DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Restriction Requirement remarks filed on June 1, 2026. Claim(s) 51-69 are pending. Claim(s) 56-61 and 63-67 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant's election of Group I drawn to a method of reducing total gas production and/or methane production with traverse of the restriction requirement in the reply is acknowledged.
The traversal is based on undue search burden. Examiner respectfully notes that search burden is not a standard for unity of invention. The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim(s) 51-55, 62, and 68-69 are examined herein insofar as they read on the elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51-55, 62, and 68-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grass (US Patent 3,660,562) of record.
Grass teaches a ruminant feed composition and methods of improving the efficiency in ruminants by feeding them volatile polyhalohydrocarbons that are micro-coated using various resins so to inhibit methanogenesis (column 2, lines 37-42).
Grass teaches the volatile methane inhibitors include bromoform that is premixed into animal feed along with carriers such as soybean meal, corn oil, ground corn, barley, wheat and soyflour (column 4, lines 25-30; lines 40-71).
Grass teaches the effect of encapsulating or coating polyhalogenated volatile liquid or solid compounds is to reducing methane production without causing a reduction in the rate of overall fermentation. The study was designed to observe the suppression of methane in rumen gas samples and the change in volatile fatty acids in rumen liquid samples (column 5, lines 55-63).
Grass teaches the ruminant feeds are specifically for cattle or sheep and that the feed can either be a solid additive or encapsulated liquid and that they also comprise other cellulosic roughage and excipients (column 4, lines 40-50).
Grass indicates the major disadvantage of the chlorine-containing analogues of methane is that they are volatile liquids with a characteristic unpleasant odor and taste (column 2, lines 12-24).
Grass is silent on formulations which contain compounds selected from iodine, bromine, dibromochloromethane, bromochloroacetic acid, and dibromoacetic acid, as required by the limitations of claim 69 (see whole document), therefore the limitations of claim 69 are met.
Grass teaches the animal feeds themselves may also contain cellulosic roughage such as cellulose, hay, stray, corn stalks, cotton seed hulls, oats, barley and cereal brans, natural oils, such as, for example, animal fats, fish oils, safflower oil, peanut oil and cottonseed oil, antioxidants, minerals, vitamins, antibiotics, anthelmintics and other appropriate medicaments (column 5, lines 1-7).
The difference between Grass and the claimed invention is that it does not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831,15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
However, based on the above, Grass teaches the elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Therefore, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited art.
Conclusion
Claims 51-55, 62, and 68-69 are not allowed.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622