DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 8/8/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and 16, in the interview summary reply filed on 5/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the interview summary reply filed on 5/13/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “fiber is used as stabilization sheet” should read “fiber is used as the stabilization sheet”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means” in claims 4 and 7.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ziegler et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0210330), hereinafter ZIEGLER, as evidenced by HODGSON-STOKX et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0022971), hereinafter HODGSON.
Regarding claim 1, ZIEGLER teaches: Method for manufacturing a stabilized veneer without a carrier board (ZIEGLER teaches a method for manufacturing a stabilized veneer [Abstract; 0092; Figs. 1A-1C; 0080].), comprising the steps of: - providing a stabilization sheet (ZIEGLER teaches a stabilization layer (1) [Figs. 1A-1C; 0080].), - one-sided coating of the stabilization sheet with a condensation resin (ZIEGLER teaches coating the stabilization sheet (1) with a condensation resin (2a/2b) [Fig. 1A; 0081; 0084]. Condensation resins are urea-, melamine- or phenol- formaldehyde resins as evidenced by HODGSON [0058].), - arranging the stabilization sheet with the coating on the backside of a veneer layer (ZIEGLER teaches arranging the stabilization sheet (1) with the coating (2a/2b) on the backside of a veneer layer (3) [Figs. 1A-1C; 0113; 0117].), - pressing the stabilization sheet and the veneer layer to form a stabilization layer (ZIEGLER teaches pressing the stabilization sheet (1) and the veneer layer (3) to form a stabilization layer [0113; 0117; Figs. 1C, 3].), whereby, - the condensation resin is at least partially pressed out of the stabilization sheet into the veneer layer during pressing, where it supplies mechanical stabilization to the veneer (ZIEGLER teaches permeation of the binder in the coating (2a, 2b) can be controlled [0123-0126].).
Regarding claim 2, ZIEGLER teaches: wherein one side of the stabilization sheet opposite the coated side is free of a coating with the condensation resin (ZIEGLER shows one side of the stabilization sheet (1) opposite the coated side (2a, 2b) is free of a coating with the condensation resin [Fig. 2].).
Regarding claim 3, ZIEGLER teaches: wherein a melamine-formaldehyde resin, a urea-formaldehyde resin and/or a phenol-formaldehyde resin or mixtures of several of these resins are used as the condensation resin (ZIEGLER teaches urea0formalehyde resin or melamine-formaldehyde resins may be used as the condensation resin [0095].).
Regarding claim 4, ZIEGLER teaches: wherein the condensation resin is a postforming resin and/or is adjusted to be flexible by means of at least one elasticizer in such a way that the stabilized veneer can be rolled up into a roll after pressing (ZIEGLER teaches the condensation resin may be rolled up [0092], indicating the resin is flexible.).
Regarding claim 5, ZIEGLER teaches: wherein the condensation resin comprises at least one additive selected from the group consisting of hardener, wetting agent, colorant, pigment, effect pigment, flame retardant, ink, UV stabilizer, infrared absorber, agent for increasing conductivity, antibacterial agent, hydrophobizing agent, bleaching agent, stain and combinations thereof (ZIEGLER teaches the condensation resin comprises at least one additive that may be wetting agents [0101-0104].).
Regarding claim 6, ZIEGLER teaches: wherein the veneer layer has a thickness of between 0.1 mm and 1 mm (ZIEGLER teaches the veneer layer has a thickness of 0.2 to 1 mm [0087].).
Regarding claim 8, ZIEGLER teaches: wherein the pressing is carried out at a pressure of between 10 bar and 70 bar and/or at a temperature of between 150°C and 220°C (ZIEGLER teaches pressing the veneer at a temperature of 160°C using a pressing force of 40 bars [0137].).
Regarding claim 9, ZIEGLER teaches: wherein a parchment, a paper, a nonwoven, a vulcanized fiber or another fibrous layer is used as the stabilization sheet and/or the grammage of the stabilization sheet is between 50 g/m2 and 300 g/m2 (ZIEGLER teaches the stabilization sheet (1) may be a sheet of paper [0080].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegler et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0210330), hereinafter ZIEGLER, in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2005/0003160), hereinafter CHEN.
Regarding claim 7, ZIEGLER teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein the pressing is carried out by means of a double belt press. In the same field of endeavor, veneers, CHEN teaches pressing can be carried out by a double belt press [0059]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZIEGLER, by pressing being carried out by a double belt press, as suggested by CHEN, in order to provide a steady uniform pressure effect on each point of the treated surface and it is a process customarily used to manufacture laminate films [0059].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegler et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0210330), hereinafter ZIEGLER, in view of Brown (U.S. 2005/0136254), hereinafter BROWN.
Regarding claim 10, ZIEGLER teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein vulcanized fiber is used as stabilization sheet in order to obtain a biocomposite. In the same field of endeavor, veneers, BROWN teaches vulcanized fiber is used as stabilization sheet [0031-0032]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZIEGLER, by using vulcanized fibers as the stabilization sheet, as suggested by BROWN, in order to reduce manufacturing costs [0040] and to be used to securely anchor veneers in place [0005].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegler et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0210330), hereinafter ZIEGLER, in view of KALWA et al. (WO 2021/094198), hereinafter KAWLA.
Regarding claim 11, ZIEGLER teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein the coating of the stabilization sheet with the condensation resin is dried to a residual moisture of less than 7.5% before the stabilization sheet is arranged on the backside of the veneer layer. In the same field of endeavor, veneers, KALWA teaches the resin has a residual moisture content of up to 8% [pg. 1], which overlaps with the claimed range. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZIEGLER, by having the resin have a residual moisture content of up to 8%, as suggested by KALWA, in order to remain sticky [pg. 2].
Claim(s) 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegler et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2019/0210330), hereinafter ZIEGLER, in view of Pervan et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2009/0155612), hereinafter PERVAN.
Regarding claim 12, ZIEGLER teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein a structuring agent and/or a transfer paper for transferring prints to the veneer are arranged on the surface of the veneer layer during pressing. In the same field of endeavor, veneers, PERVAN teaches a transfer paper is arranged on the surface of the panel prior to pressing or during pressing and transfer the decoration onto the panel [0280]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZIEGLER, by having a transfer paper on the surface the veneer, as suggested by PERVAN, in order to give different design effects [0282].
Regarding claim 16, PERVAN further teaches: wherein the structuring agent is a structuring agent for producing different gloss levels (PERVAN further teaches the paper/foil may be combined with special chemicals to create a glossy surface [0283]).
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748