DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application filed on August 08, 2024 in which claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 08, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
WO 2021/189236 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]; DU ZHIMIN [CN] ET AL.) September 2021.
Regarding claim 1, WO 2021/189236 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]; DU ZHIMIN [CN] ET AL.) 30 September 2021 disclose “A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment, UE” (see figure 5 and paragraph [0050]: Figure 5 is a flow diagram illustrating and example process 500 for wireless communication, in accordance with some aspects of the present disclosure. The process 500 may be performed, for example, by a UE (for example, such as a UE 120a in the wireless communication network 100)), comprising: “receiving broadcast information associated with one or more services provided by a network” (see figure 5 and paragraph [0052]: "The process 500 may begin, in block 505, by the UE receiving a PWS message, the PWS message including information associated with at least one program provided via a multimedia service (for example, an eMBMS service or an EnTV service)", for which paragraph [0054] discloses that the PWS message is provided to the UE by a network entity via broadcast); “obtaining a location for accessing service information that describes the one or more services based at least in part on the broadcast information” (see paragraph [0052], disclosing a number of options for the type of information provided in the PWS message, which each represent a different type of location for accessing the service information: "In some aspects, the information may be a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) associated with the at least one program. In some aspects, the information associated with the at least one program may be any indicator signaling to the UE an existence of the at least one program. In some aspects, the information may be service announcement information for the UE to discover and retrieve the at least one program via the multimedia service"); and “accessing the service information based at least in part on the location” (see paragraph [0052]: "In block 510, the UE may retrieve the at least one program via the multimedia service based on the information indicated in the PWS message”).
Regarding claim 17, WO 2021/189236 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]; DU ZHIMIN [CN] ET AL.) 30 September 2021 disclose “A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity” (see figure 5 and paragraph [0050]: Figure 5 is a flow diagram illustrating and example process 500 for wireless communication, in accordance with some aspects of the present disclosure. The process 500 may be performed, for example, by a UE (for example, such as a UE 120a in the wireless communication network 100)), comprising: “obtaining a configuration for transmitting broadcast information that is associated with one or more services provided by a network” (see figure 5 and paragraph [0052]: "The process 500 may begin, in block 505, by the UE receiving a PWS message, the PWS message including information associated with at least one program provided via a multimedia service (for example, an eMBMS service or an EnTV service)", for which paragraph [0054] discloses that the PWS message is provided to the UE by a network entity via broadcast); “enables a user equipment (UE) to obtain a location for accessing service information that describes the one or more services” (see paragraph [0052], disclosing a number of options for the type of information provided in the PWS message, which each represent a different type of location for accessing the service information: "In some aspects, the information may be a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) associated with the at least one program. In some aspects, the information associated with the at least one program may be any indicator signaling to the UE an existence of the at least one program. In some aspects, the information may be service announcement information for the UE to discover and retrieve the at least one program via the multimedia service"); and “transmitting a broadcast communication that includes the broadcast information” (see paragraph [0052]: "In block 510, the UE may retrieve the at least one program via the multimedia service based on the information indicated in the PWS message”).
Regarding claim 22, WO 2021/189236 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]; DU ZHIMIN [CN] ET AL.) 30 September 2021 disclose “An apparatus for wireless communication” (see figure 5 and paragraph [0050]: Figure 5 is a flow diagram illustrating and example process 500 for wireless communication, in accordance with some aspects of the present disclosure. The process 500 may be performed, for example, by a UE (for example, such as a UE 120a in the wireless communication network 100)), comprising: “means for receiving broadcast information associated with one or more services provided by a network” (see figure 5 and paragraph [0052]: "The process 500 may begin, in block 505, by the UE receiving a PWS message, the PWS message including information associated with at least one program provided via a multimedia service (for example, an eMBMS service or an EnTV service)", for which paragraph [0054] discloses that the PWS message is provided to the UE by a network entity via broadcast); “means for obtaining a location for accessing service information that describes the one or more services based at least in part on the broadcast information” (see paragraph [0052], disclosing a number of options for the type of information provided in the PWS message, which each represent a different type of location for accessing the service information: "In some aspects, the information may be a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) associated with the at least one program. In some aspects, the information associated with the at least one program may be any indicator signaling to the UE an existence of the at least one program. In some aspects, the information may be service announcement information for the UE to discover and retrieve the at least one program via the multimedia service"); and “means for accessing the service information based at least in part on the location” (see paragraph [0052]: "In block 510, the UE may retrieve the at least one program via the multimedia service based on the information indicated in the PWS message”).
3. Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
WO 2016/073101 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 12 May 2016.
Regarding claim 1, WO 2016/073101 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 12 May 2016
disclose “A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment, UE (see figure 8 and paragraphs [0067]-[0069]), comprising: receiving broadcast information associated with one or more services provided by a network (see figure 8 and paragraph [0067]: "At block 800, a UE receivers a system information broadcast message including a multimedia alert. For example the multimedia alert may be a cell broadcast with the multimedia PWS alert contained within a SIB message, such as SIBs 10/11/12”); “enables a user equipment (UE) to obtain a location for accessing service information that describes the one or more services” (see figure 8 and paragraph [0068]: "At block 801, in response to the multimedia alert, the UE
automatically initiates a multimedia broadcast application which uses broadcast system information provided in the multimedia alert to automatically tune the UE into streaming multimedia content associated with the alert. For example, the cell broadcast with the multimedia PWS alert may include a TMGI that the eMBMS
application on the UE can use to tune the UE into the eMBMS channel that is transmitting the emergency multimedia content”).
Regarding claim 17, WO 2016/073101 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 12 May 2016
disclose “A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity” (see figure 8 and paragraphs [0067]-[0069]), comprising: obtaining a configuration for transmitting broadcast information that is associated with one or more services provided by a network” (see figure 8 and paragraph [0067]: "At block 800, a UE receivers a system information broadcast message including a multimedia alert. For example the multimedia alert may be a cell broadcast with the multimedia PWS alert contained within a SIB message, such as SIBs 10/11/12”); “enables a user equipment (UE) to obtain a location for accessing service information that describes the one or more services; and “transmitting a broadcast communication that includes the broadcast information” (see figure 8 and paragraph [0068]: "At block 801, in response to the multimedia alert, the UE automatically initiates a multimedia broadcast application which uses broadcast system information provided in the multimedia alert to automatically tune the UE into streaming multimedia content associated with the alert. For example, the cell broadcast with the multimedia PWS alert may include a TMGI that the eMBMS application on the UE can use to tune the UE into the eMBMS channel that is transmitting the emergency multimedia content”).
Regarding claim 22, WO 2016/073101 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 12 May 2016
disclose “An apparatus for wireless communication (see figure 8 and paragraphs [0067]-[0069]), comprising: means for receiving broadcast information associated with one or more services provided by a network; (see figure 8 and paragraph [0067]: "At block 800, a UE receivers a system information broadcast message including a multimedia alert. For example the multimedia alert may be a cell broadcast with the multimedia PWS alert contained within a SIB message, such as SIBs 10/11/12”); “means for obtaining a location for accessing service information that describes the one or more services based at least in part on the broadcast information and means for accessing the service information based at least in part on the location” (see figure 8 and paragraph [0068]: "At block 801, in response to the multimedia alert, the UE automatically initiates a multimedia broadcast application which uses broadcast system information provided in the multimedia alert to automatically tune the UE into streaming multimedia content associated with the alert. For example, the cell broadcast with the multimedia PWS alert may include a TMGI that the eMBMS application on the UE can use to tune the UE into the eMBMS channel that is transmitting the emergency multimedia content”).
The subject-matter of dependent claims 2, 4, 18, 19, 23 and 25 adds use of a key or a flag indication, received in the broadcast information, to generate a URL to access the service information, which is considered a common alternative to the one of the options of WO 2021/189236 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]; DU ZHIMIN [CN] ET AL.) September 2021, in which the URL itself is provided in the broadcast information (see rejection of claim 1 above).
The subject-matter of dependent claims 3 and 24 further adds the use of a tracking area code next to the key, for generating the URL, in which the service is a eMBMS service (see WO 2021/189236 A1 paragraph [0052]), in which case the use of a TAC is considered a common design choice.
The subject-matter of dependent claims 5, 20 and 26 is disclosed in WO 2021/189236 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]; DU ZHIMIN [CN] ET AL.) September 2021, (see
paragraph [0060]: "In some aspects of the present disclosure, the information
included in the PWS message may be or include service announcement
information", in combination with paragraph [0061]: "In some aspects, the
service announcement information may carry a Temporary Mobile Group
Identity (TMGI). The TMGI may indicate resources for the retrieval of the
emergency broadcast program") and in WO 2016/073101 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 12 May 2016 ((see figure 8 and paragraph [0067]: "At block 800, a UE receivers a system information broadcast message including a multimedia alert. For example the multimedia alert may be a cell broadcast with the multimedia PWS alert contained within a SIB message, such as SIBs 10/11/12”); and (see figure 8 and paragraph [0068]: "At block 801, in response to the multimedia alert, the UEautomatically initiates a multimedia broadcast application which uses broadcast system information provided in the multimedia alert to automatically tune the UE into streaming multimedia content associated with the alert. For example, the cell broadcast with the multimedia PWS alert may include a TMGI that the eMBMS application on the UE can use to tune the UE into the eMBMS channel that is transmitting the emergency multimedia content”).
The subject-matter of dependent claims 6 and 27 is disclosed in WO 2016/073101 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]) 12 May 2016 (see paragraphs 0065-0066).
The subject-matter of dependent claims 7, 21 and 28 is disclosed in WO 2021/189236 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]; DU ZHIMIN [CN] ET AL.) September 2021 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
The subject-matter of dependent claims 8-11, 29 and 30 is disclosed in WO 2021/189236 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]; DU ZHIMIN [CN] ET AL.) September 2021
(see paragraph [0062]: "For example, the UE may alert the user of the emergent situation as carried in or indicated by the PWS message. The UE may
also prompt the user to the availability of additional information over eMBMS/
EnTV. For instance, the UE may display to the user "Tsunami Alert! Additional
information available on EnTV, Click Yes to watch? Upon user confirmation
(for example, by clicking "Yes"), the UE may automatically (for example,
without any further user input) start receiving the emergency broadcast program
over eMBMS/EnTV").
The subject-matter of dependent claim 12 adds another network for receiving
the broadcast information. In the teaching of WO 2021/189236 A1 (QUALCOMM INC [US]; DU ZHIMIN [CN] ET AL.) September 2021, the service is a eMBMS service (see paragraph [0052]); use of a dedicated network for the eMBMS service is considered a basic design choice.
Conclusion
/FRANTZ COBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
August 5, 2026