. 1 shows plurality of battery pack monitoring IC 21a(21)-21b(21) configured to monitor a respective battery pack 12 of the plurality of battery packs) [0041-43];
a plurality of first relays (Fig. 3 shows switches S1 and S3), each first relay of the plurality
of first relays connected between a positive electrode of each respective battery pack of the plurality of battery packs and each respective first node of a plurality of first nodes for each of
the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3 shows switches S1 and S3 i.e. plurality of first relays connected between a positive electrode of each respective battery pack 12a and 12b of the plurality of battery packs and each respective first node of the plurality of first nodes for each of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b) [0053, 0060];
a plurality of second relays (Fig. 3 shows switches S2 and S4) connected between a negative electrode of the respective battery pack and each respective second node of a plurality of second nodes for each of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3 shows switches S2 and S4 connected between a negative electrode of the respective battery packs 12a and 12b and each respective second node of the plurality of second nodes for each of the plurality battery packs 12a-b) [0059-60];
a capacitor (Fig. 3 shows capacitor C1) having both ends connected between a first wiring connected to the plurality of first nodes and a second wiring connected to the plurality of second nodes (Fig. 3 shows capac0itor C1 having both ends connected between a first wiring connected to the first nodes and a second wiring connected to the plurality of second nodes) [0054, 0058];
a resistor and a switch connected in series between the first wiring and the second wiring (Fig. 3 shows resistor R5 and switch in series between the first and second wiring) [0061];
wherein the plurality of pack BMS (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of battery pack monitoring IC 21a(21)-21b(21), power supply monitoring apparatus 23, controller 26) are configured to:
receive control signals from the main controller (vehicle controller 30 sends signal to control the start and stop of charge and discharge the battery cells) [0046-47];
upon receiving the control signals, control the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays to be closed at the same time (controller 26 controlling plurality of first relays and plurality of second relays to be closed at the same time to start charging/discharging battery cells as is determined by controller 30) [0056-58, 0075, 0079].
However, Kawanaka does not teach wherein, while all of the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays are closed, each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack to the capacitor, and determine that the first relay and second relay connecting the respective battery pack to the capacitor are normal based on detection of the measured current flowing to the capacitor.
However, Kang teaches wherein, while all of the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays are closed (Fig. 4 shows all of the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays S1-Sn are closed), each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack to the capacitor (Fig. 4 shows each pack current sensors A1-An i.e. each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack to capacitor Ccap) [Page 12 ¶6-7], and determine that the first relay and second relay connecting the respective battery pack to the capacitor are normal based on detection of the measured current flowing to the capacitor (Fig. 4 shows determining the first relay and second relay connecting the respective battery pack to the Ccap are normal based on the current detected) [Page 13 ¶7-9-Page 14].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have while all of the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays are closed, each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack to the capacitor, and determine that the first relay and second relay connecting the respective battery pack to the capacitor are normal based on detection of the measured current flowing to the capacitor as taught by Kang in order to diagnose faults in the circuitry thereby protecting the circuitry from damages.
Regarding claim 2, Kawanaka does not teach a plurality of current sensors, each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect the current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs.
However, Kang teaches a plurality of current sensors, each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect the current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 4 shows each pack current sensors A1-An i.e. each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack) [Page 12 ¶6-7].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of current sensors, each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect the current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs as taught by Kang in order to accurately detect the current flowing in the battery modules thereby protecting the battery packs from damages of over-discharging.
Regarding claim 3, Kawanaka teaches wherein: each pack BMS of the plurality of pack BMSs (Fig. 1 shows 1st and 2nd monitoring IC 21a-b and 1st to 6th switches controller 26a1 as shown in Fig. 2) is configured to: receives a voltage sensing signal from voltage detection circuit [0050-0054], and when the received current sensing signal indicates a zero current, diagnoses that at least one of the first relay connected to the positive electrode of the respective battery pack and second relays connected to the negative electrode of the respective battery pack is in a stuck open state [0043-0044, 0101-0102, 0105-106, 0127-129].
However, Kawanaka does not teach each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect a current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs.
However, Kang teaches current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect a current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 4 shows each pack current sensors A1-An i.e. each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack) [Page 12 ¶6-7].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of current sensors, each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect the current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs as taught by Kang in order to accurately detect the current flowing in the battery modules thereby protecting the battery packs from damages of over-discharging.
Regarding claim 4, Kawanaka teaches further comprising: a main control integrated circuit configured to discharge the capacitor by turning on the switch for a predetermined discharging period [0067-0069] when an operation of the battery system ends (Fig. 8 shows a discharging pathway to discharge the charged capacitor C when the battery packs 12a-b are disconnected) [0088].
Regarding claim 5, Kawanaka teaches further comprising:
a first main relay (Fig. 3 shows switch S5) connected between a first input terminal of a power device connected to the battery system and positive electrodes of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3 shows switch S5 connected between a first input terminal of voltage converter 50 i.e. power device as shown in Fig. 1 connected to battery system 12 and positive electrodes of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b); and
a second main relay (Fig. 3 shows switch S6) connected between a second input terminal of the power device and negative electrodes of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3 shows switch S6 connected between a second input terminal of the voltage converter 50 i.e. power device as shown in Fig. 1 connected to the negative electrodes of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b);
wherein the capacitor, the resistor, and the switch (Fig. 3 shows capacitor C, resistor R5 and switch S7) are positioned between the first wiring connecting the first main relay to the positive electrodes of the plurality of battery packs and the second wiring connecting the second main relay to the negative electrodes of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3 shows capacitor C, resistor R5 and switch S7 are positioned between the first wiring connecting switch S5 i.e. first main relay to the positive electrodes of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b and the second wiring connecting the switch S6 i.e. second main relay to the negative electrodes of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b) [0066-0069].
Regarding claim 6, Kawanaka teaches wherein: the plurality of pack BMSs (Fig. 1 shows 1st and 2nd monitoring IC 21a-b and 1st to 6th switches controller 26a1 as shown in Fig. 2) are configured to control the first main relay and the second main relay to be in an open state during a period in which the plurality of pack BMSs determine whether the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays are normal (Fig. 10 shows first and second main relays S5 and S6 to be in an open state during a period in which determining whether the relays S5 and S6 are functioning) [0061, 0141-0142].
Regarding claim 7, Kawanaka teaches further comprising: a connection switch (Fig. 3 shows changeover switch 7) connected between any one of the first wiring and the capacitor or between the second wiring and the capacitor (Fig. 3 shows changeover switch 7 connected between any one of the first wiring and the capacitor C or between the second wiring and the capacitor C) [0066-0068].
Regarding claim 8, Kawanaka teaches a vehicle (Fig. 1 shows a vehicle controller 30 in a vehicle) [0037, 0046], comprising:
a battery system (Fig. 1 shows a battery system); and
a power device (Fig. 1 shows voltage converter 50) receiving power from the battery system or charging the battery system (Fig. 1 shows voltage converter 50 i.e. a power device receiving power from battery system or charging the battery system) [0046-0047], wherein the battery system includes:
a plurality of battery packs (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of battery packs 12) [0039-0040];
a main controller (Fig. 1 shows vehicle controller 30);
a plurality of pack battery management systems (BMS) (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of battery pack monitoring IC 21a(21)-21b(21), power supply monitoring apparatus 23, controller 26) [0038, 0043-44], wherein each pack BMS is configured to monitor a respective battery pack of the plurality battery packs (Fig. 1 shows plurality of battery pack monitoring IC 21a(21)-21b(21) configured to monitor a respective battery pack 12 of the plurality of battery packs) [0041-43];
a plurality of first relays (Fig. 3 shows switches S1 and S3), each first relay of the plurality of first relays connected between a positive electrode of each respective battery pack of the plurality of battery packs and each respective first node of a plurality of first nodes for each of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3 shows switches S1 and S3 i.e. plurality of first relays connected between a positive electrode of each respective battery pack 12a and 12b of the plurality of battery packs and each respective first node of the plurality of first nodes for each of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b) [0053, 0060];
a plurality of second relays (Fig. 3 shows switches S2 and S4) connected between a negative electrode of the corresponding battery pack and each respective second node of a plurality of second nodes for each of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3 shows switches S2 and S4 connected between a negative electrode of the respective battery packs 12a and 12b and each respective second node of the plurality of second nodes for each of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b) [0059-60];
a capacitor (Fig. 3 shows capacitor C) having both ends connected between a first wiring connected to the plurality of first nodes and a second wiring connected to the plurality of second nodes (Fig. 3 shows capacitor C1 having both ends connected between a first wiring connected to the first nodes and a second wiring connected to the plurality of second nodes) [0054, 0058];
a resistor (Fig. 3 shows resistor R5) and a switch connected in series between the first wiring and the second wiring (Fig. 3 shows resistor R5 and switch in series between the first wiring and the second wiring) [0061]; and
wherein the plurality of pack BMS (Fig. 1 shows a plurality of battery pack monitoring IC 21a(21)-21b(21), power supply monitoring apparatus 23, controller 26) are configured to: receive control signals from the main controller (vehicle controller 30 sends signal to control the start and stop of charge and discharge the battery cells) [0046-47];
upon receiving the control signals, control the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays to be closed at the same time (controller 26 controlling plurality of first relays and plurality of second relays to be closed at the same time to start charging/discharging battery cells as is determined by controller 30) [0056-58, 0075, 0079].
However, Kawanaka does not teach wherein, while all of the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays are closed, each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack to the capacitor, and determine that the first relay and second relay connecting the respective battery pack to the capacitor are normal based on detection of the measured current flowing to the capacitor.
However, Kang teaches wherein, while all of the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays are closed (Fig. 4 shows all of the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays S1-Sn are closed), each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack to the capacitor (Fig. 4 shows each pack current sensors A1-An i.e. each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack to capacitor Ccap) [Page 12 ¶6-7], and determine that the first relay and second relay connecting the respective battery pack to the capacitor are normal based on detection of the measured current flowing to the capacitor (Fig. 4 shows determining the first relay and second relay connecting the respective battery pack to the Ccap are normal based on the current detected) [Page 13 ¶7-9-Page 14].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have while all of the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays are closed, each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack to the capacitor, and determine that the first relay and second relay connecting the respective battery pack to the capacitor are normal based on detection of the measured current flowing to the capacitor as taught by Kang in order to diagnose faults in the circuitry thereby protecting the circuitry from damages.
Regarding claim 9, Kawanaka does not teach further comprising: a plurality of current sensors, each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect a current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs.
However, Kang teaches a plurality of current sensors, each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect the current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 4 shows each pack current sensors A1-An i.e. each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack) [Page 12 ¶6-7].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of current sensors, each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect the current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs as taught by Kang in order to accurately detect the current flowing in the battery modules thereby protecting the battery packs from damages of over-discharging.
Regarding claim 10, Kawanaka teaches wherein: each pack BMS of the plurality of pack BMSs (Fig. 1 shows 1st and 2nd monitoring IC 21a-b and 1st to 6th switches controller 26a1 as shown in Fig. 2) is configured to: receives a voltage sensing signal from voltage detection circuit [0050-0054], and when the received current sensing signal indicates a zero current, diagnoses that at least one of the first relay connected to the positive electrode of the respective battery pack and second relays connected to the negative electrode of the respective battery pack is in a stuck open state [0043-0044, 0101-0102, 0105-106, 0127-129].
However, Kawanaka does not teach each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect a current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs.
However, Kang teaches each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect a current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 4 shows each pack current sensors A1-An i.e. each pack BMS is configured to measure a current flowing from its respective battery pack) [Page 12 ¶6-7].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each current sensor of the plurality of current sensors configured to detect a current flowing to each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs as taught by Kang in order to accurately detect the current flowing in the battery modules thereby protecting the battery packs from damages of over-discharging.
Regarding claim 11, Kawanaka teaches wherein: the battery system further includes a main control integrated circuit (IC}configured to discharge the capacitor by turning on the switch for a predetermined discharging period [0067-0069] when a starting of the vehicle is off (Fig. 8 shows a discharging pathway to discharge the charged capacitor C when the battery packs 12a-b are disconnected) [0088].
Regarding claim 12 Kawanaka teaches further comprising:
a first main relay (Fig. 3 shows switch S5) connected between a first input terminal of a power device connected to the battery system and positive electrodes of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3 shows switch S5 connected between a first input terminal of voltage converter 50 i.e. power device as shown in Fig. 1 connected to battery system 12 and positive electrodes of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b); and
a second main relay (Fig. 3 shows switch S6) connected between a second input terminal of the power device and negative electrodes of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3 shows switch S6 connected between a second input terminal of the voltage converter 50 i.e. power device as shown in Fig. 1 connected to the negative electrodes of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b);
wherein the capacitor, the resistor, and the switch (Fig. 3 shows capacitor C, resistor R5 and switch S7) are positioned between the first wiring connecting the first main relay to the positive electrodes of the plurality of battery packs and the second wiring connecting the second main relay to the negative electrodes of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3 shows capacitor C, resistor R5 and switch S7 are positioned between the first wiring connecting switch S5 i.e. first main relay to the positive electrodes of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b and the second wiring connecting the switch S6 i.e. second main relay to the negative electrodes of the plurality of battery packs 12a-b) [0066-0069].
Regarding claim 13 Kawanaka teaches wherein: the plurality of pack BMSs (Fig. 1 shows 1st and 2nd monitoring IC 21a-b and 1st to 6th switches controller 26a1 as shown in Fig. 2) are configured to control the first main relay and the second main relay to be in an open state during a period in which the plurality of pack BMSs determine whether the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays are normal (Fig. 10 shows first and second main relays S5 and S6 to be in an open state during a period in which determining whether the relays S5 and S6 are functioning) [0061, 0141-0142].
Regarding claim 14, Kawanaka teaches further comprising: a connection switch (Fig. 3 shows changeover switch 7) connected between any one of the first wiring and the capacitor or between the second wiring and the capacitor (Fig. 3 shows changeover switch 7 connected between any one of the first wiring and the capacitor C or between the second wiring and the capacitor C) [0066-0068].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/1102026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 and 8, the Applicant presents that the amended portion: a main controller; wherein the plurality of pack BMSs are configured to: receive control signals from the main controller; and upon receiving the control signals, control the plurality of first relays and the plurality of second relays to be closed at the same time.
However, the Examiner would like to point to Fig. 1 of Kawanaka showing vehicle controller 30 as the main controller as disclosed in the claimed language. Furthermore, vehicle controller 30 sends signal to control the start and stop of charge and discharge the battery cells [0046-47];
And controller 26 controlling plurality of first relays and plurality of second relays to be closed at the same time to start charging/discharging battery cells as is determined by controller 30 [0056-58, 0075, 0079].
Thereby, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836