DETAILED ACTION
Claims 30-49 are pending.
The amendments overcome the 112(a) rejection of claim 31 of the previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-34, 36, 38-39, 46, and 48-49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripp (US 4,370,103) in view of Reck (US 1,633,035).
Claim 30, Trip discloses a reciprocating compressor (fig 10, abstract) comprising:
a suction valve (114, c 12 ln 5-6); a discharge valve (90, c 12 ln 3); and a working chamber (fig 4, bore 36); wherein the suction valve is configured to provide fluid communication between a suction channel (fig 5, 67; c 12 ln 20-31) and the working chamber and the discharge valve is configured to provide fluid communication between the working chamber and a discharge channel (fig 4, 58/60, c 12 ln 60-c 13 ln 10); wherein the suction valve comprises at least one non-self-actuated valve (fig 10, mechanical actuator , c 17 ln 41-60; or fig 12, a solenoid actuator, c 18, ln 33, a spool actuator, c 18 ln 37) and the discharge valve comprises at least one self-actuated check valve (increase in pressure causes valve 90 to open against spring 84, c 12 ln 65-68).
Tripp is silent on wherein the at least one non-self-actuated valve is actively driven such that the non-self-actuated valve does not open or close in response to fluid pressure in the container.
Tripp does not disclose that its actively unloaded suction valve can be configured for active opening during normal operation. Tripp focuses their disclosure on the unloading function of the suction valve and not the normal operation of the suction valve.
Nevertheless, Tripp discloses that the active opening of the suction valve for unloading is controlled by a solenoid actuator (solenoid actuator 236, c 18 ln 49-50).
Reck teaches an analogous reciprocating pump (pg 1 ln 5-8) where the actively controlled intake valve (pg 1 ln 58-59) is configured to actively open during normal operation (pg 1 ln 78-85) and unload during unloading operation (pg 1 ln 85-90) where the actuation of the valve is controlled by a solenoid (solenoid 11, pg 2 ln 45-52), thereby ensuring that the intake valve reaches its full open stroke during intake and unloading and thereby prevents the drawbacks of uncertainty of partially open vales (pg 1 ln 40-50) or problems from timing of the valve closing (pg 1 ln 55-65).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure to solenoid actuated suction valve (solenoid actuator 236, c 18 ln 49-50) of Tripp with the active operation and active unloading modes taught by Reck by modifying the times that the Tripp solenoid triggers to open the suction valve for pumping and for unloading operation; thereby preventing the drawbacks of partially open valves and problems from timing of the valve closing (Reck, pg 1 ln 40-50, 55-65).
There is a reasonable expectation of success of the combination because the Tripp solenoid is used to actively open and control the intake valve of Tripp; in the combination of Tripp in view of Reck, that solenoid holds open the intake valve in the same way. It is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to modify at what time during the operation a solenoid is activated to open the valve. Furthermore, it is within the general skill of an ordinary worker in the art to select a solenoid power, and a valve return spring force to enable the new timing configuration of the valve.
Claim 31, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 30, wherein the self-actuated check valve comprises: … a plate-valve (Tripp, 90 is a plate, c 11 ln 48-49, second of three alternatives); ….
Claim 32, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 30, wherein the at least one non-self-actuated valve is a poppet valve (Tripp, poppet inlet valve 114, c 12 ln 5-6).
Claim 33, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 30, wherein the non-self-actuated valve is mechanically controlled (fig 10, c 17 ln 42).
Claim 34, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 30, further comprising:
a compressor block (fig 8, pump body 142, c 15 ln 32-33) having at least one cylinder (144) with a piston (146) arranged to reciprocate therein; and at least one cylinder head (fig 10, 48 sits atop the cylinder body and meets the plain meaning of cylinder head); wherein the suction valve is arranged in the cylinder head (fig 10, 114 is in 48).
Claim 36, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 30, wherein the discharge valve is arranged concentrically with the suction valve (discharge valve and spool / inlet are arranged to close to aligned with the centerline of the bore and seal; c 10 ln 51-c 11 ln 52; the suction valve, as a component of the spool is incorporated into said centered discharge valve are arranged together to accomplish this, c 11 ln 33-60; c 20 ln 13-15).
Claim 38, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 34, wherein the suction valve and/or discharge valve are arranged such that their central axis is shared with the central axis of the at least one cylinder (fig 4-7 and fig 10 all show the inlet valve 114 in a center of the discharge valve 90 and on the center of the cylinder axis; the discharge valve and spool are arranged on the centerline and provided with seals to account for any small misalignment, c 11 ln 30-52).
Claim 39, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 34, wherein the piston is provided with at least one protrusion (fig 7, shows end wall 37 of piston 38 extending into the cylinder head, past the plane 46 at the bottom of the cylinder head; the single end of the piston meets the plain meaning of “at least one protrusion”, c 14 ln 39-50) and the cylinder head is provided with at least one cylinder head recess (the recess formed on the upper side of planar surface 46 at the bottom surface of the cylinder head, c 14 ln 39-45), wherein the at least one protrusion and the at least one cylinder head recess are registered such that the protrusion will displace at least a portion of the volume of the cylinder head recess in use (fig 7 depicts the entirety of the piston protruding into the recess, c 14 ln 39-50; this shape in the cylinder head which accepts the shape of the piston meets the plain meaning of registry; further the term protrusion does not exclude an interpretation that includes the entirety of the piston).
Claim 46, Tripp in view of Reck teaches a heat pump comprising the reciprocating compressor according to claim 30 (heat pump compressor, c 19 ln 51).
Claim 48, Trip in view of Reck teaches use of a reciprocating compressor according to claim 30 in a heat pump (heat pump compressor, c 19 ln 51).
Claim 49, Trip in view of Reck teaches a method of operating a reciprocating compressor according to claim 30, comprising the steps of:
a. sucking working fluid into the working chamber via the at least one non-self- actuated valve (c 12 ln 20-31); and
b. discharging working fluid from the working chamber via the at least one self- actuated check valve (c 12 ln 60-c 13 ln 10).
Claims 35, 37 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripp in view of Reck in view of Min (WO 2006/115348).
Claim 35, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 30. Tripp does not disclose wherein the at least one discharge valve is a plurality of self-actuated check valves.
Min teaches a reciprocating piston compressor with a central poppet type intake valve (fig 3, 120) and at least one discharge valve is a plurality of self-actuated check valves (fig 4, discharge valve 220 with multiple exhaust ports 211, with a plurality of exhaust paths 261, par 0046, 0051, 0052).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of cylinder head and exhaust passages and discharge valve of Tripp to the multiple port and discharge valve configuration of Min in order to more evenly distribute heat across the cylinder head (Min, par 0052) and thereby prevent the concentration of heat and thermal fatigue of the cylinder head which will thereby improve cylinder head durability (Min, par 0052). Furthermore, the arrangement of a central suction valve and an outer discharge valve is common to both Min and Tripp. It is reasonable that the combination of Tripp in view of Min will produce a predictable result because the outer discharge valve of both Min and Tripp function in the same way in the combination as they do in the references separately.
Claim 37, Tripp in view of Reck in view of Min teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 35, wherein the plurality of self- actuated check valves are each concentric with the suction valve (Min fig 3, discharge ports 211 and concentric with the intake port 111; this is the feature in the combination of Tripp in view of Min).
Claim 45, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 30.
Tripp is silent on the working chamber is a first working chamber and the suction channel is a first suction channel, further comprises a second working chamber and a second suction channel; the first and second suction channels join to form a combined suction channel comprising an inlet for the compressor receiving working fluid therethrough.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the first working chamber, and suction channels into a second working chamber and suction channel as a duplication of parts (MPEP 2144.04). A duplication of parts is obvious when the duplication has no new or unexpected result (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)). In this case, the duplication of working chambers and suction chambers provides the expected result of a compressor of greater capacity; the duplicated parts are used in the same way in the duplicated parts as they are in the single part; there showing that the duplication is obvious. As a result of the duplication, Tripp makes obvious a first working chamber, a first suction channel, a second working chamber and a second suction channel.
The obvious duplication of parts does not explicitly explain the combined suction channel comprising an inlet.
Min teaches a two piston compressor (fig 1, 53a and 53b, par 4) which have a common intake (2) and a common discharge (3).
It would have been obvious to configured the duplicated suction channels of Tripp to combine into a common intake as taught by Min for the predictable result of parallel arranged piston cylinders in a pump, thereby increasing the capacity of the pump.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripp in view of Reck in view of Berlyn (US 3704079).
Claim 40, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 34. Tripp does not disclose wherein the piston is provided with at least one piston recess which is shaped and configured to receive a non-self-actuated valve in use.
Berlyn teaches a reciprocating piston compressor with a central inlet valve (11) and outer radius discharge valves (13) where the crown of the piston (5) includes a recess (16) beneath the inlet valve in order to obtain a volumetric compression ratio greater than 500 to 1 with pressure ratios exceeding 40 to 1.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piston crown of Tripp by adding the recess (16) beneath the inlet valve as taught by Beryln in order to obtain a higher volumetric compression ratio and thereby increase compressor efficiency at high speed (Beryln, c 2 ln 44-60). Furthermore, the combination will produce a predictable result because the central suction valve (114) of Tripp is centered above a piston crown; while the central recess (16) in the piston crown of Beryln accommodates a central suction valve; therefore both elements function the same way in the combination as they do in the references separately.
As a result, the combination makes obvious the “wherein the piston is provided with at least one piston recess (Beryln, recess 16) which is shaped and configured to receive a non-self-actuated valve in use (Tripp’s central suction valve 114 is centrally located above Beryln’s central recess 16 in the piston crown; where Beryln’s central recess 16 functions to clear the lower end of the central valve guide member at top dead center, c 1 ln 55-60).”
Claims 41 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripp in view of Reck in view of Moreira (US 2012/0063937).
Claim 41, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 34.
Tripp is silent wherein the suction channel comprises:
a first portion formed in the compressor block; and a second portion formed in the at least one cylinder head; wherein the first and second portions are configured to mate at a connection to form a fluid passage between the first portion and the second portion for delivering working fluid to the working chamber in use.
Moreira teaches a reciprocating compressor (fig 1, abstract) for use in a heat pump (refrigerant compressor, par 0012), the suction channel comprises: a first portion (fig 3, 30-33, par 0032, 0036) formed in the compressor block (shell 1 / block 2, par 0030); and a second portion (41, 46, par 0044-0045) formed in the at least one cylinder head (70, par 0054, 0059-0062); wherein the first and second portions are configured to mate at a connection (46, par 0045) to form a fluid passage between the first portion and the second portion for delivering working fluid to the working chamber in use (suction path, par 0031-0034).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing and cylinder head of Tripp by routing the suction passage through the housing (12) then into the cylinder head suction path as taught by Moreira in order to increase the operation pressure of the compressor (par 0003) allowing better thermal insulation and noise attenuation via incorporating a thermal insulating means and insert which connects to suction through the cylinder block (par 0034-0042).
Claim 44, Tripp in view of Reck in view of Moreira teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 41, wherein the first portion comprises a buffer reservoir (Moreira, fig 3, chambers 11a assists in noise attenuation by providing a buffer/insulating means, par 0041-0045; the plain meaning of buffer is insulating).
Claims 42 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripp in view of Reck in view of Moreira in view of Lee (CN 104728084).
Claim 42, Tripp in view of Reck in view of Moreira teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 41, wherein the first portion of the suction channel comprises a fluid entry path (Moreira, fig 3, 30-33) adjacent the connection when the first and second portions are mated in use.
Tripp in view of Reck in view of Moreira does not explicitly disclose wherein the fluid entry path is configured to direct fluid at an angle of between 20 degrees and 80 degrees relative to a normal on a cylinder center axis.
Lee teaches an analogous compressor muffler chamber with noise reducing channels having various “U” or “C” shapes with curved groove or paths where the degree of curve is a result effective variable that determines the reduction in rate of working fluid and thereby the reduction in noise and/or vibration of the compressor (par 0050).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the degree of arc of noise reduction channels (40-41) of Moreira as taught by Lee as a result effective variable (MPEP 2145.05), in order to improve control of the change the rate of working fluid and improve the control the noise reduction of the Moreira’s muffler. The rule is that in order for a parameter to be considered an obvious result-effective variable, the parameter must be recognized as achieving a recognized result ( In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977)). In this case, Lee teaches that the arc of channels in the muffler of a compressor result in changes of working fluid speed and thereby changes in noise.
Therefore, Tripp in view of Reck in view of Moreira in view of Lee makes obvious the limitation wherein the fluid entry path is configured to direct fluid at an angle of between 20 degrees and 80 degrees (Moreira, fig 3, conduits 40-41 and 46 are channels that contribute to the noise attenuation of the gas, par 0044; Lee teaches that the degree of conduit curves in a muffler are result effective variables for fluid speed and thereby noise, par 0050) relative to a normal on a cylinder center axis (Moreira, piston 9; normal is the face of cylinder bloc 2, facing to the right in fig 3).
Claim 43, Tripp in view of Reck in view of Moreira in view of Lee teaches the reciprocating compressor according to claim 42, wherein the angle is around 45 degrees (Moreira in view of Lee, the Moreira angles of muffler conduits 40-41 are result effective variables for desired speed change of the working fluid and noise).
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripp in view of Reck in view of Kwan (US 2009/0155114).
Claim 47, Tripp in view of Reck teaches the heat pump according to claim 46. Tripp is silent on wherein the heat pump is a high-temperature heat pump capable in use of supplying output temperatures above 55 degrees Celsius or above 80 degrees Celsius or above 90 degrees Celsius or above 100 degrees Celsius or above 110 degrees Celsius or above 120 degrees Celsius or above 130 degrees Celsius or above 140 degrees Celsius or above 150 degrees Celsius or above 160 degrees Celsius or above 170 degrees Celsius or above 180 degrees Celsius or above 190 degrees Celsius or above 200 degrees Celsius or above 210 degrees Celsius or above 220 degrees Celsius or above 230 degrees Celsius or above 240 degrees Celsius or above 250 degrees Celsius.
Kwan teaches a high pressure reciprocating compressor for a refrigerant in a refrigerant system with typical discharge temperatures (132.6 degrees Celsius, par 0038).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the rat prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the compressor of Tripp using a refrigerant as taught by Kwan thereby selecting a known material based upon its suitability for its intended use (MPEP 2144.07).
As a result of the combination, it would be obvious to operate the refrigerant compressor at temperatures up to 130 degrees Celsius thereby using a range of temperatures where a refrigerant system is known to be effective.
The combination meets the limitation because 130 degrees Celsius is above at least the claimed 55 degree Celsius (all of applicant’s upper claimed limits are claimed in the alternative, therefore an output above 55 degrees Celsius is all that is needed to anticipate the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 30 and the dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Tripp discloses a pressure actuated suction valve (Applicant’s Remarks pg 2, Tripp, c 12 ln 3-41).
New art Reck has been added to the rejection. Reck teaches configuration of a solenoid controlled active suction valve using active solenoid actuation for both regular operation and for unloading operation.
Conclusion
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746 /DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746