DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “a pivot axis for pivotably mounting the pick-up mechanisms to each other”.
However, claim 1 was amended to recite “wherein the second pick-up mechanism is pivotably mounted to the first pick-up mechanism by a pivotable connection, wherein the pivotable connection has a pivot axis extending substantially in the direction of travel”. Therefore, it is unclear whether “a pivot axis” for pivotably mounting the pick-up mechanisms to each other introduced in claim 6 is meant to refer to the same “pivot axis” of the pivotable connection between the first and second pick-up mechanisms set forth in claim 1. As the Examiner believes Applicant intends to refer to the same pivot axis, the Examiner has interpreted this portion of claim 6 as reading --the pivot axis— for purposes of examination.
Claim 8 recites “the pick-up mechanisms comprise at least one coupling between rotary shafts of the pick-up mechanisms, comprising an elastic coupling or a cardan coupling”.
However, claim 1 was amended to recite “wherein shafts of the first and second pick-up mechanisms are coupled by a flexible coupling”. Therefore, it is unclear whether “rotary shafts” of the pick-up mechanism introduced in claim 8 are meant to refer to the same “shafts of the first and second pick-up mechanisms” set forth in claim 1. Furthermore, it is unclear whether “at least one coupling” between rotary shafts introduced in claim 8 is meant to refer to the flexible coupling between shafts of the first and second pick-up mechanisms set forth in claim 1, or introduce a separate coupling.
The Examiner suggests amending this portion of claim 1 to recite – wherein rotary shafts of the first and second pick-up mechanisms are coupled by a flexible coupling— and further amend claim 8 to recite --the flexible coupling comprises an elastic coupling or a cardan coupling” as the Examiner believes it is the same shafts/couplings being referred in each case, and has interpreted them as such for purposes of examination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knüsel (EP 3326448 A1).
It is noted that all citations to Knüsel (EP 3326448 A1) are in reference to the corresponding English-translated document attached by the Examiner under NPL documents.
Regarding claim 1, Knüsel discloses a windrow forming device, which is movable over ground in a direction of travel (FR, Fig. 1), the device comprising:
a rigid frame (14,19),
a first pick-up mechanism (25a) and a second pick-up mechanism (25b + 25c) for picking up a product from the ground, and
at least one transport mechanism comprising a conveyor belt (9), arranged to convey the picked up material in at least one direction (R5) extending sidewards with respect to the direction of travel, and to deposit said material on the ground for forming a windrow (Fig. 3, para. [0044]),
wherein the first pick-up mechanism (25a) is rigidly connected (at a respective end plate) to the rigid frame (see annotated image below) and the second pick-up mechanism (25b + 25c) is pivotably mounted (at 26a) to the first pick-up mechanism (Fig. 3, para. [0035] "Ground adaptation is optimized by the flexible or articulated pickup roller" wherein sections 25a-25d are connected to each other with universal joints 26a-26c, para. [0028]);
wherein the second pick-up mechanism is pivotably mounted to the first pick-up mechanism by a pivotable connection (26a), wherein the pivotable connection has a pivot axis extending substantially in the direction of travel (FR) (Fig. 3, para. [0028] teaches joint 26a is a universal or cardan joint); and
wherein shafts of the first and second pick-up mechanisms are coupled by a flexible coupling (i.e. the universal or cardan joint), allowing the shafts to move between an aligned position and an articulated, non-aligned position (para. [0024, 0053] “flexible shaft” of segmented pickup roller can adapt to uneven ground such that roller elements 25a-25d can be individually raised or lowered relative to one another with elevations or depressions encountered during operation).
Annotated Image of Fig. 1 of Knüsel
Regarding claim 2, Knüsel discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the second pick-up mechanism (25b + 25c) is pivotably mounted to the rigid frame (pick-up 25b,25c is pivotally connected at 26a to the first pick-up 25a and thus also to the rigid frame).
Regarding claim 4, Knüsel discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the device comprises a third pick-up mechanism (25d), wherein the second pick-up mechanism (25b + 25c) is between the first pick-up mechanism (25a) and the third pick-up mechanism (Fig. 3), wherein the second pick-up mechanism is pivotably mounted (at 26c) to the third pick-up mechanism, the third pick-up mechanism is rigidly connected to the rigid frame (as seen in annotated image above, end pick-ups 25a,25d have respective end plates rigidly bolted to the frame).
Regarding claim 5, Knüsel discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the device comprises at least three ground following members (e.g. 4c-4f) mounted on the pick-up mechanisms (25), wherein at least one ground following member is connected in a rigid manner to the rigid frame (para. [0014,0041] sliding disks 4c-4f are fixedly and non-rotatably attached via fixed fastenings 30a,30b to frame part 14).
Regarding claims 6-7, Knüsel discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the pivot axis (designated below) forms an angle between 0° and approximately 45° with the direction of travel (approximately 0°, i.e. pivot axis parallel to direction of travel, as seen below), as per claim 6, wherein the pivot axis intersects with a rotation axis of the pick-up mechanisms, at a substantially perpendicular angle (as seen in annotated image below).
Annotated Image of Fig. 3 of Knüsel
Regarding claim 8, Knüsel discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein one of the pick-up mechanisms (e.g. 25a) is drivable to mutually drive the other pick-up mechanism (25b + 25c) of the device in rotation (para. [0050] “a drive…is attached to only one of the roller elements 25a-25d”) via at least one coupling between rotary shafts of the pick-up mechanisms, comprising an elastic coupling or a cardan coupling (para. [0028] “To transmit the drive torque of the pickup roller, the individual roller elements can be connected to each other with a universal joint or cardan joint”).
Regarding claim 9, Knüsel discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one transport mechanism (9) extends between the pick-up mechanisms (25) and the rigid frame (14) (Fig. 1,3 conveyor 9 is disposed intermediate pick-ups 25 and frame 14).
Regarding claim 10, Knüsel discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein a rigid connection between at least one of the pick-up mechanisms (25) and the rigid frame (14) comprises a rigid carrier (12b, 12e), one end (15b, 15e) of the rigid carrier is supported by a ground following member (4c, 4f) which is rigidly connected to the pick-up mechanism and the other end (30a,30b) of the rigid carrier is rigidly connected to the rigid frame (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Knüsel discloses a pulled agricultural machine (100) comprising at least one windrow forming device according to claim 1 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Knüsel discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the device comprises at least three ground following members (e.g. 4c-4f) mounted on the pick-up mechanisms (25), wherein at least two ground following members are connected in a rigid manner to the rigid frame (para. [0014,0041] sliding disks 4c-4f are fixedly and non-rotatably attached via fixed fastenings 30a,30b to frame part 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knüsel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schwer et al. (US 20150020492 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Landon discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising a carrier (234) supported at one end by a ground following member (230).
Knüsel also discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein a connection between at least one of the pick-up mechanisms (25) and the rigid frame (14) comprises a carrier (12) supported at one end by a ground following member (4) rigidly connected to the pick-up mechanism and at the other end by a connection (30) to the rigid frame (Figs. 3-4).
Landon and Knüsel fail to teach wherein the carrier is a hingeable carrier connected to the frame by a hinge mechanism.
In the same area, Schwer discloses a similar windrower comprising pick-up mechanisms (20), a rigid frame (7), and a hingeable carrier (32) disposed therebetween, wherein one end of the hingeable carrier is supported by a ground following member (30) rigidly connected to the pick-up mechanism and the other end of the hingeable carrier is connected by a hinge mechanism (35) to the rigid frame (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the carriers and ground following members of Landon or Knüsel after the hingeable carriers and ground following members of Schwer, in order to provide a hinged connection to the rigid frame for accommodating articulation and simplifying vertical or transverse movement with respect to the frame (Schwer at para. [0029]).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knüsel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Clark et al. (US 20140260168 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Knüsel discloses at least one windrow forming device according to claim 1, wherein the windrow forming device is a pulled agricultural machine (100) instead of a self-propelled merger.
In the same area, Clark discloses a similar windrower which can be configured as a self-propelled merger (Figs. 1-3) or a pull-behind merger (Figs. 4-6) (para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to design the puller windrower of Knüsel to be capable of configuration as either of a self-propelled or pull-behind merger, as taught by Clark, in order to improve the versatility and resale value of the merger (Clark at para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 15, Knüsel in view of Clark discloses the agricultural machine according to claim 13. Knüsel fails to teach wherein the at least one windrow forming device is moveable from a transport position to a working position, and vice versa, wherein in the working position a maximum width of the machine in a direction traverse to the direction of travel is at least 1.5 times larger than a width of the at least one device in the transport position.
Clark discloses a windrower described above moveable from a transport position (Figs. 7-8) to a working position (Figs. 1-2), and vice versa, wherein in the working position a maximum width of the machine in a direction traverse to the direction of travel is at least 1.5 times larger than a width of the at least one device in the transport position (as seen in Fig. 7-8, folded transport width is approx. one-third the working width).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to design the merger of the combination to be configurable in a transport position, as taught by Clark, in order to provide a machine capable of folding to a sufficiently narrow width for highway transport and storage (Clark at para. [0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Regarding the rejection of Claims 1-15 and 17, the Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments; however the arguments are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
“Knisel fails to disclose or suggest a pivot connection having a pivot axis extending essentially in the direction of travel. Furthermore, neither Knüsel nor Landon discloses or suggests a flexible coupling connecting the shafts of the first and second pick-up mechanisms as now recited in amended claim 1…Applicants therefore assert that claim 1 as amended is allowable” (see page 6 of Applicant’s remarks filed 8/24/2026).
Regarding (a), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Knüsel discloses flexible couplings (26a-26c as seen in Fig. 3) which form pivot connections having respective pivot axes extending in the direction of travel in order to form a segmented articulating shaft that may adapt to uneven ground (see Knüsel at para. [0028] which teaches the individual roller elements 25a-25d are connected to each other via joints 26a-26c which can be configured as a universal and/or cardan joint, which inherently have pivot axes extending in the direction of travel “to provide a flexible shaft or roller as a pickup roller that can adapt to ground elevations or depressions in the axial direction”, para. [0024]).
As Applicant has not presented any arguments to the contrary on why Applicant believes these features are not taught in the prior art, the 102 rejection of claim 1 under Knüsel has been maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIA C TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671