DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 02 February 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susukida et al (US 2020/0332218).
Susukida et al. [“Susukida”] discloses a lubricating oil composition comprising a lubricating base oil and (A) a poly(meth)acrylate in an amount of 2 to 10 mass %; (B) a phosphite ester of general formula (1), wherein R1 and R2 are each independently a group having 5 to 20 carbon atoms represented by general formula (2), in an amount of 0.01 to 0.06 mass % in terms of phosphorus; (C) a thiadiazole compound in an amount of 0.01 to 0.2 mass%; and (D) a calcium salicylate detergent in an amount of 0.005 to 0.03 mass % in terms of calcium; wherein the lubricating oil composition has a kinematic viscosity at 40°C of 4.0 to 20.0 mm2/s (Abstract).
Susukida discloses that in one preferred embodiment, the lubricating oil composition may further comprise a tolyltriazole metal deactivator and/or a benzotriazole metal deactivator in an amount of 0.001 to 0.1 mass % [0059]-[0061].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Susukida discloses that the lubricating base oil may be at least one mineral base oil, at least one synthetic base oil, or any mixed base oil thereof [0024]. Susukida discloses that examples of API Group V base oils include monoesters, diesters, polyesters and polyol esters [0027]. Susukida discloses that the content of the API Group V base oil is preferably 0 to 20 mass %, and especially preferably substantially 0 mass %, on the basis of the total mass of the lubricating base oil [0028].
Thus, the examiner is of the position that Susukida meets the limitations of the claimed lubricating oil composition when component (E) is a benzotriazole metal deactivator. Applicant’s open-ended claim language “comprising” allows for the addition of other additives to the composition such as component (A) a poly(meth)acrylate, and component (D) a calcium salicylate detergent disclosed by Suskida.
In regard to dependent claims 4-5, although Susukida does not disclose mass ratios of the benzotriazole compound to the thiadiazole compound, and to the phosphorus acid ester, conventional amounts of these well-known lubricating oil additives may be used in the lubricating oil composition taught by Susukida. The examiner is of the position that absent a showing of criticality, no patentability is seen by the claimed mass ratios.
In regard to dependent claims 6-7, although Susukida allows for the addition of other additives such as succinimides, antioxidants, etc., Susukida does not require the addition of a sulfur atom-free phosphorous acid ester or a sulfur atom-free phosphoric acid ester to the composition.
In regard to claims 10-12, Susukida discloses that the lubricating oil composition is suitable for lubrication of electric motors [0001]-[0003] and [0012]-[0015].
Conclusion
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771
EMcAvoy
March 9, 2026