DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 11, 14-15, 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al (US 20250212283 A1, Priority Date: Mar 18, 2022).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura’283 discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see, Fig. 7A and 27, UE configured through single-DCI based multi-TRP, par 0243, 0550), comprising:
a memory (see, Fig. 27, memory, par 0550); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see, Fig. 27, processor coupled to memory, par 0555), configured to:
receive an indication (higher layer signaling (RRC signaling/MAC CE) can be equated to indication, par 0102, 0368) of a first group of one or more channels (SFN PDCCHs/PDSCHs, par 0369) or reference signals (RSs) (SRSs can be equated to RSs, par 0369) associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (two TCI states can be equated to first TCI state and second TCI state, par 0369) and a second group of one or more channels or RSs associated with a second TCI state for use in a single frequency network (SFN) (see, Fig. 18, UE configured with channels/RSs to which a plurality of (two) TCI states are applicable including PDSCH/PDCCH/PUSCH/PUCCH repetition transmission (repetitions) using SFN PDCCHs/PDSCHs and SRSs, par 0368-0369); and
receive or transmit an RS or a communication via the one or more channels using the first TCI state and the second TCI state in an SFN mode (see, Fig. 18, UE applies two indicated TCI states channels/RSs including PDSCH/PDCCH/PUSCH/PUCCH repetition transmission (repetitions) using multi-TRP, SFN PDCCHs/PDSCHs and SRSs (resource sets), par 0368-0369, 0386, 0389).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumura’283 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 7A and 27, UE configured through single-DCI based multi-TRP, par 0243, 0550), wherein one or more of the first group of one or more channels or RSs or the second group of one or more channels or RSs (see, Fig. 18, UE configured with channels/RSs to which a plurality of (two) TCI states are applicable including PDSCH/PDCCH/PUSCH/PUCCH repetition transmission (repetitions) using multi-TRP, SFN PDCCHs/PDSCHs and SRSs (resource sets), par 0368-0369) comprise:
downlink control channels only (see, SFN PDCCHs, par 0369),
downlink data channels only (see, SFN PDSCHs, par 0369), or
one or more downlink control channels and one or more downlink data channels (note, the examiner picks options to reject).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumura’283 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 7A and 27, UE configured through single-DCI based multi-TRP, par 0243, 0550), wherein the first group of one or more channels or RSs includes at least one channel of the second group of one or more channels or RSs (see, UE configured for each configuration of channel/RS for DL/UL channels/RSs that can share an indicated TCI states, par 0366).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites a network node for wireless communication performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites a network node for wireless communication performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites a network node for wireless communication performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a network node performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura’283 in view of Jang et al (US 20220385425 A1, PCT WO2022235042A1 Priority Date: May 04, 2021).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumura’283 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 7A and 27, UE configured through single-DCI based multi-TRP, par 0243, 0550), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 27, processor configured to, par 0555).
Matsumura’283 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: transmit an indication of support for the SFN mode.
However Jang’425 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 19, antenna port configuration and resource allocation for PDSCH transmission using cooperative communication in a wireless communication system, par 0422) discloses: transmit an indication of support for the SFN mode (see, UE reports UE capability to BS that UE supports SFN transmission method, par 0549).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Jang’425 into that of Matsumura’283. The motivation would have been to effectively provide simultaneous activation of DCI transmission beams in a wireless communication system (par 0009).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites a network node for wireless communication performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura’283 in view of Gao et al (US 20250192966 A1, PCT Priority Date: Mar 04, 2022).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumura’283 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 7A and 27, UE configured through single-DCI based multi-TRP, par 0243, 0550).
Matsumura’283 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first group of one or more channels or RSs and the second group of one or more channels or RSs are a single group of one or more channels or RSs, and
wherein one or more channels or RSs of the single group of one or more channels or RSs are configured for communication via the first TCI state and the second TCI state.
However Gao’966 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, PDCCH repeated over two TRPs at different times, par 0034) discloses:
wherein the first group of one or more channels or RSs and the second group of one or more channels or RSs are a single group of one or more channels or RSs (see, three unified TCI states are activated for each TCI codepoint associated with the same NZP CSI-RS resource/ NZP CSI-RS resource set, par 0108, 0111), and
wherein one or more channels or RSs of the single group of one or more channels or RSs are configured for communication via the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see, TCI state pointer is configured in each NZP CSI-RS resource to select one of multiple activated/indicated unified TCI states for the NZP CSI-RS resource to be used for transmitting/reception of the CSI-RS resource when a set of unified TCI states are activated/indicated while the actual TCI state can be changed at different times, par 0108, 0110).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Gao’966 into that of Matsumura’283. The motivation would have been to support PDSCH transmission from multiple TRPs (par 0084).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites a network node for wireless communication performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Claims 6, 16, 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura’283 in view of Kim et al (US 20230096196 A1, PCT Priority Date: Mar 09, 2021).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura’283 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 7A and 27, UE configured through single-DCI based multi-TRP, par 0243, 0550).
Matsumura’283 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein based at least in part on a first channel or first RS being included in only one of the first group of one or more channels or RSs or the second group of one or more channels or RSs, the first channel or first RS is configured for non-SFN transmission, and
wherein based at least in part on a second channel or second RS being included in both of the first group of one or more channels or RSs and the second group of one or more channels or RSs, the second channel or second RS is configured for SFN transmission.
However Kim’196 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, wireless communication system with NG-RAN including gNBs communicate with UE, par 0091-0092) discloses:
wherein based at least in part on a first channel or first RS being included in only one of the first group of one or more channels or RSs or the second group of one or more channels or RSs, the first channel or first RS is configured for non-SFN transmission (see, UE interpreted it as FDMSchemeA/FDMSchemeB/TDMSchemeA transmission method (non-SFN mode) when DMRS port(s) included in the same CDM group, par 0225. Noted, different DMRS port corresponding to DMRS through different layer, par 0179), and
wherein based at least in part on a second channel or second RS being included in both of the first group of one or more channels or RSs and the second group of one or more channels or RSs, the second channel or second RS is configured for SFN transmission (see, UE interpreted it as an SFN when DMRS port(s) indicated through DCI are included in different CDM groups, par 0225. Noted, different DMRS port corresponding to DMRS through different layer, par 017).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Kim’196 into that of Matsumura’283. The motivation would have been to dynamically indicate a specific transmission scheme with respect to different transmission schemes (par 0222).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites a network node for wireless communication performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a network node performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claims 7, 17, 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura’283 in view of Zhu et al (US20230107880A1, PCT Priority Date: Nov 18, 2021).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura’283 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 7A and 27, UE configured through single-DCI based multi-TRP, par 0243, 0550).
Matsumura’283 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein based at least in part on a third TCI state having no channels or RSs assigned, the first group of one or more channels or RSs and the second group of one or more channels or RSs are also associated with the third TCI state.
However Zhu’880 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 8, PCell beam failure in CA communicate system between UE and gNB, par 0092-0094) discloses:
wherein based at least in part on a third TCI state having no channels or RSs assigned (see, MAC CE for common TCI state including at least TCI state ID (and thus no channels or RSs assigned), par 0175), the first group of one or more channels or RSs (PDSCH DM-RS , PDCCH DM-RS and CSI-RS in indicated TCI state can be equated to first group of one or more channels or RSs, par 0120, 0174-0175) and the second group of one or more channels or RSs (PDSCH DM-RS, PDCCH DM-RS and CSI-RS in indicated TCI states can be equated to first group of one or more channels or RSs, par 0120, 0174-0175) are also associated with the third TCI state (see, common DL TCI state indicates TCI states, and each TCI state of TCI states associated with PDSCH DM-RS, PDCCH DM-RS and CSI-RS, par 0120, 0183).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Zhu’880 into that of Matsumura’283. The motivation would have been to detect and recover beam failure in wireless communication system (par 0043).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites a network node for wireless communication performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) performing the steps recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a network node performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura’283 in view of Zhu’880 as applied to claims 7 and 17 respectively above, and further in view of Jang et al (US20220385425A1, PCT Priority Date: May 04, 2021).
Regarding claim 8, Matsumura’283 discloses the UE of claim 7 (see, Fig. 7A and 27, UE configured through single-DCI based multi-TRP, par 0243, 0550), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 27, processor configured to, par 0555).
The combination of Matsumura’283 and Zhu’880 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive or transmit an additional RS or an additional communication via the third TCI state,
wherein receiving or transmitting the additional RS or the additional communication via the third TCI state is allowed based at least in part on a configuration or a capability of the UE.
However Jang’425 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 19, antenna port configuration and resource allocation for PDSCH transmission using cooperative communication in a wireless communication system, par 0422) discloses:
receive or transmit an additional RS or an additional communication via the third TCI state (see, UE receives additional DMRS symbols for PDSCHs according to whether PDSCHs indicated from PDCCHs in the respective CORESETs having two different types of CORESETPoolIndex are overlapped, and CORESETPoolIndex indicated by TCI states, par 0287-0288, 0457),
wherein receiving or transmitting the additional RS or the additional communication via the third TCI state is allowed based at least in part on a configuration or a capability of the UE (see, UE receives additional DMRS symbols for PDSCHs according to whether PDSCHs in the respective CORESETs having two different types of CORESETPoolIndex (indicated by TCI states) are overlapped; and TCI states indicated by the respective PDCCHs applied to different CDM groups (and thus based on reported UE capability of number of TCI states indicating CORESETPoolIndex related to additional DMRS symbols), par 0284, 0287-0288, 0457).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Jang’425 into that of Matsumura’283. The motivation would have been to effectively provide simultaneous activation of DCI transmission beams in a wireless communication system (par 0009).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites a network node for wireless communication performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 8 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Claims 9-10, 19-20, 24-25 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura’283 in view of Shahmohammadian et al (US 20220116256 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura’283 discloses the UE of claim 1 (see, Fig. 7A and 27, UE configured through single-DCI based multi-TRP, par 0243, 0550), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 27, processor configured to, par 0555).
Matsumura’283 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
determine a default beam for a first channel or RS based at least in part on dependency on a second channel or RS,
wherein the second channel or RS is included in the first group of one or more channels or RSs and the second group of one or more channels or RSs, and
wherein the first TCI state is different from the second TCI state.
However Shahmohammadian’256 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 6, coherent joint transmission from multiple TRPs to UE in HST-SFN environment, par 0099) discloses:
determine a default beam for a first channel or RS (default beam for PDSCH can be equated to default beam for a first channel or RS, par 0197) based at least in part on dependency on a second channel or RS (see, default beam of PDSCH DMRS derived from QCL info. of two TCI states corresponding to the first reference signal and the third reference signal associated with second reference signal (PDSCH DMRS), par 0004, 0211-0212, 0220. Noted, second RS QCLed with first RS, and second RS QCLed with third RS, par 0004),
wherein the second channel or RS is included in the first group of one or more channels or RSs (first RS and second RS in first TCI state can be equated to first group of one or more channels or RSs, par 0004) and the second group (third RS and second RS in second TCI state can be equated to second group of one or more channels or RSs, par 0004) of one or more channels or RSs (see, second RS QCLed with first RS in first TCI state, and second RS QCLed with third RS in second TCI state, par 0004, 0211-0212. Noted, second RS associated with two TCI states corresponding to first RS and third RS, par 0004), and
wherein the first TCI state is different from the second TCI state (see, two different TCI states to determine default beam, par 0220-0221).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Shahmohammadian’256 into that of Matsumura’283. The motivation would have been to support dynamic switching/indication of the scheduled PDSCH between non-SFN and SFN schemes (par 0167).
Regarding claim 10, Matsumura’283 discloses the UE of claim 9 (see, Fig. 7A and 27, UE configured through single-DCI based multi-TRP, par 0243, 0550), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (see, Fig. 27, processor configured to, par 0555).
Matsumura’283 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
to determine the default beam for the first channel or RS based at least in part on dependency on the second channel or RS:
apply the first TCI state based at least in part on the first TCI state having a first TCI identification that is higher than a second TCI identification of the second TCI state,
apply the second TCI state based at least in part on the second TCI identification being lower than the first TCI identification,
apply the first TCI state based at least in part on the first group of one or more channels or RSs having a first group identification that is higher than a second group identification of the second group of one or more channels or RSs, or
apply the second TCI state based at least in part on the second group identification being lower than the second group identification.
However Shahmohammadian’256 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 6, coherent joint transmission from multiple TRPs to UE in HST-SFN environment, par 0099) discloses:
to determine the default beam for the first channel or RS (default beam for PDSCH can be equated to default beam for a first channel or RS, par 0197) based at least in part on dependency on the second channel or RS (see, default beam of PDSCH DMRS derived from QCL info. of two TCI states corresponding to the first reference signal and the third reference signal associated with second reference signal (PDSCH DMRS), par 0004, 0211-0212, 0220. Noted, second RS QCLed with first RS, and second RS QCLed with third RS, par 0004):
apply the first TCI state based at least in part on the first TCI state having a first TCI identification that is higher than a second TCI identification of the second TCI state,
apply the second TCI state based at least in part on the second TCI identification being lower than the first TCI identification (see, default spatial relation and a pathloss RS for default beam derived based on the TCI state of two TCI states having the lowest ID for PDSCH, par 0197),
apply the first TCI state based at least in part on the first group of one or more channels or RSs having a first group identification that is higher than a second group identification of the second group of one or more channels or RSs, or
apply the second TCI state based at least in part on the second group identification being lower than the second group identification (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the UE as taught by Shahmohammadian’256 into that of Matsumura’283. The motivation would have been to support dynamic switching/indication of the scheduled PDSCH between non-SFN and SFN schemes (par 0167).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites a network node for wireless communication performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 9 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, claim 19 recites a network node for wireless communication performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 10 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) performing the steps recited in claim 9 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) performing the steps recited in claim 10 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 10.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a network node performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 9 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 recites a method of wireless communication performed by a network node performing the corresponding steps of UE on network node side recited in claim 10 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHU et al (US20230114010A1, Priority Date: Dec 06, 2021) discloses: the joint (e.g., provided by DLorJoint-TCIState), separate DL (e.g., provided by DLorJoint-TCIState) and/or separate UL (e.g., provided by UL-TCIState) TCI states described/discussed herein could also be referred to as unified TCI states, common TCI states, main TCI states and etc (par 0159). This is applies to claim 7: wherein based at least in part on a third TCI state having no channels or RSs assigned, the first group of one or more channels or RSs and the second group of one or more channels or RSs are also associated with the third TCI state.
/XUAN LU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473