DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 recites “the axial direction” in lines 2-3 and claim 10 recites “the axial direction” in line 4 which should read “an axial direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a feature in claim 5 and a driving unit in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4 and 11 recite “the control wire” in line 1, respectively. It is unclear if “the control wire” is further limiting only a single one of the previously recited “at least one control wire” or if it applies to all control wires.
Claim 10 recites “the outer wire has an anchor” in line 1 and “the inner wire has an anchor” in line 2. Claim 10 ultimately depends from claim 1 which recites “an anchor” in line 6. It is unclear if the anchor of the outer wire and/or the anchor of the inner wire is intended to be the same anchor of claim 1 or in additional thereto.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the inner wires" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as only a single inner wire is required by the claim.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "derivatives thereof" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "derivatives thereof"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable in a manner similar to that of the addition of the phrase “or the like”. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 14 recites “the wire guides” in line 2. It is unclear if “the wire guides” are further limiting only two of the previously recited “at least two wire guides” or if it applies to all wire guides.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nguyen (US 6,571,131 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Nguyen discloses a medical apparatus (catheter 10; Fig. 1) comprising: a bendable body (deflectable tip section 13) comprising: a hollow cavity (central lumen 18) extending the length of the bendable body (Figs. 1-4); and a wall (wall of 13 and/or 12 including at least tubing 21) formed about the hollow cavity (Figs. 1-4); at least one control wire (puller wire 31) slideably situated in the wall (as puller wires are moved longitudinally by the control handle 14; column 6, lines 58-63); and an anchor (anchor 35; Figs. 4, 5A-5B) configured on the at least one control wire (as anchor is fixedly attached to the distal end of the puller wire; Figs. 4, 5A, 5B; columns 5-6, lines 64-67, 1), wherein, the anchor is affixed within the wall (cross-piece 38 of anchor 35 lies within the notch 39 of the wall of the tip section 13; Fig. 4; column 6, lines 9-19).
Regarding claim 2, Nguyen discloses wherein the anchor (35) is affixed to the control wire (31) by crimping (anchor 35 made from metal tube 37 may be fixedly attached to the puller wire 31 by crimping; column 6, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, Nguyen discloses wherein the anchor (35) further comprises a feature (interpreted under 112(f) as a notch, a hole, a fissure, a loop, and equivalents thereof, and Nguyen discloses anchor 35 includes a cross-piece 38 that creates a notch between 38 and metal tube 37; Fig. 5A) creating additional surface area (surface area of 38) on an outside surface of the anchor for increasing an attachment strength of the anchor to the wall (Figs. 4, 5A).
Regarding claim 6, Nguyen discloses wherein the feature creating additional surface area on the outside surface of the anchor is selected from the groups consisting of a notch, a hole, a fissure, a loop, and combinations thereof (as anchor 35 includes a cross-piece 38 that creates a notch between 38 and metal tube 37; Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 7, Nguyen discloses wherein the at least one control wire (31) includes a plurality of anchors (distal anchors 35 and proximal anchors 42; Figs. 4, 5A-5B, 7), wherein the position of each anchor is different along the axial direction of the bendable body (as anchors 35 are positioned distally within tip section 13 and anchors 42 are positioned proximally within barrel 70; Figs. 4, 7).
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen discloses a driving unit (interpreted under 112(f) as a driver and equivalents thereof and Nguyen discloses a driver comprising rotation knob 96 and sleeve 44) in communication with the at least one control wire (31), configured to actuate the at least one control wire in the wall (column 8, lines 37-61).
Regarding claim 9, Nguyen discloses wherein the at least one control wire further comprises an outer wire (coil 33) and an inner wire (31; Fig. 3), wherein the inner wire (31) is slideably nested within the outer wire (as coil 33 is glued to the catheter 12 at glue joint 34 and puller wire 31 extends through coil 33 to anchor 42 which are pulled to deflect the tip section 13; column 5, lines 26-28, 41-43; column 6, lines 58-63).
Regarding claim 10, Nguyen discloses wherein the outer wire (33) has an anchor (glue joint 34) for affixing the outer wire to the wall (column 5, lines 54-61) and the inner wire (31) has an anchor (35) for affixing the inner wire to the wall (Fig. 4), wherein the position of the anchor (34) for the outer wire (33) and the inner wire (31) are different along the axial direction of the bendable body (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 11, Nguyen discloses wherein the control wire (31) and anchor (35) comprise of a radio opaque material (as 31 may be made of stainless steel or nitinol and 35 is formed by a metal tube 37, and metals are radio opaque; column 5, lines 16-18; column 6, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, the claimed phrase “heating the wall and anchor to create a thermal fusion” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is the process of affixing the anchor to the wall. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113. In the instant case, Nguyen discloses the anchor (35) is affixed to the wall (Fig. 4); therefore, the structure of Nguyen is found equivalent to that claimed and additional process steps are irrelevant.
Regarding claim 14, Nguyen discloses wherein the wall comprises at least two wire guides (lumens 17), wherein the wire guides are spaced a distance from one another (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen (US 6,571,131 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Nguyen fails to explicitly disclose wherein the anchor is affixed to the control wire by welding. Instead, Nguyen discloses wherein the anchor (35) is affixed to the control wire (31) by crimping (anchor 35 made from metal tube 37 may be fixedly attached to the puller wire 31 by crimping; column 6, lines 1-5).
However, Nguyen teaches an anchor (anchor 42) may be crimped to the control wire (31) or alternatively may be welded to the control wire (31; as cross-member of the anchor 42 may be welded to the proximal end of the puller wire 31; columns 10-11, lines 67, 1-10). Nguyen further teaches any suitable mechanism for anchoring the control wire to the anchor (42) may be used (column 11, lines 10-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anchor of Nguyen to be affixed to the control wire by welding in light of the teachings of Nguyen. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of affixing the control wire to the anchor.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen (US 6,571,131 B1) in view of Hanenburg (US 2019/0351189 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Nguyen fails to explicitly disclose wherein the anchor is affixed to the control wire by crimping and welding. Instead, Nguyen discloses wherein the anchor (35) is affixed to the control wire (31) by crimping (anchor 35 made from metal tube 37 may be fixedly attached to the puller wire 31 by crimping; column 6, lines 1-5).
However, Nguyen teaches an anchor (anchor 42) may be crimped to the control wire (31) or alternatively may be welded to the control wire (31; as cross-member of the anchor 42 may be welded to the proximal end of the puller wire 31; columns 10-11, lines 67, 1-10). Nguyen further teaches any suitable mechanism for anchoring the control wire to the anchor (42) may be used (column 11, lines 10-12).
Hanenburg teaches a medical apparatus (catheter 10; Fig. 1) comprising a bendable body (deflectable catheter shaft section 12; Fig. 1) with at least one control wire (pullwire 150; Fig. 4A); and an anchor (anchor feature 152) configured on the at least one control wire (Fig. 4A), wherein the anchor (152) is affixed to the control wire by both crimping and welding (as a bead of weld can be used to attach the rounded end 158 of the anchor feature 152 onto the pullwire distal end 156 and/or the rounded end 158 can be press fit and/or crimped onto the pullwire distal end 156; [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anchor of Nguyen to be affixed to the control wire by crimping and welding in light of the teachings of Nguyen and Hanenburg. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of affixing the control wire to the anchor.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen (US 6,571,131 B1) in view of Kowshik (US 2016/0067540 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Nguyen discloses a functional probe (as catheter 10 includes ring electrodes 28 along the length of the tip section 13) but fails to disclose the functional probe selected from the group consisting of a position tracking sensor, a shape sensor, an endoscopic imaging probe, derivations thereof, and combinations therefrom.
However, Kowshick teaches a medical apparatus (instrument system 200; Fig. 2) with a bendable body (elongated flexible body 216) and a functional probe comprising a shape sensor (shape sensor 222) for determining the position, orientation, speed, pose, and/or shape of the catheter tip at the distal end (218) and/or one or more segments along the body ([0045]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the medical apparatus of Nguyen to further include the shape sensor as taught by Kowshick in order to determine the position, orientation, speed, pose, and/or shape of the bendable body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ninni et al. (US 2021/0121162 A1) is noted for teaching a bendable body similar to that claimed.
/SARAH A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771