DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1,4-6,9-11,14-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pak (US Pub.No.2020/0274719)
4. Regarding claim 1 Pak teaches a method of secure communication, comprising: receiving a message from a first endpoint according to a first communication protocol; translating the message from the first communication protocol to a second communication protocol; transmitting the message via a communication mode according to the second communication protocol; translating the message from the second communication protocol to a third communication protocol; and sending the message to a second endpoint according to the third communication protocol (Para:0045- 0046 teaches Device 2 [first endpoint, herein] will communicate with resource server 4 [second endpoint, herein], directly or via intermediary apparatus 5, using appropriate standards or protocols, whereby credential data on the device 2 may be used as an input to a security protocol to establish a secure communications channel with a remote resource. Such a security protocol may, for example, comprise Transport Layer Security/Datagram Transport Layer Security (TLS/DTLS), whereby TLS/DTLS is used to provide a secure channel between the device 2 and a remote resource.
Para:0047-0050 teaches FIG. 2 depicts an illustrative example of an intermediary apparatus 5 which relays communications between a legacy device 2a [first endpoint] and a resource server 4 [second endpoint], whereby legacy device communicates with intermediary apparatus 5 using a first communications protocol, e.g. BLE, whereby intermediary apparatus 5 may comprise a gateway apparatus (hereafter “gateway”). The device 2a which requires its messages to be translated for communication with another resource (e.g. LwM2M server 4). Gateway 5 comprises a protocol translator 12 which converts messages of a first protocol from device 2a to messages of one or more supported protocol which can be processed by devices/apparatuses within and/or on the other side of the gateway.
As an illustrative example, the protocol translator 12 may translate a BLE message that uses a remote procedure call (RPC) mechanism from the device 2a to a RESTful message for LwM2M server 4. Similarly, a message from the LwM2M server 4 may be translated to a corresponding BLE message for the BLE device 2a.
Para:0051-0053 teaches the protocol translator 12 is not limited to translating BLE messages but may translate messages of any communications protocol to one or more supported protocols which can be processed by devices/apparatuses within and/or on the other side of the gateway 5. Gateway 5 further includes an edge apparatus 14 (hereafter “GW edge”), whereby the GW edge 14 further comprises an edge service 16 which functions as a relay to transfer messages between the protocol translator 12 and LwM2M server 4. The GW edge 14 may establish secure communications with the device 2a and/or LwM2M server 4 using cryptographic keys provisioned thereon).
5. Regarding claims 4,14 Pak teaches the method and the relay computing system, wherein the first communication protocol or the third communication protocol comprises at least one of: a Quantum Secure Layer (QSL) protocol; a Post-Quantum Transport Layer Security (PQTLS) protocol; Transport Layer Security (TLS) version 1.2; TLS version 1.3; a subsequent TLS version; another IMAP version; Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP); Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS); another secure protocol; a hybrid protocol; or unsecured communication (Para:0046 teaches the first communication protocol or the third communication protocol comprises Transport Layer Security, TLS).
6. Regarding claims 5,15 Pak teaches the method and the relay computing system, wherein the communication mode comprises at least one of: a network; wireless communication; radio frequency communication; a communication line; or free-space optical communication (Para:0037 teaches the communication mode comprises a network and/or wireless communication communication).
7. Regarding claims 6, 16 Pak teaches the method and the relay computing system, wherein the communication mode is unsecured (Para:0037 and Para:0062 teaches the communication mode comprises a network and/or wireless communication is not secured).
8. Regarding claim 9 Pak teaches the method, wherein translating the message from the first communication protocol to the second communication protocol is performed by a first relay computing device, and translating the message from the second communication protocol to the third communication protocol is performed by a second relay computing device (Para:0045- 0046 teaches Device 2 will communicate with resource server 4, directly or via intermediary apparatus 5, using appropriate standards or protocols, whereby credential data on the device 2 may be used as an input to a security protocol to establish a secure communications channel with a remote resource. Para:0047-0050 teaches FIG. 2 depicts an illustrative example of an intermediary apparatus 5 which relays communications between a legacy device 2a and a resource server 4, whereby legacy device communicates with intermediary apparatus 5 using a first communications protocol, e.g. BLE, whereby intermediary apparatus 5 may comprise a gateway apparatus (hereafter “gateway”). The device 2a which requires its messages to be translated for communication with another resource (e.g. LwM2M server 4). Gateway 5 comprises a protocol translator 12 which converts messages of a first protocol from device 2a to messages of one or more supported protocol which can be processed by devices/apparatuses within and/or on the other side of the gateway.
As an illustrative example, the protocol translator 12 may translate a BLE message that uses a remote procedure call (RPC) mechanism from the device 2a to a RESTful message for LwM2M server 4. Similarly, a message from the LwM2M server 4 may be translated to a corresponding BLE message for the BLE device 2a.
Para:0051-0053 teaches the protocol translator 12 is not limited to translating BLE messages but may translate messages of any communications protocol to one or more supported protocols which can be processed by devices/apparatuses within and/or on the other side of the gateway 5. Gateway 5 further includes an edge apparatus 14 (hereafter “GW edge”), whereby the GW edge 14 further comprises an edge service 16 which functions as a relay to transfer messages between the protocol translator 12 and LwM2M server 4. The GW edge 14 may establish secure communications with the device 2a and/or LwM2M server 4 using cryptographic keys provisioned thereon).
9. Regarding claim 10 Pak teaches the method, wherein transmitting the message is performed from the first relay computing device to the second relay computing device (Para:0052 and Para:0062 teaches GW server is to relay messages between the device and the resource server).
10. Regarding claim 11 Pak teaches a relay computing system configured to communicate securely, the relay computing system comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive a message according to a first communication protocol; translate the message from the first communication protocol to a second communication protocol; and transmit the message via a communication mode to a second relay computing system according to the second communication protocol, wherein the second relay computing system is configured to: receive the message according to the second communication protocol; translate the message from the second communication protocol to a third communication protocol; and send the message according to the third communication protocol (Para:0045- 0046 teaches Device 2 will communicate with resource server 4, directly or via intermediary apparatus 5, using appropriate standards or protocols, whereby credential data on the device 2 may be used as an input to a security protocol to establish a secure communications channel with a remote resource. Such a security protocol may, for example, comprise Transport Layer Security/Datagram Transport Layer Security (TLS/DTLS), whereby TLS/DTLS is used to provide a secure channel between the device 2 and a remote resource.
Para:0047-0050 teaches FIG. 2 depicts an illustrative example of an intermediary apparatus 5 which relays communications between a legacy device 2a and a resource server 4, whereby legacy device communicates with intermediary apparatus 5 using a first communications protocol, e.g. BLE, whereby intermediary apparatus 5 may comprise a gateway apparatus (hereafter “gateway”). The device 2a which requires its messages to be translated for communication with another resource (e.g. LwM2M server 4). Gateway 5 comprises a protocol translator 12 which converts messages of a first protocol from device 2a to messages of one or more supported protocol which can be processed by devices/apparatuses within and/or on the other side of the gateway.
As an illustrative example, the protocol translator 12 may translate a BLE message that uses a remote procedure call (RPC) mechanism from the device 2a to a RESTful message for LwM2M server 4. Similarly, a message from the LwM2M server 4 may be translated to a corresponding BLE message for the BLE device 2a.
Para:0051-0053 teaches the protocol translator 12 is not limited to translating BLE messages but may translate messages of any communications protocol to one or more supported protocols which can be processed by devices/apparatuses within and/or on the other side of the gateway 5. Gateway 5 further includes an edge apparatus 14 (hereafter “GW edge”), whereby the GW edge 14 further comprises an edge service 16 which functions as a relay to transfer messages between the protocol translator 12 and LwM2M server 4. The GW edge 14 may establish secure communications with the device 2a and/or LwM2M server 4 using cryptographic keys provisioned thereon).
11. Regarding claim 19 Pak teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing executable sequences of instructions to communicate securely, the executable sequences of instructions comprising instructions to: receive a message according to a first communication protocol; translate the message from the first communication protocol to a second communication protocol; and transmit the message to a relay computing system according to the second communication protocol, wherein the relay computing system is configured to: receive the message according to the second communication protocol; translate the message from the second communication protocol to a third communication protocol; and send the message according to the third communication protocol (Para:0045- 0046 teaches Device 2 will communicate with resource server 4, directly or via intermediary apparatus 5, using appropriate standards or protocols, whereby credential data on the device 2 may be used as an input to a security protocol to establish a secure communications channel with a remote resource. Such a security protocol may, for example, comprise Transport Layer Security/Datagram Transport Layer Security (TLS/DTLS), whereby TLS/DTLS is used to provide a secure channel between the device 2 and a remote resource.
Para:0047-0050 teaches FIG. 2 depicts an illustrative example of an intermediary apparatus 5 which relays communications between a legacy device 2a and a resource server 4, whereby legacy device communicates with intermediary apparatus 5 using a first communications protocol, e.g. BLE, whereby intermediary apparatus 5 may comprise a gateway apparatus (hereafter “gateway”). The device 2a which requires its messages to be translated for communication with another resource (e.g. LwM2M server 4). Gateway 5 comprises a protocol translator 12 which converts messages of a first protocol from device 2a to messages of one or more supported protocol which can be processed by devices/apparatuses within and/or on the other side of the gateway.
As an illustrative example, the protocol translator 12 may translate a BLE message that uses a remote procedure call (RPC) mechanism from the device 2a to a RESTful message for LwM2M server 4. Similarly, a message from the LwM2M server 4 may be translated to a corresponding BLE message for the BLE device 2a.
Para:0051-0053 teaches the protocol translator 12 is not limited to translating BLE messages but may translate messages of any communications protocol to one or more supported protocols which can be processed by devices/apparatuses within and/or on the other side of the gateway 5. Gateway 5 further includes an edge apparatus 14 (hereafter “GW edge”), whereby the GW edge 14 further comprises an edge service 16 which functions as a relay to transfer messages between the protocol translator 12 and LwM2M server 4. The GW edge 14 may establish secure communications with the device 2a and/or LwM2M server 4 using cryptographic keys provisioned thereon).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 2-3,7-8,12-13,17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pak (US Pub.No.2020/0274719) in view of Cap (US Pub.No.2022/0345298)
14. Regarding claims 2,12 and 20 Pak teaches all the above claimed limitations but fails to teach the method, the relay computing system and the non-transitory computer readable medium, wherein the second communication protocol comprises a quantum-secure channel.
Cap teaches wherein the second communication protocol comprises a quantum-secure channel (Para:0017-0018 and Para:0060-0061 teaches the communication protocol comprises a Quantum Secure Layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Pak to include the second communication protocol comprises a quantum-secure channel as taught by Cap such a setup will provide secure communication and the quantum protocols, can instantly detect any attempt of eavesdropping.
15. Regarding claims 3 and 13 Pak teaches all the above claimed limitations but fails to teach the method, the relay computing system, wherein the second communication protocol comprises a Quantum Secure Layer (QSL) protocol or a Post-Quantum Transport Layer Security (PQTLS) protocol.
Cap teaches wherein the second communication protocol comprises a Quantum Secure Layer (QSL) protocol or a Post-Quantum Transport Layer Security (PQTLS) protocol (Para:0017-0018 and Para:0060-0061 teaches the communication protocol comprises a Quantum Secure Layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Pak to include the second communication protocol comprises a Quantum Secure Layer (QSL) protocol or a Post-Quantum Transport Layer Security (PQTLS) protocol as taught by Cap such a setup will provide secure communication and the quantum protocols, can instantly detect any attempt of eavesdropping.
16. Regarding claims 7 and 17 Pak teaches all the above claimed limitations but fails to teach the method, the relay computing system, wherein translating the message from the first communication protocol to the second communication protocol comprises: decrypting the message according to the first communication protocol; and encrypting the message according to the second communication protocol.
Cap teaches wherein translating the message from the first communication protocol to the second communication protocol comprises: decrypting the message according to the first communication protocol; and encrypting the message according to the second communication protocol (Para:0074-0078 teaches encrypting/decrypting of message based on the protocols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Pak to include decrypting the message according to the first communication protocol; and encrypting the message according to the second communication as taught by Cap such a setup will provide data confidentiality, integrity and authentication for online communication.
17. Regarding 8 and 18 Pak teaches all the above claimed limitations but fails to teach the method, the relay computing system, wherein translating the message from the second communication protocol to the third communication protocol comprises: decrypting the message according to the second communication protocol; and encrypting the message according to the third communication protocol.
Cap teaches wherein translating the message from the first communication protocol to the second communication protocol comprises: decrypting the message according to the first communication protocol; and encrypting the message according to the second communication protocol (Para:0074-0078 teaches encrypting/decrypting of message based on the protocols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Pak to include decrypting the message according to the first communication protocol; and encrypting the message according to the second communication protocol as taught by Cap such a setup will provide data confidentiality, integrity and authentication for online communication.
Conclusion
/DEREENA T CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431