DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/836,914, dated on 08/08/2024.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 4 limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim 1, limitations a transmission unit, a control unit are interpreted respectively equivalent to the transmission unit, Fig. 7, els, 210 and the control unit, Fig. 7, el. 240 as described in specification ¶116-¶118.
Claim 4, limitations a reception unit, a control unit are interpreted respectively equivalent to the reception unit, Fig. 6, els, 120 and the control unit, Fig. 6, el. 140, as described in specification ¶113-¶115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Imamura et al. (US 2013/0258924 A1).
Claims 1, 6, Imamura discloses a terminal (mobile station apparatus; Fig. 2, 4-6, el. 50; Fig. 15) comprising:
a transmission unit (transmission unit; Fig. 2, el. 53; FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating one example of a mobile station apparatus according to the first embodiment. In FIG. 2, the mobile station apparatus 50 includes a reception unit 51, a control unit 52, and a transmission unit 53; ¶58) configured to transmit a signal to a base station (base station apparatus; Figs. 1, 4-6, el. 10) (Fig. 6 shows the mobile station apparatus el. 50 transmitting a signal to the base station el. 10 during the on-duration of the DRX cycle; configured to transmit a signal to a base station to be received by the BS scheduler 22; The scheduler 22 schedules data transmission and reception for data to be transmitted to and received from each mobile station that is in an active state; ¶49; The control unit 52 extracts DRX parameters contained in the control signal, and identifies, based on the extracted DRX parameters, the timing at which to start and end On Duration. Further, the control unit 52 starts up the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 at the timing at which to start On Duration. Further, the control unit 52 causes the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 to enter the inactive state when the time period set in drx-Inactivity Timer is up, where drx-Inactivity Timer is reset each time data transmission or reception is performed during On Duration. However, upon receiving the DRX command contained in the control signal, the control unit 52 causes the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 to enter the inactive state; ¶60; The transmission unit 53 transmits an uplink data signal, an uplink control signal, and an uplink reference signal to the base station apparatus 10; ¶61); and
a control unit (control unit; Fig. 2, el. 52; ¶58) configured to assume that the base station enables a discontinuous reception function for disabling a receiver unit (reception processing unit; Fig. 1, el. 21) when transmitting the signal (Fig. 6 shows mobile station apparatus el. 50 transmitting a signal to base station el. 10 during the on-duration of the DRX cycle, assuming that the base station enables a DRX for disabling the reception unit; The control unit 52 extracts DRX parameters contained in the control signal, and identifies, based on the extracted DRX parameters, the timing at which to start and end On Duration. Further, the control unit 52 starts up the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 at the timing at which to start On Duration. Further, the control unit 52 causes the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 to enter the inactive state when the time period set in drx-Inactivity Timer is up, where drx-Inactivity Timer is reset each time data transmission or reception is performed during On Duration. However, upon receiving the DRX command contained in the control signal, the control unit 52 causes the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 to enter the inactive state; ¶60; As illustrated in FIG. 4, in the case of a new call, the mobile station apparatus 50 transmits an RRC Connection message to the base station apparatus 10 at the start. Then, the base station apparatus 10 determines DRX parameters, and then transmits an RRC Connection Setup message that contains the thus determined DRX parameters to the mobile station apparatus 50. Then, the mobile station apparatus 50 transmits an RRC Connection Setup Complete message to the base station apparatus 10; ¶68).
Claim 2, Imamura discloses the control unit (control unit; Fig. 2, el. 52; ¶58) assumes that the base station (base station apparatus; Figs. 1, 4-6, el. 10) disables the receiver unit for each port, each panel, each beam, or each carrier (disabling the receiver unit for each port, each panel, each beam, or each carrier when the base station entering the power-saving mode and all of the controlled mobile stations entering the inactive state; The scheduler 22 schedules data transmission and reception for data to be transmitted to and received from each mobile station that is in an active state. Further, upon receiving the power-saving instruction, the scheduler 22 performs control for transmitting a DRX command to all of the controlled mobile stations. Specifically, upon receiving the power-saving instruction, the scheduler 22 outputs an issuing instruction to a MAC processing unit 28 described later. Accordingly, the MAC processing unit 28 issues the DRX command addressed to all of the controlled mobile stations. Here, the DRX command is a control signal that functions to cause all of the controlled mobile stations to enter the inactive state; ¶49; This embodiment thus configured makes it possible to cause all of the controlled mobile station apparatuses 50 to shift from the inactive state to the active state at the same time. This makes it possible to extend the time period for which all of the controlled mobile station apparatuses 50 are in the inactive state. During the time period for which all of the controlled mobile station apparatuses 50 are in the inactive state, the base station apparatus 10 is allowed to enter the power-saving mode. As a result, it is made possible to extend the time period for which the base station apparatus 10 stays in the power-saving mode. Therefore, it is made possible to provide a high degree of effectiveness in saving power with the base station apparatus 10 and each of the multiple mobile station apparatuses 50 sharing the same DRX parameters, that is, with the base station apparatus 10 and the multiple mobile station apparatus 50 having been enabled to transmit and receive data therebetween; ¶74).
Claims 3, 7, Imamura discloses the control unit (control unit; Fig. 2, el. 52; ¶58) determines a timing of transmitting the signal in a case where the discontinuous reception function is enabled, based on a parameter indicated by the base station (Fig. 6 shows the mobile station apparatus el. 50 determines a timing of transmitting a signal during the on-duration of the DRX cycle to the base station el. 10, assuming that the DRX function is enabled; The control unit 52 extracts DRX parameters contained in the control signal, and identifies, based on the extracted DRX parameters, the timing at which to start and end On Duration. Further, the control unit 52 starts up the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 at the timing at which to start On Duration. Further, the control unit 52 causes the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 to enter the inactive state when the time period set in drx-Inactivity Timer is up, where drx-Inactivity Timer is reset each time data transmission or reception is performed during On Duration. However, upon receiving the DRX command contained in the control signal, the control unit 52 causes the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 to enter the inactive state; ¶60; As illustrated in FIG. 4, in the case of a new call, the mobile station apparatus 50 transmits an RRC Connection message to the base station apparatus 10 at the start. Then, the base station apparatus 10 determines DRX parameters, and then transmits an RRC Connection Setup message that contains the thus determined DRX parameters to the mobile station apparatus 50. Then, the mobile station apparatus 50 transmits an RRC Connection Setup Complete message to the base station apparatus 10; ¶68).
Claim 4, Imamura discloses a base station (base station apparatus; Figs. 1, 4-6, el. 10) comprising:
a reception unit (reception processing unit; Fig. 1, el. 21) configured to receive a signal from a terminal (Fig. 2, 4-6, el. 50; Fig. 15) (Fig. 6 shows the base station el. 10 receiving a signal from the mobile station apparatus el. 50 during the on-duration of the DRX cycle; configured to receive a signal from a mobile station apparatus; The scheduler 22 schedules data transmission and reception for data to be transmitted to and received from each mobile station that is in an active state; ¶49; The control unit 52 extracts DRX parameters contained in the control signal, and identifies, based on the extracted DRX parameters, the timing at which to start and end On Duration. Further, the control unit 52 starts up the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 at the timing at which to start On Duration. Further, the control unit 52 causes the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 to enter the inactive state when the time period set in drx-Inactivity Timer is up, where drx-Inactivity Timer is reset each time data transmission or reception is performed during On Duration. However, upon receiving the DRX command contained in the control signal, the control unit 52 causes the reception unit 51 and the transmission unit 53 to enter the inactive state; ¶60; The transmission unit 53 transmits an uplink data signal, an uplink control signal, and an uplink reference signal to the base station apparatus 10; ¶61); and
a control unit (control unit; Fig. 1, el. 30) configured to enable a discontinuous reception function for disabling a receiver unit for receiving the signal (disabling the receiver unit when the base station entering the power-saving mode and all of the controlled mobile stations entering the inactive state; The scheduler 22 schedules data transmission and reception for data to be transmitted to and received from each mobile station that is in an active state. Further, upon receiving the power-saving instruction, the scheduler 22 performs control for transmitting a DRX command to all of the controlled mobile stations. Specifically, upon receiving the power-saving instruction, the scheduler 22 outputs an issuing instruction to a MAC processing unit 28 described later. Accordingly, the MAC processing unit 28 issues the DRX command addressed to all of the controlled mobile stations. Here, the DRX command is a control signal that functions to cause all of the controlled mobile stations to enter the inactive state; ¶49; The control unit 30 causes thereafter, the base station apparatus 10 to enter the power-saving mode (step S14); ¶70; This embodiment thus configured makes it possible to cause all of the controlled mobile station apparatuses 50 to shift from the inactive state to the active state at the same time. This makes it possible to extend the time period for which all of the controlled mobile station apparatuses 50 are in the inactive state. During the time period for which all of the controlled mobile station apparatuses 50 are in the inactive state, the base station apparatus 10 is allowed to enter the power-saving mode. As a result, it is made possible to extend the time period for which the base station apparatus 10 stays in the power-saving mode. Therefore, it is made possible to provide a high degree of effectiveness in saving power with the base station apparatus 10 and each of the multiple mobile station apparatuses 50 sharing the same DRX parameters, that is, with the base station apparatus 10 and the multiple mobile station apparatus 50 having been enabled to transmit and receive data therebetween; ¶74).
Claim 5, Imamura discloses a transmission unit configured to transmit base station capability information indicating whether or not to support a discontinuous reception function to the terminal or to another network node (BS transmitting DRX capability information indicating supporting a discontinuous reception function upon determining that the condition for the power-saving operation is satisfied; Additionally, the control unit 30 determines DRX parameters, and outputs to the transmitter-signal processing unit 23 an RRC message that contains the DRX parameters. The RRC message thus containing the DRX parameters is transmitted via the transmitter-signal processing unit 23 and the radio apparatus 40 to a mobile station apparatus 50. Here, the DRX parameters include long DRX-Cycle, drx Start Offset and On Duration Timer. Here, a state where the base station apparatus 10 and the mobile station apparatus 50 share the same DRX parameters, namely, an RRC connected state, is a state where data transmission and reception is enabled between the base station apparatus 10 and the mobile station apparatus 50. This state is distinguished from an idle state; ¶46; Upon determining that the condition for the power-saving operation is satisfied (step S11: Yes), the control unit 30 determines DRX parameters (step S12). The DRX parameters are determined by use of, for example, a traffic volume. Specifically, when there is a low traffic volume, the control unit 30 sets a short time period in On Duration Timer. On the other hand, when there is a high traffic volume, the control unit 30 sets a long time period in On Duration Timer; ¶65; The control unit 30 transmits an RRC message containing the DRX parameters to the mobile station apparatus 50 via the transmitter-signal processing unit 23 and the radio apparatus 40 (step S13); ¶66).
Conclusion
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471