DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on July 27th, 2026. Claims 13-15 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the Claims, filed on July 27th, 2026, have been entered. Claims 13 and 15 are currently amended and pending, claim 14 is original, unamended and pending, and claims 1-12 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over -JP 2007000689 A (“Kito”) in view of JP 2004223362 A (“Tsushi”) in further view of US 5429682 A (“Harlow”) in further view of US 2018/0001476 A1 (“Tan”) in further view of JP H10328591 A (“Yamauchi”).
Regarding claim 13, Kito teaches a robot system (Kito: Abstract, “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To easily and automatically perform the setting of coating conditions in accordance with various factors, and to improve working efficiency as well. SOLUTION: By automatic calculation by a coating condition calculation part 13a in an automatic calculation means 13, standard values to be the optimum coating condition per the object to be coated are obtained using various factors regarding the conditions of a coating finish held to a coating condition table 12, and, in co-operation with the operation control of a coating apparatus 23 (coating robot), spraying control by a coater is performed.”):
a coating robot (Kito: ¶ 0023, “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the paint control system includes a paint control device 10 that performs paint discharge control and operation control of a paint device (painting robot) 23, and a display unit 11 that shows paint conditions and paint states.”);
and a robot controller configured to control an operation of the coating robot (Kito: ¶ 0023, “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the paint control system includes a paint control device 10 that performs paint discharge control and operation control of a paint device (painting robot) 23, and a display unit 11 that shows paint conditions and paint states.”, ¶ 0035, “Next, the coating control method will be described. First, as shown in FIG. 4, an operating condition is given from the coating control apparatus 10 to the coating apparatus (painting robot) 23 (step S1). The operating conditions vary depending on the object to be coated, but at least the coating location, pattern width, gun angle, and spray distance. In the teaching of the painting robot, spraying operation conditions such as a stroke, a painting interval, and the number of paintings are input as a painting locus.”, ¶ 0036, “Next, the spraying condition calculation unit 13a of the automatic calculation means 13 obtains the optimum coating condition for any object to be coated by automatic calculation based on the conditions regarding the coating specifications held in the coating condition table 12 (step S2). Of these coating conditions, the optimality can be finally maintained depending on the spraying conditions of the coating machine. In particular, the amount of paint discharged is influenced by many other coating specifications, and the optimum is controlled by the control. It is one of the elements that allows the condition to be obtained.”, ¶ 0037, “Therefore, when obtaining the optimum coating conditions according to the paint discharge amount, first, the above-mentioned discharge conditions are calculated based on the conditions relating to the coating specifications held in the coating condition table 12 corresponding to an arbitrary object to be coated by the spray condition calculation unit 13a. The automatic calculation based on the automatic quantity setting formula is performed, and the discharge amount per hour (Fo), which is the reference value as the optimum coating condition, is output as the spray condition control signal to the electropneumatic valve 20 (step) S3).”),
wherein the robot controller executes the process including: calculating a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating (Kito: ¶ 0014, “In addition, the required amount of paint per coating cycle is based on at least the coating area of the object to be coated, the desired film thickness, the dry coating density, the spray area ratio in the trajectory, the coating efficiency, and the non-volatile content ratio of the paint. Shall be calculated.”, ¶ 0020, “For example, by inputting the time per coating cycle, the amount of paint required to obtain the film thickness at the finish and the amount of paint discharged per hour are calculated from that amount, and the paint conditions and coating Since the optimum paint discharge amount can be calculated from the painting efficiency based on the spraying operation conditions linked with the operation control of the robot, the appropriate painting conditions can be easily obtained regardless of skilled experience.”. The cited passages clearly show that the amount of paint (i.e. coating material) required for the operation is determined.).
Kito does not teach first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second, and third coating regions in this order;
first, second, and third supply devices configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots;
first, second, and third robot controllers configured to respectively control an operation of each of the first, second and third coating robots
outputting a first command to the first supply device, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot;
causing the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; and
sending, downstream, to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification indicating that the coating of a first coating region is being performed,
the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including:
receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
and outputting a second command to the second supply device, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot,
causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device; and
sending, downstream, to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of a second coating region is being performed;
the third robot controller is configured to execute a process including:
receiving the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region;
and outputting a third command to the third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot,
causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the second coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device.
Tsushi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second, and third coating regions in this order (Tsushi: ¶ 0023, “Two painting robots 171 and 172 are provided in the painting booth 170, and 171a and 172a are two sided pumps for curved surface application corresponding to the present invention which are mounted on the ends of the respective arms of the painting robots 171 and 172. Roller. The two pressure feeding rollers 171a and 172a are connected to outlets of CCVs (switching valves) 173 and 174 provided at the entrance of the booth by pipes 175 and 176, respectively. CCVs 173 and 174 are valves that can turn on / off one type of paint and, unlike a needle valve, can discharge one of a plurality of coating liquids by switching a plurality of coating liquids by air. Here, a paint pipe 151 and a detergent pipe 153 are connected to the inlet side of the CCV 173, and the CCV 173 can be switched from one pipe to the other pipe each time air is switched. Similarly, for each CCV 174, a paint pipe 152 and a detergent pipe 154 are connected to the inlet side, and the CCV 174 can be switched from one pipe to the other pipe each time air is switched.”. While Tsushi does not explicitly teach a third robot, adding an additional robot to the system that is of the same or substantially similar structure and performs the same or substantially similar process to the already taught is a is simply a duplication of parts. Merely adding another robot that is of the same structure and performs the same process as the other two robots would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. As such, because the duplication of the coating robots already taught to produce a third coating robot would not have produced new or unexpected results, such a duplication would have been obvious (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Therefore, Tsushi clearly teaches the limitation “first second, and third coating robots”);
a supply device configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages clearly teaches a paint supply device that supplies paint to the robots.);
first, second, and third robot controllers configured to respectively control an operation of each of the first, second and third coating robots (Tsushi: ¶ 0078, “As for the robot itself, basically, for example, as shown in FIG. 15, the two pressure feed rollers 29 are attached to the tip of the arm 741 of the articulated robot main body 94, and the robot controller 742 is instructed by the central controller 95. Depending on the configuration etc.”. As can be seen from the cited passage, each robot is configured with a robot controller.),
outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot.),
and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including (Tsushi: ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.”):
calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region (Tsushi: ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.);
and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot.).
the third robot controller is configured to execute a process including (Tsushi: ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.”):
calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region (Tsushi: ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.);
and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.”),
Kito teaches a robot system comprising: the coating robot; and a robot controller configured to control an operation of the coating robot, wherein the robot controller executes the process including: calculating a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating. Kito does not teach first second, and third coating robots; a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; first, second, and third robot controllers configured to respectively control an operation of each of the first, second and third coating robots, and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including: calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; and outputting a command to the supply device of the two or more supply devices, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; the third robot controller is configured to execute a process including: in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; and outputting a third command to the third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot. Tsushi teaches first second, and third coating robots; a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; first, second, and third robot controllers configured to respectively control an operation of each of the first, second and third coating robots, and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including: calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; and outputting a command to the supply device of the two or more supply devices, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; the third robot controller is configured to execute a process including: in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; and outputting a third command to the third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the device taught in Kito with first second, and third coating robots; a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; first, second, and third robot controllers configured to respectively control an operation of each of the first, second and third coating robots, and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including: calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; and outputting a command to the supply device of the two or more supply devices, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; the third robot controller is configured to execute a process including: in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; and outputting a third command to the third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot taught in Tsushi. Furthermore, Kito already teaches the method of determine the amount of coating material required and controlling the robot in accordance with this determined value. Therefore, modifying Kito to include two or more robots and associated controller, and apply the method to said two or more robots taught in Tsushi would require simply applying the same methods taught in Kito to another robot. Adding additional robots to the system already taught in Kito would not change or introduce new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. Additionally, while Tsushi does not explicitly teach a third robot, adding an additional robot to the system that is of the same or substantially similar structure and performs the same or substantially similar process to the already taught is a is simply a duplication of parts. Merely adding another robot that is of the same structure and performs the same process as the other two robots would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. As such, because the duplication of the coating robots already taught to produce a third coating robot would not have produced new or unexpected results, such a duplication would have been obvious (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a robot system comprising: first second, and third robots; a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; first, second, and third robot controllers configured to respectively control an operation of each of the first, second and third coating robots, and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including: calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; and outputting a command to the supply device of the two or more supply devices, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; the third robot controller is configured to execute a process including: in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; and outputting a third command to the third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the information processing device taught in Kito with first second, and third coating robots; a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; first, second, and third robot controllers configured to respectively control an operation of each of the first, second and third coating robots, and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including: calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; and outputting a command to the supply device of the two or more supply devices, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; the third robot controller is configured to execute a process including: in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; and outputting a third command to the third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot taught in Tsushi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Kito in view of Tsushi does not teach first, second, and third supply devices configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots;
outputting a first command to the first supply device, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot;
causing the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot;
sending, downstream, to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification indicating that the coating of a first coating region is being performed,
receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
and outputting a second command to a second supply device the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot,
causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device; and
sending, downstream, to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of a second coating region is being performed;
the third robot controller is configured to execute a process including:
receiving the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region;
and outputting a third command to the third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot,
causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the second coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device.
Harlow, in the same field of endeavor, teaches teach first, second, and third supply devices configured to supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots respectively (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13, “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”);
and outputting a first command to the first supply device, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13 “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”, Column 9 lines 31-45, “Still another approach is shown in FIG. 8 where a spray booth 60 is equipped with exhaust fans for venting coatings fumes from the assembly line area. A six-axis articulated arm 62 is shown within the spray booth 60 for applying coatings from paint pot 64 via supply conduits 66. A conveyer belt or chain-on-edge conveyer 68 is shown passing through openings in the spray booth 60. The conveyer is in-line with indexing. The conveyer 68 is supplied with universal center point part holders 70 with which to mount the object to be painted. A computer 72 contains the controller with software required for controlling the coating process as executed by the articulated arm 62 in conjunction with the conveyer 68. A coatings material capture for recycling device 74 is shown underneath the spray booth 60.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the controller would send a signal in order to supply paint from the supply.),
and outputting a second command to a second supply device of the two or more supply devices, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13 “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”, Column 9 lines 31-45, “Still another approach is shown in FIG. 8 where a spray booth 60 is equipped with exhaust fans for venting coatings fumes from the assembly line area. A six-axis articulated arm 62 is shown within the spray booth 60 for applying coatings from paint pot 64 via supply conduits 66. A conveyer belt or chain-on-edge conveyer 68 is shown passing through openings in the spray booth 60. The conveyer is in-line with indexing. The conveyer 68 is supplied with universal center point part holders 70 with which to mount the object to be painted. A computer 72 contains the controller with software required for controlling the coating process as executed by the articulated arm 62 in conjunction with the conveyer 68. A coatings material capture for recycling device 74 is shown underneath the spray booth 60.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the controller would send a signal in order to supply paint from the supply.);
and outputting a third command to the third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13 “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”, Column 9 lines 31-45, “Still another approach is shown in FIG. 8 where a spray booth 60 is equipped with exhaust fans for venting coatings fumes from the assembly line area. A six-axis articulated arm 62 is shown within the spray booth 60 for applying coatings from paint pot 64 via supply conduits 66. A conveyer belt or chain-on-edge conveyer 68 is shown passing through openings in the spray booth 60. The conveyer is in-line with indexing. The conveyer 68 is supplied with universal center point part holders 70 with which to mount the object to be painted. A computer 72 contains the controller with software required for controlling the coating process as executed by the articulated arm 62 in conjunction with the conveyer 68. A coatings material capture for recycling device 74 is shown underneath the spray booth 60.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the controller would send a signal in order to supply paint from the supply.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the information processing device taught in Kito in view of Tsushi with first, second, and third supply devices configured to supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots respectively; and outputting a first command to the first supply device, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot, and outputting a second command to a second supply device of the two or more supply devices, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; and outputting a third command to the third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot taught in Harlow with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have required the simple addition of a known component using methods known in the art. The modification would have simply comprised adding a second paint supply device to the second robot and a third supply device to the third robot. Such a modification would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, simply adding another paint supply unit would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow does not teach causing the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot;
sending, downstream, to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification indicating that the coating of a first coating region is being performed,
receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device; and
sending, downstream, to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of a second coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region;
causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the second coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device.
Yamauchi, in the same field of endeavor teaches causing the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot (Yamauchi: Figure 1, Abstract, “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To make it possible to efficiently execute the mounting of coating material cartridges to a coating robot and the recovering thereof to a stock device with a transfer device used for a small quantity coating material supply system by transporting the coating material cartridges back and forth between the stock device and the coating robot. SOLUTION: This transfer device supports a moving body 10 freely movably back and forth from the stock device 3 to the coating robot 1. Two shucking means 11a, 11b are mounted together at the moving body to allow the attaching and detaching of the moving body to and from the coating material cartridge 2 and the holding and releasing thereof. When the moving body 10 exists at the stock device side, the chucking means 11a charges the used coating material cartridge 2 into a recovery port 20 and the chucking means 11b takes the required coating material cartridge 2 out of the stock device 3. When the moving body 10 exists at the coating robot side, the chucking means 11a takes out the used coating material cartridge 2 and in succession, the chucking means 11b mounts the required coating material cartridge at the coating robot 1.”, ¶ 0014, “As shown in Figures 1 and 2, the small-volume paint supply system of this embodiment is provided with a stock device 3 for paint cartridges 2, etc., located to the side of the painting robot 1 inside a paint booth (not shown), and a transfer device 4 above the stock device 3, which is a device for taking the paint cartridges 2, etc., out of the stock device 3 and loading them onto the painting robot 1. The paint cartridge 2, although not shown in detail, is a cylindrical metal or plastic container filled with a paint bag made of synthetic resin. The paint bag contains a small amount of paint of a specific color, for example, the amount of paint of that color required for painting one workpiece. As shown in Figure 2, the painting robot 1 has a space 5 on its head, that is, the upper surface of the rear end of the second arm, where a paint cartridge can be mounted, along with a color change device 6 (connected to the bell-shaped painting machine 7 of the robot 1) and an air extrusion mechanism 8.”, ¶ 0015, “The transfer device 4 is a device, as detailed in Figures 7 to 9, for loading the paint cartridge 2 onto the painting robot 1 and retrieving it from the painting robot 1. It consists of the device body 9, a movable body 10, two chuck means 11a and 11b, a drive device 12, and a control device (not shown). … . Each chuck mechanism 11a, 11b is equipped with two swingable chuck pairs 15a, 15b attached to a base portion 16, and is configured to open and close by the operation of a cylinder device, and the base portion 16 is also configured to be able to move up and down by the operation of a cylinder device 17. Therefore, each chuck means 11a, 11b can move the chuck pair 15a, 15b closer to or further away from the paint cartridge 2 located below by the raising and lowering movement of the base portion 16, and the paint cartridge 2 can be gripped and released by the opening and closing movement of the chuck pair 15a, 15b that accompanies this. As described above, the transfer device 4 can grip and release the paint cartridge 2 using two chuck means 11a and 11b, and while suspending the paint cartridge 2, it can be transported back and forth between the painting robot 1 and the stock device 3 by the reciprocating motion of the mobile body 10.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system includes a pair of robotic arms with a gripper mounted on the end of each arm that are configured to grasp a paint cartridge in a storage area and mount the cartridge in the head of the coating robot.);
causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot (Yamauchi: Figure 1, Abstract, ¶ 0014, ¶ 0015. The cited passages clearly shows that the system includes a pair of robotic arms with a gripper mounted on the end of each arm that are configured to grasp a paint cartridge in a storage area and mount the cartridge in the head of the coating robot.);
causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot (Yamauchi: Figure 1, Abstract, ¶ 0014, ¶ 0015. The cited passages clearly shows that the system includes a pair of robotic arms with a gripper mounted on the end of each arm that are configured to grasp a paint cartridge in a storage area and mount the cartridge in the head of the coating robot.).
Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow teaches a first, second, and third coating robots; first, second, and third supply devices that respectively supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots, determining a first, second, and third coating material amounts required for the first, second, and third coating robots to coat a first, second, and third region respectively, causing the first second, and third supply devices to supply the first, second, and third coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots, and causing the coating robots to coat their respective regions. Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow does not teach causing the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot. Yamauchi teaches causing the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow with causing the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot taught in Yamauchi. Furthermore, the system taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Yamauchi already teaches supply devices that are configured to supply the desired amount of coating material to the respective coating robots. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow such that the coating robots can take and use a coating material cartridge and the supply devices mounts the cartridge into the head of the coating robot as taught in Yamauchi according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a robot system comprising: causing the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the information processing device taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow with causing the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot taught in Yamauchi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have yielded predictable results.
Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi does not teach sending, downstream, to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification indicating that the coating of a first coating region is being performed,
receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device; and
sending, downstream, to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of a second coating region is being performed;
receiving the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region;
causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the second coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device.
Tan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches sending, downstream, to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification indicating that the coating of a first coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, “A system includes first and second robotic machines and a task manager. The first and second robotic machines have respective first and second sets of capabilities for interacting with a surrounding environment. The task manager selects the first and second robotic machines from a group to perform a task based on the first and second sets of capabilities of the robotic machines. The task involves manipulating and/or inspecting a target object of a vehicle. The task manager assigns a first sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the first robotic machine and a second sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the second robotic machine. The first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine with performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine to accomplish the task.”, ¶ 0047, “The task manager 232 is configured to communicate with the first and second robotic machines 301, 302 via the transmission of messages from the communication circuit 234 to the communication circuits 222 of the robotic machines 301, 302. For example, the task manager 232 may communicate messages wirelessly in the form of electromagnetic radio frequency signals. The first and second robotic machines 301, 302 are configured to transmit messages to the task manager 232 via the respective communication circuits 222. The robotic machines 301, 302 are also able to communicate with each other using the communication circuits 222. For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”, ¶ 0057, “The first robotic machine may be configured to transmit a status notification upon starting and/or completing each sub-task in the first sequence, or may transmit status notifications only upon starting and/or completing certain designated sub-tasks of the sub-tasks in the first sequence, which may be identified in the command message sent from the task manager. At 430, the second robotic machine provides a status notification to the first robotic machine. The status notification from the second robotic machine may be similar in form and/or function to the status notification sent from the first robotic machine at 428. The first robotic machine receives the status notification from the second robotic machine at 432.”, ¶ 0058, “At 436 and 438, respectively, the first and second robotic machines complete the performances of the first and second sequences of sub-tasks. At 440, the first robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the first sequence is completed. At 442, the second robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the second sequence is completed. The first and second robotic machines may also notify each other upon completing the sequences of sub-tasks, and optionally may only transmit a single task completion notification to the task manager instead of one notification from each robotic machine. The one or more notifications inform the task manager that the assigned task is completed. At 444, the task manager receives and processes the one or more notifications. The notification may also provide feedback information to the task manager, such as force parameters used to manipulate the target object on the vehicle and other parameters monitored and recorded during the performance of the sub-tasks. The information received in the task completion notification may be used by the task manager to update the information provided in future command messages to robotic machines, such as the sequences of sub-tasks contained in the command messages. Upon receiving the task completion notification, the task manager may generate a new task for the same or different robotic machines. For example, the task manager may assign the same task to the same robotic machines for the robotic machines to perform the task on another vehicle in the same or a different vehicle system. Thus, the first and second robotic machines may be controlled to move along a length of a vehicle system to perform the assigned task on multiple vehicles of the vehicle system. Alternatively, the task manager may control the same or different robotic machines to perform a different assigned task on the same vehicle after completion of a first assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the first robot would send the notification downstream to the second robot.),
receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.);
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region (Tan: ¶ 0055, “At 424, the first robotic machine commences execution of the first sequence of sub-tasks. At 426, the second robotic machine commences execution of the second sequence of sub-tasks. Although steps 424 and 426 are shown side-by-side in the diagram 400 of FIG. 4, the first and second robotic machines may or may not perform the respective sub-tasks during the same time period. Depending on the sequences of sub-tasks as communicated by the task manager, the first robotic machine may be ordered to start performing the sub-tasks in the first sequence before or after the second robotic machine starts performing the second sequence of sub-tasks.”, ¶ 0056, “In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the respective sequences of sub-tasks to accomplish the assigned task. Thus, the performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine is coordinated with the performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine. In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines coordinate by communicating directly with each other during the performances of the sub-tasks. At 428, the first robotic machine provides a status notification to the second robotic machine. The status notification may be a message that communicated wirelessly as electromagnetic RF signals from the communication circuit 222 of the first robotic machine 301 to the communication circuit 222 of the second robotic machine 302. The second robotic machine receives the status notification at 434. The status notification may inform the second robotic machine that the first robotic machine has started or completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. The second robotic machine processes the received status notification and may use the status notification to determine when to start performing certain sub-tasks in the second sequence. For example, at least some of the sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be sequential, such that the second robotic machine is configured to begin performance of a corresponding sub-task in the second sequence responsive to receiving the notification from the first robotic machine that the first robotic machine has completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. Other sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be performed concurrently by the first and second robotic machines, such that the time period that the first robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the first sequence at least partially overlaps the time period that the second robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the second sequence. For example, both robotic machines may concurrently move towards the vehicle. In another example, the first robotic machine may extend a robotic arm towards the target object of the vehicle concurrently with the second robotic machine lifting the first robotic machine. Coordinated and concurrent actions by the robotic machines may enhance the efficiency of the performance of the assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.);
causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device; (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056, 0057, ¶ 0058,. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task. Furthermore the cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.),
sending, downstream, to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of a second coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057, ¶ 0058. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.);
receiving the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.);
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region (Tan: ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056. The cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.);
causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the second coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056, 0057, ¶ 0058,. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task. Furthermore the cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.).
Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi teaches a first, second, and third coating robots; first, second, and third supply devices that respectively supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots, determining a first, second, and third coating material amounts required for the first, second, and third coating robots to coat a first, second, and third region respectively, causing the first second, and third supply devices to supply the first, second, and third coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots, and causing the coating robots to coat their respective regions. Tan teaches a system and method for the cooperative control of robots. The system is configured to control the robots to send a notification to each other when the current task/subtask of the robot is completed, in progress, or initiated. The other robot is the controlled to perform its task/subtask based on the notifications from the other robot. Even though Tan only teaches two robots in communication with each other, because the system of Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi already teaches a first, second, and third coating robot with a first, second, and third supply device, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify said system to send a notification to each subsequent robot when the task of the previous robot has been completed or started as taught in Tan. Simply having an additional robot in communication with two others that is of the same of substantially similar structure and performs the same or substantially method as the other two robots would not change or introduce new functionality and would be a simple duplication of parts. Such a duplication (i.e. adding a third robot in communication with the already taught robots) would not have changed or introduced new functionality. As such, because the duplication of the robots in communication with each other already taught to produce a third robot in communication with the others would not have produced new or unexpected results, such a duplication would have been obvious (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Furthermore, because the robots can communicate with one another both upstream and downstream, the method taught in Tan can already send notification only one way (i.e. send notifications only downstream). Additionally, while tan does not explicitly teach sending a notification after the cartridge is mounted to the robot, Tan does teach the general process of sending notifications between robots after the start and completion of each task and subtask. As such, the method taught in Tan can easily send both a notification that the region the first robot has been coating is completed and a notification that the cartridge has been mounted to the current robot Therefore, the combination of Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi in further view of Tan teaches the limitation “causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the second coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the robot system taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow with sending, downstream, to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification indicating that the coating of a first coating region is being performed, receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed; in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device; and sending, downstream, to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of a second coating region is being performed; receiving the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed; in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the second coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device taught in Tan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because allowing robots to communicate with each other while performing task allows the robots to coordinate their actions and perform the task correctly and efficiently (Tan: ¶ 0047, “For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”).
Regarding claim 14, Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow teaches wherein the first supply device and the second supply device are the same (Tsushi: Figure 1, ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages and figure clearly show that the supply device feeds both robots.).
Regarding claim 15, Kito coating control method for controlling a robot system having (Kito: Abstract, “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To easily and automatically perform the setting of coating conditions in accordance with various factors, and to improve working efficiency as well. SOLUTION: By automatic calculation by a coating condition calculation part 13a in an automatic calculation means 13, standard values to be the optimum coating condition per the object to be coated are obtained using various factors regarding the conditions of a coating finish held to a coating condition table 12, and, in co-operation with the operation control of a coating apparatus 23 (coating robot), spraying control by a coater is performed.”):
a coating robot (Kito: ¶ 0023, “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the paint control system includes a paint control device 10 that performs paint discharge control and operation control of a paint device (painting robot) 23, and a display unit 11 that shows paint conditions and paint states.”);
a robot controller configured to control an operation of the coating robot (Kito: ¶ 0023, “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the paint control system includes a paint control device 10 that performs paint discharge control and operation control of a paint device (painting robot) 23, and a display unit 11 that shows paint conditions and paint states.”, ¶ 0035, “Next, the coating control method will be described. First, as shown in FIG. 4, an operating condition is given from the coating control apparatus 10 to the coating apparatus (painting robot) 23 (step S1). The operating conditions vary depending on the object to be coated, but at least the coating location, pattern width, gun angle, and spray distance. In the teaching of the painting robot, spraying operation conditions such as a stroke, a painting interval, and the number of paintings are input as a painting locus.”, ¶ 0036, “Next, the spraying condition calculation unit 13a of the automatic calculation means 13 obtains the optimum coating condition for any object to be coated by automatic calculation based on the conditions regarding the coating specifications held in the coating condition table 12 (step S2). Of these coating conditions, the optimality can be finally maintained depending on the spraying conditions of the coating machine. In particular, the amount of paint discharged is influenced by many other coating specifications, and the optimum is controlled by the control. It is one of the elements that allows the condition to be obtained.”, ¶ 0037, “Therefore, when obtaining the optimum coating conditions according to the paint discharge amount, first, the above-mentioned discharge conditions are calculated based on the conditions relating to the coating specifications held in the coating condition table 12 corresponding to an arbitrary object to be coated by the spray condition calculation unit 13a. The automatic calculation based on the automatic quantity setting formula is performed, and the discharge amount per hour (Fo), which is the reference value as the optimum coating condition, is output as the spray condition control signal to the electropneumatic valve 20 (step) S3).”),
calculating, by the robot controller of the coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by the coating robot before causing the coating robot to perform the coating (Kito: ¶ 0014, “In addition, the required amount of paint per coating cycle is based on at least the coating area of the object to be coated, the desired film thickness, the dry coating density, the spray area ratio in the trajectory, the coating efficiency, and the non-volatile content ratio of the paint. Shall be calculated.”, ¶ 0020, “For example, by inputting the time per coating cycle, the amount of paint required to obtain the film thickness at the finish and the amount of paint discharged per hour are calculated from that amount, and the paint conditions and coating Since the optimum paint discharge amount can be calculated from the painting efficiency based on the spraying operation conditions linked with the operation control of the robot, the appropriate painting conditions can be easily obtained regardless of skilled experience.”. The cited passages clearly show that the amount of paint (i.e. coating material) required for the operation is determined.).
Kito does not teach first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second and third coating regions in this order,
first, second and third supply devices configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second and third coating robots, and
first, second, and third robot controllers configured to respectively control an operation of each of the first, second and third coating robots, the method comprising:
calculating, by the first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by the first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating;
outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the first supply device configured to supply the first required coating material amount to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot;
causing, by the first robot controller, the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot;
sending, by the first robot controller, downstream to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification to the second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of the first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot;
receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to the second supply device configured to supply the second required coating material amount to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot;
receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller and a notification of completion of mounting of a second cartridge from the second supply device;
in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region and the notification of the completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device, causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot;
sending, by the second robot controller, downstream to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
receiving, by the third robot controller, the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification from the second robot controller, calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region;
outputting, by the third robot controller, a third command to a third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot;
receiving, by the third robot controller, a notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and a notification of the completion of mounting of a third cartridge from the third supply device; and
in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and the notification of the completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device, causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot.
Tsushi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second, and third coating regions in this order (Tsushi: ¶ 0023, “Two painting robots 171 and 172 are provided in the painting booth 170, and 171a and 172a are two sided pumps for curved surface application corresponding to the present invention which are mounted on the ends of the respective arms of the painting robots 171 and 172. Roller. The two pressure feeding rollers 171a and 172a are connected to outlets of CCVs (switching valves) 173 and 174 provided at the entrance of the booth by pipes 175 and 176, respectively. CCVs 173 and 174 are valves that can turn on / off one type of paint and, unlike a needle valve, can discharge one of a plurality of coating liquids by switching a plurality of coating liquids by air. Here, a paint pipe 151 and a detergent pipe 153 are connected to the inlet side of the CCV 173, and the CCV 173 can be switched from one pipe to the other pipe each time air is switched. Similarly, for each CCV 174, a paint pipe 152 and a detergent pipe 154 are connected to the inlet side, and the CCV 174 can be switched from one pipe to the other pipe each time air is switched.”. While Tsushi does not explicitly teach a third robot, adding an additional robot to the system that is of the same or substantially similar structure and performs the same or substantially similar process to the already taught is a is simply a duplication of parts. Merely adding another robot that is of the same structure and performs the same process as the other two robots would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. As such, because the duplication of the coating robots already taught to produce a third coating robot would not have produced new or unexpected results, such a duplication would have been obvious (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Therefore, Tsushi clearly teaches the limitation “first second, and third coating robots”);
a supply device configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages clearly teaches a paint supply device that supplies paint to the robots.);
calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating (Tsushi: ¶ 0078, “As for the robot itself, basically, for example, as shown in FIG. 15, the two pressure feed rollers 29 are attached to the tip of the arm 741 of the articulated robot main body 94, and the robot controller 742 is instructed by the central controller 95. Depending on the configuration etc.”, ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot and that each robot is configured with a robot controller.);
outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”, : ¶ 0078, “As for the robot itself, basically, for example, as shown in FIG. 15, the two pressure feed rollers 29 are attached to the tip of the arm 741 of the articulated robot main body 94, and the robot controller 742 is instructed by the central controller 95. Depending on the configuration etc.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot.),
calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region (Tsushi: ¶ 0078, “As for the robot itself, basically, for example, as shown in FIG. 15, the two pressure feed rollers 29 are attached to the tip of the arm 741 of the articulated robot main body 94, and the robot controller 742 is instructed by the central controller 95. Depending on the configuration etc.”, ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot and that each robot is configured with a robot controller.);
outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to the second supply device configured to supply the second required coating material amount to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot.);
calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region (Tsushi: ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.);
outputting, by the third robot controller, a third command to a third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.”)
Kito teaches a coating control method for controlling a coating robot, the method comprising: a coating robots, calculating, by a robot controller of the coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating. Kito does not teach a coating control method for controlling the method comprising; calculating, first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second and third coating regions in this order, a supply device configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second and third coating robots, calculating by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating; outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; outputting, by the third robot controller, a third command to a third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot. Tsushi teaches a coating control method for controlling the method comprising; first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second and third coating regions in this order, a supply device configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second and third coating robots calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating; outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; outputting, by the third robot controller, a third command to a third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Kito with a coating control method, the method comprising; first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second and third coating regions in this order, a supply device configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second and third coating robots, calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating; outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; outputting, by the third robot controller, a third command to a third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot taught in Tsushi. Furthermore, Kito already teaches the method of determine the amount of coating material required and controlling the robot in accordance with this determined value. Therefore, modifying Kito to include two or more robots and associated controller, and apply the method to said two or more robots taught in Tsushi would require simply applying the same methods taught in Kito to another robot. Adding additional robots to the system already taught in Kito would not change or introduce new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a coating control method, the method comprising; first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second and third coating regions in this order, a supply device configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second and third coating robots, calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating; outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; outputting, by the third robot controller, a third command to a third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Kito with a coating control method, the method comprising; first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second and third coating regions in this order, a supply device configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second and third coating robots; calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating; outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; outputting, by the third robot controller, a third command to a third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot taught in Tsushi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Kito in view of Tsushi does not teach first, second and third supply devices configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second and third coating robots, and
outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the first supply device configured to supply the first required coating material amount to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot;
causing, by the first robot controller, the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot;
sending, by the first robot controller, downstream to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification to the second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of the first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot;
receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to the second supply device configured to supply the second required coating material amount to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot;
receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller and a notification of completion of mounting of a second cartridge from the second supply device;
in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region and the notification of the completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device, causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot;
sending, by the second robot controller, downstream to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
receiving, by the third robot controller, the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification from the second robot controller, calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region;
outputting, by the third robot controller, a third command to a third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot;
receiving, by the third robot controller, a notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and a notification of the completion of mounting of a third cartridge from the third supply device; and
in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and the notification of the completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device, causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot.
Harlow, in the same field of endeavor, teaches teach first, second, and third supply devices configured to supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots respectively (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13, “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”);
outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the first supply device configured to supply the first required coating material amount to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13 “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”, Column 9 lines 31-45, “Still another approach is shown in FIG. 8 where a spray booth 60 is equipped with exhaust fans for venting coatings fumes from the assembly line area. A six-axis articulated arm 62 is shown within the spray booth 60 for applying coatings from paint pot 64 via supply conduits 66. A conveyer belt or chain-on-edge conveyer 68 is shown passing through openings in the spray booth 60. The conveyer is in-line with indexing. The conveyer 68 is supplied with universal center point part holders 70 with which to mount the object to be painted. A computer 72 contains the controller with software required for controlling the coating process as executed by the articulated arm 62 in conjunction with the conveyer 68. A coatings material capture for recycling device 74 is shown underneath the spray booth 60.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the controller would send a signal in order to supply paint from the supply.),
outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to the second supply device configured to supply the second required coating material amount to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13 “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”, Column 9 lines 31-45, “Still another approach is shown in FIG. 8 where a spray booth 60 is equipped with exhaust fans for venting coatings fumes from the assembly line area. A six-axis articulated arm 62 is shown within the spray booth 60 for applying coatings from paint pot 64 via supply conduits 66. A conveyer belt or chain-on-edge conveyer 68 is shown passing through openings in the spray booth 60. The conveyer is in-line with indexing. The conveyer 68 is supplied with universal center point part holders 70 with which to mount the object to be painted. A computer 72 contains the controller with software required for controlling the coating process as executed by the articulated arm 62 in conjunction with the conveyer 68. A coatings material capture for recycling device 74 is shown underneath the spray booth 60.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the controller would send a signal in order to supply paint from the supply.);
outputting, by the third robot controller, a third command to a third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13 “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”, Column 9 lines 31-45, “Still another approach is shown in FIG. 8 where a spray booth 60 is equipped with exhaust fans for venting coatings fumes from the assembly line area. A six-axis articulated arm 62 is shown within the spray booth 60 for applying coatings from paint pot 64 via supply conduits 66. A conveyer belt or chain-on-edge conveyer 68 is shown passing through openings in the spray booth 60. The conveyer is in-line with indexing. The conveyer 68 is supplied with universal center point part holders 70 with which to mount the object to be painted. A computer 72 contains the controller with software required for controlling the coating process as executed by the articulated arm 62 in conjunction with the conveyer 68. A coatings material capture for recycling device 74 is shown underneath the spray booth 60.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the controller would send a signal in order to supply paint from the supply.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the information processing device taught in Kito in view of Tsushi with outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the first supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot, outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a second supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot; outputting, by the third robot controller, a third command to a third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot taught in Harlow with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have required the simple addition of a known component using methods known in the art. The modification would have simply comprised adding a second paint supply device to the second robot. Such a modification would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, simply adding another paint supply unit would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow does not teach first, second and third supply devices configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second and third coating robots, and
causing, by the first robot controller, the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot;
sending, by the first robot controller, downstream to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification to the second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of the first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot;
receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller and a notification of completion of mounting of a second cartridge from the second supply device;
in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region and the notification of the completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device, causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot;
sending, by the second robot controller, downstream to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
receiving, by the third robot controller, the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification from the second robot controller, calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region;
receiving, by the third robot controller, a notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and a notification of the completion of mounting of a third cartridge from the third supply device; and
in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and the notification of the completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device, causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot.
Yamauchi, in the same field of endeavor teaches causing, by the first robot controller, the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot (Yamauchi: Figure 1, Abstract, “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To make it possible to efficiently execute the mounting of coating material cartridges to a coating robot and the recovering thereof to a stock device with a transfer device used for a small quantity coating material supply system by transporting the coating material cartridges back and forth between the stock device and the coating robot. SOLUTION: This transfer device supports a moving body 10 freely movably back and forth from the stock device 3 to the coating robot 1. Two shucking means 11a, 11b are mounted together at the moving body to allow the attaching and detaching of the moving body to and from the coating material cartridge 2 and the holding and releasing thereof. When the moving body 10 exists at the stock device side, the chucking means 11a charges the used coating material cartridge 2 into a recovery port 20 and the chucking means 11b takes the required coating material cartridge 2 out of the stock device 3. When the moving body 10 exists at the coating robot side, the chucking means 11a takes out the used coating material cartridge 2 and in succession, the chucking means 11b mounts the required coating material cartridge at the coating robot 1.”, ¶ 0014, “As shown in Figures 1 and 2, the small-volume paint supply system of this embodiment is provided with a stock device 3 for paint cartridges 2, etc., located to the side of the painting robot 1 inside a paint booth (not shown), and a transfer device 4 above the stock device 3, which is a device for taking the paint cartridges 2, etc., out of the stock device 3 and loading them onto the painting robot 1. The paint cartridge 2, although not shown in detail, is a cylindrical metal or plastic container filled with a paint bag made of synthetic resin. The paint bag contains a small amount of paint of a specific color, for example, the amount of paint of that color required for painting one workpiece. As shown in Figure 2, the painting robot 1 has a space 5 on its head, that is, the upper surface of the rear end of the second arm, where a paint cartridge can be mounted, along with a color change device 6 (connected to the bell-shaped painting machine 7 of the robot 1) and an air extrusion mechanism 8.”, ¶ 0015, “The transfer device 4 is a device, as detailed in Figures 7 to 9, for loading the paint cartridge 2 onto the painting robot 1 and retrieving it from the painting robot 1. It consists of the device body 9, a movable body 10, two chuck means 11a and 11b, a drive device 12, and a control device (not shown). … . Each chuck mechanism 11a, 11b is equipped with two swingable chuck pairs 15a, 15b attached to a base portion 16, and is configured to open and close by the operation of a cylinder device, and the base portion 16 is also configured to be able to move up and down by the operation of a cylinder device 17. Therefore, each chuck means 11a, 11b can move the chuck pair 15a, 15b closer to or further away from the paint cartridge 2 located below by the raising and lowering movement of the base portion 16, and the paint cartridge 2 can be gripped and released by the opening and closing movement of the chuck pair 15a, 15b that accompanies this. As described above, the transfer device 4 can grip and release the paint cartridge 2 using two chuck means 11a and 11b, and while suspending the paint cartridge 2, it can be transported back and forth between the painting robot 1 and the stock device 3 by the reciprocating motion of the mobile body 10.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system includes a pair of robotic arms with a gripper mounted on the end of each arm that are configured to grasp a paint cartridge in a storage area and mount the cartridge in the head of the coating robot.);
causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot (Yamauchi: Figure 1, Abstract, ¶ 0014, ¶ 0015. The cited passages clearly shows that the system includes a pair of robotic arms with a gripper mounted on the end of each arm that are configured to grasp a paint cartridge in a storage area and mount the cartridge in the head of the coating robot.);
causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot (Yamauchi: Figure 1, Abstract, ¶ 0014, ¶ 0015. The cited passages clearly shows that the system includes a pair of robotic arms with a gripper mounted on the end of each arm that are configured to grasp a paint cartridge in a storage area and mount the cartridge in the head of the coating robot.).
Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow teaches a first, second, and third coating robots; first, second, and third supply devices that respectively supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots, determining a first, second, and third coating material amounts required for the first, second, and third coating robots to coat a first, second, and third region respectively, causing the first second, and third supply devices to supply the first, second, and third coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots, and causing the coating robots to coat their respective regions. Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow does not teach causing, by the first robot controller, the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot. Yamauchi teaches causing, by the first robot controller, the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow with causing, by the first robot controller, the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot taught in Yamauchi. Furthermore, the system taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Yamauchi already teaches supply devices that are configured to supply the desired amount of coating material to the respective coating robots. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow such that the coating robots can take and use a coating material cartridge and the supply devices mounts the cartridge into the head of the coating robot as taught in Yamauchi according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a coating control method comprising: causing, by the first robot controller, the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the information processing device taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow with causing, by the first robot controller, the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot; causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot taught in Yamauchi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have yielded predictable results.
Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi sending, by the first robot controller, downstream to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification to the second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of the first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot;
receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller and a notification of completion of mounting of a second cartridge from the second supply device;
in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region and the notification of the completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device, causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot;
sending, by the second robot controller, downstream to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
receiving, by the third robot controller, the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification from the second robot controller, calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region;
receiving, by the third robot controller, a notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and a notification of the completion of mounting of a third cartridge from the third supply device; and
in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and the notification of the completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device, causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot.
Tan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches sending, by the first robot controller, downstream to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification to the second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of the first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot (Tan: Abstract, “A system includes first and second robotic machines and a task manager. The first and second robotic machines have respective first and second sets of capabilities for interacting with a surrounding environment. The task manager selects the first and second robotic machines from a group to perform a task based on the first and second sets of capabilities of the robotic machines. The task involves manipulating and/or inspecting a target object of a vehicle. The task manager assigns a first sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the first robotic machine and a second sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the second robotic machine. The first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine with performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine to accomplish the task.”, ¶ 0047, “The task manager 232 is configured to communicate with the first and second robotic machines 301, 302 via the transmission of messages from the communication circuit 234 to the communication circuits 222 of the robotic machines 301, 302. For example, the task manager 232 may communicate messages wirelessly in the form of electromagnetic radio frequency signals. The first and second robotic machines 301, 302 are configured to transmit messages to the task manager 232 via the respective communication circuits 222. The robotic machines 301, 302 are also able to communicate with each other using the communication circuits 222. For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”, ¶ 0057, “The first robotic machine may be configured to transmit a status notification upon starting and/or completing each sub-task in the first sequence, or may transmit status notifications only upon starting and/or completing certain designated sub-tasks of the sub-tasks in the first sequence, which may be identified in the command message sent from the task manager. At 430, the second robotic machine provides a status notification to the first robotic machine. The status notification from the second robotic machine may be similar in form and/or function to the status notification sent from the first robotic machine at 428. The first robotic machine receives the status notification from the second robotic machine at 432.”, ¶ 0058, “At 436 and 438, respectively, the first and second robotic machines complete the performances of the first and second sequences of sub-tasks. At 440, the first robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the first sequence is completed. At 442, the second robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the second sequence is completed. The first and second robotic machines may also notify each other upon completing the sequences of sub-tasks, and optionally may only transmit a single task completion notification to the task manager instead of one notification from each robotic machine. The one or more notifications inform the task manager that the assigned task is completed. At 444, the task manager receives and processes the one or more notifications. The notification may also provide feedback information to the task manager, such as force parameters used to manipulate the target object on the vehicle and other parameters monitored and recorded during the performance of the sub-tasks. The information received in the task completion notification may be used by the task manager to update the information provided in future command messages to robotic machines, such as the sequences of sub-tasks contained in the command messages. Upon receiving the task completion notification, the task manager may generate a new task for the same or different robotic machines. For example, the task manager may assign the same task to the same robotic machines for the robotic machines to perform the task on another vehicle in the same or a different vehicle system. Thus, the first and second robotic machines may be controlled to move along a length of a vehicle system to perform the assigned task on multiple vehicles of the vehicle system. Alternatively, the task manager may control the same or different robotic machines to perform a different assigned task on the same vehicle after completion of a first assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the first robot would send the notification downstream to the second robot.);
receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.);
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region (Tan: ¶ 0055, “At 424, the first robotic machine commences execution of the first sequence of sub-tasks. At 426, the second robotic machine commences execution of the second sequence of sub-tasks. Although steps 424 and 426 are shown side-by-side in the diagram 400 of FIG. 4, the first and second robotic machines may or may not perform the respective sub-tasks during the same time period. Depending on the sequences of sub-tasks as communicated by the task manager, the first robotic machine may be ordered to start performing the sub-tasks in the first sequence before or after the second robotic machine starts performing the second sequence of sub-tasks.”, ¶ 0056, “In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the respective sequences of sub-tasks to accomplish the assigned task. Thus, the performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine is coordinated with the performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine. In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines coordinate by communicating directly with each other during the performances of the sub-tasks. At 428, the first robotic machine provides a status notification to the second robotic machine. The status notification may be a message that communicated wirelessly as electromagnetic RF signals from the communication circuit 222 of the first robotic machine 301 to the communication circuit 222 of the second robotic machine 302. The second robotic machine receives the status notification at 434. The status notification may inform the second robotic machine that the first robotic machine has started or completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. The second robotic machine processes the received status notification and may use the status notification to determine when to start performing certain sub-tasks in the second sequence. For example, at least some of the sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be sequential, such that the second robotic machine is configured to begin performance of a corresponding sub-task in the second sequence responsive to receiving the notification from the first robotic machine that the first robotic machine has completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. Other sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be performed concurrently by the first and second robotic machines, such that the time period that the first robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the first sequence at least partially overlaps the time period that the second robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the second sequence. For example, both robotic machines may concurrently move towards the vehicle. In another example, the first robotic machine may extend a robotic arm towards the target object of the vehicle concurrently with the second robotic machine lifting the first robotic machine. Coordinated and concurrent actions by the robotic machines may enhance the efficiency of the performance of the assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.);
receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller and a notification of completion of mounting of a second cartridge from the second supply device (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056, 0057, ¶ 0058. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task. Furthermore the cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.);
in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region and the notification of the completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device, causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056, 0057, ¶ 0058. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task. Furthermore the cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.);
sending, by the second robot controller, downstream to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of the second coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057, ¶ 0058. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.);
receiving, by the third robot controller, the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.);
in response to the receiving of the notification from the second robot controller, calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region (Tan: ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056. The cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.);
receiving, by the third robot controller, a notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and a notification of the completion of mounting of a third cartridge from the third supply device (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.); and
in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and the notification of the completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device, causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056, 0057, ¶ 0058,. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task. Furthermore the cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.).
Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi teaches a first, second, and third coating robots; first, second, and third supply devices that respectively supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots, determining a first, second, and third coating material amounts required for the first, second, and third coating robots to coat a first, second, and third region respectively, causing the first second, and third supply devices to supply the first, second, and third coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots, and causing the coating robots to coat their respective regions. Tan teaches a system and method for the cooperative control of robots. The system is configured to control the robots to send a notification to each other when the current task/subtask of the robot is completed, in progress, or initiated. The other robot is the controlled to perform its task/subtask based on the notifications from the other robot. Even though Tan only teaches two robots in communication with each other, because the system of Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi already teaches a first, second, and third coating robot with a first, second, and third supply device, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify said system to send a notification to each subsequent robot when the task of the previous robot has been completed or started as taught in Tan. Simply having an additional robot in communication with two others that is of the same of substantially similar structure and performs the same or substantially method as the other two robots would not change or introduce new functionality and would be a simple duplication of parts. Such a duplication (i.e. adding a third robot in communication with the already taught robots) would not have changed or introduced new functionality. As such, because the duplication of the robots in communication with each other already taught to produce a third robot in communication with the others would not have produced new or unexpected results, such a duplication would have been obvious (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Furthermore, because the robots can communicate with one another both upstream and downstream, the method taught in Tan can already send notification only one way (i.e. send notifications only downstream). Additionally, while tan does not explicitly teach sending a notification after the cartridge is mounted to the robot, Tan does teach the general process of sending notifications between robots after the start and completion of each task and subtask. As such, the method taught in Tan can easily send both a notification that the region the first robot has been coating is completed and a notification that the cartridge has been mounted to the current robot Therefore, the combination of Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi in further view of Tan teaches the limitation “in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and the notification of the completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device, causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the robot system taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi with sending, by the first robot controller, downstream to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification to the second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of the first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot; receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed; in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller and a notification of completion of mounting of a second cartridge from the second supply device; in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region and the notification of the completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device, causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot; sending, by the second robot controller, downstream to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of the second coating region is being performed; receiving, by the third robot controller, the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed; in response to the receiving of the notification from the second robot controller, calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region; receiving, by the third robot controller, a notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and a notification of the completion of mounting of a third cartridge from the third supply device; and in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and the notification of the completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device, causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot taught in Tan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because allowing robots to communicate with each other while performing task allows the robots to coordinate their actions and perform the task correctly and efficiently (Tan: ¶ 0047, “For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13 and 15, specifically that the combination of Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Tan does not teach the limitations “causing the first coating robot to begin coating of the first coating region after the first supply device mounts a first cartridge filled with the first required coating material amount on the first coating robot”, and “causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot”, and “causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot”, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed July 27th, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pages 8-9, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the limitations of the independent claims 13 and 15.
Specifically on Pages 8-9, Applicant argues that the secondary reference Tan does not teach the limitations “first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second, and third coating regions in this order”, “sending, downstream, to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification indicating that the coating of a first coating region is being performed”, “causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device”, “sending, downstream, to the third robot controller and not upstream, a notification indicating that the coating of a second coating region is being performed”, and “causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the second coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As was stated in the Final Office Action mailed March 27th, 2026, and above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, the primary reference Kito teaches a robot system (Kito: Abstract): a coating robot (Kito: ¶ 0023); and a robot controller configured to control an operation of the coating robot (Kito: ¶ 0023, ¶ 0035, ¶ 0036), wherein the robot controller executes the process including: calculating a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating (Kito: ¶ 0014, ¶ 0020). The secondary reference Tsushi teaches first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second, and third coating regions in this order (Tsushi: ¶ 0023,); a supply device configured to respectively supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, ¶ 0080); first, second, and third robot controllers configured to respectively control an operation of each of the first, second and third coating robots (Tsushi: ¶ 0078), outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, ¶ 0080), and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including (Tsushi: ¶ 0081); calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region (Tsushi: ¶ 0081); and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, ¶ 0080); the third robot controller is configured to execute a process including (Tsushi: ¶ 0081): calculating a third required coating material amount required for the coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region (Tsushi: ¶ 0081); and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0081). While Tsushi does not explicitly teach a third robot, adding an additional robot to the system that is of the same or substantially similar structure and performs the same or substantially similar process to the already taught is a is simply a duplication of parts. Merely adding another robot that is of the same structure and performs the same process as the other two robots would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. As such, because the duplication of the coating robots already taught to produce a third coating robot would not have produced new or unexpected results, such a duplication would have been obvious (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Therefore, the combination of Kito in view of Tsushi clearly teaches the limitation “first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second, and third coating regions in this order”. The secondary reference Harlow teaches first, second, and third supply devices configured to supply coating material to the first, second, and third coating robots respectively (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13); and outputting a first command to the first supply device, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13, Column 9 lines 31-45), and outputting a second command to a second supply device of the two or more supply devices, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13); and outputting a third command to the third supply device, the third command being for supplying the third required coating material amount of the coating material to the third coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13, Column 9 lines 31-45). The secondary reference Tan teaches sending, by the first robot controller, downstream to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification to the second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of the first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0057, ¶ 0058); receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057); in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region (Tan: ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056); receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller and a notification of completion of mounting of a second cartridge from the second supply device (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056, 0057, ¶ 0058); in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region and the notification of the completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device, causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts the second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056, 0057, ¶ 0058); sending, by the second robot controller, downstream to the third robot controller and not upstream to the first robot controller, a notification indicating that the coating of the second coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057, ¶ 0058); receiving, by the third robot controller, the notification that the coating of the second coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057); in response to the receiving of the notification from the second robot controller, calculating, by the third robot controller, a third required coating material amount required for coating by the third coating robot before the second coating robot completes the coating of the second coating region (Tan: ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056.); receiving, by the third robot controller, a notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and a notification of the completion of mounting of a third cartridge from the third supply device (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0057); and in response to receiving the notification of the completion of the coating of the second coating region from the second robot controller and the notification of the completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device, causing, by the third robot controller, the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts the third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot (Tan: Abstract, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0056, 0057, ¶ 0058). Tan teaches a system and method for the cooperative control of robots. The system is configured to control the robots to send a notification to each other when the current task/subtask of the robot is completed, in progress, or initiated. The other robot is the controlled to perform its task/subtask based on the notifications from the other robot. Even though Tan only teaches two robots in communication with each other, because the system of Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi already teaches a first, second, and third coating robot with a first, second, and third supply device, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify said system to send a notification to each subsequent robot when the task of the previous robot has been completed or started as taught in Tan. Simply having an additional robot in communication with two others that is of the same of substantially similar structure and performs the same or substantially method as the other two robots would not change or introduce new functionality and would be a simple duplication of parts. Such a duplication (i.e. adding a third robot in communication with the already taught robots) would not have changed or introduced new functionality. As such, because the duplication of the robots in communication with each other already taught to produce a third robot in communication with the others would not have produced new or unexpected results, such a duplication would have been obvious (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). Furthermore, because the robots can communicate with one another both upstream and downstream, the method taught in Tan can already send notification only one way (i.e. send notifications only downstream). Additionally, while tan does not explicitly teach sending a notification after the cartridge is mounted to the robot, Tan does teach the general process of sending notifications between robots after the start and completion of each task and subtask. As such, the method taught in Tan can easily send both a notification that the region the first robot has been coating is completed and a notification that the cartridge has been mounted to the current robot. Therefore, the combination of Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow in further view of Yamauchi in further view of Tan teaches the limitation “first, second, and third coating robots connected in series along a coating line and configured to respectively perform coating of first, second, and third coating regions in this order”, “sending, downstream, to the second robot controller and not upstream, a notification indicating that the coating of a first coating region is being performed”, “causing the second coating robot to begin coating of the second coating region after the second supply device mounts a second cartridge filled with the second required coating material amount on the second coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the second cartridge from the second supply device”, “sending, downstream, to the third robot controller and not upstream, a notification indicating that the coating of a second coating region is being performed”, and “causing the third coating robot to begin coating of the third coating region after the third supply device mounts a third cartridge filled with the third required coating material amount on the third coating robot after receiving both i) a notification of completion of the coating of the second coating region from the first robot controller, and ii) a notification of completion of mounting of the third cartridge from the third supply device”.
Conclusion
/N.W.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658