DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/8/24 and 7/28/25 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno et al. (US 2022/0229245 A1), cited in the IDS filed 8/8/24.
Re. Claim 1, Kanno et al. discloses an optical connector ferrule 1configured to be attached to end portions of a plurality of optical fibers 2 each including a bare portion 2b and a coating (e.g., at coating portion 2a) covering the bare portion, the coatings being partially removed at the end portions (Fig. 2; [0038]),
wherein the optical connector ferrule 1 has
a front-end surface 10a at which a plurality of opening ends configured to allow end surfaces of the plurality of optical fibers to be exposed therethrough are located (Fig. 2; [0039]),
a rear opening 14 configured to allow the plurality of optical fibers to be introduced into an internal space “S” of the optical connector ferrule (Figs. 2-3; [0041], [0044]), and
a plurality of through holes 11 into each of which a corresponding one of the plurality of optical fibers is to be inserted, the plurality of through holes each extending between a corresponding one of the plurality of opening ends and the internal space along a first direction from the front-end surface toward the rear opening (Figs. 2-3; [0039]),
wherein the plurality of opening ends is arranged such that centers of the plurality of opening ends form one or a plurality of rows along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 2),
wherein each of the plurality of through holes includes a fiber hole with one of the opening ends (e.g., end of hole 11 closest to front end surface 10a) and a fiber introduction hole 11a allowing communication between the fiber hole and the internal space (Fig 3; [0044]),
wherein each of the fiber holes has a diameter larger than an outer diameter of each of the glass portions and smaller than an outer diameter of each of the coatings (Fig. 3; [0039]),
wherein each of the fiber introduction holes includes an introduction portion having a diameter larger than the outer diameter of each of the coatings and a taper portion allowing communication between the introduction portion and a corresponding one of the fiber holes (Fig. 3; [0044]),
wherein the internal space “S” is defined by a plurality of surfaces (Fig. 3), and
wherein at least one flat surface 15 among the plurality of surfaces is configured to support the plurality of optical fibers such that a central axis of each of the plurality of optical fibers coincides with a central axis of a corresponding one of the fiber holes extending in the first direction (Figs. 2-3; [0044] and [0053]).
However, unlike the claimed invention, Kanno et al. fails to disclose the bare portion 2a of the optical fiber 2 is formed of glass.
Glass is a common optical fiber core material due to its refractive properties, and a “glass portion” as required by the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Re. Claim 2, Kanno et al. renders obvious the optical connector ferrule as discussed above. Kanno et al. also discloses a length “a” of each of the fiber holes defined along the first direction, a length “b” of each of the fiber introduction holes defined along the first direction, and a length “c” of the flat surface defined along the first direction satisfy a relationship a<b+c (Fig. 3). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 3, Kanno et al. renders obvious the optical connector ferrule as discussed above. Kanno et al. also discloses a length “a” of each of the fiber holes defined along the first direction and a length “c” of the flat surface defined along the first direction satisfy a relationship a<c (Fig. 3). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 4, Kanno et al. renders obvious the optical connector ferrule as discussed above.
However, Kanno et al. does not explicitly disclose an arrangement wherein a length b of each of the fiber introduction holes defined along the first direction and a length c of the flat surface defined along the first direction satisfy a relationship b≤c
The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing greater protection to the glass portion of the optical fiber by providing a greater length within an enclosed structure. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Re. Claim 5, Kanno et al. renders obvious the optical connector ferrule as discussed above. Kanno et al. also discloses the flat surface 15 includes a plurality of flat regions formed by dividing the flat surface along at least one of the first and second directions (Figs. 2-3). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claims 6-7, Kanno et al. renders obvious the optical connector ferrule as discussed above. Kanno et al. also discloses a fiber holding member configured to hold the plurality of optical fibers in a state where the plurality of optical fibers are arranged in one or more rows along the second direction, wherein the fiber holding member is placed on the flat surface while holding the plurality of optical fibers, and wherein the fiber holding member is an adhesive layer configured to integrally hold the coatings of the plurality of optical fibers and configured to suppress positional deviations between the plurality of optical fibers ([0045]).
However, unlike the claimed invention, Kanno et al. does not disclose the adhesive is formed of a resin.
Resin is a common adhesive material due to its thermosetting and moldable properties, and a “resin layer” as required by the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Re. Claim 8, Kanno et al. renders obvious the optical connector ferrule as discussed above. Kanno et al. also discloses the fiber holding member has V grooves 26 configured to hold the plurality of optical fibers in a state where the glass portions or the coatings of the plurality of optical fibers are in contact with the V grooves (Figs. 10 and 12; [0064]). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 9, Kanno et al. renders obvious the optical connector ferrule as discussed above. Kanno et al. also discloses the fiber holding member includes a hole array 21 configured to hold the plurality of optical fibers in a state where the hole array is in contact with the glass portions or the coatings of the plurality of optical fibers (figs. 4-6l [0048]-[0049]). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 10, Kanno et al. renders obvious the optical connector ferrule as discussed above.
However, Kanno et al. does not explicitly disclose arrangements wherein each of the plurality of optical fibers is any one of a multi-core optical fiber, a polarization maintaining fiber, and a bundle fiber.
Each of the claimed optical fiber types are well known in the art and one of ordinary skill would have found their use obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing an optical ferrule for commonly used optical fiber types. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 9/10/26