DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: either the word “to” at the end of line 1 of the claim or the word “in” at the beginning of line 2 of the claim should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0262593 A1 by Brettschneider et al., hereinafter “Brettschneider”.
Regarding claim 1, Brettschneider discloses a strapping device (strapping tool device shown in Figs. 1-3; ¶[0030]) comprising:
a tensioning assembly comprising tensioning-assembly gearing operably connected to a tension wheel to rotate the tension wheel (tensioning assembly gearing 4 in Figs. 1-3 is connected to a tension wheel; ¶[0031] and [0036]);
a sealing assembly comprising sealing-assembly gearing (sealing assembly gearing 14 in Figs. 1-3; ¶[0033]);
a motor operably connected to a drive gear to drive the drive gear in a first rotational direction and a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (motor 8 in Figs. 1-3 drives a drive gear which drives transmission 9; ¶[0031]); and
a transmission assembly comprising:
first gearing operably connecting the drive gear to the tensioning-assembly gearing such that rotation of the drive gear in the first rotational direction drives tensioning-assembly gearing to rotate the tension wheel in a tensioning rotational direction (first gearing output worm 3 in Figs. 1-3 drives worm wheel 4 in a first direction); and
second gearing operably connecting the drive gear to the sealing-assembly gearing such that rotation of the drive gear in the second rotational direction drives the sealing-assembly gearing (second gearing first gear wheel 13 drives second gear wheel 14 in a second direction); and
a locking assembly engaged to the second gearing to prevent the second gearing from driving the sealing-assembly gearing when the motor is driving the drive gear in the first rotational direction (locking assembly freewheel 11 in Figs. 1-3 blocks first gear wheel 13 from driving sealing assembly gearing 14).
Regarding claim 2, Brettschneider anticipates the strapping device of claim 1 as explained above. Brettschneider further discloses the second gearing comprises a sealing-assembly drive shaft operably connected to the sealing-assembly gearing to drive the sealing- assembly gearing (the drive shaft on which reduction gear14 is mounted in Figs. 1-3 is a sealing-assembly drive shaft), wherein the locking assembly is operably connected to the sealing-assembly drive shaft to prevent the sealing-assembly drive shaft from driving the sealing-assembly gearing when the motor is driving the drive gear in the first rotational direction (locking assembly freewheel 11 in Figs. 1-3 is mounted on the sealing-assembly drive shaft).
Regarding claim 3, Brettschneider anticipates the strapping device of claim 2 as explained above. Brettschneider further discloses the sealing-assembly drive shaft (drive shaft on which reduction gear 14 is mounted in Figs. 1-3) comprises a sealing-assembly drive gear (reduction gear 13) drivingly engaged to a driven gear of the sealing- assembly gearing (driven reduction gear 14).
Regarding claim 4, Brettschneider anticipates the strapping device of claim 2 as explained above. Brettschneider further discloses the locking assembly comprises a locking-assembly freewheel mounted to the sealing-assembly drive shaft (freewheel 11 in Figs. 1-3 is mounted on a sealing-assembly drive shaft) and enabling the sealing-assembly drive shaft to rotate in a sealing rotational direction opposite the tensioning rotational direction (freewheel 11 enables the sealing assembly to be driven in the opposite direction from that of the tensioning rotational direction).
Regarding claim 18, Brettschneider anticipates the strapping device of claim 1 as explained above. Brettschneider further discloses the transmission assembly further comprises the locking assembly (locking assembly freewheel 11 in Figs. 1-3 is part of the transmission assembly which transmits drive from motor 8 to sealing assembly 5, 6 and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brettschneider in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0210411 A1 by Finzo et al., hereinafter “Finzo”.
Regarding claim 5, Brettschneider anticipates the strapping device of claim 4 as explained above. However, Brettschneider does not disclose the locking assembly further comprises a locking ring mounted to the locking-assembly freewheel, wherein the locking ring is mounted within and fixed in rotation relative to a support to prevent the sealing-assembly drive shaft from rotating in the tensioning rotational direction and driving the sealing-assembly gearing when the motor is driving the drive gear in the first rotational direction.
In the same field of strapping tools, Finzo teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a locking ring device in conjunction with freewheels in strapping tools to prevent rotation of the drive gear. Clamps 29 and 33 in Figs. 2 and 5 are shown mounted to a support and clamping movement of outer ring surfaces which lock rotation of gearing. See at least paragraphs [0041] through [0049] and [0061] through [0063].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a locking ring device in conjunction with Brettschneider’s freewheel 11 to prevent reduction gear 13 from driving the sealing-assembly gearing reduction gear 14 in the same way Finzo teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Finzo to the Brettschneider’s strapping device would achieve the predictable result of mounting a locking ring to Brettschneider’s freewheel 11.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art reference combination of Brettschneider in view of Finzo renders the strapping device of claim 5 unpatentable as explained above. Finzo further teaches in was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use clamps 29 and 33 as locking-ring retainers engaging the outer ring surfaces to fix the outer ring surfaces from rotation.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art reference combination of Brettschneider in view of Finzo renders the strapping device of claim 5 unpatentable as explained above. Finzo further teaches clamps 29 and 33 in Fig. 2 are mounted to support base plate 4.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art reference combination of Brettschneider in view of Finzo renders the strapping device of claim 7 unpatentable as explained above. Finzo further shows locking-ring retainer clamps 29 and 33 in Fig. 2 are removable from support base plate 4.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art reference combination of Brettschneider in view of Finzo renders the strapping device of claim 7 unpatentable as explained above. Finzo further shows support base plate 4 in Fig. 2 comprises tensioning-assembly support 8 to which a tensioning assembly is mounted.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art reference combination of Brettschneider in view of Finzo renders the strapping device of claim 5 unpatentable as explained above. Brettschneider further discloses the tensioning assembly comprises a driven shaft operably connected to the tension wheel to drive the tension wheel (Figs. 1 and 2 show worm gear 4 and freewheel 10 mounted on a driven shaft),
wherein the first gearing comprises a first freewheel mounted to the driven shaft (freewheel 10 in Figs. 1 and 2) and a first driven gear mounted to the freewheel (worm gear 4 is mounted to freewheel 10 in Figs. 1 and 2),
wherein the drive gear is drivingly engaged to the first driven gear (the drive gear of motor 8 in transmission 9 is engaged with worm gear 4 through worm gear 3 in Figs. 1 and 2),
wherein the first driven gear is operably connected to the second gearing to drive the second gearing (first driven worm gear 4 in Figs. 1 and 2 is operably connected to second gearing first reduction gear 13 to drive it),
wherein the first freewheel is configured to transmit rotation of the first driven gear in the tensioning rotational direction to the driven shaft and to not transmit rotation of the first driven gear in the sealing rotational direction to the driven shaft (freewheel 10 in Figs. 1 and 2 is configured to transmit rotation of worm gear 4 to the driven shaft it is mounted on and not transmit rotation of worm gear 4 in the sealing rotational direction to the driven shaft).
Regarding claim 14, the prior art reference combination of Brettschneider in view of Finzo renders the strapping device of claim 13 unpatentable as explained above. Brettschneider further discloses the second gearing further comprises a second freewheel mounted to the sealing-assembly drive shaft and a second driven gear mounted to the second freewheel (second freewheel 11 and second driven gear 14 in Figs. 1-3),
wherein the first driven gear is operably connected to the second driven gear to drive the second driven gear (first driven worm gear 4 is operable connected to second driven reduction gear 14 to drive it through transmission belt 21 in Figs. 1-3),
wherein the second freewheel is configured to transmit rotation of the second driven gear in the sealing rotational direction to the sealing-assembly drive shaft and to not transmit rotation of the second driven gear in the tensioning rotational direction to the sealing-assembly drive shaft (second freewheel 11 in Figs. 1-3 is configured to transmit rotation to second driven reduction gear 14 in the sealing rotational direction to the drive shaft it is mounted on and to not transmit rotation in the opposite direction).
Regarding claim 15, the prior art reference combination of Brettschneider in view of Finzo renders the strapping device of claim 14 unpatentable as explained above. Brettschneider further discloses a connector (transmission belt 21 in Figs. 1-3) operably connecting the first driven gear (4 in Figs. 1-3) to the second driven gear (14 in Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, the prior art reference combination of Brettschneider in view of Finzo renders the strapping device of claim 15 unpatentable as explained above. Brettschneider further discloses the first gearing (worm gear 3 in Figs. 1-3) further comprises a second-gearing drive gear fixed in rotation with the first driven gear (reduction gear 13 in Figs. 1-3), wherein the connector operably connects the second-gearing drive gear to the second driven gear (connector transmission belt 21 connects 13 and 14 in Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 17, the prior art reference combination of Brettschneider in view of Finzo renders the strapping device of claim 15 unpatentable as explained above. Brettschneider further discloses the connector comprises toothed belt 21 in Figs. 1-3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Finzo does not teach multiple circumferentially spaced opening as claimed in claim 10. Claims 11 and 12 further limit claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. European Patent Document No. EP 1 413 519.
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725