DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment was filed on 08/04/2026. Claims 1 and 6 have been amended, and claim 3 has been canceled. Currently, claims 1-2 and 4-12 are pending and are being examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 6-9, filed 08/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 3 (now amended into claim 1) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Carbonari (US 20110184366).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreuzer (US 10517777) in view of Carbonari (US 20110184366).
Regarding claim 1, Kreuzer discloses an absorbent body (fig. 7 shows absorbent core 7) comprising:
a first nonwoven fabric (fig. 7, substrate layer 16, with col. 6, lines 52-55 describing the substrate layer being a nonwoven material)
a second nonwoven fabric (fig. 7, substrate layer 16’, also see col. 6, lines 52-55)
a super absorbent polymer layer between the first nonwoven fabric and the second nonwoven fabric (fig. 7, absorbent polymer particles 50 between the substrates. Col. 15, lines 26-30 describes the particles suitable for use comprises polymers known from superabsorbent literature.)
wherein the super absorbent polymer layer is adhered to the first and second nonwoven fabrics by an adhesive (fig. 7, adhesive 60 and 40), and the super absorbent polymer layer does not contain pulp (col. 7, lines 38-60 describe the absorbent layer being cellulose free).
Kreuzer does not teach wherein the super absorbent polymer has a structure in which a first application layer of super absorbent polymer, a first application layer of adhesive, a second application layer of super absorbent polymer, a second application layer of adhesive, and a third application layer of super absorbent polymer are sequentially laminated, and is silent to wherein a retention rate obtained by measuring an amount of super absorbent polymer remaining in the absorbent body without leakage after vibrating the absorbent body 100 times at a frequency of 65 times/min and an amplitude of 15 mm is 90% or more, and a filling rate is 90% or more, wherein the filling rate is an area of a dyed part measured with a color meter after dyeing the absorbent body with a dye and drying it to confirm that only a upper absorbent polymer part is selectively dyed.
However, Carbonari teaches an absorbent core (8) that has a first, second, and third layer (24, 26, 28) that each contain a super absorbent fiber (paragraph 0051). While each of these layers do include a pulp, Kreuzer already teaches two layers that are cellulose free as described above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Kreuzer such that it comprises three application layers of super absorbent polymer that are sequentially laminated, as taught by Carbonari, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that, in addition to bicomponent fibers for a first and third layer, give the core integrity in the wet state (see Carbonari, paragraph 0051)
Kreuzer, as modified by Carbonari, is silent to wherein the structure has a first and second application layer of adhesive between the layers such that the structure involves SAP-adhesive-SAP-adhesive-SAP, and is silent to wherein a retention rate obtained by measuring an amount of super absorbent polymer remaining in the absorbent body without leakage after vibrating the absorbent body 100 times at a frequency of 65 times/min and an amplitude of 15 mm is 90% or more, and a filling rate is 90% or more, wherein the filling rate is an area of a dyed part measured with a color meter after dyeing the absorbent body with a dye and drying it to confirm that only a upper absorbent polymer part is selectively dyed.
However, given that Kreuzer already teaches two layers of SAP being joined together with an adhesive (fig. 7, adhesive between absorbent polymer particles 50, 50’), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Kreuzer in view of Carbonari such that the super absorbent polymer has a structure in which a first application layer of super absorbent polymer, a first application layer of adhesive, a second application layer of super absorbent polymer, a second application layer of adhesive, and a third application layer of super absorbent polymer are sequentially laminated, for the purpose of providing a known suitable means of keeping layers of a laminate together.
Moreover, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01 In this instance, the claims are interpreted by structure and not the testing methods to describe the structure. As the device disclosed in Kreuzer as modified by Carbonari teaches the claimed structure, the device necessarily teaches a retention rate obtained by measuring an amount of super absorbent polymer remaining in the absorbent body without leakage after vibrating the absorbent body 100 times at a frequency of 65 times/min and an amplitude of 15 mm is 90% or more, and a filling rate is 90% or more, wherein the filling rate is an area of a dyed part measured with a color meter after dyeing the absorbent body with a dye and drying it to confirm that only a upper absorbent polymer part is selectively dyed.
Regarding claim 2, Kreuzer discloses wherein the super absorbent polymer layer comprises the super absorbent polymer and the adhesive applied alternately two or more times (fig. 7 shows layers of auxiliary adhesive 60, absorbent particles 50, adhesive 40, then absorbent particles 50’).
Regarding claim 5, Kreuzer discloses wherein the super absorbent polymer layer comprises 100 g or more of a super absorbent polymer per unit area (m2) (col. 13, lines 20-37 describes the basis weight of the absorbent polymer being at least 350 grams per square meter).
Regarding claim 9, Kreuzer discloses a method of preparing the absorbent body of claim 1 (see analysis of claim 1 above), comprising:
forming a super absorbent polymer layer by applying an adhesive and a super absorbent polymer on a first nonwoven fabric two or more times (fig. 7 shows a first adhesive as auxiliary adhesive 60, then first super absorbent polymer as absorbent polymer particles 50, then thermoplastic adhesive 40, then absorbent polymer particles 50’, all attached to the nonwoven substrate layer 16), and
attaching a second nonwoven fabric so that the super absorbent polymer layer is adhered to the first and second nonwoven fabrics by an adhesive (fig. 7, second substrate layer 16’ is attached to the absorbent polymer layer via auxiliary adhesive 60’) followed by sealing (fig. 7 shows the substrate layers 16 and 16’ being bond together via an adhesive, col. 8, lines 50-59).
Regarding claim 10, Kreuzer discloses a hygiene article comprising the absorbent body according to claim 1 (fig. 1, diaper 1 comprising the absorbent core 7 which has the absorbent body according to claim 1 as described above)
Regarding claim 11, Kreuzer discloses the hygiene article comprising the absorbent body of claim 1 (fig. 1, absorbent core 7 has the structure of the absorbent body of claim 1 as analyzed above), a liquid permeable top sheet formed on the upper portion of the absorbent body (fig. 1, topsheet 5, col. 4, lines 46-60 describes the topsheet as being liquid pervious), a waterproof back sheet formed on the lower portion of the absorbent body (fig. 1, backsheet 6, col. 4, lines 61-67 describes the backsheet being liquid impervious)
Regarding claim 12, Kreuzer discloses wherein the hygiene article is a diaper, a sanitary pad, or an incontinence pad (fig. 1, diaper 1).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreuzer in view of Carbonari, and further in view of Matsushita (US 20150005727).
Regarding claim 4, Kreuzer is silent to wherein a thickness of the super absorbent polymer layer is 5 mm or less.
However, Matsushita teaches wherein an entire water-absorbent sheet structure has a thickness of 4 mm or less (paragraph 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Kreuzer such that a thickness of the super absorbent polymer layer is 5 mm or less, as taught by Matushita, for the purpose of providing a suitable thickness that grants better fittability and convenience upon carrying (see Matsushita, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 6, Kreuzer does not teach wherein the super absorbent polymer comprises:
a base resin comprising a cross-linked polymer of an acrylic acid-based monomer having at least partially neutralized acidic groups and an internal cross-linking agent; and
a surface cross-linked layer formed by further cross-linking the cross-linked polymer using a surface cross-linking agent on the base resin, and wherein the super absorbent polymer satisfies the following conditions 1) to 4):
1) a water retention capacity (CRC) measured according to EDANA NWSP 241.O.R2 (15) is 32 g/g to 40 g/g;
2) an extractable content measured after swelling for 16 hours according to EDANA NWSP 270.0.R2 (15) is 10 wt% or less
3) a vortex time by the vortex method is 30 seconds or less, and
4) a bulk density measured according to EDANA NWSP 251.0.R2 (15) is 0.50 g/ml or more and 0.65 g/ml or less.
However, Matsushita teaches a water-absorbent resin comprising cross-linked polymer of an acrylic acid-based monomer having partially neutralized acidic groups (paragraph 0025, “the crosslinked products of partially neutralized polymer of acrylic acid are preferred) and an internal cross-linking agent (the instant specification in paragraph 0027 recites that the internal cross-linking agent is the agent responsible for creating the cross-linked polymer. As such, Matsushita reciting crosslinked products implies an internal cross-linking agent).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Kreuzer such that the super absorbent polymer comprises a base resin comprising a cross-linked polymer of an acrylic acid-based monomer having at least partially neutralized acidic groups and an internal cross-linking agent, and a surface cross-linked layer formed by further cross-linking the cross-linked polymer using a surface cross-linking agent on the base resin, as taught by Matsushita, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that can allow the super absorbent polymer to be fixed within the absorbent body even without pulp (see Matsushita, paragraph 0029).
Kreuzer, as modified by Matsushita, does not teach wherein the superabsorbent polymer satisfies the conditions recited above.
However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. In this instance, because Keuzer, as modified by Matsushita, teaches the structure of the superabsorbent polymer as claimed, a prima facie case of anticipation/obviousness is established.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreuzer in view of Carbonari, and further in view of Rosenfeld (US 20060058749).
Regarding claim 7, Kreuzer discloses the desire for a low rewet value (col. 1, lines 25-33 describes the prior art wanting low rewet value and good skin dryness), but is silent to wherein the absorbent body has a rewet value of 3 g or less.
However, Rosenfeld teaches samples of absorbent body that have rewet values of less than 3 g (paragraph 0118 and table below, sample 1 shows a rewet value of 1.75 g).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Kreuzer such that the absorbent body has a rewet value of 3g or less, as suggested by Rosenfeld, for the purpose of providing the desired outcome of keeping the skin dry and comfortable for the user (see Kreuzer, col. 1, lines 25-33).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kreuzer in view of Carbonari, and further in view of Melius (US 20030139721).
Regarding claim 8, Kreuzer does not teach wherein the adhesive is applied without a pattern.
However, Melius teaches wherein adhesive applied randomly is equally suitable for adherence as having the adhesive placed in a pattern such as adhesive swirls (paragraph 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Kreuzer such that the adhesive is applied without a pattern, as taught by Melius, since it has been held that substituting one art recognized equivalent for another (i.e., patterned application of adhesive versus random application of adhesive) would have been obvious.
Conclusion
/Brandon W. Levy/Examiner, Art Unit 3781