DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I in the reply filed on 10/01/2026 is acknowledged. Upon review the preliminary amendment, filed 01/22/2025, which amends Group II: claims 3-6 to comprise the system of claim 1. Accordingly, the restriction regarding claims 3-9 are hereby withdrawn and being examined herewith with respect to the application of prior art. However, claims 7-9 and 22 are referring to claim 3 in an intended use or as a preamble; hence, the restriction regarding claims 7-9 and 22 are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-6 are objected to because of the following informalities: “A mobile unit” in line 1 of claim 3 should be --The mobile unit--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2006/0282944 (hereinafter Sagi).
Regarding claim 1, Sagi disclose a system for bathing bedridden patients comprising a mobile unit (1); and a cover (8) installed over a bed (see Fig. 1) on which a patient is laying; wherein the mobile unit is configured to deliver a water blend to the laying patient, enabling the bathing of said patient; and wherein the cover is adapted to promote the protection of the bed, retaining the resulting bating water blend of the patient inside a delimiting area defined by said cover (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the system for bathing bedridden patients according to claim 1 comprising a docking station (see para. [0048]: “wall socket”) configured to receive and couple the mobile unit (via electric cable), promoting at least one of a refill of a hot water reservoir (via the heater) or a refill of a cold water reservoir or a refill of a disinfectant reservoir or a refill of a shower gel reservoir or an energy charge of a control unit of said mobile unit (via electric cable).
Regarding claim 3, the mobile unit (1) for bathing bedridden patients comprising the system of claim 1, further comprising at least one of a hot water reservoir, a cold water reservoir (6) and a control unit (see para. [0046]-[0048]: “switch”), wherein the mobile unit (1) is configured to deliver a water blend to the laying patient, enabling the bathing of said patient.
Regarding claim 5, the mobile unit (1) for bathing bedridden patients according to claim 3, comprising a dirty water reservoir (14) configured to receive bating water blend of the patient through a drainage valve (see para. [0083]) comprised in the cover.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagi.
Regarding claim 4, Sagi teaches all of the limitations as discussed above regarding claim 3. Sagi is silent regarding a water blend to a laying patient within a temperature range between 29°C and 38°C. However, Sagi teaches a heating device for maintaining a proper water temperature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water temperature range between 29°C and 38°C as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see specification page 4, lines 12-14) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagi in view of DE 4135356 A1 (hereinafter Aydnik).
Regarding claim 6, Sagi teaches all of the limitations as discussed above regarding claim 3, wherein the mobile unit (1) comprising a shower gel reservoir (between members 6 and 14), a disinfectant reservoir (see para. [0080]: “cleaning fluids, sterilizing materials). Sagi is silent as to an ultra-violet disinfection lamp. Attention is directed to the Aydnik reference which teaches an analogous mobile unit comprising a sterilizing filter and UV lamps. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ, in the mobile unit of Sagi, an ultra-violet disinfection lamp as taught by Aydnik in order to sterilize the mobile unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2005/0086734 (Thies) teaches an analogous system including a mobile unit comprising cold and hot water reservoirs.
/TUAN N NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754