DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to the claims filed 8/8/2024. Claims 11 – 30 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8/8/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Examiner notes the co-pending application 18/843,585 claims a pilot operated proportional solenoid valve with a normally open configuration. Examiner maintains the claims of the co-pending application would not read on the claimed subject matter without extensive modification and double patenting rejection is not appropriate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 – 12, 17 – 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication to Smith et al. (2007/0044649).
Regarding claim 11, Smith et al. disclose a valve, comprising a main piston (76, Fig. 3) for actuating a main volumetric flow and a pilot piston (118, Fig. 3) for actuating a pilot volumetric flow; wherein the main piston and pilot piston are guided so as to be longitudinally movable in a valve housing (68, Fig. 3); wherein the pilot piston can be actuated using a solenoid device (98, Fig. 3); wherein the position of the main piston (76, Fig. 3) can be adjusted using the pilot piston (118, Fig. 3) in that a fluid pressure acting on the main piston is signalled into a pilot chamber (126, Fig. 3) with the pilot piston via a fluid connection (131, 133 Fig. 3), which pilot piston, when an actuated solenoid device is in an actuating position, holds the main piston in its closed position preventing the main volumetric flow; and wherein when the solenoid device is actuated, the pilot piston moves into a position in which the fluid pressure, decoupled from the pressure supply via the main piston, in the pilot chamber decreases until the main piston reaches an open position which controls the main volumetric flow.
Regarding claim 12, Smith et al. disclose the pilot piston can be actuated by a magnet force of the solenoid device (98, Fig. 3) against a spring force (78, 80 Fig. 3) of an energy accumulator, wherein the pilot piston is substantially pressure-balanced taking into account a frictional force [para. 27].
Regarding claim 17, Smith et al. disclose the main piston (76, Fig. 3) is held towards its closed position using a further energy accumulator (80, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Smith et al. disclose the respective energy accumulator is formed of a compression spring and wherein the compression spring (80, Fig. 3) for the main piston (76, Fig. 3), with higher spring stiffness [para. 24] than the compression spring (78, Fig. 3) for the pilot piston (118, Fig. 3), encompasses – in the circumferential projection - the latter.
Regarding claim 19, Smith et al. disclose the main piston, which is formed at least partially convex (128, Fig. 3) on its free end face and inherently disclose a radius for establishing a linear relationship between the stroke of the main piston and the opening surface it produces at one of the fluid ports in the valve housing.
Regarding claim 21, Smith et al. disclose the valve is a proportional valve [para. 31].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 – 16, 20, 22 – 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication to Bruck et al. (2025/0207683) and US Patent Application Publication to Bill et al. (2010/0294962) both disclosing pilot operated valves.
/UMASHANKAR VENKATESAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753