DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/836,964 filed 8/8/2024 which claims priority from PCT/JP2023/017846 filed 5/12/2023 and JP2022-080883 filed 5/17/2022. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A preliminary amendment was received 8/8/2024 which provides amendment to claim 3. Claims 1-6 have been examined.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the gray scale images of Figures 4-11 are barely legible when published (See PG-Pub US 2025/0181209 A1). While the item numbering is visible, the features of the claimed “icon images” are not discernable. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Austria et al. (US 11,618,320 B1, hereinafter “Austria”).
Regarding claim 1, Austria teaches a user interface device, comprising:
a display device. More specifically, multi-passenger interaction via display(s) of a vehicle are described (Austria, abstract).
a control device configured to cause the display device to display an icon image that is associated with a controlled parameter and is movable between a first position and a second position, and to initiate processing for changing the controlled parameter in response to reception of an instruction for displacing the icon image, More specifically, at least Figure 2 depicts a user interface element 202 in stage 200 with an icon (“>”), that when interacted with, moves the icon to a position such as in stage 206 (Austria, col 6, line 24 – col 7, line 23).
wherein the control device is further configured to change a shape of the icon image so as to have a portion indicating a movable direction on a path connecting the first position and the second position. More specifically, the icon changes to (“<”) in stage 206; the icon depicts a movable direction on a path connecting the positions (Austria, Figure 2, at least stage 200 and 206, Figure 4, at least stage 400 and 406).
Regarding claim 3, Austria teaches the user interface device according to claim 1, wherein the controlled parameter is a position of a reclosable body; wherein the first position corresponds to a closed position of the reclosable body; and wherein the second position corresponds to an opened position of the reclosable body. More specifically, the user interface element is for opening and closing the door of a vehicle (Austria, at least Figures 1, 2, and 4).
Regarding claim 5, this claim recites the control device that substantially performs the functions of the control device of the user interface device of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 6, this claim recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored a computer program performing the functions of the control device of the user interface device of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Austria, and further in view of Davies (US 2010/0303450 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Austria teaches the user interface device according to claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the control device is configured to display a marker adapted to receive an instruction for interrupting the processing on the path while processing for changing the controlled parameter is executed.
Davies discloses displaying a status bar, display an indicator head on the status bar, receive input indicating a position corresponding to the indicator head, and issuing a pause/interrupt command (Davies, abstract). The indicator/marker changes in accordance with a pausing/interruption (Davies, Figures 4a and 4b, [0038]-[0042], see also Figures 5a and 5b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Austria and Davies that a user interface device with an icon that moves between a first position and second position would include displaying a marker adapted to receive an instruction for interrupting the processing on the path while processing for changing the controlled parameter is executed. With Austria and Davies disclosing user interface controls with icons that move between a first position and a second position, and with Davies additionally disclosing the icon depicting a pausing/interrupting function when activated, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a user interface device with an icon that moves between a first position and second position would include displaying a marker adapted to receive an instruction for interrupting the processing on the path while processing for changing the controlled parameter is executed in order to allow a user to find an interruption feature much more easily especially if it pertains to safety (Davies, [0005]). One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this user interface device with an icon that moves between a first position and second position.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Kassner (US 2019/0044693 A1) – user interface for opening or closing doors of a vehicle where an indicator is moved from one position to another.
Boblett (US 2014/0095031) - user interface for opening or closing a reclosable body of a vehicle where an indicator is moved from one position to another.
Werner (US 2021/0405835 A1) - user interface for opening or closing doors of a vehicle using swipe gestures from one position to another.
Lengling (US 2012/0223959 A1) – a slider control that is movable with a first gesture and lockable with a second gesture.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171