DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “The Office has not shown that Kim teaches "each of the first layers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm…The Office relies on Lee for "the first optical film comprising a plurality of first layers numbering at least 4 in total," but does not identify any teaching in Lee that "each of the first layers" has "an average thickness of less than about 500 nm." Office Action, p. 3. Lee therefore does not remedy the deficiency of Kim, and for at least this reason the combination does not teach every limitation of claim 1 and does not render claim 1 obvious.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Office Action relies on Kim to teach, a first optical film (fourth wavelength band filter 610) disposed on, and substantially co-extensive in length and width with, the one or more light converting layers (Fig. 4: 610 is on and matches pattern 400), the first layers [first layer of the optical film] having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm (layer 610 has a thickness of approximately 500 nm) [Par 125]. Kim, and thus the prior art, explicitly teaches the comprising layer(s) of the first optical film being having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm (layer 610 has a thickness of approximately 500 nm) [Par 125].The Office Action does not rely upon Kim to teach wherein, the first optical film comprising a plurality of first layers numbering at least 4 in total. Lee is relied upon to teach, a first optical film (filter layer FL) [Par 112] comprising a plurality of first layers numbering at least 4 in total (insulating layers L10 and L20, and insulating films L10 and L20) [Par 109]. Together Kim and Lee teach, the first layers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm, is taught in the prior art.
Applicant also argues, “The Office has not shown that Lee teaches "for an incident light incident at an incident angle of less than about 10 degrees, the first optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for the blue wavelength and reflects greater than about 60% of the incident light for each of the green and red peak wavelengths" as recited by claim 1… The Office relies on Lee Fig. 7B for the limitation… However, the Office's own characterization of Lee does not establish the full limitation. For the red peak wavelength, the Office states only that "610 nm-650 nm, has more than 50% reflectivity." Office Action, p. 4. The Office's statement that the red range allegedly has "more than 50% reflectivity" does not establish "greater than about 60%" reflectance for the red peak wavelength.”).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior Office Actions statement that, “"610 nm-650 nm, has more than 50% reflectivity”, contains a typo. “More than 50% reflectivity”, should read, “more than 60% reflectivity.” This typo is corrected in the rejection below, regardless Fig. 7B still shows that for an incident angle less than 10 degrees, the first optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for the blue wavelength and reflects greater than about 60% of the incident light for each of the green and red peak wavelengths.” Specifically, Applicant challenges the red peak wavelength. The “red” color wavelength band is approximately 610-750 nm, and by claiming the band as “red” rather than a numerical wavelength band, applicant has claimed a BRI that includes a more narrow teaching of a “red” band. It can be seen in Fig. 7B of Lee that the plot of 10 degree reflectivity has a reflectivity ratio of greater than 0.8 at the wavelength band of at least 580 nm to 680 nm. Thus the conclusion that Lee teaches at least a reflectivity of greater than 60 % (or 0.6) for the wavelength band of 610 nm-650 nm, which has a narrower scope and thus is taught by Lee, and the prior art as a whole. See annotated Fig. 7B of Lee below, where this limitation is labeled “B”.
Applicant also argues that, “The Office has not shown that Lee teaches the claimed high-angle reflectance at "each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths"…The Office relies on Lee Fig. 7B for the limitation, "for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees, the first optical film reflects greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths," as recited by claim 1. Office Action, p. 4. Specifically, the Office states that "wavelengths from about 470 nm to 650 nm have a reflectivity of more than 50 %." Office Action, p. 4….The Office's identified range of "about 470 nm to 650 nm" does not establish reflectance greater than about 50% at the blue peak wavelength…Thus, Lee's blue peak wavelength may be within "420 nm to 470 nm, inclusive."
The Examiner disagrees, and again points to annotated Fig. 7B of Lee below where it is clear that, for a, incident angle of 60 degrees (thus greater than about 40 degrees) for a wavelength range of about 470 nm, the reflectivity is already about ≤50% (See label “C” in annotated Fig. 7). Further Lee teaches that generally,”…it may be seen that as the incident angle of the light incident on the filter layer FL becomes larger, the wavelength range of the reflected light moves to the short wavelength range so that the light of part of a wavelength range among the light corresponding to the red light and the green light may not be effectively reflected..”[Par 114]. This teaches that at other unshown high angles of incidence, such as greater than 60 degrees, the wavelength range of the reflected light will move to the short wavelength range. In other words, the curve will shift its peak reflectivity, which is as t least 0.7 at 60 degrees, to the left towards lower wavelengths further increasing the reflectivity of the blue wavelength band. Thus Lee does teach the limitation, for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees, the first optical film reflects greater than about 50% for the blue peak wavelengths.
Examiner Annotated Fig. 7B of Lee
Applicant also argues that, “Lee's own description confirms that high-angle incidence degrades the desired filter function” and thus, “that Lee is not a teaching of the claimed high-angle reflectance design.”, because Lee teaches, “…as the incident angle of the light incident on the filter layer FL becomes larger, the wavelength range of the reflected light moves to the short wavelength range so that the light of part of a wavelength range among the light corresponding to the red light and the green light may not be effectively reflected, and the reflectivity is also reduced." Lee 114. And Lee states: "as the incident angle of the light incident on the filter layer FL increases to become a high angle, the function of reflecting the entire green light and red light areas may be degraded." Lee 115.”.
Applicant's argument fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicant does not point to any specific claim limitation that is either untaught or implicitly does not read on the claims. The prior art teaching a device in which the overall reflectivity spectrum of the prior art decreases and shifts towards the lower wavelengths does teach anything opposite to the claims. In fact, Claim 1 and 10 actually claim wherein the reflectivity of the larger wavelength colors (red and green) decrease as the incidence angle decreases (See the limitations challenged in both of Applicant’s arguments B and C), which exactly aligns with the teaching of Lee of, “as the incident angle of the light incident on the filter layer FL becomes larger, the wavelength range of the reflected light moves to the short wavelength range so that the light of part of a wavelength range among the light corresponding to the red light and the green light may not be effectively reflected” [Par 114].
Thus all the claimed limitations are either taught or obviated by the prior art, and the rejection of Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (JP 2019028434 A, see Espacenet Machine Translation) in view of Lee (US 20200183224 A1).
Re Claim 1, Kim discloses, on Fig. 1, and 4-5, an optical stack comprising:
one or more light converting layers (color conversion pattern 400) [Par 83 and 112] comprising a green emission spectrum comprising at least one green peak at a corresponding green peak wavelength (Green peak) [Par 62] and a red emission spectrum comprising at least one red peak at a corresponding red peak wavelength (Red peak) [Par 62], the one or more light converting layers configured to receive a blue light comprising a blue wavelength spectrum comprising at least one blue peak at a corresponding blue peak wavelength (source unit 50 emits light on panel 31 which contains color conversion patterns that filter blue light, thus unit 50 emits blue light) [Par 65] and convert portions of the received blue light to green and red lights within the respective green and red emission spectra (first and second color conversion patterns 410 and 420, for red and green light) [Par 62 and 94];
and a first optical film (fourth wavelength band filter 610) disposed on, and substantially co-extensive in length and width with, the one or more light converting layers (Fig. 4: 610 is on and matches pattern 400), the first layers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm (layer 610 has a thickness of approximately 500 nm) [Par 125], and that:
for an incident light, the first optical film transmits incident light for the blue wavelength and reflects light for each of the green and red peak wavelengths (filter 610 selectively transmits light in a third color, blue, and reflects light of longer wavelengths, red and green) [Par 124].
But Kim does not explicitly disclose:
the first optical film comprising a plurality of first layers numbering at least 4 in total, and for an incident light incident at an incident angle of less than about 10 degrees, the first optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for the blue wavelength and reflects greater than about 60% of the incident light for each of the green and red peak wavelengths; and for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees, the first optical film reflects greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches, on Fig. 7B, that it is desirable in displays devices to include, a first optical film (filter layer FL) [Par 112] comprising a plurality of first layers numbering at least 4 in total (insulating layers L10 and L20, and insulating films L10 and L20) [Par 109].
wherein for an incident light incident at an incident angle of less than about 10 degrees (See 10 degree solid line on graph of Fig. 7A-7B), the first optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for the blue wavelength (about 430-470 nm has less than 50% reflectivity) and reflects greater than about 60% of the incident light for each of the green (530-570 nm has more 60% reflectivity) and red peak wavelengths (610 nm-650 nm, has more than 60% reflectivity); and for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees ( dotted lines for 40-60 degrees in Fig. 7B), the first optical film reflects greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths (wavelengths from about 470 nm to 650 nm have a reflectivity of more than 50 %).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim with Lee in order to better selectively transmit or reflect color, as taught by Lee [Par 105-108].
Re Claim 2, Kim in view of Lee discloses, the optical stack of claim 1, and Lee further discloses on Fig. 7A, wherein the plurality of first layers (filter layer FL), comprises a plurality of first inorganic layers, and wherein the first inorganic layers comprise one or more of an oxide, a nitride, a carbide, and a metal (L20 is a metal oxide) [Par 110-111].
But Lee does not explicitly disclose, the plurality of first layers comprises alternating first organic layers, wherein the first organic layers comprise a polymer.
However, Lee does teach, on Fig. 5, organic layers comprising a polymer (polymers BS and LRL) [Par 87 and 119] that alternates with the first layer itself (FL, an inorganic layer). Thus, Lee teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention explicitly control the arrangement of organic and inorganic layers, within and adjacent to the first layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of simply including layers BS and LRL in the overall filter layer FL such that, the plurality of first layers comprise alternating first organic layers. Further, Lee teaches that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide bases for the inorganic layers (FL) to be disposed on [Par 87].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim in view of Lee, such that the plurality of first layers comprise alternating first organic layers, in order to provide, bases for the inorganic layers (FL), as taught by Lee [Par 87].
Re Claim 9, Kim in view of Lee discloses, the optical stack of claim 1, and Kim further discloses on Fig. 1 and 4-5, wherein the one or more light converting layers (pattern 400) comprise at least first and second light converting layers (conversion pattern 410 and 420) [Par 62-65] comprising the respective green and red emission spectra (First and second color conversion patterns apply to first and second colors) [Par 62-65, the first and second light converting layers configured to receive the blue light and convert portions of the received blue light to the green and red lights within the respective green and red emission spectra [Par 62-65].
Claim(s) 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Umehara (US 20190103521 A1).
Re Claim 3, Kim in view of Lee discloses, the optical stack of claim 1, and Kim further discloses on Fig. 5, further comprising a second optical film (LCL) disposed on, and substantially co-extensive in length and width with, the one or more light converting layers (colored pattern 400) and the first optical film (wavelength band filter 610), and Lee discloses on Fig. 7B, plurality of second layers numbering at least 4 in total (insulating layers L10 and L20, and insulating films L10 and L20) [Par 109] for an incident light incident at an incident angle of less than about 10 degrees, the second optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths (See 10 degree solid line on graph of Fig. 7A-7B).
But Kim in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose, the second optical film comprising, each of the second layers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm such that for an ultraviolet (uv) wavelength range that includes only wavelengths less than the blue peak wavelength and is at least 10 nm wide: an average optical reflectance of greater than about 60% for the uv wavelength range; and for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees, the second optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and an average optical transmittance of greater than about 60% for the uv wavelength range.
However, in the same field of endeavor of optics, Umehara does teach, on Fig. 5, configuring the structure of a liquid crystal display (Fig. 5), such that the amount of ultraviolet light from a source (UV light source unit) [Par 239] that is absorbed and reflected is optimized (300 nm-410 nm has a UV reflectance transmittance of 50%, and for angles of
≥
10
°
the UV transmittance is >20%) [Par 239-245] for an optical film (laminated film 5) [Par 60]. Thus Umeahara teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention explicitly control and adjust the UV transmittance of optical films [Par 239-245]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of simply optimizing the second optical film such that, such that for an ultraviolet (uv) wavelength range that includes only wavelengths less than the blue peak wavelength and is at least 10 nm wide: for an incident light incident at an incident angle of less than about 10 degrees, the second optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and an average optical reflectance of greater than about 60% for the uv wavelength range; and for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees, the second optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and an average optical transmittance of greater than about 60% for the uv wavelength range. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide, reduced deterioration of the color conversion film [Umehara Par 244].
Note that the Court has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim in view of Lee with Umehara, in order to provide reduced deterioration of the optical film.
But Kim in view of Lee and Umehara does not explicitly teach, each of the second layers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm.
However, Kim does teach on Fig. 5, a first optical film (Film 610) with the first layers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm (layer 610 has a thickness of approximately 500 nm) [Par 125]. Thus, Kim shows that it is known in the art prior to the time of the invention to explicitly control the thickness of optical film layers such that they are ≤ 500 nm. Further one of ordinary skill would be motivated to do so in order to selectively transmit different color light [Par 124].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim in view of Lee and Umehara such that, each of the second layers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm, in order to selectively transmit different color light [Par 124].
Re Claim 4, Kim in view of Lee and Umhera, disclose, the optical stack of claim 3, and Kim further discloses, on Fig. 1, a display system (display 31) comprising a display panel (panel SUB1 and LCL on Fig. 5) configured to form an image (forms an image) [Par 04].
Re Claim 5, Kim in view of Lee and Umehara discloses, the display system of claim 4, and Umehara further discloses, a UV light source that (UV light source unit) [Par 239] that emits blue wavelength light [Par 239].
But Kim in view of Lee and Umehara does not explicitly disclose, a plurality of discrete spaced apart light sources.
However, since Umehara does teach a UV light source that (UV light source unit) [Par 239] that emits blue wavelength light [Par 239], it is known in the art prior to the time of the invention to provide such sources for display systems. Note that the Court has held that mere duplication of parts has not patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim in view of Lee and Umehara, in order to provide reduced deterioration of the color conversion film [Umehara Par 244] with simultaneous transmittance [Par 239-245].
Re Claim 6, Kim in view of Lee and Umehara discloses, the display system of claim 5, and Kim further discloses comprising an optical diffuser (partition pattern 110 has pattern 112 which diffused light) [Par 264] disposed between the optical stack and the light sources (See Fig. 1 and 5: pattern 110 is below color pattern 400, and above source 50).
But Kim in view of Lee and Umhera does not explicitly disclose, the optical diffuser having a total optical transmittance of greater than about 50% for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and an average total optical transmittance of greater than about 60% for the uv wavelength range.
However, Lee teaches for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees (dotted lines for 40-60 degrees in Fig. 7B), the first optical film reflects greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths (wavelengths from about 470 nm to 650 nm have a reflectivity of more than 50 %), and Umehara does teach, on Fig. 5, configuring the structure of a liquid crystal display (Fig. 5), such that the amount of ultraviolet light from a source (UV light source unit) [Par 239] that is absorbed and reflected is optimized (300 nm-410 nm has a UV reflectance transmittance of 50%, and for angles of
≥
10
°
the UV transmittance is >20%) [Par 239-245] for an optical film (laminated film 5) [Par 60]. Thus Lee and Umeahara teach together that it was known in the art at the time of the invention explicitly control and adjust the red, green, blue, and UV transmittance of optical films [Par 239-245]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of simply optimizing the optical diffuser such that, such that the optical diffuser has a total optical transmittance of greater than about 50% for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and an average total optical transmittance of greater than about 60% for the uv wavelength range.. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide, reduced deterioration of the color conversion film [Umehara Par 244] with simultaneous transmittance [Umehara: Par 239-245]. Note that the Court has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim in view of Lee and Umehara, such that the optical diffuser having a total optical transmittance of greater than about 50% for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and an average total optical transmittance of greater than about 60% for the uv wavelength range, in order to provide reduced deterioration of the color conversion film [Umehara Par 244] with simultaneous transmittance [Umehara: Par 239-245].
Re claim 7, Kim in view of Lee and Umehara discloses, the display system of claim 5.
But Kim in view of Lee and Umehara does not explicitly disclose, wherein for at least the blue peak wavelength, the optical diffuser has a greater diffuse optical transmittance and a smaller specular optical transmittance, and wherein for the uv wavelength range, the optical diffuser has a greater total optical reflectance and a smaller total optical transmittance.
However, Kim teaches an optical diffuser (partition pattern 110 has pattern 112 which diffused light) [Par 264], Lee teaches for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees (dotted lines for 40-60 degrees in Fig. 7B), the first optical film reflects greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths (wavelengths from about 470 nm to 650 nm have a reflectivity of more than 50 %), and Umehara does teach, on Fig. 5, configuring the structure of a liquid crystal display (Fig. 5), such that the amount of ultraviolet light from a source (UV light source unit) [Par 239] that is absorbed and reflected is optimized (300 nm-410 nm has a UV reflectance transmittance of 50%, and for angles of
≥
10
°
the UV transmittance is >20%) [Par 239-245] for an optical film (laminated film 5) [Par 60]. Thus Lee and Umeahara teach together that it was known in the art at the time of the invention explicitly control and adjust the red, green, blue, and UV transmittance of optical films [Par 239-245]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of simply optimizing the optical diffuser such that, for at least the blue peak wavelength, the optical diffuser has a greater diffuse optical transmittance and a smaller specular optical transmittance, and wherein for the uv wavelength range, the optical diffuser has a greater total optical reflectance and a smaller total optical transmittance. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide, reduced deterioration of the color conversion film [Umehara Par 244] with simultaneous transmittance [Umehara: Par 239-245]. Note that the Court has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim in view of Lee and Umehara, such that for at least the blue peak wavelength, the optical diffuser has a greater diffuse optical transmittance and a smaller specular optical transmittance, and wherein for the uv wavelength range, the optical diffuser has a greater total optical reflectance and a smaller total optical transmittance, in order to provide reduced deterioration of the color conversion film [Umehara Par 244] with simultaneous transmittance [Umehara: Par 239-245].
Claim(s) 10 -12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee and Umehara (US 20190103521 A1).
Re Claim 10, Kim discloses, on Fig. 1, and 4-5 a display system comprising: at least one light source configured to emit a blue light comprising a blue wavelength spectrum comprising at least one blue peak at a corresponding blue peak wavelength (source unit 50 emits light on panel 31 which contains color conversion patterns that filter blue light, thus unit 50 emits blue light) [Par 65]; a display panel (display panel SUB1) disposed to receive light from the at least one light source and form an image;
a first optical film (Fig. 4 LCL) disposed between the display panel and a second optical film (SUB2); and one or more light converting layers (layers 310, 320, and 410) comprising a green emission spectrum comprising at least one green peak at a corresponding green peak wavelength and a red emission spectrum comprising at least one red peak at a corresponding red peak wavelength, the one or more light converting layers configured to receive the emitted blue light and convert portions of the received blue light to green and red lights within the respective green and red emission spectra (conversion patterns 410 and 420, for red and green light, and wavelength pixels for red, green, and blue light) [Par 62 and 94].
But Kim does not explicitly disclose, emitting an ultraviolet (uv) light having a uv wavelength less than the blue peak wavelength and that for an incident light incident at an incident angle of less than about 10 degrees, the first optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for the blue wavelength and reflects greater than about 60% of the incident light for each of the green and red peak wavelengths, and the second optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and reflects greater than about 60% of the incident light for the uv wavelength; and for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees, the first optical film reflects greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and the second optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and transmits greater than about 60% of the incident light for the uv wavelength.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches, on Fig. 7B, that it is desirable in displays devices to include, wherein for an incident light incident at an incident angle of less than about 10 degrees (See 10 degree solid line on graph of Fig. 7A-7B), the first optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for the blue wavelength (about 430-470 nm has less than 50% reflectivity) and reflects greater than about 60% of the incident light for each of the green (530-570 nm has more 60% reflectivity) and red peak wavelengths (610 nm-650 nm, has more than 50% reflectivity); and for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees ( dotted lines for 40-60 degrees in Fig. 7B), the first optical film reflects greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths (wavelengths from about 470 nm to 650 nm have a reflectivity of more than 50 %). Note that the Court has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim with Lee in order to provide, the first optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for the blue wavelength and reflects greater than about 60% of the incident light for each of the green and red peak wavelengths, and the second optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and the second optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, for an incident light incident at an incident angle of greater than about 40 degrees, and the first optical film reflects greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, and the second optical film transmits greater than about 50% of the incident light for each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths better selectively transmit or reflect color, as taught by Lee [Par 105-108].
But Kim in view of Lee does not explicitly, disclose, emitting an ultraviolet (uv) light having a uv wavelength, at an incident angle of less than about 10 degrees the second optical film reflects greater than about 60% of the incident light for the uv wavelength, at an incident angle of greater than 40 degrees the second optical film transmits greater than about 60% of the incident light for the uv wavelength.
However, in the same field of endeavor of optics, Umehara does teach, on Fig. 5, configuring the structure of a liquid crystal display (Fig. 5), such that the amount of ultraviolet light from a source (UV light source unit) [Par 239] that is absorbed and reflected is optimized (300 nm-410 nm has a UV reflectance transmittance of 50%, and for angles of
≥
10
°
the UV transmittance is >20%) [Par 239-245] for an optical film (laminated film 5) [Par 60]. Thus Umeahara teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention explicitly control and adjust the UV transmittance of optical films [Par 239-245]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of simply optimizing the second optical film such that, at an incident angle of less than about 10 degrees the second optical film reflects greater than about 60% of the incident light for the uv wavelength, at an incident angle of greater than 40 degrees the second optical film transmits greater than about 60% of the incident light for the uv wavelength. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide, reduced deterioration of the color conversion film [Umehara Par 244].
Note that the Court has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim in view of Lee with Umehara, in order to provide reduced deterioration of the optical film.
Re Claim 11, Kim in view of Lee and Umehara, the display system of claim 10, and Umehara further discloses on Fig. 5,wherein each of the first and second optical films comprises a plurality of polymeric layers (laminated member 5 can be made of various copolymers) [Par 299-301] numbering at least 4 in total (Fig. 5: functional layer 33, laminated film 3, and conversion film 4 which contains multiple layers, and whole laminated film can be 11 thermoplastic resins)[Par 239 and 214].
But Kim in view of Lee and Umehara does not explicitly disclose, each of the polymeric layers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm.
However, Umehara does teach the thickness of the polymeric layers (thermoplastic resin layers), should be less than 1,000 nm (1 μm), but can be adjusted as needed [Par 219] or other various sizes [Par 219]. Thus Umehara teaches that controlling the thickness of the polymeric layers is within the ability of one of ordinary skill before the time of the invention. Note that the Court has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation; see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim in view of Lee and Umehara, in order to provide, more layers and thus reflection to a wider band of wavelengths, as taught by Umehara [Par 217].
Re Claim 12, Kim in view of Lee and Umehara, rhe display system of claim 10, and further discloses on Fig. 5, wherein the one or more light converting layers (LCL and SUB2) comprise at least first and second light converting layers (color conversion patterns 310, 320, 410, and 420) comprising the respective green and red emission spectra (first and second color conversion patterns 410 and 420, for red and green light) [Par 62 and 94], the first and second light converting layers (LCL and SUB2) configured to receive the blue light and convert portions of the received blue light to the green and red lights within the respective green and red emission spectra (first and second color conversion patterns 410 and 420, for red and green light) [Par 62 and 94].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re claim 8, Kim in view of Lee and Umehara obviate the display system of claim 4, and Kim teaches a polarizer (POL), but do not explicitly disclose, the polarizer comprising a plurality of third polymeric layers numbering at least 10 in total, each of the third polymeric layers having an average thickness of less than about 500 nm, such that for a substantially normally incident light and each of the blue, green and red peak wavelengths, the plurality of third polymeric layers reflects more than about 60% of the incident light having an in-plane first polarization state and transmits more than about 60% of the incident light having an in-plane orthogonal second polarization state.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamada (US 20190027659 A1) teaches a color filter.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872