DETAILED ACTIONAcknowledgment is made of applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 8/8/24.Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui et al. (JP2017162454, hereinafter Fukui (454’) – See IDS dated 8/8/24) in view of Pribonic (2008/0074223 – See IDS dated 8/8/24).
Regarding claim 16, Fukui (454’) discloses an apparatus comprising a magnet unit 3 in which a plurality of magnets is arranged in a Halbach array; and a magnetic yoke 12 that is provided on a different side of biased magnetic field formed by the magnet unit (See Fig. 1, See Pg. 7, Para. 5). Fukui fails to disclose a fixing jig that is one or a plurality of non-magnetic materials, the fixing jig being configured to at least fix each of the magnets of the magnet unit. However, Pribonic discloses an apparatus comprising a Halbach array 10 of magnets 72, 74, 76, 78 that are attached or fixed using members 48, 50 which consists of rods or bars (See Fig. 2, See Pg. 2, Paras. 0024 - 0029). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) according to the teachings of Pribonic for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device constrains unwanted motion or fracturing of permanent magnet arrays which have been glued or bonded into un-natural pole alignments (See Pribonic, Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 17, Fukui (454’) fails to disclose that the fixing jig has a columnar shape; and is arranged so as to penetrate all of the magnets. However, in Pribonic, the fixing members 48, 50 have a columnar shape; and are arranged so as to penetrate all of the magnets (See Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) according to the teachings of Pribonic for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device constrains unwanted motion or fracturing of permanent magnet arrays which have been glued or bonded into un-natural pole alignments (See Pribonic, Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 18, Fukui (454’) discloses an apparatus comprising a magnet unit 3 in which a plurality of magnets is arranged in a Halbach array; and a magnetic yoke 12 that is provided on a surface side different from a side where a magnetic field formed by the magnet unit is biased (See Fig. 1, See Pg. 7, Para. 5). Fukui fails to disclose a fixing jig that is one or a plurality of non-magnetic materials, the fixing jig being configured to at least fix each of the magnets of the magnet unit. However, Pribonic discloses an apparatus comprising a Halbach array 10 of magnets 72, 74, 76, 78 that are attached or fixed using members 48, 50 which consists of rods or bars (See Fig. 2, See Pg. 2, Paras. 0024 - 0029). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) according to the teachings of Pribonic for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device constrains unwanted motion or fracturing of permanent magnet arrays which have been glued or bonded into un-natural pole alignments (See Pribonic, Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 19, Fukui (454’) fails to disclose that the fixing jig has a columnar shape; and is arranged so as to penetrate all of the magnets. However, in Pribonic, the fixing members 48, 50 have a columnar shape; and are arranged so as to penetrate all of the magnets (See Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) according to the teachings of Pribonic for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device constrains unwanted motion or fracturing of permanent magnet arrays which have been glued or bonded into un-natural pole alignments (See Pribonic, Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 20, in Fukui (454’), the device includes measuring a defect (See Pg. 2, Para. 7). Regarding claim 21, in Fukui (454’), the device includes measuring a defect (See Pg. 2, Para. 7). Regarding claim 22, in Fukui (454’), the device includes measuring a defect (See Pg. 2, Para. 7). Regarding claim 23, in Fukui (454’), the device includes measuring a defect (See Pg. 2, Para. 7). 5. Claims 24 – 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui (454’) and Pribonic, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Fukui (JP2019162664, hereinafter Fukui (664’) – See IDS dated 5/1/25).
Regarding claim 24, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a metal material manufacturing method comprising manufacturing a metal material while measuring a specific physical quantity by the measurement method. However, Fukui (664’) discloses an apparatus comprising a metal material (slab Ob) that is manufactured by a continuous casting device including measuring a characteristic of the metal material (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 – 6 and Pg. 7, Para. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 25, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a metal material quality control method comprising controlling quality of a metal material while measuring a specific physical quantity. However, Fukui (664’) discloses an apparatus comprising a metal material quality control method comprising controlling quality of a metal material while measuring a specific physical quantity (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 – 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 26, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a metal material manufacturing facility configured to manufacture a metal material while measuring a specific physical quantity by the measurement apparatus. However, Fukui (664’) discloses an apparatus comprising a metal material (slab Ob) that is manufactured by a continuous casting device and including measuring a characteristic of the metal material (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 – 6 and Pg. 7, Para. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 27, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a solidification position measurement apparatus configured to measure a solidification position of a metal material by the electromagnetic ultrasonic sensor. However, Fukui (664’) discloses measuring the position of a solidified part (crater end) using electromagnetic sensors 21a, 22a (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 - 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 28, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a solidification position measurement apparatus configured to measure a solidification position of a metal material by the electromagnetic ultrasonic sensor. However, Fukui (664’) discloses measuring the position of a solidified part (crater end) using electromagnetic sensors 21a, 22a (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 - 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 29, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a solidification position measurement method that comprises measuring a solidification position of a metal material by the electromagnetic ultrasonic sensor. However, Fukui (664’) discloses measuring the position of a solidified part (crater end) using electromagnetic sensors 21a, 22a (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 – 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 30, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a solidification position measurement method that comprises measuring a solidification position of a metal material by the electromagnetic ultrasonic sensor. However, Fukui (664’) discloses measuring the position of a solidified part (crater end) using electromagnetic sensors 21a, 22a (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 – 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 31, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a casting facility that is configured to manufacture a cast piece while measuring a solidification position of the cast piece by the solidification position measurement apparatus. However, Fukui (664’) discloses manufacturing a solidified part (crater end) while measuring the position of the solidified part using electromagnetic sensors 21a, 22a (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 – 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 32, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a metal material manufacturing facility configured to manufacture a metal material while measuring a solidification position by the solidification position measurement apparatus. However, Fukui (664’) discloses manufacturing a metal part (slab) while measuring the position of a solidified part using electromagnetic sensors 21a, 22a (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 – 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 33, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a metal material manufacturing method of manufacturing a metal material while manufacturing a cast piece using the casting facility. However, Fukui (664’) discloses manufacturing a metal part (slab) while manufacturing a cast piece (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 – 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020). Regarding claim 34, Fukui (454’) and Pribonic fail to disclose a metal material quality control method of controlling quality of a metal material while manufacturing a cast piece using the casting facility. However, Fukui (664’) discloses controlling a quality of a metal part (slab) while manufacturing a cast piece (See Pg. 4, Paras. 1 – 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fukui (454’) and Pribonic according to the teachings of Fukui (664’) for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device improves the productivity and quality of a slab (See Fukui (664’), Pg. 1, Para. 0020).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.7. Takeuchi (12,424,366) discloses a magnet arrangement method, method for manufacturing rotor, magnet arrangement jig, and magnet induction apparatus. Nishizawa et al. (2025/0216362) disclose a solidification position measuring apparatus, solidification position measuring method, metal material quality management method, casting facility, metal material manufacturing facility, and metal material manufacturing method. Sato et al. (12,348,086) disclose a magnet arrangement method and rotor manufacturing method. Mizzell, Jr. (11,894,184) discloses permanent magnetic assemblies and methods of assembling same. Deng et al. (CN211689694) disclose a Halbach type permanent magnet track. Kozo (9,685,850) discloses a voice coil motor and direct acting servo valve using the voice coil motor. Ishibashi (JP2007110822) disclose a periodic magnetic field generator, manufacturing method therefor, and linear motor using this periodic magnetic field generator. Ishibashi (JP2003347121) disclose a method for manufacturing periodic magnetic field generating magnetic circuit and assembling jig.8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Breene can be reached at 5712724107. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 10/13/26