CTNF 18/836,998 CTNF 77638 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA 1. Claim s 1-6, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (3GPP, “3 rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Authentication and Key Management for Applications (AKMA) based on 3GPP credentials in the 5G System (5GS) (release 17)” #GPP TS 33.535 v17.4.0 (2021-12), 24 pages found on IDS dated 2/6/2026 in view of Rajadurai et al (2022/0210640) . Regarding claims 1 and 15. D1 teaches an application server comprising transceiver, processor and memory (section 6.2, figure 6.2-1 wherein AF comprises transceiver, processor and memory to communicate with the UE and AAnf) and a method for operating an application server in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, by the application server (e.g, AF in figure 6.2-1) , an application session establishment request (figure 6.2-1 at step 1) including identification information of a first key from a terminal (figure 6.2-1 at step 1 wherein the Application Session Establishment request includes A-KID (e.g, first key)) , wherein the terminal generates the first key the identification information of the first key based on primary authentication with a network (section 6.1, figure 6.1-1 at steps 3a and 3b wherein UE generates the AKMA Anchor Key and the A-KID from the Kausf) and an authentication server function (AUSF) generates the same first key and the identification information of the first key based on the primary authentication (section 6.1, figure 6.1-1 at steps 3a and 3b wherein UE generates the AKMA Anchor Key and the A-KID from the Kausf and the AUSF generates the same first key (AKMA Anchor key) and the identification information of the first key (A-KID) from the Kausf) ; determining, by the application server e.g, AF in figure 6.2-1) , a first application key (Kaf) based on the identification information of the first key (A-KID) (section 6.2, figure 6.2-1 steps 2-4) ; transmitting an application session establishment response message to the terminal based on the first application key (Kaf) (section 6.2, figure 6.2-1 at step 5) ; and receiving data from the terminal through an established application session (implicit after step 5 in figure 6.2-1) , wherein, based on the application server determining the first application key (Kaf) , an expiration time of the first application key is determined together (figure 6.2-1 wherein AF determines Kaf and Kaf expiration Time together, section 6.3 and figure 6.3-1 at steps 1-5) , and the application session is validly established within the expiration time of the first application ke y . D1 does not explicitly teach the application session is validly established within the expiration time of the first application key. However, D1 teaches determining application key Kaf and Kaf expiration time in section 6.2 and 6.3. In case that a new AKMA Anchor Key Kakma is established, the AKMA Application Key Kaf can continue to be used for the duration of the current application session or until its lifetime expires (section 5.2). Rajadurai teaches the application session is validly established within the expiration time of the first application key (abstract) and the AF notifies UE when the Kaf lifetime expires which enable the UE to perform a refresh of the Kaf (0021-0022, 0037, 0040, 0059, 0062, figure 3 and 0098, 0101) which avoids wasting resources at the UE (0012), as well as, provides for better security (0013). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to have the AF notify the UE that Kaf lifetime has expired as taught by Rajadurai which enables the UE to refresh of the Kaf as taught by Rajadurai in order to save UE resources and provides for better security. Regarding claim 16. D1 teaches a method for operating a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: generating, by the terminal, a first key and identification information of the first key based on primary authentication with a network, wherein an authentication server function (AUSF) generates the same first key and the identification information of the first key based on the primary authentication (section 6.1, figure 6.1-1 at steps 3a and 3b wherein UE generates the AKMA Anchor Key and the A-KID from the Kausf and the AUSF generates the same first key (AKMA Anchor key) and the identification information of the first key (A-KID) from the Kausf) ; transmitting, by the terminal, an application session establishment request including the identification information of the first key to an application server (section 6.2, figure 6.2-1 at step 5) ;; receiving, by the terminal, an application session establishment response from the application server (section 6.2, figure 6.2-1 at step 5) ; and transmitting data through an application session that is established based on the received application session establishment response (implicit after step 5 in figure 6.2-1) , wherein, based on the identification information of the first key of the application session establishment request, an application key and an expiration time of the application key are configured in the application server , and wherein the terminal transmits data through the established application session based on the application key (implicit after step 5 in figure 6.2-1) ,. D1 does not explicitly teach wherein, based on the identification information of the first key of the application session establishment request, an application key and an expiration time of the application key are configured in the application server. Rajadurai teaches the application session is validly established within the expiration time of the first application key (abstract) and the AF notifies UE when the Kaf lifetime expires which enable the UE to perform a refresh of the Kaf (0021-0022, 0037, 0040, 0059, 0062, figure 3 and 0098, 0101) which avoids wasting resources at the UE (0012), as well as, provides for better security (0013). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to have the AF notify the UE that Kaf lifetime has expired as taught by Rajadurai which enables the UE to refresh the Kaf as taught by Rajadurai in order to save UE resources and provides for better security. Regarding claim 2. D1 teaches wherein, based on the expiration time of the first application key expiring, the application server notifies expiry information of the expiration time of the first application key to the terminal (section 6.2 and section 6.4.2). Rajadurai teaches the application session is validly established within the expiration time of the first application key (abstract) and the AF notifies UE when the Kaf lifetime expires which enable the UE to perform a refresh of the Kaf (0021-0022, 0037, 0040, 0059, 0062, figure 3 and 0098, 0101) which avoids wasting resources at the UE (0012), as well as, provides for better security (0013). Regarding claim 3. D1 teaches wherein, based on the application server receiving a connection request from the terminal after the expiration time of the first application key expires, the application server notifies the expiry information of the expiration time of the first application key to the terminal through an application session reject message based on the connection request of the terminal, and wherein cause information of the application session reject message includes the expiry information of the expiration time of the first application key and first application key reconfiguration information (section 6.2 and section 6.4.2). Rajadurai teaches the application session is validly established within the expiration time of the first application key (abstract) and the AF notifies UE when the Kaf lifetime expires which enable the UE to perform a refresh of the Kaf (0021-0022, 0037, 0040, 0059, 0062, figure 3 and 0098, 0101) which avoids wasting resources at the UE (0012), as well as, provides for better security (0013). Regarding claim 4. D1 teaches wherein, based on the expiration time of the first application key expiring, the application server notifies the expiry information of the expiration time of the first application key to the terminal through a notification message, and wherein the notification message includes the expiry information of the expiration time of the first application key and first application key reconfiguration information (section 5.2 and 6.4.2). Rajadurai teaches wherein the Kaf refresh can be performed by the UE and the AF to the UE and/or to the AF. The indication/configuration includes information on a refresh policy/parameters like the number of re-fresh allowed and lifetime for a re-freshened Kaf, etc. (0019, 0067, 0071, 0094, 0108). Regarding claim 5. D1 teaches wherein the application server transmits the notification message to the terminal at a time when the expiration time of the first application key expires (section 5.2 and 6.4.2). Rajadurai teaches wherein the Kaf refresh can be performed by the UE and the AF to the UE and/or to the AF. The indication/configuration includes information on a refresh policy/parameters like the number of re-fresh allowed and lifetime for a re-freshened Kaf, etc. (0019, 0067, 0071, 0094, 0108). Regarding claim 6. D1 teaches wherein, based on the expiration time of the first application key expiring, the application session is terminated, and after the application session is terminated, the application server and the terminal perform at least any one of an application key reestablishment procedure and a new authentication procedure (section 6.1). Rajadurai teaches wherein the Kaf refresh can be performed by the UE and the AF to the UE and/or to the AF. The indication/configuration includes information on a refresh policy/parameters like the number of re-fresh allowed and lifetime for a re-freshened Kaf, etc. (0019, 0067, 0071, 0094, 0108) . 07-21-aia AIA 2. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 n view of Rajadurai et al (2022/0210640) further in view of You et al (2024/0356745) . Regarding claim 14. D1 in view of Rajadurai do not explicitly teach wherein the application server transmits indication information indicating whether to perform the application key reestablishment procedure or the new authentication procedure to the terminal. You teaches application server transmits indication information indicating whether to perform the application key reestablishment procedure or the new authentication procedure to the terminal (0067, 0070, 0084, 0094, 0102) thereby allowing the UE to update then invalid application key according to the indication (0111) thereby ensuring that the application key used by the UE is consistent with the application key used by the application server. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of Rajadurai to notify the UE to perform the application key reestablishment procedure or the new authentication procedure as taught by You thereby allowing the UE to update then invalid application key according to the indication and ensuring that the application key used by the UE is consistent with the application key used by the application server . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 3. Claim s 7-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA 4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. ---(2022/0295272) Peng et al teaches the UE updates old Kakma with a new Kakma and derives Kaf from the new Kakma (figure 6). 5. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BARRY W TAYLOR whose telephone number is (571)272-7509. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday: 7-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached at 571-272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/836,998 Page 2 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/836,998 Page 3 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/836,998 Page 4 Art Unit: 2646