DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 3, 7, 9-10, 15, 17-18, and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Behravan et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2026/0059272 (hereinafter Behravan).
Regarding claim 1, Behravan discloses a method for reporting sensing data, performed by a first terminal (disclosed is a method according to which a first radio node, which may be a UE [“first terminal”], reports sensed object information, according to Abstract, [0071], Fig. 8), the method comprising:
reporting sensing data corresponding to a sensing service based on information on a sensing policy (the first radio node reports information on properties [“sensing data”] of a sensed object to a further node, according to [0076]-[0078], Fig. 8 [step 1006], whereby these sensed properties are determined by a configuration [“sensing service based on information on a sensing policy”], according to [0043]);
wherein the sensing data is configured to indicate one or more features of a sensed object of the sensing service (the sensed object properties include location, shape, speed, and size, according to [0043]).
Regarding claim 10, Behravan discloses a method for reporting sensing data, performed by a network function (NF) (disclosed is a method according to which a further node (which may be a logical node located anywhere in a wireless communication network, such as a host computer [“network function (NF)”], according to [0066]) receives sensed object information, according to Abstract, [0071]-[0072], Fig. 8), the method comprising:
receiving sensing data corresponding to a sensing service sent by a first terminal (the further node receives information on properties [“sensing data”] of a sensed object from a first radio node (which may be a UE, according to [0071]), according to [0076]-[0078], Fig. 8 [step 1006]);
wherein the sensing data is reported based on information on a sensing policy and is configured to indicate one or more features of a sensed object of the sensing service (the sensed properties are determined by a configuration [“sensing policy”], and the sensed object properties include location, shape, speed, and size, according to [0043]).
Regarding claim 17, Behravan discloses a method for reporting sensing data, performed by a sensing function (SF) (disclosed is a method according to which a further node (which may be a base station, according to [0066], whereby the specification of the instant invention, in paragraph [0116], states that a sensing function may be associated with a base station) receives sensed object information, according to Abstract, [0071]-[0072], Fig. 8), the method comprising:
receiving sensing data corresponding to a sensing service sent by a first terminal (the further node receives information on properties [“sensing data”] of a sensed object from a first radio node (which may be a UE, according to [0071]), according to [0076]-[0078], Fig. 8 [step 1006]);
wherein the sensing data is reported based on information on a sensing policy and is configured to indicate one or more features of a sensed object of the sensing service (the sensed properties are determined by a configuration [“sensing policy”], and the sensed object properties include location, shape, speed, and size, according to [0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Behravan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises at least one of: the information on the sensing policy indicates one or more of the sensing service: a type of the sensing service, a type of the sensed object, a collection manner of the sensing data, a collection frequency of the sensing data, sensing time, a sensing period, a reporting mode of the sensing data, a reporting path of the sensing data, a reporting subscription event of the sensing data, a reporting format of the sensing data, a sensing area, or a type of a sensing signal; or, reporting the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service based on the information on the sensing policy comprises: obtaining the sensing data, and reporting the sensing data based on the information on the sensing policy; or a subscription event of the sensing service being triggered, reporting the sensing data based on the information on the sensing policy; or receiving a reporting request sent by a network function (NF), and reporting the sensing data based on the information on the sensing policy (the configuration comprises a parameter setting that controls whether the detected or determined information about the sensed object is a rough estimate or a more reliable determination that has a certain reliability, accuracy, or range of sensing [“the information on the sensing policy indicates one or more of the sensing service: … a collection manner of the sensing data”], according to [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Behravan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises at least one of: reporting the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service comprises: reporting raw data of the sensing service; or reporting secondary data of the sensing service processed by the first terminal; or, the sensing service comprises one of: a sensing service triggered by a terminal application; a sensing service triggered by a network function (NF); or a sensing service triggered by an application function (AF) (the first radio node transmits a signal having a parameter setting for detecting a property of the object, and receives a delayed and/or distorted version of that signal from the object, and said first radio node reports on a property of the object that was determined using said delayed and/or distorted version of that signal from the object [“reporting the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service comprises: … reporting secondary data of the sensing service processed by the first terminal”] to the further node, according to [0073]-[0074], [0076], [0078], Fig. 8 [steps 1002, 1003, and 1006]).
Regarding claim 9, Behravan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein further comprising one of: obtaining the sensing data from the first terminal; obtaining the sensing data from a second terminal; or obtaining the sensing data from a base station (the sensed object information is obtained from the first radio node (which may be a UE, according to [0071]), according to [0076]-[0078], Fig. 8 [step 1006]).
Regarding claim 15, Behravan discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the method comprises at least one of: receiving the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service sent by the first terminal comprises: receiving raw data of the sensing service sent by the first terminal; or receiving secondary data of the sensing service sent and processed by the first terminal; or. the sensing service comprises one of: a sensing service triggered by a terminal application; a sensing service triggered by a network function (NF); or a sensing service triggered by an application function (AF) (the first radio node transmits a signal having a parameter setting for detecting a property of the object, and receives a delayed and/or distorted version of that signal from the object, and said first radio node reports on a property of the object that was determined using said delayed and/or distorted version of that signal from the object [“receiving the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service sent by the first terminal comprises: … receiving secondary data of the sensing service sent and processed by the first terminal”] to the further node, according to [0073]-[0074], [0076], [0078], Fig. 8 [steps 1002, 1003, and 1006]).
Regarding claim 18, Behravan discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the information on the sensing policy indicates one or more of the sensing service: a type of the sensing service, a type of the sensed object, a collection manner of the sensing data, a collection frequency of the sensing data, sensing time, a sensing period, a reporting mode of the sensing data, a reporting path of the sensing data, a reporting subscription event of the sensing data, a reporting format of the sensing data, a sensing area, or a type of a sensing signal (the configuration comprises a parameter setting that controls whether the detected or determined information about the sensed object is a rough estimate or a more reliable determination that has a certain reliability, accuracy, or range of sensing [“the information on the sensing policy indicates one or more of the sensing service: … a collection manner of the sensing data”], according to [0043]).
Regarding claim 24, Behravan discloses a communication device, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors communicatively coupled, to the memory, and collectively configured to implement the method according to 1 by executing computer-executable instructions stored on the memory (a network node comprises a memory storing instructions and a processor coupled to said memory that executes said instructions, according to [0121]).
Regarding claim 25, Behravan discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the method according to 1 (a network node comprises a non-transitory device readable medium having instructions that are executed by a processor in order for said network node to perform its functions, according to [0118], [0124]).
Regarding claim 26, Behravan discloses a communication device, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, and collectively configured to implement the method according to claim 10 by executing computer-executable instructions stored on the memory (a network node comprises a memory storing instructions and a processor coupled to said memory that executes said instructions, according to [0121]).
Regarding claim 27, Behravan discloses a communication device, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, and collectively configured to implement the method according to claim 17 by executing computer-executable instructions stored on the memory (a network node comprises a memory storing instructions and a processor coupled to said memory that executes said instructions, according to [0121]).
Regarding claim 28, Behravan discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 10 (a network node comprises a non-transitory device readable medium having instructions that are executed by a processor in order for said network node to perform its functions, according to [0118], [0124]).
Regarding claim 29, Behravan discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform according to claim 17 (a network node comprises a non-transitory device readable medium having instructions that are executed by a processor in order for said network node to perform its functions, according to [0118], [0124]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 2, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behravan as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, in view of Talebi Fard et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0354463 (hereinafter Talebi Fard).
Regarding claim 2, Behravan discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Behravan does not expressly disclose that reporting the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service comprises: reporting the sensing data through a control plane network function (NF); wherein the control plane NF comprises one or more of: an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), and a policy control function (PCF).
Talebi Fard discloses that reporting the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service comprises:
reporting the sensing data through a control plane network function (NF) (IoT user data, such as sensor data, is sent via a control plane network function, according to [0054]); wherein the control plane NF comprises one or more of: an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), and a policy control function (PCF) (an NF may be an AMF, SMF, or PCF, according to [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Behravan with Talebi Fard such that reporting the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service comprises: reporting the sensing data through a control plane network function (NF); wherein the control plane NF comprises one or more of: an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), and a policy control function (PCF).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate networks operating with greater speed, coverage, security, and/or efficiency (Talebi Fard: [0198]).
Regarding claim 11, Behravan discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Behravan does not expressly disclose that receiving the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service sent by the first terminal comprises: receiving the sensing data through a control plane network function (NF); wherein the control plane NF comprises one or more of: an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), and a policy control function (PCF).
Talebi Fard discloses that receiving the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service sent by the first terminal comprises:
receiving the sensing data through a control plane network function (NF) (IoT user data, such as sensor data, is sent via a control plane network function, according to [0054]);
wherein the control plane NF comprises one or more of: an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), and a policy control function (PCF) (an NF may be an AMF, SMF, or PCF, according to [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Behravan with Talebi Fard such that receiving the sensing data corresponding to the sensing service sent by the first terminal comprises: receiving the sensing data through a control plane network function (NF); wherein the control plane NF comprises one or more of: an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), and a policy control function (PCF).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate networks operating with greater speed, coverage, security, and/or efficiency (Talebi Fard: [0198]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Behravan and Talebi Fard discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Additionally, Behravan discloses that the method further comprises at least one of: the information on the sensing policy indicates one or more of the sensing service: a type of the sensing service, a type of the sensed object, a collection manner of the sensing data, a collection frequency of the sensing data, sensing time, a sensing period, a reporting mode of the sensing data, a reporting path of the sensing data, a reporting subscription event of the sensing data, a reporting format of the sensing data, a sensing area, or a type of a sensing signal; or sending a reporting request to the first terminal, wherein the reporting request is configured to request the sensing data (the configuration comprises a parameter setting that controls whether the detected or determined information about the sensed object is a rough estimate or a more reliable determination that has a certain reliability, accuracy, or range of sensing [“the information on the sensing policy indicates one or more of the sensing service: … a collection manner of the sensing data”], according to [0043]).
Regarding claim 14, Behravan discloses all the limitations of claim 10. Additionally, Behravan discloses generating the information on the sensing policy based on an operator policy and/or contract data (the detected or determined information is obtained according to a parameter setting in a configuration [“operator policy”], according to [0043]).
Behravan does not expressly disclose that the NF is a control plane NF.
Talebi Fard discloses that the NF is a control plane NF (the network function is a control plane network function, according to [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Behravan with Talebi Fard such that the NF is a control plane NF.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate networks operating with greater speed, coverage, security, and/or efficiency (Talebi Fard: [0198]).
9. Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behravan as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, in view of Freda et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0294168 (hereinafter Freda).
Regarding claim 5, Behravan discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Behravan does not expressly disclose receiving the information on the sensing policy; performing the sensing service based on the information on the sensing policy; wherein receiving the information on the sensing policy comprises: receiving the information on the sensing policy in a network registration process of the first terminal; or receiving the information on the sensing policy after the sensing service is triggered.
Freda discloses receiving the information on the sensing policy (a CR (cognitive radio) node receives an RRC sensing configuration message from a DSM (dynamic spectrum management) engine, according to [0079]);
performing the sensing service based on the information on the sensing policy (the CR performs sensing based on the sensing configuration message, according to [0079]);
wherein receiving the information on the sensing policy comprises: receiving the information on the sensing policy in a network registration process of the first terminal; or receiving the information on the sensing policy after the sensing service is triggered (the DSM engine sends the RRC sensing configuration message to the CR node after registration of the CR node [“receiving the information on the sensing policy in a network registration process of the first terminal”], according to [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Behravan with Freda by receiving the information on the sensing policy; performing the sensing service based on the information on the sensing policy; wherein receiving the information on the sensing policy comprises: receiving the information on the sensing policy in a network registration process of the first terminal; or receiving the information on the sensing policy after the sensing service is triggered.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate the conservation of CR node battery power (Freda: [0108]).
Regarding claim 19, Behravan discloses all the limitations of claim 17.
Behravan does not expressly disclose sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal, wherein the information on the sensing policy is configured to report the sensing data of the sensing service; wherein sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal comprises at least one of: sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal in a network registration process of the first terminal; sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal after the sensing service is triggered; or the sensing policy being updated, sending information on the updated sensing policy to the first terminal.
Freda discloses sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal, wherein the information on the sensing policy is configured to report the sensing data of the sensing service; wherein sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal comprises at least one of: sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal in a network registration process of the first terminal; sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal after the sensing service is triggered; or the sensing policy being updated, sending information on the updated sensing policy to the first terminal (the DSM engine sends the RRC sensing configuration message to the CR node after registration of the CR node [“sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal in a network registration process of the first terminal”], according to [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Behravan with Freda by sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal, wherein the information on the sensing policy is configured to report the sensing data of the sensing service; wherein sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal comprises at least one of: sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal in a network registration process of the first terminal; sending the information on the sensing policy to the first terminal after the sensing service is triggered; or the sensing policy being updated, sending information on the updated sensing policy to the first terminal.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate the conservation of CR node battery power (Freda: [0108]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645