DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 8, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 22-28, 30-35 and 37-40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 22-28 disclose “the baseband processor of claim 1” This is probably a typo since claim 1 has been cancelled. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to the applicant to change “the baseband processor of claim 1” to -- the baseband processor of claim 21— For examining purposes claims 22-28 will be treated as dependent on the baseband processor of claim 21.
Claims 30-35 disclose “the method of claim 9” This is probably a typo since claim 9 has been cancelled. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to the applicant to change “the method of claim 9” to --the method of claim 29— For examining purposes claims 30-35 will be treated as dependent on the method of claim 29.
Claims 37-40 disclose “the UE of claim 16” This is probably a typo since claim 16 has been cancelled. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to the applicant to change “the UE of claim 16” to -- the UE of claim 36-- For examining purposes claims 37-40 will be treated as dependent on the UE of claim 36.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claims 21, 29 and 36, the occurrence of "(pre)configuration" renders the claim indefinite because the use of the parenthesis is vague and indefinite as to if they are being used as an "or". Further, parenthesis should be used for acronyms or reference characters.
The dependent claims 22-28, 30-35, and 37-40 inherit the same deficiencies and therefore are rejected for the same reason as indicated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-26, 29-34, 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue (US 20240260131 A1) in view of Yang (US 20240224382 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Yue teaches a baseband processor comprising a memory (Fig. 22A; [0214] As shown in FIG. 22A, the UE 2210 includes at least one processing unit 2200. Fig. 22A; [0217] In addition, the UE 2210 includes at least one memory 2208. The memory 2208 stores instructions and data used, generated, or collected by the UE 2210. For example, the memory 2208 could store software or firmware instructions executed by the processing unit(s) 2200 and data used to reduce or eliminate interference in incoming signals.) and configured to:
determine to perform a sidelink reception of at least one of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements for partial sensing during sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive time based on resource pool (pre)configuration ([0007] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, performing the partial sensing includes: when the first UE is enabled to perform the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time, performing, by the first UE, the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time of the first UE. [0008] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the method further includes: receiving, by the first UE, configuration information enabling the first UE to perform the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time. [0018] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, performing the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time includes: receiving, by the first UE, a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) in the first partial sensing occasion, the PSCCH indicating a SL resource reserved by a second UE; and performing, by the first UE, reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement based on the PSCCH. [0019] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the partial sensing is performed according to a configuration that is pre-configured to the first UE or received by the first UE. [0140] As shown, the UE may be configured with two configurations (e.g., configuration 1 and configuration 2) for partial sensing (block 1002), e.g., for PBPS and CPS respectively. The UE may be pre-configured with the configurations, or receive the configurations from the network. [0132] In a resource pool (pre-)configured with at least partial sensing, if a UE performs periodic based partial sensing, at least when the reservation for another TB is enabled for the resource pool and resource selection/reselection is triggered at slot n, the UE may monitor slots of at least one periodic sensing occasion); and
cause a user equipment (UE) to perform contiguous partial sensing (CPS) within a CPS monitoring window ([0146] Certain rules may be specified on procedures of a UE performing sensing during the SL DRX active and inactive time. Some minimum sensing requirements (e.g., necessary sensing occasions for periodic based partial sensing and sensing window for contiguous partial sensing) may be specified for the UE to perform the sensing during the DRX inactive time. During the SL DRX inactive time, the UE may perform sensing on the necessary sensing slots to fulfill the minimum sensing requirement. A rule may be defined to specify the minimum sensing requirement. The rule may specify that during the SL DRX inactive time, a UE may perform partial sensing only or at least on certain sensing occasions or slots. [0167] FIG. 17 is a flow diagram of embodiment operations 1700 for contiguous partial sensing. FIG. 17 shows an example for partial sensing and SL DRX with one configured parameter set and specified rules for CPS on SL DRX inactive time. In this example, the minimum sensing requirement may specify a configured minimum CPS sensing window. As shown, a UE may be configured with sensing windows for CPS, constrained by a minimum sensing window (block 1702). The sensing windows and the minimum sensing window may be pre-configured or specified. The UE may determine whether a slot is within the SL DRX active time or SL DRX inactive time of the UE (block 1704). When the slot in within the SL DRX active time, or when the UE is during the SL DRX active time, the UE may perform the CPS according to the configured sensing windows (block 1706). When the slot in within the SL DRX active time, or when the UE is during the SL DRX inactive time, the UE may perform sensing only or at least on slots in the minimum sensing window (block 1708).
Yue also teaches the contiguous sensing window is aperiodic [0169] during the SL DRX inactive time, the UE may perform… the CPS on slots in the minimum sensing window for either periodic traffic or aperiodic traffic.).
Yue does not explicitly teach the CPS monitoring window is defined at least in part by a parameter M, the value of M (pre)configured as a number of logical slots within an contiguous sensing window.
Yang in the same field of endeavor of discontinuous reception-based transmission teaches the CPS monitoring window is defined at least in part by a parameter M, the value of M (pre)configured as a number of logical slots within an contiguous sensing window ([0167] In this embodiment of this application, optionally, the partial sensing mode includes a second sensing mode, the second sensing mode being contiguous partial sensing and the determining, by a terminal, a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme includes: [0168] in a case that a sensing window is larger than a minimum sensing window of the second sensing mode, performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in M most recent slots within the sensing window, M being a size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode. [0169] The minimum sensing window is predefined by the protocol, configured by the network, preconfigured by the network, indicated by the network, configured by the terminal, preconfigured by the terminal, or indicated by the terminal. So M here is the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue for sensing during DRX inactive state, defined in number of slots.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 22, Yue in view of Yang teaches the baseband processor of claim 1, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window has a minimum number of logical slots fewer than M logical slots ([0167] M (CPS monitoring window) being a size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode, or M (CPS monitoring window) is equal to a first preset time (size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode) minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time. Therefore, the CPS monitoring window is smaller than M slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 23, Yue in view of Yang teaches the baseband processor of claim 1, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window has fewer than M logical slots ([0167] M (CPS monitoring window ) being a size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode, or M is equal to a first preset time (size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode) minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time. Therefore, the CPS monitoring window is smaller than M slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 24, Yue in view of Yang teaches the baseband processor of claim 1, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window includes a minimum of M-Tproc,0SL-Tproc,1SL logical slots, where Tproc,0SL and Tproc,1SL are processing times ([0167] M (CPS monitoring window) is equal to a first preset time minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 25, Yue in view of Yang teaches the baseband processor of claim 1, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window has M-Tproc,0SL-Tproc,1SL logical slots, where Tproc,0SL and Tproc,1SL are processing times ([0167] M is equal to a first preset time minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 26, Yue in view of Yang teaches the baseband processor of claim 1 and Yang teaches wherein the partial sensing is configured by a higher layer of the UE ([0046] A sensing window for the UE is a window of a slashed portion in a range of [n−1000, n], with a length of Y and k being a parameter configured by using RRC. The value of k may be in a range of {1, 2, 3, . . . , 10}. A lattice window within [n+T1, n+T2] is a selection window of the UE configured by the higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 29, Yue teaches a method of a user equipment (UE), comprising:
determining to perform a sidelink reception of at least one of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements for partial sensing during sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive time based on resource pool (pre)configuration ([0007] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, performing the partial sensing includes: when the first UE is enabled to perform the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time, performing, by the first UE, the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time of the first UE. [0008] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the method further includes: receiving, by the first UE, configuration information enabling the first UE to perform the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time. [0018] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, performing the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time includes: receiving, by the first UE, a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) in the first partial sensing occasion, the PSCCH indicating a SL resource reserved by a second UE; and performing, by the first UE, reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement based on the PSCCH. [0019] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the partial sensing is performed according to a configuration that is pre-configured to the first UE or received by the first UE. [0140] As shown, the UE may be configured with two configurations (e.g., configuration 1 and configuration 2) for partial sensing (block 1002), e.g., for PBPS and CPS respectively. The UE may be pre-configured with the configurations, or receive the configurations from the network. [0132] In a resource pool (pre-)configured with at least partial sensing, if a UE performs periodic based partial sensing, at least when the reservation for another TB is enabled for the resource pool and resource selection/reselection is triggered at slot n, the UE may monitor slots of at least one periodic sensing occasion); and
performing contiguous partial sensing (CPS) within a CPS monitoring window defined at least in part by a parameter M, the value of M (pre)configured as a number of logical slots within an aperiodic contiguous sensing window ([0146] Certain rules may be specified on procedures of a UE performing sensing during the SL DRX active and inactive time. Some minimum sensing requirements (e.g., necessary sensing occasions for periodic based partial sensing and sensing window for contiguous partial sensing) may be specified for the UE to perform the sensing during the DRX inactive time. During the SL DRX inactive time, the UE may perform sensing on the necessary sensing slots to fulfill the minimum sensing requirement. A rule may be defined to specify the minimum sensing requirement. The rule may specify that during the SL DRX inactive time, a UE may perform partial sensing only or at least on certain sensing occasions or slots. [0167] FIG. 17 is a flow diagram of embodiment operations 1700 for contiguous partial sensing. FIG. 17 shows an example for partial sensing and SL DRX with one configured parameter set and specified rules for CPS on SL DRX inactive time. In this example, the minimum sensing requirement may specify a configured minimum CPS sensing window. As shown, a UE may be configured with sensing windows for CPS, constrained by a minimum sensing window (block 1702). The sensing windows and the minimum sensing window may be pre-configured or specified. The UE may determine whether a slot is within the SL DRX active time or SL DRX inactive time of the UE (block 1704). When the slot in within the SL DRX active time, or when the UE is during the SL DRX active time, the UE may perform the CPS according to the configured sensing windows (block 1706). When the slot in within the SL DRX active time, or when the UE is during the SL DRX inactive time, the UE may perform sensing only or at least on slots in the minimum sensing window (block 1708).
Yue also teaches the contiguous sensing window is aperiodic [0169] during the SL DRX inactive time, the UE may perform… the CPS on slots in the minimum sensing window for either periodic traffic or aperiodic traffic.).
Yue does not explicitly teach the CPS monitoring window is defined at least in part by a parameter M, the value of M (pre)configured as a number of logical slots within an contiguous sensing window.
Yang in the same field of endeavor of discontinuous reception-based transmission teaches the CPS monitoring window is defined at least in part by a parameter M, the value of M (pre)configured as a number of logical slots within an contiguous sensing window ([0167] In this embodiment of this application, optionally, the partial sensing mode includes a second sensing mode, the second sensing mode being contiguous partial sensing and the determining, by a terminal, a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme includes: [0168] in a case that a sensing window is larger than a minimum sensing window of the second sensing mode, performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in M most recent slots within the sensing window, M being a size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode. [0169] The minimum sensing window is predefined by the protocol, configured by the network, preconfigured by the network, indicated by the network, configured by the terminal, preconfigured by the terminal, or indicated by the terminal. So M here is the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue for sensing during DRX inactive state, defined in number of slots.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 30, Yue in view of Yang teaches the method of claim 9, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window has a minimum number of logical slots fewer than M logical slots ([0167] M (CPS monitoring window) being a size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode, or M (CPS monitoring window) is equal to a first preset time (size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode) minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time. Therefore, the CPS monitoring window is smaller than M slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 31, Yue in view of Yang teaches the method of claim 9, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window has fewer than M logical slots ([0167] M (CPS monitoring window ) being a size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode, or M is equal to a first preset time (size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode) minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time. Therefore, the CPS monitoring window is smaller than M slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 32, Yue in view of Yang teaches the method of claim 9, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window includes a minimum of M-Tproc,0SL-Tproc,1SL logical slots, where Tproc,0SL and Tproc,1SL are processing times ([0167] M (CPS monitoring window) is equal to a first preset time minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 33, Yue in view of Yang teaches method of claim 9, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window has M-Tproc,0SL-Tproc,1SL logical slots, where Tproc,0SL and Tproc,1SL are processing times ([0167] M is equal to a first preset time minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 34, Yue in view of Yang teaches the method of claim 9 and Yang teaches wherein the partial sensing is configured by a higher layer of the UE ([0046] A sensing window for the UE is a window of a slashed portion in a range of [n−1000, n], with a length of Y and k being a parameter configured by using RRC. The value of k may be in a range of {1, 2, 3, . . . , 10}. A lattice window within [n+T1, n+T2] is a selection window of the UE configured by the higher layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 36 Yue teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 22A; transceiver 2202); and a processor (Fig. 22A; processing unit 2200) configured to,
determine to perform, via the transceiver, a sidelink reception of at least one of physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements for partial sensing during sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) inactive time based on resource pool (pre)configuration ([0007] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, performing the partial sensing includes: when the first UE is enabled to perform the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time, performing, by the first UE, the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time of the first UE. [0008] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the method further includes: receiving, by the first UE, configuration information enabling the first UE to perform the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time. [0018] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, performing the partial sensing during the SL DRX inactive time includes: receiving, by the first UE, a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) in the first partial sensing occasion, the PSCCH indicating a SL resource reserved by a second UE; and performing, by the first UE, reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement based on the PSCCH. [0019] Optionally, in any of the preceding aspects, the partial sensing is performed according to a configuration that is pre-configured to the first UE or received by the first UE. [0140] As shown, the UE may be configured with two configurations (e.g., configuration 1 and configuration 2) for partial sensing (block 1002), e.g., for PBPS and CPS respectively. The UE may be pre-configured with the configurations, or receive the configurations from the network. [0132] In a resource pool (pre-)configured with at least partial sensing, if a UE performs periodic based partial sensing, at least when the reservation for another TB is enabled for the resource pool and resource selection/reselection is triggered at slot n, the UE may monitor slots of at least one periodic sensing occasion); and
perform, via the transceiver, contiguous partial sensing (CPS) within a CPS monitoring window defined at least in part by a parameter M, the value of M (pre)configured as a number of logical slots within an aperiodic contiguous sensing window ([0146] Certain rules may be specified on procedures of a UE performing sensing during the SL DRX active and inactive time. Some minimum sensing requirements (e.g., necessary sensing occasions for periodic based partial sensing and sensing window for contiguous partial sensing) may be specified for the UE to perform the sensing during the DRX inactive time. During the SL DRX inactive time, the UE may perform sensing on the necessary sensing slots to fulfill the minimum sensing requirement. A rule may be defined to specify the minimum sensing requirement. The rule may specify that during the SL DRX inactive time, a UE may perform partial sensing only or at least on certain sensing occasions or slots. [0167] FIG. 17 is a flow diagram of embodiment operations 1700 for contiguous partial sensing. FIG. 17 shows an example for partial sensing and SL DRX with one configured parameter set and specified rules for CPS on SL DRX inactive time. In this example, the minimum sensing requirement may specify a configured minimum CPS sensing window. As shown, a UE may be configured with sensing windows for CPS, constrained by a minimum sensing window (block 1702). The sensing windows and the minimum sensing window may be pre-configured or specified. The UE may determine whether a slot is within the SL DRX active time or SL DRX inactive time of the UE (block 1704). When the slot in within the SL DRX active time, or when the UE is during the SL DRX active time, the UE may perform the CPS according to the configured sensing windows (block 1706). When the slot in within the SL DRX active time, or when the UE is during the SL DRX inactive time, the UE may perform sensing only or at least on slots in the minimum sensing window (block 1708).
Yue also teaches the contiguous sensing window is aperiodic [0169] during the SL DRX inactive time, the UE may perform… the CPS on slots in the minimum sensing window for either periodic traffic or aperiodic traffic.).
Yue does not explicitly teach the CPS monitoring window is defined at least in part by a parameter M, the value of M (pre)configured as a number of logical slots within an contiguous sensing window.
Yang in the same field of endeavor of discontinuous reception-based transmission teaches the CPS monitoring window is defined at least in part by a parameter M, the value of M (pre)configured as a number of logical slots within an contiguous sensing window ([0167] In this embodiment of this application, optionally, the partial sensing mode includes a second sensing mode, the second sensing mode being contiguous partial sensing and the determining, by a terminal, a sensing and/or measurement behavior in a DRX inactive state according to a resource allocation scheme includes: [0168] in a case that a sensing window is larger than a minimum sensing window of the second sensing mode, performing, by the terminal, sensing and/or measurement in M most recent slots within the sensing window, M being a size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode. [0169] The minimum sensing window is predefined by the protocol, configured by the network, preconfigured by the network, indicated by the network, configured by the terminal, preconfigured by the terminal, or indicated by the terminal. So M here is the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue for sensing during DRX inactive state, defined in number of slots.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 37, Yue in view of Yang teaches the UE of claim 16, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window has a minimum number of logical slots fewer than M logical slots ([0167] M (CPS monitoring window) being a size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode, or M (CPS monitoring window) is equal to a first preset time (size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode) minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time. Therefore, the CPS monitoring window is smaller than M slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 38, Yue in view of Yang teaches the UE of claim 16, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window has fewer than M logical slots ([0167] M (CPS monitoring window ) being a size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode, or M is equal to a first preset time (size of the minimum sensing window in the second sensing mode) minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time. Therefore, the CPS monitoring window is smaller than M slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 39, Yue in view of Yang teaches the UE of claim 16, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window includes a minimum of M-Tproc,0SL-Tproc,1SL logical slots, where Tproc,0SL and Tproc,1SL are processing times ([0167] M (CPS monitoring window) is equal to a first preset time minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Regarding claim 40, Yue in view of Yang teaches the UE of claim 16, and Yang teaches wherein the CPS monitoring window has M-Tproc,0SL-Tproc,1SL logical slots, where Tproc,0SL and Tproc,1SL are processing times ([0167] M is equal to a first preset time minus a processing time, the processing time being an SCI processing time and/or a data packet preparation time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preconfigured minimum sensing window of Yue to include a parameter M, that specifies the size of the minimum sensing window in slots. The motivation to do so would have been to limit the sensing or measurement behavior when performing sensing or measurement in a DRX inactive state so as to achieve the purpose of power saving while guaranteeing service reliability (Yang [0010]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue (US 20240260131 A1) in view of Yang (US 20240224382 A1); further in view of Hui (US 20240284483 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Yue in view of Yang teach the baseband processor of claim 1, but do not teach further configured to:
receive from a second UE a request triggering transmission of an inter-UE coordination (IUC) communication to the second UE; and
determine, based on the CPS, a number of resources to be included in the IUC communication.
Hui in the same field of endeavor of inter-UE coordination teaches
receive from a second UE a request triggering transmission of an inter-UE coordination (IUC) communication to the second UE ([0339] In an example, before transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions, the first wireless device may request, from the second wireless device, coordination information (e.g., assistance information) for the one or more sidelink transmissions. The coordination information may comprise a first set of resources for transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions. The first wireless device may send/transmit, to the second wireless device and via sidelink, a request message, for the requesting of the coordination information (e.g., the first set of resources), to trigger the inter-UE coordination.); and
determine, based on the CPS, a number of resources to be included in the IUC communication ([0340] In response to the triggering of the inter-UE coordination, the second wireless device may select the first set of resources for the inter-UE coordination. [0341] The second wireless device may transmit, to the first wireless device and via sidelink, a message (e.g., the coordination information) comprising/indicating the first set of resources. [0345] The coordinating wireless device may select the set of non-preferred resources based on sensing results of the coordinating wireless device. [0336] FIG. 29 illustrates an example of a resource selection procedure (e.g., contiguous partial sensing) by a wireless device for transmitting a TB (e.g., a data packet) via sidelink.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of partial sensing in sidelink of Yue and Yang to include the request message triggering transmission of an inter-UE coordination (IUC) communication of Hui. The motivation to do so would have been to enable a coordinating wireless device to activate and/or deactivate transmissions of coordination information to a requesting message dynamically (Hui [0358]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yue (US 20240260131 A1) in view of Yang (US 20240224382 A1); further in view of Hui (US 20240284483 A1) and Farag (US 20210337519 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Hui teaches the baseband processor of claim 7, but does not teach further configured to:
identify a time slot for transmission of the IUC communication to the second UE; and
transmit the IUC communication to the second UE at the identified time slot.
Farag in the same field of endeavor of assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection teaches
identify a time slot for transmission of the IUC communication to the second UE ([0264] For example (denoted as Example 5.2.1), the following parameters can be (pre-)configured, updated through higher layer signaling, and/or L1 control signaling: (i) a slot within a period for transmission of RSAI (IUC communication)); and
transmit the IUC communication to the second UE at the identified time slot ([0130] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116, transmits RSAI (IUC communication). For example, in step 704 UE (e.g. an HEUE) transmits resource selection assistance information in slot/subframe n.sub.1.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of partial sensing in sidelink of Yue, Yang and Hui to include the methods of assisted sensing of Farag. The motivation to do so would have been to mitigate and reduce a probability of resource collisions among UEs. That is, a UE can receive information related to sidelink sensing from other UEs in its vicinity, the information received assists the UE in selecting sidelink resources for its sidelink transmission and minimizes the probability of collision with other sidelink transmissions. (Farag [0120]).
Regarding claim 35, Yue in view of Yang teaches the method of claim 9, but do not teach further configured to: receiving, from a second UE, a request triggering transmission of an inter-UE coordination (IUC) communication to the second UE; determining, based on the CPS, a number of resources to be included in the IUC communication; identifying a time slot for transmission of the IUC communication to the second UE; and transmitting the IUC communication to the second UE at the identified time slot.
Hui in the same field of endeavor of inter-UE coordination teaches
receiving, from a second UE, a request triggering transmission of an inter-UE coordination (IUC) communication to the second UE ([0339] In an example, before transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions, the first wireless device may request, from the second wireless device, coordination information (e.g., assistance information) for the one or more sidelink transmissions. The coordination information may comprise a first set of resources for transmitting the one or more sidelink transmissions. The first wireless device may send/transmit, to the second wireless device and via sidelink, a request message, for the requesting of the coordination information (e.g., the first set of resources), to trigger the inter-UE coordination.); and
determining, based on the CPS, a number of resources to be included in the IUC communication ([0340] In response to the triggering of the inter-UE coordination, the second wireless device may select the first set of resources for the inter-UE coordination. [0341] The second wireless device may transmit, to the first wireless device and via sidelink, a message (e.g., the coordination information) comprising/indicating the first set of resources. [0345] The coordinating wireless device may select the set of non-preferred resources based on sensing results of the coordinating wireless device. [0336] FIG. 29 illustrates an example of a resource selection procedure (e.g., contiguous partial sensing) by a wireless device for transmitting a TB (e.g., a data packet) via sidelink.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of partial sensing in sidelink of Yue and Yang to include the request message triggering transmission of an inter-UE coordination (IUC) communication of Hui. The motivation to do so would have been to enable a coordinating wireless device to activate and/or deactivate transmissions of coordination information to a requesting message dynamically (Hui [0358]).
Hui does not teach identifying a time slot for transmission of the IUC communication to the second UE; and transmitting the IUC communication to the second UE at the identified time slot.
Farag in the same field of endeavor of assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection teaches
identifying a time slot for transmission of the IUC communication to the second UE ([0264] For example (denoted as Example 5.2.1), the following parameters can be (pre-)configured, updated through higher layer signaling, and/or L1 control signaling: (i) a slot within a period for transmission of RSAI (IUC communication)); and
transmitting the IUC communication to the second UE at the identified time slot ([0130] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116, transmits RSAI (IUC communication). For example, in step 704 UE (e.g. an HEUE) transmits resource selection assistance information in slot/subframe n.sub.1.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of partial sensing in sidelink of Yue, Yang and Hui to include the methods of assisted sensing of Farag. The motivation to do so would have been to mitigate and reduce a probability of resource collisions among UEs. That is, a UE can receive information related to sidelink sensing from other UEs in its vicinity, the information received assists the UE in selecting sidelink resources for its sidelink transmission and minimizes the probability of collision with other sidelink transmissions. (Farag [0120]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Selvanesan (US 20260164502 A1) discloses methods related to sidelink DRX resource allocation with assistance information during a listening duration.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465