Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 are objected to for abbreviations (E.g. CL, CAM, NC, etc.). Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Information processing device, machine tool, and method for adjusting display modes based on tool data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4:
The claims recites an operability setting unit that changes the operability of the input unit for changing the display mode of the displayed image according to the operability of the CAM on the basis of the specific information acquired by the specific information acquisition unit.
Published para. 0007 teaches “ There is also a need to make the operability the same as the CAM operability to which the user is accustomed, rather than setting the operability specific to the post-processor..”
The limitation of changing the operability, when read in light of the specification, creates ambiguity as to the scope because the operability is linked to levels in which a user is accustomed to. Because there is not a standard of measurement from which to apprise whether a change is based on subjective level of what is considered accustomed to vs an objective level of what is considered accustomed to, it is ambiguous whether the change in operability is limited in scope to what would be considered a quantifiable accustomed level of a user or a subjective level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukita et al. (JP6988017) in view over Almecija (PG/PUB 20210294617).
Claim 1.
Ukita teaches an information processing device that generates NC programs used in machine tools (Description, page 2/9 e.g. “In order to achieve the above object, the information processing apparatus according to the present invention isAn information processing device mounted on a machine toolCL data acquisition unit that acquires CL (Cutter Location) data including tool path,A change instruction acquisition unit that acquires a change instruction for the tool path,A CL data change unit that changes the CL data according to the tool path changed based on the change instruction, and a CL data change unit.The NC program change unit that converts the changed CL data into an NC program,It is an information processing device equipped with.”) comprising:
a data acquisition unit (“NC programming generation unit”) that acquires model data or CL data output from a CAM Description,. Page 6/9 The NC program generation unit 1604 acquires the NC program output from the CAM device 1650. Then, the NC program generation unit 1604 changes the CL data limited to the tool path to be changed in the CL data change unit 1641 in response to the user's tool path modification instruction acquired by the change instruction acquisition unit 203. The NC program change unit 1642 changes the NC program. Then, a part of the NC program acquired from the CAM device 1650 is replaced with the modified NC program, and the NC program is set in the machine tool processing unit 212.”)
a specific information acquisition unit that acquires specific information of the CAM (ABSTRACT e.g. “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To efficiently modify CL data and NC program by a user with a machine tool. SOLUTION: The machine tool is provided with a tool mounting portion to which a tool can be mounted, and has a machine processing unit for controlling the movement of the tool mounting portion and CL data acquisition for acquiring CL (Cutter Location) data including a tool path. A unit, a display screen generation unit that generates a display screen that displays the tool path included in the acquired CL data, a change instruction acquisition unit that acquires a change instruction of the tool path, and a change based on the change instruction. The machine tool processing unit includes an NC program generation unit that generates a modified NC program corresponding to the modified tool path, and the machine tool processing unit controls the movement of the tool mounting unit based on the modified NC program. Machine Tools. [Selection diagram] Fig. 1)
a program generation unit that generates the NC program on the basis of the CL data (Description, page 2/9 e.g. “As shown in FIG. 1, the machine tool 100 includes a machine tool processing unit 101, a CL data acquisition unit 102, a display screen generation unit 103, a change instruction acquisition unit 104, and an NC program generation unit 105. The work processing unit 101 controls the movement of the mounting unit 110. The CL data acquisition unit 102 acquires CL (Cutter Location) data including tool path information. The display screen generation unit 103 generates a tool path from the acquired CL data and generates a display screen for displaying the tool path. The change instruction acquisition unit 104 acquires a change instruction for the tool path. The NC program generation unit 105 generates a modified NC program corresponding to the modified tool path based on the modification instruction. Then, the work processing unit 101 controls the movement of the mounting unit 110 based on the changed NC program.”)
an input unit (“HMI”) that accepts user input (Description, page 3/9e.g. “the machine tool includes 210, an on-board information processing device 200, an HMI 211 that functions as a display unit and an operation unit, and a machine tool processing unit 212. The HMI 211 is a user interface possessed by the machine tool 210, and the user grasps the state of the machine tool 210 through the HMI 211, and the user operates or inputs data to the machine tool 210. The machine tool 212 is configured to work on the machine tool 210, for example, a numerical control unit that interprets an NC program and outputs a command, a machine control unit that controls each machine element based on the command, and machine control. Includes machine elements that work with tools controlled by the unit, see also “In step S307, the display screen generation unit 202 generates a tool path list screen based on the CL data and sends it to the HMI 211. HMI211 displays a tool path list screen in step S309. The HMI 211 waits for the tool path selection input to be changed by the user, and if there is a tool path selection input, returns the tool path selection input to the display screen generation unit 202 in step S311. In step S313, the display screen generation unit 202 generates a parameter setting screen included in the selected tool path and sends it to the change instruction acquisition unit 203 and the HMI 211. If the parameter setting value (change value) selected from the parameter setting screen is input in step S317, the HMI 211 sends it to the change instruction acquisition unit 203.”)
a display control unit that displays one of a simulation image, a three-dimensional image, and a two-dimensional image on the basis of at least one of the NC program, the model data, and the CL data (ABSTRACT, page 2/9 e.g. The display screen generation unit 103 generates a tool path from the acquired CL data and generates a display screen for displaying the tool path. The change instruction acquisition unit 104 acquires a change instruction for the tool path. The NC program generation unit 105 generates a modified NC program corresponding to the modified tool path based on the modification instruction. Then, the work processing unit 101 controls the movement of the mounting unit 110 based on the changed NC program.”)
changes a display mode of the displayed image according to the user input (Description, page 3/9 e.g. see updated tool paths based on user input, see “the display screen generation unit 202 generates a display screen to be displayed on the HMI 211. The display screen generation unit 202 includes a tool path list screen generation unit 221, a parameter setting screen generation unit 222, a tool path image generation unit 223, a path deletion screen generation unit 224, a processing menu screen generation unit 225, and function selection. It has a screen generation unit 226 and the tool path list screen generation unit 221 generates a tool path list screen corresponding to the acquired CL data and displays it on the HMI 211 The parameter setting screen generation unit 222 generates a screen for setting parameters in the target tool path selected by the user and displays it on the HMI 211. The tool path image generation unit 223 generates a tool path image which is an image showing the movement path of the tool. The path deletion screen generation unit 224 generates a screen for deleting a path that can be instructed to delete an unnecessary path from the tool path. The processing menu screen generation unit 225 generates the processing menu screen of the path change application. The function selection screen generation unit 226 generates a screen on which the function selection selected from the processing menu can be instructed. The display screen generation unit 202 does not have to have all the above-mentioned functions, and is provided with a function selected in response to a user operation via the HMI 211.”)
Ukita does not expressly teach the operability setting unit limitations described below (e.g. as interpreted, modifying the function of the input unit for controlling what is displayed). Almecija et al., teaches the operability setting unit limitations described below
an operability setting unit that changes the operability (as interpreted, e.g. changing interaction parameters of an input box) of the input unit for changing the display mode of the displayed image according to the operability of the CAM on the basis of the specific information acquired by the specific information acquisition unit (Almecija et al., ABSTRACT, 0043, 0062-63 e.g. “At step 210, user experience system 104, through UI adaptive component 148 in an embodiment, predicts the next user action. This influences what the next adapted user interface should be output. This may be just changing a single button or icon to the one most likely to be needed next or can be a full re-arrangement of the user interface. In some embodiments, the system may also predict multiple next user actions and then rank them based on highest probability score. This can allow for quick adjustment in cases where the system is early in the process of learning the working habits of a newer user. More details on prediction are discussed regarding FIG. 5 and herein throughout. [0063] At step 212, user experience system 104, through UI output component 150, outputs an adapted UI. This can take many forms, as discussed herein throughout. Three example ways to adapt the user interface are in UI hinting step 214, dynamic shortcuts step 216, and automating specific tasks step 218. Additional examples include the adapting of buttons, toolbars, layouts, images, dynamic shortcut toolbars, multiple-monitor layouts, multiple paradigm layouts, and switching paradigm layouts.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Almecija et al., namely changing the input unit functionality, location, size, selective display, to the teachings of Ukita, namely providing an input unit for changing the display mode of the displayed image according to the operability of the CAM on the basis of the specific information acquired by the specific information acquisition unit (e.g. see displaying updated tool paths based on acquiring CL tool path data and user modification to the tool path), would achieve an expected and predictable result of changing the operability of the user inputs (e.g. interactive/display format of each user input) for facilitating different users having different skill levels. Applicant’s specification generally describes the changes in the context of “operating feeling,” see published para. 0069 “Therefore, even in a case when the CAM user uses the post-processor without customization procedure, it is possible to commonalize the operability in the image display, thereby enhancing the work efficiency of the user. In other words, the post-processor can provide the same operating feeling as CAM, thereby facilitating operation by the user.”) Accordingly, based on the BRI of “changing operability,” one of ordinary skill in the art optimization the user input based on learning user interaction and inferred skill levels, as per Almecija, when applied to the user input of Ukita, would achieve an expected and predictable result of “facilitating operation by the user.”
Claim 2.
The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the specific information is included in the CL data (ABSTRACT e.g. “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To efficiently modify CL data and NC program by a user with a machine tool. SOLUTION: The machine tool is provided with a tool mounting portion to which a tool can be mounted, and has a machine processing unit for controlling the movement of the tool mounting portion and CL data acquisition for acquiring CL (Cutter Location) data including a tool path. A unit, a display screen generation unit that generates a display screen that displays the tool path included in the acquired CL data, a change instruction acquisition unit that acquires a change instruction of the tool path, and a change based on the change instruction. The machine tool processing unit includes an NC program generation unit that generates a modified NC program corresponding to the modified tool path, and the machine tool processing unit controls the movement of the tool mounting unit based on the modified NC program. Machine Tools. [Selection diagram] Fig. 1)
Claim 4.
An information processing program that generates an NC program used in a machine tool,
the information processing program causing a computer to implement:
a function to acquire model data or CL data output from a CAM, supra claim 1
a function to acquire specific information of the CAM, supra claim 1
a function to generate the NC program on the basis of the CL data, supra claim 1
a function to accept user input via an input unit, supra claim 1
a function to display one of a simulation image, a three-dimensional image, and a two-dimensional image on the basis of at least one of the NC program, the model data, and the CL data, and change the display mode of the displayed image according to the user input, supra claim 1 and
a function to change the operability of the input unit for changing the display mode of the displayed image according to the operability of the CAM on the basis of the acquired specific information, supra claim 1
)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ukita et al. (JP6988017) in view over Almecija (PG/PUB 20210294617) in view over Yahaba (USPN 9760261)
Claim 3.
Ukita teaches a machine tool but does not expressly teach the model and operability setting limitations described below. Yahaba teaches the model and Almecija et al teaches the operability limitations described below., comprising:
a data acquisition unit that acquires model data and NC programs generated by an external device (Yahaba , Col 6 lines 1-67 e.g. “FIG. 2 is a flowchart showing processing in a model image display unit according to the embodiment, see also “The numerical control unit 21 controls the rotations of the first spindle 4 and the second spindle 7 and numerically controls the movements of the first tool rest 9, the second tool rest 11 and the third tool rest 13 in accordance with an NC program. Further, the PMC 22 controls operations of the first chuck 5, the second chuck 8, the first turret 10, the second turret 12 and the third turret 14, etc. in accordance with a predetermined operation program. Further, besides the control based on the programs, the numerical control unit 21 and the PMC 22 receive a manual operation signal input from the operation panel 25, which will be described later, and control the rotations of the first spindle 4 and the second spindle 7, the movements of the first tool rest 9, the second tool rest 11 and the third tool rest 13, and the operations of the first chuck 5, the second chuck 8, the first turret 10, the second turret 12 and the third turret 14, etc. in accordance with the received manual operation signal.”)
a specific information acquisition unit that acquires specific information of the external device (Ukita, ABSTRACT e.g. “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To efficiently modify CL data and NC program by a user with a machine tool. SOLUTION: The machine tool is provided with a tool mounting portion to which a tool can be mounted, and has a machine processing unit for controlling the movement of the tool mounting portion and CL data acquisition for acquiring CL (Cutter Location) data including a tool path. A unit, a display screen generation unit that generates a display screen that displays the tool path included in the acquired CL data, a change instruction acquisition unit that acquires a change instruction of the tool path, and a change based on the change instruction. The machine tool processing unit includes an NC program generation unit that generates a modified NC program corresponding to the modified tool path, and the machine tool processing unit controls the movement of the tool mounting unit based on the modified NC program. Machine Tools. [Selection diagram] Fig. 1)
an input unit that accepts user input (Ukita, Description, The HMI 211 waits for the tool path selection input to be changed by the user, and if there is a tool path selection input, returns the tool path selection input to the display screen generation unit 202 in step S311. In step S313, the display screen generation unit 202 generates a parameter setting screen included in the selected tool path and sends it to the change instruction acquisition unit 203 and the HMI 211. If the parameter setting value (change value) selected from the parameter setting screen is input in step S317, the HMI 211 sends it to the change instruction acquisition unit 203.”), see also Yahaba,Figure 5-61 62 63)
a display control unit that displays one of a simulation image, a three-dimensional image, and a two-dimensional image on the basis of at least one of the NC program and the model data, and changes a display mode of the displayed image according to the user input (Yahaba Figure 5 e.g. “In the present disclosure, the image displayed on the display may be a two-dimensional image or a three-dimensional image.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Yahaba, namely providing user input for changing a display mode of a tool in relation to a workpiece, to the teachings of Ukita, namely providing user input for modifying displayed tool paths, would achieve an expected and predictable result of displaying multiple viewpoints of a tool and workpiece based on softkey input for enhancing user interaction with the machine and for optimizing tool paths based on visualizing the interaction between tool paths and associated workpieces based on three dimensional models.
The applied combination does not expressly teach the operability setting limitations described below. Almecija et al. teaches the operability setting unit limitations described below
an operability setting unit that changes the operability of the input unit for changing the display mode of the displayed image according to the operability of the external device on the basis of the specific information acquired by the specific information acquisition unit (e.g. as applied below, based on at least user selection of tool paths, as per Ukita, and/or user selection of softkeys, as per Yahana, then modifying the interaction between these keys and/or user input for settings, see Almecija et al., ABSTRACT, 0043, 0062-63 e.g. “At step 210, user experience system 104, through UI adaptive component 148 in an embodiment, predicts the next user action. This influences what the next adapted user interface should be output. This may be just changing a single button or icon to the one most likely to be needed next or can be a full re-arrangement of the user interface. In some embodiments, the system may also predict multiple next user actions and then rank them based on highest probability score. This can allow for quick adjustment in cases where the system is early in the process of learning the working habits of a newer user. More details on prediction are discussed regarding FIG. 5 and herein throughout. [0063] At step 212, user experience system 104, through UI output component 150, outputs an adapted UI. This can take many forms, as discussed herein throughout. Three example ways to adapt the user interface are in UI hinting step 214, dynamic shortcuts step 216, and automating specific tasks step 218. Additional examples include the adapting of buttons, toolbars, layouts, images, dynamic shortcut toolbars, multiple-monitor layouts, multiple paradigm layouts, and switching paradigm layouts.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Almecija et al., namely changing the input unit functionality, location, size, selective display, to the teachings of Ukita, namely providing an input unit for changing the display mode of the displayed image according to the operability of the CAM on the basis of the specific information acquired by the specific information acquisition unit (e.g. see displaying updated tool paths based on acquiring CL tool path data and user modification to the tool path), would achieve an expected and predictable result of changing the operability of the user inputs (e.g. interactive/display format of each user input) for facilitating different users having different skill levels. Applicant’s specification generally describes the changes in the context of “operating feeling,” see published para. 0069 “Therefore, even in a case when the CAM user uses the post-processor without customization procedure, it is possible to commonalize the operability in the image display, thereby enhancing the work efficiency of the user. In other words, the post-processor can provide the same operating feeling as CAM, thereby facilitating operation by the user.”) Accordingly, based on the BRI of “changing operability,” one of ordinary skill in the art optimization the user input based on learning user interaction and inferred skill levels, as per Almecija, when applied to the user input of Ukita, would achieve an expected and predictable result of “facilitating operation by the user.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20150120036 e.g. see displaying user input boxes corresponding to machine display viewpoints, Figure 4, see similar 20150091898
8175861 e.g. see displaying 2D and 3D models
20110068945 e.g. see controlling display mode based on rules, ABSTRACT, Figure 8 – see relevancy to the change settings of claim 1.
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117