DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Currently claims 1-8 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the other direction” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 2-3, the phrase "nonwoven textiles (felt)" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase (i.e., “(felt)”) are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on their dependency from claim 1, rejected above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (GB 2113608) in view of Ueda (US 2015/0328857).
With respect to claims 1-2, Renaud teaches flexible integral composite materials which can be used for making internal lining sheaths for conduits or ducts which have suffered damage (page 1, lines 7-11). The material 10 may comprise a plurality of assemblies of a layer of a nonwoven fabric – reinforcement layer (page 3, lines 41-49). The example shown in Figure 1 comprises two assemblies: layer 1 of a nonwoven fabric and layer 2 of a glass fiber cloth, mesh, or netting (secondary layer); and layers 3, 4 (primary layer), with a last layer 5 being a non-woven fabric fixedly connected to the lower part of the last layer which comprises at least one reinforcement (Fig. 1; page 3, lines 13-49).
Renaud is silent as to the composite lining sheath being seamless and jointless.
Ueda teaches a lining material for a conduit and a method for lining the conduit (paragraph [0001]). The lining material is arranged such that the tubular woven fabric has no seam in an axial direction (paragraph [0020]). Since the tubular member has no seam/joint in its axial direction, the elongation in the circumferential direction is uniform (paragraph [0021]). This facilitates smooth inside-out inversion of the lining material (paragraph [0021]).
Since both Renaud and Ueda teach linings for conduits comprising woven material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composite lining sheath of Renaud to be seamless and jointless in order to allow for uniform elongation in the circumferential direction, thus facilitating smooth inversion for the installation of the lining.
The recitation "for use in the trenchless repair of underground pipelines such as drinking water and wastewater pipelines" in claim 1 has not been given patentable weight because it is a recitation of intended use that occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02. In the instant case the body of the claim is able to stand alone and does not depend upon the preamble for completeness. Additionally, as described above, Renaud teaches a similar use of the liner for lining conduits or ducts that have suffered damage (page 1, lines 7-11).
The limitation “folded in the form of a pipe by an envelope folding technique”, “a primary glass fiber fabric layer, which is folded in a U-shape so that its two open ends meet in one direction”, and “a secondary glass fiber fabric layer folded in a U-shape on said primary glass fiber fabric so that the two open ends meet in the other direction” are method limitations and do not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Renaud discloses a seamless composite liner comprising a nonwoven layer and two glass layers as described above.
With respect to claim 3, Renaud in view of Ueda teaches all the limitations of claim 2 above. Renaud further teaches the nonwoven is made of polyester fibers (page 3, lines 13-17).
With respect to claim 4, Renaud in view of Ueda teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Renaud further teaches the reinforcements may be in the form of a woven fabric (page 1, lines 76-81).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud (GB 2113608) in view of Ueda (US 2015/0328857) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Duttenhofer (US 2018/0306372).
With respect to claims 5-6, Renaud in view of Ueda teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Renaud in view of Ueda is silent as to the composite lining further comprising a UV-permeable inner film layer positioned within the primary glass fiber fabric layer and a UV curable resin being impregnated in the layers.
Duttenhofer teaches a liner tube for sewer rehabilitation (paragraph [0001]). The liner comprises nonwoven and glass fiber layers (paragraph [0014]). Duttenhofer further teaches the use of a reaction resin that can be cured with light, especially UV light (paragraph [0022]). This permits curing lining tubes in a significantly shorter time and with substantially lower expense (paragraph [0022]). The glass strips and the nonwoven fabric are impregnated with the reaction resin (paragraph [0019]). Since the resin is UV curable it is expected to be transparent to be UV-permeable.
Since both Renaud in view of Ueda and Duttenhofer teach fibrous linings for conduits, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lining of Renaud in view of Ueda to be impregnated with a UV-curable resin in order to lower cure time of the lining and reduce expense.
With respect to claims 7-8, Renaud in view of Ueda teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Renaud further teaches a first layer formed by a flexible sealing sheet having a substantially smooth external face (page 2, lines 50-54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the location of the sealing film, either the outer surface, the inner surface, or both, in order to determine which provides the desired level of sealing. See MPEP 2143.
Renaud in view of Ueda is silent as to the composite liner comprising UV outer protective film layer.
As discussed in the rejection of claims 5-6 above, it would be obvious based on the teachings of Duttenhofer for one of ordinary skill in the art to use UV-curable resin from the standpoint of lower cure time and reduced expense. Duttenhofer further teaches that to protect the liner tube against radiation of UV light and thereby prevent premature curing of the reaction resin, an outer film of stretchable material nontransparent to light is arranged around the second layer (paragraph [0026]).
It therefore would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an outer layer nontransparent to light on the liner in order to prevent premature curing of the UV resin.
Conclusion
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789