DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action on the Merits in response to communications filed by applicant on February 13th, 2026. Claims 13-15 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the Claims, filed on February 13th, 2026 have been entered. Claims 13 and 15 are currently amended and pending, claim 14 is original, unamended and pending, and claims 1-12 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over -JP 2007000689 A (“Kito”) in view of JP 2004223362 A (“Tsushi”) in further view of US 5429682 A (“Harlow”) in further view of US 2018/0001476 A1 (“Tan”).
Regarding claim 13, Kito teaches a robot system (Kito: Abstract, “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To easily and automatically perform the setting of coating conditions in accordance with various factors, and to improve working efficiency as well. SOLUTION: By automatic calculation by a coating condition calculation part 13a in an automatic calculation means 13, standard values to be the optimum coating condition per the object to be coated are obtained using various factors regarding the conditions of a coating finish held to a coating condition table 12, and, in co-operation with the operation control of a coating apparatus 23 (coating robot), spraying control by a coater is performed.”):
a coating robot (Kito: ¶ 0023, “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the paint control system includes a paint control device 10 that performs paint discharge control and operation control of a paint device (painting robot) 23, and a display unit 11 that shows paint conditions and paint states.”);
and a robot controller configured to control an operation of the coating robot (Kito: ¶ 0023, “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, the paint control system includes a paint control device 10 that performs paint discharge control and operation control of a paint device (painting robot) 23, and a display unit 11 that shows paint conditions and paint states.”, ¶ 0035, “Next, the coating control method will be described. First, as shown in FIG. 4, an operating condition is given from the coating control apparatus 10 to the coating apparatus (painting robot) 23 (step S1). The operating conditions vary depending on the object to be coated, but at least the coating location, pattern width, gun angle, and spray distance. In the teaching of the painting robot, spraying operation conditions such as a stroke, a painting interval, and the number of paintings are input as a painting locus.”, ¶ 0036, “Next, the spraying condition calculation unit 13a of the automatic calculation means 13 obtains the optimum coating condition for any object to be coated by automatic calculation based on the conditions regarding the coating specifications held in the coating condition table 12 (step S2). Of these coating conditions, the optimality can be finally maintained depending on the spraying conditions of the coating machine. In particular, the amount of paint discharged is influenced by many other coating specifications, and the optimum is controlled by the control. It is one of the elements that allows the condition to be obtained.”, ¶ 0037, “Therefore, when obtaining the optimum coating conditions according to the paint discharge amount, first, the above-mentioned discharge conditions are calculated based on the conditions relating to the coating specifications held in the coating condition table 12 corresponding to an arbitrary object to be coated by the spray condition calculation unit 13a. The automatic calculation based on the automatic quantity setting formula is performed, and the discharge amount per hour (Fo), which is the reference value as the optimum coating condition, is output as the spray condition control signal to the electropneumatic valve 20 (step) S3).”),
wherein the robot controller executes the process including: calculating a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating (Kito: ¶ 0014, “In addition, the required amount of paint per coating cycle is based on at least the coating area of the object to be coated, the desired film thickness, the dry coating density, the spray area ratio in the trajectory, the coating efficiency, and the non-volatile content ratio of the paint. Shall be calculated.”, ¶ 0020, “For example, by inputting the time per coating cycle, the amount of paint required to obtain the film thickness at the finish and the amount of paint discharged per hour are calculated from that amount, and the paint conditions and coating Since the optimum paint discharge amount can be calculated from the painting efficiency based on the spraying operation conditions linked with the operation control of the robot, the appropriate painting conditions can be easily obtained regardless of skilled experience.”. The cited passages clearly show that the amount of paint (i.e. coating material) required for the operation is determined.).
Kito does not teach first and second coating robots;
First and second supply devices configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively;
and first and second robot controllers configured to control an operation of each of the first and second coating robots respectively,
and outputting a first command to the first supply device, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot;
and sending a notification to the second robot controller that the coating of a first coating region is being performed,
and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including:
receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
and outputting a second command to a second supply device of the two or more supply devices, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot,
wherein the second robot controller receives a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller,
and in response to the received notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region, the second robot controller causes the second coating robot to begin coating of a second coating region.
Tsushi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches first and second coating robots (Tsushi: ¶ 0023, “Two painting robots 171 and 172 are provided in the painting booth 170, and 171a and 172a are two sided pumps for curved surface application corresponding to the present invention which are mounted on the ends of the respective arms of the painting robots 171 and 172. Roller. The two pressure feeding rollers 171a and 172a are connected to outlets of CCVs (switching valves) 173 and 174 provided at the entrance of the booth by pipes 175 and 176, respectively. CCVs 173 and 174 are valves that can turn on / off one type of paint and, unlike a needle valve, can discharge one of a plurality of coating liquids by switching a plurality of coating liquids by air. Here, a paint pipe 151 and a detergent pipe 153 are connected to the inlet side of the CCV 173, and the CCV 173 can be switched from one pipe to the other pipe each time air is switched. Similarly, for each CCV 174, a paint pipe 152 and a detergent pipe 154 are connected to the inlet side, and the CCV 174 can be switched from one pipe to the other pipe each time air is switched.”);
a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages clearly teaches a paint supply device that supplies paint to the robots.);
and first and second robot controllers configured to control an operation of each of the first and second coating robots respectively (Tsushi: ¶ 0078, “As for the robot itself, basically, for example, as shown in FIG. 15, the two pressure feed rollers 29 are attached to the tip of the arm 741 of the articulated robot main body 94, and the robot controller 742 is instructed by the central controller 95. Depending on the configuration etc.”. As can be seen from the cited passage, each robot is configured with a robot controller.),
and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot.),
and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including (Tsushi: ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.”):
calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region (Tsushi: ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.);
and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot.).
Kito teaches a robot system comprising: the coating robot; and a robot controller configured to control an operation of the coating robot, wherein the robot controller executes the process including: calculating a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating. Kito does not teach first and second coating robots; a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; and first and second robot controllers configured to control an operation of each of the first and second coating robots respectively, and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including: calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; and outputting a command to the supply device of the two or more supply devices, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot. Tsushi teaches first and second coating robots; a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; and first and second robot controllers configured to control an operation of each of the first and second coating robots respectively, and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including: calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; and outputting a command to the supply device of the two or more supply devices, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the device taught in Kito with first and second coating robots; a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; and first and second robot controllers configured to control an operation of each of the first and second coating robots respectively, and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including: calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; and outputting a command to the supply device of the two or more supply devices, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot taught in Tsushi. Furthermore, Kito already teaches the method of determine the amount of coating material required and controlling the robot in accordance with this determined value. Therefore, modifying Kito to include two or more robots and associated controller, and apply the method to said two or more robots taught in Tsushi would require simply applying the same methods taught in Kito to another robot. Adding additional robots to the system already taught in Kito would not change or introduce new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a robot system comprising: first and second coating robots; a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; and first and second robot controllers configured to control an operation of each of the first and second coating robots respectively, and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including: calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; and outputting a command to the supply device of the two or more supply devices, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the information processing device taught in Kito with first and second coating robots; a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; and first and second robot controllers configured to control an operation of each of the first and second coating robots respectively, and outputting a command to the supply device, the command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; and the second robot controller is configured to execute a process including: calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; and outputting a command to the supply device of the two or more supply devices, the command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot taught in Tsushi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Kito in view of Tsushi does not teach first and second supply devices configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively;
and outputting a first command to the first supply device, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot;
and sending a notification to the second robot controller that the coating of a first coating region is being performed,
receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
and outputting a second command to a second supply device of the two or more supply devices, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot,
wherein the second robot controller receives a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller,
and in response to the received notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region, the second robot controller causes the second coating robot to begin coating of a second coating region.
Harlow, in the same field of endeavor, teaches teach first and second supply devices configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13, “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”);
and outputting a first command to the first supply device, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13 “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”, Column 9 lines 31-45, “Still another approach is shown in FIG. 8 where a spray booth 60 is equipped with exhaust fans for venting coatings fumes from the assembly line area. A six-axis articulated arm 62 is shown within the spray booth 60 for applying coatings from paint pot 64 via supply conduits 66. A conveyer belt or chain-on-edge conveyer 68 is shown passing through openings in the spray booth 60. The conveyer is in-line with indexing. The conveyer 68 is supplied with universal center point part holders 70 with which to mount the object to be painted. A computer 72 contains the controller with software required for controlling the coating process as executed by the articulated arm 62 in conjunction with the conveyer 68. A coatings material capture for recycling device 74 is shown underneath the spray booth 60.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the controller would send a signal in order to supply paint from the supply.),
and outputting a second command to a second supply device of the two or more supply devices, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13 “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”, Column 9 lines 31-45, “Still another approach is shown in FIG. 8 where a spray booth 60 is equipped with exhaust fans for venting coatings fumes from the assembly line area. A six-axis articulated arm 62 is shown within the spray booth 60 for applying coatings from paint pot 64 via supply conduits 66. A conveyer belt or chain-on-edge conveyer 68 is shown passing through openings in the spray booth 60. The conveyer is in-line with indexing. The conveyer 68 is supplied with universal center point part holders 70 with which to mount the object to be painted. A computer 72 contains the controller with software required for controlling the coating process as executed by the articulated arm 62 in conjunction with the conveyer 68. A coatings material capture for recycling device 74 is shown underneath the spray booth 60.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the controller would send a signal in order to supply paint from the supply.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the information processing device taught in Kito in view of Tsushi with first and second supply devices configured to supply coating material to the first and second coating robots respectively; and outputting a first command to the first supply device, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot, and outputting a second command to a second supply device of the two or more supply devices, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot taught in Harlow with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have required the simple addition of a known component using methods known in the art. The modification would have simply comprised adding a second paint supply device to the second robot. Such a modification would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, simply adding another paint supply unit would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow does not teach sending a notification to the second robot controller that the coating of a first coating region is being performed,
receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
wherein the second robot controller receives a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller,
and in response to the received notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region, the second robot controller causes the second coating robot to begin coating of a second coating region.
Tan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches sending a notification to the second robot controller that the coating of a first coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, “A system includes first and second robotic machines and a task manager. The first and second robotic machines have respective first and second sets of capabilities for interacting with a surrounding environment. The task manager selects the first and second robotic machines from a group to perform a task based on the first and second sets of capabilities of the robotic machines. The task involves manipulating and/or inspecting a target object of a vehicle. The task manager assigns a first sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the first robotic machine and a second sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the second robotic machine. The first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine with performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine to accomplish the task.”, ¶ 0047, “The task manager 232 is configured to communicate with the first and second robotic machines 301, 302 via the transmission of messages from the communication circuit 234 to the communication circuits 222 of the robotic machines 301, 302. For example, the task manager 232 may communicate messages wirelessly in the form of electromagnetic radio frequency signals. The first and second robotic machines 301, 302 are configured to transmit messages to the task manager 232 via the respective communication circuits 222. The robotic machines 301, 302 are also able to communicate with each other using the communication circuits 222. For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”, ¶ 0057, “The first robotic machine may be configured to transmit a status notification upon starting and/or completing each sub-task in the first sequence, or may transmit status notifications only upon starting and/or completing certain designated sub-tasks of the sub-tasks in the first sequence, which may be identified in the command message sent from the task manager. At 430, the second robotic machine provides a status notification to the first robotic machine. The status notification from the second robotic machine may be similar in form and/or function to the status notification sent from the first robotic machine at 428. The first robotic machine receives the status notification from the second robotic machine at 432.”, ¶ 0058, “At 436 and 438, respectively, the first and second robotic machines complete the performances of the first and second sequences of sub-tasks. At 440, the first robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the first sequence is completed. At 442, the second robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the second sequence is completed. The first and second robotic machines may also notify each other upon completing the sequences of sub-tasks, and optionally may only transmit a single task completion notification to the task manager instead of one notification from each robotic machine. The one or more notifications inform the task manager that the assigned task is completed. At 444, the task manager receives and processes the one or more notifications. The notification may also provide feedback information to the task manager, such as force parameters used to manipulate the target object on the vehicle and other parameters monitored and recorded during the performance of the sub-tasks. The information received in the task completion notification may be used by the task manager to update the information provided in future command messages to robotic machines, such as the sequences of sub-tasks contained in the command messages. Upon receiving the task completion notification, the task manager may generate a new task for the same or different robotic machines. For example, the task manager may assign the same task to the same robotic machines for the robotic machines to perform the task on another vehicle in the same or a different vehicle system. Thus, the first and second robotic machines may be controlled to move along a length of a vehicle system to perform the assigned task on multiple vehicles of the vehicle system. Alternatively, the task manager may control the same or different robotic machines to perform a different assigned task on the same vehicle after completion of a first assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.),
receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, “A system includes first and second robotic machines and a task manager. The first and second robotic machines have respective first and second sets of capabilities for interacting with a surrounding environment. The task manager selects the first and second robotic machines from a group to perform a task based on the first and second sets of capabilities of the robotic machines. The task involves manipulating and/or inspecting a target object of a vehicle. The task manager assigns a first sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the first robotic machine and a second sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the second robotic machine. The first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine with performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine to accomplish the task.”, ¶ 0047, “The task manager 232 is configured to communicate with the first and second robotic machines 301, 302 via the transmission of messages from the communication circuit 234 to the communication circuits 222 of the robotic machines 301, 302. For example, the task manager 232 may communicate messages wirelessly in the form of electromagnetic radio frequency signals. The first and second robotic machines 301, 302 are configured to transmit messages to the task manager 232 via the respective communication circuits 222. The robotic machines 301, 302 are also able to communicate with each other using the communication circuits 222. For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”, ¶ 0057, “The first robotic machine may be configured to transmit a status notification upon starting and/or completing each sub-task in the first sequence, or may transmit status notifications only upon starting and/or completing certain designated sub-tasks of the sub-tasks in the first sequence, which may be identified in the command message sent from the task manager. At 430, the second robotic machine provides a status notification to the first robotic machine. The status notification from the second robotic machine may be similar in form and/or function to the status notification sent from the first robotic machine at 428. The first robotic machine receives the status notification from the second robotic machine at 432.”, ¶ 0058, “At 436 and 438, respectively, the first and second robotic machines complete the performances of the first and second sequences of sub-tasks. At 440, the first robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the first sequence is completed. At 442, the second robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the second sequence is completed. The first and second robotic machines may also notify each other upon completing the sequences of sub-tasks, and optionally may only transmit a single task completion notification to the task manager instead of one notification from each robotic machine. The one or more notifications inform the task manager that the assigned task is completed. At 444, the task manager receives and processes the one or more notifications. The notification may also provide feedback information to the task manager, such as force parameters used to manipulate the target object on the vehicle and other parameters monitored and recorded during the performance of the sub-tasks. The information received in the task completion notification may be used by the task manager to update the information provided in future command messages to robotic machines, such as the sequences of sub-tasks contained in the command messages. Upon receiving the task completion notification, the task manager may generate a new task for the same or different robotic machines. For example, the task manager may assign the same task to the same robotic machines for the robotic machines to perform the task on another vehicle in the same or a different vehicle system. Thus, the first and second robotic machines may be controlled to move along a length of a vehicle system to perform the assigned task on multiple vehicles of the vehicle system. Alternatively, the task manager may control the same or different robotic machines to perform a different assigned task on the same vehicle after completion of a first assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.);
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region (Tan: ¶ 0055, “At 424, the first robotic machine commences execution of the first sequence of sub-tasks. At 426, the second robotic machine commences execution of the second sequence of sub-tasks. Although steps 424 and 426 are shown side-by-side in the diagram 400 of FIG. 4, the first and second robotic machines may or may not perform the respective sub-tasks during the same time period. Depending on the sequences of sub-tasks as communicated by the task manager, the first robotic machine may be ordered to start performing the sub-tasks in the first sequence before or after the second robotic machine starts performing the second sequence of sub-tasks.”, ¶ 0056, “In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the respective sequences of sub-tasks to accomplish the assigned task. Thus, the performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine is coordinated with the performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine. In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines coordinate by communicating directly with each other during the performances of the sub-tasks. At 428, the first robotic machine provides a status notification to the second robotic machine. The status notification may be a message that communicated wirelessly as electromagnetic RF signals from the communication circuit 222 of the first robotic machine 301 to the communication circuit 222 of the second robotic machine 302. The second robotic machine receives the status notification at 434. The status notification may inform the second robotic machine that the first robotic machine has started or completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. The second robotic machine processes the received status notification and may use the status notification to determine when to start performing certain sub-tasks in the second sequence. For example, at least some of the sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be sequential, such that the second robotic machine is configured to begin performance of a corresponding sub-task in the second sequence responsive to receiving the notification from the first robotic machine that the first robotic machine has completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. Other sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be performed concurrently by the first and second robotic machines, such that the time period that the first robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the first sequence at least partially overlaps the time period that the second robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the second sequence. For example, both robotic machines may concurrently move towards the vehicle. In another example, the first robotic machine may extend a robotic arm towards the target object of the vehicle concurrently with the second robotic machine lifting the first robotic machine. Coordinated and concurrent actions by the robotic machines may enhance the efficiency of the performance of the assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.);
wherein the second robot controller receives a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller (Tan: Abstract, “A system includes first and second robotic machines and a task manager. The first and second robotic machines have respective first and second sets of capabilities for interacting with a surrounding environment. The task manager selects the first and second robotic machines from a group to perform a task based on the first and second sets of capabilities of the robotic machines. The task involves manipulating and/or inspecting a target object of a vehicle. The task manager assigns a first sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the first robotic machine and a second sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the second robotic machine. The first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine with performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine to accomplish the task.”, ¶ 0047, “The task manager 232 is configured to communicate with the first and second robotic machines 301, 302 via the transmission of messages from the communication circuit 234 to the communication circuits 222 of the robotic machines 301, 302. For example, the task manager 232 may communicate messages wirelessly in the form of electromagnetic radio frequency signals. The first and second robotic machines 301, 302 are configured to transmit messages to the task manager 232 via the respective communication circuits 222. The robotic machines 301, 302 are also able to communicate with each other using the communication circuits 222. For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”, ¶ 0057, “The first robotic machine may be configured to transmit a status notification upon starting and/or completing each sub-task in the first sequence, or may transmit status notifications only upon starting and/or completing certain designated sub-tasks of the sub-tasks in the first sequence, which may be identified in the command message sent from the task manager. At 430, the second robotic machine provides a status notification to the first robotic machine. The status notification from the second robotic machine may be similar in form and/or function to the status notification sent from the first robotic machine at 428. The first robotic machine receives the status notification from the second robotic machine at 432.”, ¶ 0058, “At 436 and 438, respectively, the first and second robotic machines complete the performances of the first and second sequences of sub-tasks. At 440, the first robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the first sequence is completed. At 442, the second robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the second sequence is completed. The first and second robotic machines may also notify each other upon completing the sequences of sub-tasks, and optionally may only transmit a single task completion notification to the task manager instead of one notification from each robotic machine. The one or more notifications inform the task manager that the assigned task is completed. At 444, the task manager receives and processes the one or more notifications. The notification may also provide feedback information to the task manager, such as force parameters used to manipulate the target object on the vehicle and other parameters monitored and recorded during the performance of the sub-tasks. The information received in the task completion notification may be used by the task manager to update the information provided in future command messages to robotic machines, such as the sequences of sub-tasks contained in the command messages. Upon receiving the task completion notification, the task manager may generate a new task for the same or different robotic machines. For example, the task manager may assign the same task to the same robotic machines for the robotic machines to perform the task on another vehicle in the same or a different vehicle system. Thus, the first and second robotic machines may be controlled to move along a length of a vehicle system to perform the assigned task on multiple vehicles of the vehicle system. Alternatively, the task manager may control the same or different robotic machines to perform a different assigned task on the same vehicle after completion of a first assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.),
and in response to the received notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region, the second robot controller causes the second coating robot to begin coating of a second coating region (Tan: ¶ 0055, “At 424, the first robotic machine commences execution of the first sequence of sub-tasks. At 426, the second robotic machine commences execution of the second sequence of sub-tasks. Although steps 424 and 426 are shown side-by-side in the diagram 400 of FIG. 4, the first and second robotic machines may or may not perform the respective sub-tasks during the same time period. Depending on the sequences of sub-tasks as communicated by the task manager, the first robotic machine may be ordered to start performing the sub-tasks in the first sequence before or after the second robotic machine starts performing the second sequence of sub-tasks.”, ¶ 0056, “In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the respective sequences of sub-tasks to accomplish the assigned task. Thus, the performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine is coordinated with the performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine. In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines coordinate by communicating directly with each other during the performances of the sub-tasks. At 428, the first robotic machine provides a status notification to the second robotic machine. The status notification may be a message that communicated wirelessly as electromagnetic RF signals from the communication circuit 222 of the first robotic machine 301 to the communication circuit 222 of the second robotic machine 302. The second robotic machine receives the status notification at 434. The status notification may inform the second robotic machine that the first robotic machine has started or completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. The second robotic machine processes the received status notification and may use the status notification to determine when to start performing certain sub-tasks in the second sequence. For example, at least some of the sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be sequential, such that the second robotic machine is configured to begin performance of a corresponding sub-task in the second sequence responsive to receiving the notification from the first robotic machine that the first robotic machine has completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. Other sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be performed concurrently by the first and second robotic machines, such that the time period that the first robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the first sequence at least partially overlaps the time period that the second robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the second sequence. For example, both robotic machines may concurrently move towards the vehicle. In another example, the first robotic machine may extend a robotic arm towards the target object of the vehicle concurrently with the second robotic machine lifting the first robotic machine. Coordinated and concurrent actions by the robotic machines may enhance the efficiency of the performance of the assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the robot system taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow with sending a notification to the second robot controller that the coating of a first coating region is being performed, receiving the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed; in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; wherein the second robot controller receives a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller, and in response to the received notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region, the second robot controller causes the second coating robot to begin coating of a second coating region taught in Tan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because allowing robots to communicate with each other while performing task allows the robots to coordinate their actions and perform the task correctly and efficiently (Tan: ¶ 0047, “For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”).
Regarding claim 14, Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow teaches wherein the first supply device and the second supply device are the same (Tsushi: Figure 1, ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages and figure clearly show that the supply device feeds both robots.).
Regarding claim 15, Kito teaches a coating control method for controlling a coating robot, the method comprising (Kito: Abstract, “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To easily and automatically perform the setting of coating conditions in accordance with various factors, and to improve working efficiency as well. SOLUTION: By automatic calculation by a coating condition calculation part 13a in an automatic calculation means 13, standard values to be the optimum coating condition per the object to be coated are obtained using various factors regarding the conditions of a coating finish held to a coating condition table 12, and, in co-operation with the operation control of a coating apparatus 23 (coating robot), spraying control by a coater is performed.”):
calculating, by a robot controller of the coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating (Kito: ¶ 0014, “In addition, the required amount of paint per coating cycle is based on at least the coating area of the object to be coated, the desired film thickness, the dry coating density, the spray area ratio in the trajectory, the coating efficiency, and the non-volatile content ratio of the paint. Shall be calculated.”, ¶ 0020, “For example, by inputting the time per coating cycle, the amount of paint required to obtain the film thickness at the finish and the amount of paint discharged per hour are calculated from that amount, and the paint conditions and coating Since the optimum paint discharge amount can be calculated from the painting efficiency based on the spraying operation conditions linked with the operation control of the robot, the appropriate painting conditions can be easily obtained regardless of skilled experience.”. The cited passages clearly show that the amount of paint (i.e. coating material) required for the operation is determined.).
Kito does not teach a coating control method for controlling first and second coating robots, the method comprising;
calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating;
outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the first supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot;
sending, by the first robot controller, a notification to a second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of a first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot,
receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a second supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot,
receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller,
and in response to the received notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region, the second robot controller causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of a second coating region.
Tsushi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a coating control method for controlling first and second coating robots, the method comprising (Tsushi: ¶ 0023, “Two painting robots 171 and 172 are provided in the painting booth 170, and 171a and 172a are two sided pumps for curved surface application corresponding to the present invention which are mounted on the ends of the respective arms of the painting robots 171 and 172. Roller. The two pressure feeding rollers 171a and 172a are connected to outlets of CCVs (switching valves) 173 and 174 provided at the entrance of the booth by pipes 175 and 176, respectively. CCVs 173 and 174 are valves that can turn on / off one type of paint and, unlike a needle valve, can discharge one of a plurality of coating liquids by switching a plurality of coating liquids by air. Here, a paint pipe 151 and a detergent pipe 153 are connected to the inlet side of the CCV 173, and the CCV 173 can be switched from one pipe to the other pipe each time air is switched. Similarly, for each CCV 174, a paint pipe 152 and a detergent pipe 154 are connected to the inlet side, and the CCV 174 can be switched from one pipe to the other pipe each time air is switched.”);
calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating (Tsushi: ¶ 0078, “As for the robot itself, basically, for example, as shown in FIG. 15, the two pressure feed rollers 29 are attached to the tip of the arm 741 of the articulated robot main body 94, and the robot controller 742 is instructed by the central controller 95. Depending on the configuration etc.”, ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot and that each robot is configured with a robot controller.);
outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”, : ¶ 0078, “As for the robot itself, basically, for example, as shown in FIG. 15, the two pressure feed rollers 29 are attached to the tip of the arm 741 of the articulated robot main body 94, and the robot controller 742 is instructed by the central controller 95. Depending on the configuration etc.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot.),
calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region (Tsushi: ¶ 0078, “As for the robot itself, basically, for example, as shown in FIG. 15, the two pressure feed rollers 29 are attached to the tip of the arm 741 of the articulated robot main body 94, and the robot controller 742 is instructed by the central controller 95. Depending on the configuration etc.”, ¶ 0081, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled. Further, the central controller 95 creates an operation command based on the stored paint trajectory, gives a command to the robot controller 742 to operate the robot, and moves the arm of the coating robot 27, 28, the speed, the pressing force of the roller. Drive control is performed so as to eliminate the deviation between the command value and the detection value of the actual arm sensor or the like.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot and that each robot is configured with a robot controller.);
outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot (Tsushi: ¶ 0021, “FIG. 1 shows the full automation of the coating step (4) of the steps (1) to (6). In FIG. 1, reference numeral 100 denotes a paint mixing chamber. In the paint mixing chamber 100, a paint supply system 110 for supplying a paint to a coating roller and a cleaning for supplying a cleaning agent to the coating roller for cleaning the coating roller.”, ¶ 0080, “The central controller 95 processes the received temperature / humidity and position data, analyzes the locus data in the RAM 751, a pump controller 731 (the pump 2 shown in FIG. 15 corresponds to the main pump in FIG. 1), a robot controller, CPU 750, which controls the entire system of the automatic coating apparatus which controls both the coating supply system and the coating driving device, such as control by 742;”, “Now, for the object to be coated (applied), the coating conditions (for example, in a process of applying a protective film to an automobile body, a water-soluble paint wrap guard (product) ) Is input from the keyboard 754. On the other hand, the temperature / humidity sensor 96 sends an environmental detection signal to the central controller 95. The central controller 95 calculates an optimum paint discharge amount or the like for satisfying the coating condition based on the coating condition, the detection signal of the temperature / humidity, etc., and issues a command to the paint flow controller 731. The paint flow controller 731 issues the command. , The paint flow rate is controlled.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the command causes the paint supply device to provide paint to the robot.).
Kito teaches a coating control method for controlling a coating robot, the method comprising: calculating, by a robot controller of the coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating. Kito does not teach a coating control method for controlling first and second coating robots, the method comprising; calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating; outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot. Tsushi teaches a coating control method for controlling first and second coating robots, the method comprising; calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating; outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Kito with a coating control method for controlling first and second coating robots, the method comprising; calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating; outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot taught in Tsushi. Furthermore, Kito already teaches the method of determine the amount of coating material required and controlling the robot in accordance with this determined value. Therefore, modifying Kito to include two or more robots and associated controller, and apply the method to said two or more robots taught in Tsushi would require simply applying the same methods taught in Kito to another robot. Adding additional robots to the system already taught in Kito would not change or introduce new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a coating control method for controlling first and second coating robots, the method comprising; calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating; outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Kito with a coating control method for controlling first and second coating robots, the method comprising; calculating, by a first robot controller of the first coating robot, a first required coating material amount required for a coating by a first coating robot before causing the first coating robot to perform the coating; outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the a supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, the first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot; calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot taught in Tsushi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Kito in view of Tsushi does not teach outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the first supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot;
sending, by the first robot controller, a notification to a second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of a first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot,
receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a second supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot,
receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller,
and in response to the received notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region, the second robot controller causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of a second coating region.
Harlow, in the same field of endeavor, teaches teach outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the first supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13 “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”, Column 9 lines 31-45, “Still another approach is shown in FIG. 8 where a spray booth 60 is equipped with exhaust fans for venting coatings fumes from the assembly line area. A six-axis articulated arm 62 is shown within the spray booth 60 for applying coatings from paint pot 64 via supply conduits 66. A conveyer belt or chain-on-edge conveyer 68 is shown passing through openings in the spray booth 60. The conveyer is in-line with indexing. The conveyer 68 is supplied with universal center point part holders 70 with which to mount the object to be painted. A computer 72 contains the controller with software required for controlling the coating process as executed by the articulated arm 62 in conjunction with the conveyer 68. A coatings material capture for recycling device 74 is shown underneath the spray booth 60.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the controller would send a signal in order to supply paint from the supply.),
outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a second supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot (Harlow: Column 9 lines 1-13 “The approach shown in FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B may be speeded up by using more than one robot arm such as shown in FIG. 6. Instead of using just one articulator 28 a pair of robot arms 30, 32 are shown being used with one color being painted at each station. A duck 32 is shown being painted by the robot arm 30 on the left side and the robot arm 32 on the right side. Each robot arm 30, 32 is equipped with an applicator 34, 36 which is fed by a feed hose 38, 40 from a paint pot 42, 44. A workpiece fixture 46 is similar to the workpiece fixture 30 shown in FIG. 5A. The workpiece fixture 46 is carried in a conveyer system similar to that shown in FIG. 5A also, as indicated by a support structure 48.”, Column 9 lines 31-45, “Still another approach is shown in FIG. 8 where a spray booth 60 is equipped with exhaust fans for venting coatings fumes from the assembly line area. A six-axis articulated arm 62 is shown within the spray booth 60 for applying coatings from paint pot 64 via supply conduits 66. A conveyer belt or chain-on-edge conveyer 68 is shown passing through openings in the spray booth 60. The conveyer is in-line with indexing. The conveyer 68 is supplied with universal center point part holders 70 with which to mount the object to be painted. A computer 72 contains the controller with software required for controlling the coating process as executed by the articulated arm 62 in conjunction with the conveyer 68. A coatings material capture for recycling device 74 is shown underneath the spray booth 60.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the controller would send a signal in order to supply paint from the supply.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the information processing device taught in Kito in view of Tsushi with outputting, by the first robot controller, a first command to the first supply device configured to supply coating material to the first coating robot, first command being for supplying the first required coating material amount of the coating material to the first coating robot, outputting a second command, by the second robot controller, to a second supply device configured to supply coating material to the second coating robot, the second command being for supplying the second required coating material amount of the coating material to the second coating robot taught in Harlow with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have required the simple addition of a known component using methods known in the art. The modification would have simply comprised adding a second paint supply device to the second robot. Such a modification would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, simply adding another paint supply unit would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow does not teach sending, by the first robot controller, a notification to a second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of a first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot,
receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed;
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region;
receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller,
and in response to the received notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region, the second robot controller causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of a second coating region.
Tan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches sending, by the first robot controller, a notification to a second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of a first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot (Tan: Abstract, “A system includes first and second robotic machines and a task manager. The first and second robotic machines have respective first and second sets of capabilities for interacting with a surrounding environment. The task manager selects the first and second robotic machines from a group to perform a task based on the first and second sets of capabilities of the robotic machines. The task involves manipulating and/or inspecting a target object of a vehicle. The task manager assigns a first sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the first robotic machine and a second sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the second robotic machine. The first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine with performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine to accomplish the task.”, ¶ 0047, “The task manager 232 is configured to communicate with the first and second robotic machines 301, 302 via the transmission of messages from the communication circuit 234 to the communication circuits 222 of the robotic machines 301, 302. For example, the task manager 232 may communicate messages wirelessly in the form of electromagnetic radio frequency signals. The first and second robotic machines 301, 302 are configured to transmit messages to the task manager 232 via the respective communication circuits 222. The robotic machines 301, 302 are also able to communicate with each other using the communication circuits 222. For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”, ¶ 0057, “The first robotic machine may be configured to transmit a status notification upon starting and/or completing each sub-task in the first sequence, or may transmit status notifications only upon starting and/or completing certain designated sub-tasks of the sub-tasks in the first sequence, which may be identified in the command message sent from the task manager. At 430, the second robotic machine provides a status notification to the first robotic machine. The status notification from the second robotic machine may be similar in form and/or function to the status notification sent from the first robotic machine at 428. The first robotic machine receives the status notification from the second robotic machine at 432.”, ¶ 0058, “At 436 and 438, respectively, the first and second robotic machines complete the performances of the first and second sequences of sub-tasks. At 440, the first robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the first sequence is completed. At 442, the second robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the second sequence is completed. The first and second robotic machines may also notify each other upon completing the sequences of sub-tasks, and optionally may only transmit a single task completion notification to the task manager instead of one notification from each robotic machine. The one or more notifications inform the task manager that the assigned task is completed. At 444, the task manager receives and processes the one or more notifications. The notification may also provide feedback information to the task manager, such as force parameters used to manipulate the target object on the vehicle and other parameters monitored and recorded during the performance of the sub-tasks. The information received in the task completion notification may be used by the task manager to update the information provided in future command messages to robotic machines, such as the sequences of sub-tasks contained in the command messages. Upon receiving the task completion notification, the task manager may generate a new task for the same or different robotic machines. For example, the task manager may assign the same task to the same robotic machines for the robotic machines to perform the task on another vehicle in the same or a different vehicle system. Thus, the first and second robotic machines may be controlled to move along a length of a vehicle system to perform the assigned task on multiple vehicles of the vehicle system. Alternatively, the task manager may control the same or different robotic machines to perform a different assigned task on the same vehicle after completion of a first assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.);
receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed (Tan: Abstract, “A system includes first and second robotic machines and a task manager. The first and second robotic machines have respective first and second sets of capabilities for interacting with a surrounding environment. The task manager selects the first and second robotic machines from a group to perform a task based on the first and second sets of capabilities of the robotic machines. The task involves manipulating and/or inspecting a target object of a vehicle. The task manager assigns a first sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the first robotic machine and a second sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the second robotic machine. The first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine with performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine to accomplish the task.”, ¶ 0047, “The task manager 232 is configured to communicate with the first and second robotic machines 301, 302 via the transmission of messages from the communication circuit 234 to the communication circuits 222 of the robotic machines 301, 302. For example, the task manager 232 may communicate messages wirelessly in the form of electromagnetic radio frequency signals. The first and second robotic machines 301, 302 are configured to transmit messages to the task manager 232 via the respective communication circuits 222. The robotic machines 301, 302 are also able to communicate with each other using the communication circuits 222. For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”, ¶ 0057, “The first robotic machine may be configured to transmit a status notification upon starting and/or completing each sub-task in the first sequence, or may transmit status notifications only upon starting and/or completing certain designated sub-tasks of the sub-tasks in the first sequence, which may be identified in the command message sent from the task manager. At 430, the second robotic machine provides a status notification to the first robotic machine. The status notification from the second robotic machine may be similar in form and/or function to the status notification sent from the first robotic machine at 428. The first robotic machine receives the status notification from the second robotic machine at 432.”, ¶ 0058, “At 436 and 438, respectively, the first and second robotic machines complete the performances of the first and second sequences of sub-tasks. At 440, the first robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the first sequence is completed. At 442, the second robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the second sequence is completed. The first and second robotic machines may also notify each other upon completing the sequences of sub-tasks, and optionally may only transmit a single task completion notification to the task manager instead of one notification from each robotic machine. The one or more notifications inform the task manager that the assigned task is completed. At 444, the task manager receives and processes the one or more notifications. The notification may also provide feedback information to the task manager, such as force parameters used to manipulate the target object on the vehicle and other parameters monitored and recorded during the performance of the sub-tasks. The information received in the task completion notification may be used by the task manager to update the information provided in future command messages to robotic machines, such as the sequences of sub-tasks contained in the command messages. Upon receiving the task completion notification, the task manager may generate a new task for the same or different robotic machines. For example, the task manager may assign the same task to the same robotic machines for the robotic machines to perform the task on another vehicle in the same or a different vehicle system. Thus, the first and second robotic machines may be controlled to move along a length of a vehicle system to perform the assigned task on multiple vehicles of the vehicle system. Alternatively, the task manager may control the same or different robotic machines to perform a different assigned task on the same vehicle after completion of a first assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.),
in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region (Tan: ¶ 0055, “At 424, the first robotic machine commences execution of the first sequence of sub-tasks. At 426, the second robotic machine commences execution of the second sequence of sub-tasks. Although steps 424 and 426 are shown side-by-side in the diagram 400 of FIG. 4, the first and second robotic machines may or may not perform the respective sub-tasks during the same time period. Depending on the sequences of sub-tasks as communicated by the task manager, the first robotic machine may be ordered to start performing the sub-tasks in the first sequence before or after the second robotic machine starts performing the second sequence of sub-tasks.”, ¶ 0056, “In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the respective sequences of sub-tasks to accomplish the assigned task. Thus, the performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine is coordinated with the performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine. In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines coordinate by communicating directly with each other during the performances of the sub-tasks. At 428, the first robotic machine provides a status notification to the second robotic machine. The status notification may be a message that communicated wirelessly as electromagnetic RF signals from the communication circuit 222 of the first robotic machine 301 to the communication circuit 222 of the second robotic machine 302. The second robotic machine receives the status notification at 434. The status notification may inform the second robotic machine that the first robotic machine has started or completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. The second robotic machine processes the received status notification and may use the status notification to determine when to start performing certain sub-tasks in the second sequence. For example, at least some of the sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be sequential, such that the second robotic machine is configured to begin performance of a corresponding sub-task in the second sequence responsive to receiving the notification from the first robotic machine that the first robotic machine has completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. Other sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be performed concurrently by the first and second robotic machines, such that the time period that the first robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the first sequence at least partially overlaps the time period that the second robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the second sequence. For example, both robotic machines may concurrently move towards the vehicle. In another example, the first robotic machine may extend a robotic arm towards the target object of the vehicle concurrently with the second robotic machine lifting the first robotic machine. Coordinated and concurrent actions by the robotic machines may enhance the efficiency of the performance of the assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.);
receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller (Tan: Abstract, “A system includes first and second robotic machines and a task manager. The first and second robotic machines have respective first and second sets of capabilities for interacting with a surrounding environment. The task manager selects the first and second robotic machines from a group to perform a task based on the first and second sets of capabilities of the robotic machines. The task involves manipulating and/or inspecting a target object of a vehicle. The task manager assigns a first sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the first robotic machine and a second sequence of sub-tasks to be performed by the second robotic machine. The first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine with performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine to accomplish the task.”, ¶ 0047, “The task manager 232 is configured to communicate with the first and second robotic machines 301, 302 via the transmission of messages from the communication circuit 234 to the communication circuits 222 of the robotic machines 301, 302. For example, the task manager 232 may communicate messages wirelessly in the form of electromagnetic radio frequency signals. The first and second robotic machines 301, 302 are configured to transmit messages to the task manager 232 via the respective communication circuits 222. The robotic machines 301, 302 are also able to communicate with each other using the communication circuits 222. For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”, ¶ 0057, “The first robotic machine may be configured to transmit a status notification upon starting and/or completing each sub-task in the first sequence, or may transmit status notifications only upon starting and/or completing certain designated sub-tasks of the sub-tasks in the first sequence, which may be identified in the command message sent from the task manager. At 430, the second robotic machine provides a status notification to the first robotic machine. The status notification from the second robotic machine may be similar in form and/or function to the status notification sent from the first robotic machine at 428. The first robotic machine receives the status notification from the second robotic machine at 432.”, ¶ 0058, “At 436 and 438, respectively, the first and second robotic machines complete the performances of the first and second sequences of sub-tasks. At 440, the first robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the first sequence is completed. At 442, the second robotic machine transmits a task completion notification to the task manager that the second sequence is completed. The first and second robotic machines may also notify each other upon completing the sequences of sub-tasks, and optionally may only transmit a single task completion notification to the task manager instead of one notification from each robotic machine. The one or more notifications inform the task manager that the assigned task is completed. At 444, the task manager receives and processes the one or more notifications. The notification may also provide feedback information to the task manager, such as force parameters used to manipulate the target object on the vehicle and other parameters monitored and recorded during the performance of the sub-tasks. The information received in the task completion notification may be used by the task manager to update the information provided in future command messages to robotic machines, such as the sequences of sub-tasks contained in the command messages. Upon receiving the task completion notification, the task manager may generate a new task for the same or different robotic machines. For example, the task manager may assign the same task to the same robotic machines for the robotic machines to perform the task on another vehicle in the same or a different vehicle system. Thus, the first and second robotic machines may be controlled to move along a length of a vehicle system to perform the assigned task on multiple vehicles of the vehicle system. Alternatively, the task manager may control the same or different robotic machines to perform a different assigned task on the same vehicle after completion of a first assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages clearly show that two robots are controlled such that the can collaboratively complete tasks. Said robots are configured to transmit messages between the robots themselves and a task manager. Additionally, said robots are configured to send notifications to each other upon starting and completing each task/sub-task.),
and in response to the received notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region, the second robot controller causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of a second coating region (Tan: ¶ 0055, “At 424, the first robotic machine commences execution of the first sequence of sub-tasks. At 426, the second robotic machine commences execution of the second sequence of sub-tasks. Although steps 424 and 426 are shown side-by-side in the diagram 400 of FIG. 4, the first and second robotic machines may or may not perform the respective sub-tasks during the same time period. Depending on the sequences of sub-tasks as communicated by the task manager, the first robotic machine may be ordered to start performing the sub-tasks in the first sequence before or after the second robotic machine starts performing the second sequence of sub-tasks.”, ¶ 0056, “In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines are configured to coordinate performance of the respective sequences of sub-tasks to accomplish the assigned task. Thus, the performance of the first sequence of sub-tasks by the first robotic machine is coordinated with the performance of the second sequence of sub-tasks by the second robotic machine. In an embodiment, the first and second robotic machines coordinate by communicating directly with each other during the performances of the sub-tasks. At 428, the first robotic machine provides a status notification to the second robotic machine. The status notification may be a message that communicated wirelessly as electromagnetic RF signals from the communication circuit 222 of the first robotic machine 301 to the communication circuit 222 of the second robotic machine 302. The second robotic machine receives the status notification at 434. The status notification may inform the second robotic machine that the first robotic machine has started or completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. The second robotic machine processes the received status notification and may use the status notification to determine when to start performing certain sub-tasks in the second sequence. For example, at least some of the sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be sequential, such that the second robotic machine is configured to begin performance of a corresponding sub-task in the second sequence responsive to receiving the notification from the first robotic machine that the first robotic machine has completed a specific sub-task in the first sequence. Other sub-tasks in the first and second sequences may be performed concurrently by the first and second robotic machines, such that the time period that the first robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the first sequence at least partially overlaps the time period that the second robotic machine performs a given sub-task in the second sequence. For example, both robotic machines may concurrently move towards the vehicle. In another example, the first robotic machine may extend a robotic arm towards the target object of the vehicle concurrently with the second robotic machine lifting the first robotic machine. Coordinated and concurrent actions by the robotic machines may enhance the efficiency of the performance of the assigned task on the vehicle.”. The cited passages shows that the two robots are configured to perform the designated tasks/sub-task in a coordinated manner. To facilitate this the robots are configured to send notifications to each other indicating when the task/sub-task is started, completed, and other status notifications. Furthermore, as can be seen, the robots can be configured such that the second robot waits for the first robot to send a notification that is has started it’s task before starting the task assigned to the second robot.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the robot system taught in Kito in view of Tsushi in further view of Harlow with sending, by the first robot controller, a notification to a second robot controller of the second coating robot that the coating of a first coating region is being performed by the first coating robot, receiving, by the second robot controller, the notification that the coating of the first coating region is being performed; in response to the receiving of the notification, calculating, by the second robot controller, a second required coating material amount required for the coating by the second coating robot before the first coating robot completes the coating of the first coating region; receiving, by the second robot controller, a notification of completion of the coating of the first coating region from the first robot controller, and in response to the received notification of the completion of the coating of the first coating region, the second robot controller causing, by the second robot controller, the second coating robot to begin coating of a second coating region taught in Tan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because allowing robots to communicate with each other while performing task allows the robots to coordinate their actions and perform the task correctly and efficiently (Tan: ¶ 0047, “For example, the robotic machines 301, 302 may transmit status-containing notification messages back and forth as the robotic machines 301, 302 collaborate to perform an assigned task in order to coordinate the actions of the robotic machines 301, 302 to perform the assigned task correctly and efficiently.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.W.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658