DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: item 5 (cylindrical segment). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “liquid through openings” in claim 1 renders the claim indefinite. Why is this term pluralized? From drawings, the feature is identified as item 17, it appears that this part is used to reference a singular part. It is unclear Do the “openings” form the singular inner wall of a tube? Overall, it is unclear based on the specification and drawings which feature is considered the liquid through openings and it is unclear whether pluralization of the term is appropriate. Claims 2-4 and 6-13 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 and are also rejected.
The phrase “ in which a storage container according to claim 1 is used, ” in claim 12 renders the claim indefinite. What is the range being stated? Is "in particular" limiting the statement or stating preferences. Is the claim limited to a watercraft? For the purposes of interpretation it shall be interpreted that the claim is not just limited to a watercraft. Further this doesn’t limit the claim to existing in any particular space, vehicle, etc.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the cylinder shaped portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Grayson (US 5901557 A).
With respect to claim 1, Grayson discloses a storage container for a cryogenic liquid, comprising a container interior, in which an extraction region (broader region that includes item 32) for the liquid is formed, wherein an extraction opening (opening within 32) for the liquid is arranged in the extraction region wherein the extraction region is separated from the container interior by means of an at least in portions non-perforated shielding wall (29) such that liquid through-openings are kept clear.
With respect to claim 9, Grayson discloses the storage container according to claim 1, the storage container being closed at both ends by hemispherical or dome-shaped portions. (inherent of 10, even looking at the left vs right side)
With respect to claim 12, Grayson discloses a method for storing a cryogenic liquid, in which a storage container according to claim 1 is used, in particular in a watercraft wherein the cylinder-shaped portion storage container is arranged horizontally or vertically. (see 112b above, this does not state a required vessel or location. The invention is intended to exist and therefore would be place in space. This claim is not limited to watercraft, a vessel.)
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Taylor (US 6745983 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Taylor discloses a storage container for a cryogenic liquid, comprising a container interior (404), in which an extraction region (408) for the liquid is formed, wherein an extraction opening (16, bottom of 408) for the liquid is arranged in the extraction region wherein the extraction region is separated from the container interior by means of an at least in portions non-perforated shielding wall (406, 408) such that liquid through-openings are kept clear.
With respect to claim 2, Taylor discloses the storage container according to claim 1, wherein the extraction opening is an inlet opening (16) of an extraction line (408) for the liquid, the extraction line (408) being guided out of the storage container inside or outside the extraction region, either vertically downwards or to the side.
With respect to claim 3, Taylor discloses the storage container according to claim 2, wherein the extraction opening is a discharge opening (16) from the storage container in the extraction region.
Examiner Note: The term “region” is broad and can have a broad interpretation.
With respect to claim 4, Taylor discloses storage container according to claim 1, which has a cylinder-shaped portion (overall shape of 400), wherein the shielding wall (406) is provided in at least a part of the cylinder-shaped portion (overall shape of 400) and wherein the extraction region (408) is separated, as a cylinder segment, from the container interior by means of the shielding wall (406).
With respect to claim 13, Taylor discloses the storage container according to claim 4, wherein the shielding wall (406) contacts the cylinder-shaped portion on two parallel sides. (establishes contacts along the circumference and therefore meets the claimed limitation)
Claim(s) 1, 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Miller (US 4901762 A) .
With respect to claim 1, Miller discloses a storage container for a cryogenic liquid, comprising a container interior (inside of 10), in which an extraction region (broader region including 14) for the liquid is formed, wherein an extraction opening (13/14) for the liquid is arranged in the extraction region wherein the extraction region is separated from the container interior by means of an at least in portions non-perforated shielding wall (wall of 24) such that liquid through-openings are kept clear.
With respect to claim 6, Miller discloses the storage container according to claim 1, wherein the shielding wall (central wall of 24) is connected to a container wall of the storage container by means of a plurality of mutually parallel fastening walls (side walls of 24).
With respect to claim 7, Miller discloses the storage container according to claim 6, wherein the fastening walls are in the form of incomplete circle segments (this is true of sidewalls of 24), define chambers arranged one behind the other and leave passages clear between the chambers.
Examiner Note: Can consider chambers as regions left, central, and right of the side walls of 24. Chamber is a broad term.
With respect to claim 8, Miller discloses the storage container according to either claim 6, wherein the fastening walls (side walls of 24) define an at least partially meandering interior of the extraction region. (the claim seems to be establishing nomenclature without structural limitation)
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Matsuda (US 20030045187 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Matsuda discloses a storage container for a cryogenic liquid, comprising a container interior, in which an extraction region (broader region including 3A) for the liquid is formed, wherein an extraction opening (opening of 3/3A) for the liquid is arranged in the extraction region wherein the extraction region is separated from the container interior by means of an at least in portions non-perforated shielding wall (body of 3A) such that liquid through-openings are kept clear.
With respect to claim 11, Matsuda discloses a watercraft (abstract) having a storage container according to claim 1, wherein the cylinder-shaped portion storage container is arranged horizontally or vertically.
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Germain (US 5442927 A).
With respect to claim 1, Germain discloses a storage container for a cryogenic liquid, comprising a container interior (1 interior), in which an extraction region (broader region including 7) for the liquid is formed, wherein an extraction opening (top of 7 or 8) for the liquid is arranged in the extraction region wherein the extraction region is separated from the container interior by means of an at least in portions non-perforated shielding wall (wall of 7 or 8) such that liquid through-openings are kept clear.
With respect to claim 10, Germain discloses the storage container according to claim 1, which has a double wall (1,1 and 1,2) which is designed for vacuum insulation.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-6745983-B2 OR US-4901762-A OR US-5442927-A OR US-5901557-A OR US-3933448-A OR US-11092111-B1 OR US-8960482-B2 OR US-8690000-B2 OR US-8534489-B2 OR US-8381938-B2 OR US-8202357-B2 OR US-8043396-B2 OR US-5279323-A OR US-5263329-A OR US-3854905-A OR US-4145892-A OR US-5518140-A OR US-20030045187-A1 OR US-20240401749-A1 OR US-20240318780-A1 OR US-20250122978-A1
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735