DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the injection device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the distal direction" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17, 19-22, 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Slemmen et al. (US 20140243755 hereinafter “Slemmen”).
Regarding Claim 15, Slemmen teaches (Fig 3) a tubular needle cover (2.2) comprising:
a distal sleeve (2.1) extending along a longitudinal axis between a proximal end (end where D is labeled in Fig 3; examiner notes that instant application defines proximal and distal opposite to how Slemmen defines proximal and distal) and a distal end (end where P is labeled in Fig 3), wherein the distal sleeve (2.1) comprises a first fastener (L1, 2.1.2.1; see [0038]);
a proximal cover (2.4) comprising a proximal wall (2.4.1) extending in a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis (A), wherein the proximal cover (2.4) comprises a second fastener (2.4.3), and wherein the first fastener is attached to the second fastener (See [0038] "the first locking mechanism L1 includes latches 2.1.2.1 on axial, proximally-directed resilient first arms 2.1.2 on the outer needle shield 2.1 that engage recesses 2.4.3 on the inner needle shield 2.4."); and
a proximal opening (2.4.2) arranged in the proximal wall (2.4.1) of the proximal cover (2.4), wherein the proximal opening (2.4.2) and the distal sleeve (2.1) are coaxial (See Fig 3), and wherein the distal sleeve (2.1) and the proximal cover (2.4) are two separate components (See [0038] teaching how 2.4 and 2.1 lock together, therefore 2.4 and 2.1 are sperate components).
Regarding Claim 16, Slemmen teaches the tubular needle cover according to claim 15, wherein the proximal opening (2.4.2) is the only opening in the proximal wall (2.4.1; see Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 17, Slemmen teaches the tubular needle cover according to claim 15, wherein the proximal wall (2.4.1) is convex when looked at from the proximal end of the tubular needle cover (See Fig 3, 2.4.1 appears convex).
Regarding Claim 19, Slemmen teaches a pen needle assembly (2.2.1) comprising the tubular needle cover according to claim 15.
Regarding Claim 20, Slemmen teaches the pen needle assembly according to claim 19, wherein the pen needle assembly comprises:
a tubular base (2.2.1) extending along the longitudinal axis (A) between a proximal end and a distal end; wherein the tubular base comprises a third fastener (2.2.3) for attaching to an injector without needle (See [0033]); and
a needle (2.3) extending along the longitudinal axis (A) between a proximal end (D) and a distal end (P);
wherein the needle (2.3) is attached to the tubular base (2.2.1), wherein the tubular needle cover (2.2) is operably connected to the tubular base (2.2.1); and
wherein the tubular needle cover is axially movable relative to the tubular base between a proximal position (Fig 3) where the proximal end (2.3.1) of the needle (2.3) is fully enclosed by the tubular needle cover (2.2) and a distal position (Fig 4) where the proximal end (2.3.1) of the needle (2.3) extends through the proximal opening (2.4.2).
Regarding Claim 21, Slemmen teaches the pen needle assembly according to claim 20, wherein the tubular base (2.2.1) comprises an engaging member (see annotated Fig 3) extending in a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis (A) from a wall (See annotated Fig 3) of the tubular base (2.2.1), wherein the tubular needle cover comprises a counter engaging member (L3) axially movably connecting to the engaging member of the tubular base (see [0037]), so that the tubular needle cover is axially movable relative to the tubular base between the proximal position and the distal position (See [0037]).
Annotated Fig 3 (Slemmen)
Regarding Claim 22, Slemmen teaches the pen needle assembly according to claim 20, wherein the third fastener is configured to form a snap-fit engagement with the injection device (See [0033] teaching that "In other exemplary embodiments, the needle hub 2.2 may be attached to the housing 1.1 by other suitable couplings, like for example bayonet type couplings, snap-fit couplings, frictional couplings, etc").
Regarding Claim 27, Slemmen teaches (Fig 1) an injector (1) comprising the pen needle assembly (2, 2.2.1) of claim 20.
Regarding Claim 28, Slemmen teaches the injector of claim 27, wherein the injector (1) is an autoinjector or a manual insulin pen (See [0030] teaching the device is an autoinjector or a similar device).
Claim(s) 15, 16, 18-20, 22 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shanmugam et al. (US 20210138153 hereinafter “Shanmugam”).
Regarding Claim 15, Shanmugam teaches (Figs 1-3c) a tubular needle cover (64, 65) comprising:
a distal sleeve (64) extending along a longitudinal axis between a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the distal sleeve comprises a first fastener (66a; [0072]);
a proximal cover (65) comprising a proximal wall (where 46 points to in Fig 3a) extending in a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis, wherein the proximal cover comprises a second fastener (67a; [0072]), and wherein the first fastener is attached to the second fastener (see [0072] teaching 66a and 67a snap together); and
a proximal opening (opening in 65 where needle extends through in Fig 3c) arranged in the proximal wall of the proximal cover (see Fig 3c), wherein the proximal opening and the distal sleeve are coaxial (64 and 65 are coaxial), and wherein the distal sleeve and the proximal cover are two separate components (See [0072] 64 and 65 snap fit together therefore they are separate components).
Regarding Claim 16, Shanmugam teaches the tubular needle cover according to claim 15, wherein the proximal opening is the only opening in the proximal wall (See Fig 3c, only the opening for the needle is there, no other opening in 65).
Regarding Claim 18, Shanmugam teaches the tubular needle cover according to claim 15, wherein the first fastener and the second fastener form a screw thread engagement, a bayonet engagement, or a snap-fit engagement (See [0072] 64 and 65 snap fit together).
Regarding Claim 19, Shanmugam teaches a pen needle assembly comprising the tubular needle cover according to claim 15 (see fig 2, this tubular needle cover is a part of a pen needle assembly within housing 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Shanmugam teaches the pen needle assembly according to claim 19, wherein the pen needle assembly comprises:
a tubular base (4) extending along the longitudinal axis between a proximal end and a distal end;
wherein the tubular base (4) comprises a third fastener (60, 13) for attaching to an injector (1) without needle; and
a needle (5) extending along the longitudinal axis between a proximal end and a distal end;
wherein the needle (5) is attached to the tubular base (4), wherein the tubular needle cover (64, 65) is operably connected to the tubular base (4); and
wherein the tubular needle cover is axially movable relative to the tubular base between a proximal position (Fig 2) where the proximal end of the needle (5) is fully enclosed by the tubular needle cover (see Fig 2) and a distal position (Fig 3c) where the proximal end of the needle (5) extends through the proximal opening (See Fig 3c).
Regarding Claim 22, Shanmugam teaches the pen needle assembly according to claim 20, wherein the third fastener is configured to form a snap-fit engagement with the injection device (See [0083] teaching 13 may be a snap-fit engagement to the housing of injection device).
Regarding Claim 27, Shanmugam teaches an injector (59) comprising the pen needle assembly (see Fig 1-3) of claim 20.
Regarding Claim 28, Shanmugam teaches the injector (See Fig 1, 2) of claim 27, wherein the injector is an autoinjector (59; see [0068] teaching 59 is an autoinjector) or a manual insulin pen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanmugam (US 20210138153) in view of Latham et al. (US 20130310745 hereinafter “Latham”).
Regarding Claim 17, Shanmugam teaches all elements of claim 15 as described above. Shanmugam does not specify the tubular needle cover wherein the proximal wall is convex when looked at from the proximal end of the tubular needle cover.
Latham teaches (Fig 3) a tubular needle cover (24) with a proximal wall (26) that is convexly shaped (see [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the tubular proximal wall design of Shanmugan with the convexly shaped tubular proximal wall as taught by Latham. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as a simple substitution of one known element (the tubular proximal wall (Shanmugam) for a another (convexly shaped tubular proximal wall as taught by Latham) that would provide similar results (a needle cover that protects the needle of the device of Shanmugam).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slemmen (US 20140243755).
Regarding Claim 23, Slemmen teaches all elements of claim 20 as described above. Slemmen further teaches that the third fastener could be a snap fit fastener (See [0033] teaching that "In other exemplary embodiments, the needle hub 2.2 may be attached to the housing 1.1 by other suitable couplings, like for example bayonet type couplings, snap-fit couplings, frictional couplings, etc"). Slemmen does not specify the structure of the other embodiment where the coupling is a ‘snap fit coupling’ therefore Slemmen Figure 3 does not specify the pen needle assembly wherein the third fastener is a snap-fit arm inwardly extending towards the longitudinal axis from the distal end of the tubular base towards proximal end of the tubular base.
However, Slemmen does teach in Fig 3 locking mechanisms which comprise an arm (2.1.2 or 2.1.3) that inwardly extend towards the longitudinal axis (A) from the distal end (P) of the tubular base towards proximal end (D). It is interpreted that a similar structure could be used as a locking mechanism is also considered a ‘coupling’ therefore the coupling is a known alternative/suitable structure used in the in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the third fastener (threads) of Slemmen such that the third fastener is a snap-fit arm inwardly extending towards the longitudinal axis from the distal end of the tubular base towards proximal end of the tubular base (as shown in an alternative coupling structure in Slemmen). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Slemmen already teaches that the fastener could be a different snap fit coupling (See Slemmen [0033]) and this is a known structural coupling within the same field of art that provides the same result of coupling two structures of the tubular needle base together (Slemmen [0038]).
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slemmen (US 20140243755) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Latham et al. (US 20130310745).
Regarding Claim 24, Slemmen teaches all elements of claim 23 as described above. Slemmen does not specify the pen needle assembly wherein the tubular base comprises a protrusion extending from the distal end of the tubular base, and wherein the protrusion is configured to engage with a counter protrusion (42) of the injector to which the third fastener is attached.
Latham teaches (fig 3) a tubular base (24) comprising a protrusion (30) extending from the distal end (32) of the tubular base (24), wherein the protrusion is configured to engage with a counter protrusion of the injector to which the third fastener is attached.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pen needle assembly of Slemmen such that the tubular base comprises a protrusion extending from the distal end of the tubular base, and wherein the protrusion is configured to engage with a counter protrusion (42) of the injector to which the third fastener is attached as taught by Latham. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an alternative coupling mechanism for the tubular needle shield to the injector (Slemmen [0032]) that still provides similar results of protecting the needle.
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Slemmen and Latham teaches the pen needle assembly according to claim 24, wherein the tubular base (Slemmen 2.2.1, Latham 24) comprises a rack (Latham 84, 90) extending along the distal end of the base in a circumferential direction (See Latham [0036] teaching 84 is on inside of distal end 32); and wherein the protrusion (Latham 30) is a part of the rack (Latham 84, 90).
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Slemmen and Latham teaches the pen needle assembly according to claim 24, wherein the protrusion (Latham 30) extends in the distal direction of the tubular base (Latham 24).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Srinivasan et al. (US 20150157808) teaches a pen needle assembly with a multipart needle shield.
/NEERAJA GOLLAMUDI/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783