Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claims 1-11 stand rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a receive circuitry configured to receive”, “a transmit circuitry configured to transmit”, and “a control circuitry configured to control” in Claim 1, and “a receive circuitry configured to receive”, “a transmit circuitry configured to transmit”, and “a control circuitry configured to control” in Claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 1, Claim 1 recites: “a receive circuitry configured to receive a radio frame; a transmit circuitry configured to transmit a radio frame; and a control circuitry configured to control transmission and/or reception of a radio frame” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether each instance of “a radio frame” is the same “radio frame” or a different “radio frame”. The examiner suggests using the words first and second to distinguish different radio frames as a first radio frame and a second radio frame. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to state: a receive circuitry configured to receive a first radio frame; a transmit circuitry configured to transmit a second radio frame; and a control circuitry configured to control transmission of the second radio frame and/or reception of the first radio frame.
Claim 1 recites: “in a case that first information, included in the PHY header currently being received, to identify a radio system indicates a radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not, and it is unclear whether each instance of “a radio system” is the same “radio system” or a different “radio system”. The examiner suggests including the word if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, and to include the word the for the second instance of “radio system”, so that the above claim excerpt states: if first information, included in the PHY header currently being received, is to identify a radio system, the first information indicates the radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs.
Claim 1 recites: “in a case that a radio frame to be transmitted by the control circuitry is a direct link, a radio frame is transmitted to fit within Network Allocation Vector (NAV) of the PHY header currently being received” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether each instance of “a radio frame” is the same “radio frame” or a different “radio frame”, and it is unclear whether each instance of “a radio frame” is the same as or different from “a radio frame” recited earlier in the claim. The examiner suggests using the words first and second to distinguish different radio frames as a first radio frame and a second radio frame. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to state: in a case that the second radio frame to be transmitted by the control circuitry is a direct link, the second radio frame is transmitted to fit within Network Allocation Vector (NAV) of the PHY header currently being received.
Claim 1 recites: “in a case that a radio frame to be transmitted by the control circuitry is a direct link, a radio frame is transmitted to fit within Network Allocation Vector (NAV) of the PHY header currently being received” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the word if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: if the second radio frame to be transmitted by the control circuitry is to be transmitted in a direct link, the second radio frame is transmitted to fit within Network Allocation Vector (NAV) of the PHY header currently being received.
Claims 2-5 are rejected through dependence from Claim 1.
In regard to Claim 2, Claim 2 recites: “wherein in a case that second information included in the PHY header currently being received is specific information, the radio frame is transmitted” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the words if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: wherein if second information included in the PHY header currently being received is specific information, the radio frame is transmitted.
In regard to Claim 3, Claim 3 recites: “and in a case that the second information indicates that the communication is directed to the base station apparatus, the radio frame is transmitted” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the words if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: and if the second information indicates that the communication is directed to the base station apparatus, the radio frame is transmitted.
In regard to Claim 4, Claim 4 recites: “wherein the second information is information indicating a station that is a destination, and in a case that the destination of the second information does not indicate a destination of the radio frame that is transmitted, the radio frame is transmitted” (emphasis added). It is unclear how “second information” can be both “indicating a station that is a destination”, and also “not indicate a destination”. It is also unclear whether the two instances of “a destination” are the same destination or different destinations. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to indicate that “second information” is broadcasted with a destination that is not specific to only a single destination.
Claim 4 recites: “and in a case that the destination of the second information does not indicate a destination of the radio frame that is transmitted, the radio frame is transmitted” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the words if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: and if the destination of the second information does not indicate a destination of the radio frame that is transmitted, the radio frame is transmitted.
In regard to Claim 5, Claim 5 recites: “wherein the second information is information indicating a sector, and in a case that the second information does not indicate a sector where the radio communication apparatus belongs, the radio frame is transmitted” (emphasis added). It is unclear how “second information” can be both “indicating a sector”, and also “not indicate a sector”. It is also unclear whether the two instances of “a sector” are the same sector or different sectors. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to indicate that “second information” has value of zero that does not indicate only a single specific sector.
Claim 5 recites: “and in a case that the second information does not indicate a sector where the radio communication apparatus belongs, the radio frame is transmitted” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the words if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: and if the second information does not indicate a sector where the radio communication apparatus belongs, the radio frame is transmitted.
In regard to Claim 6, Claim 6 recites: “a receive circuitry configured to receive a radio frame; a transmit circuitry configured to transmit a radio frame; and a control circuitry configured to control transmission and/or reception of a radio frame” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether each instance of “a radio frame” is the same “radio frame” or a different “radio frame”. The examiner suggests using the words first and second to distinguish different radio frames as a first radio frame and a second radio frame. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to state: a receive circuitry configured to receive a first radio frame; a transmit circuitry configured to transmit a second radio frame; and a control circuitry configured to control transmission of the second radio frame and/or reception of the first radio frame.
Claim 6 recites: “in a case that first information, included in a PHY header currently being received, to identify a radio system indicates a radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not, and it is unclear whether each instance of “a radio system” is the same “radio system” or a different “radio system”. The examiner suggests including the word if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, and to include the word the for the second instance of “radio system”, so that the above claim excerpt states: if first information, included in a PHY header currently being received, is to identify a radio system, the first information indicates the radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs.
Claim 6 recites: “in a case that a destination of a radio frame to be transmitted by the control circuitry is the base station apparatus, a radio frame is transmitted to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether each instance of “a radio frame” is the same “radio frame” or a different “radio frame”, and it is unclear whether each instance of “a radio frame” is the same as or different from “a radio frame” recited earlier in the claim. The examiner suggests using the words first and second to distinguish different radio frames as a first radio frame and a second radio frame. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to state: in a case that a destination of the second radio frame to be transmitted by the control circuitry is the base station apparatus, the second radio frame is transmitted to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received.
Claim 6 recites: “in a case that a destination of a radio frame to be transmitted by the control circuitry is the base station apparatus, a radio frame is transmitted to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the word if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: if a destination of the second radio frame to be transmitted by the control circuitry is the base station apparatus, the second radio frame is transmitted to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received.
Claims 7-9 are rejected through dependence from Claim 6.
In regard to Claim 7, Claim 7 recites: “wherein in a case that second information included in the PHY header currently being received is specific information, the radio frame is transmitted” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the words if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: wherein if second information included in the PHY header currently being received is specific information, the radio frame is transmitted.
In regard to Claim 8, Claim 8 recites: “and in a case that the second information indicates that the direct link is used, the radio frame is transmitted” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the words if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: and if the second information indicates that the direct link is used, the radio frame is transmitted.
In regard to Claim 9, Claim 9 recites: “wherein in a case that third information indicating a sector is included in the PHY header currently being received, and in a case that the third information does not indicate a sector where the radio communication apparatus belongs, the radio frame is transmitted” (emphasis added). It is unclear how “third information” can be both “indicating a sector”, and also “not indicate a sector”. It is also unclear whether the two instances of “a sector” are the same sector or different sectors. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to indicate that “third information” has value of zero that does not indicate only a single specific sector.
Claim 9 recites: “wherein in a case that third information indicating a sector is included in the PHY header currently being received, and in a case that the third information does not indicate a sector where the radio communication apparatus belongs, the radio frame is transmitted” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with each case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the words if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: wherein if third information indicating a sector is included in the PHY header currently being received, and if the third information does not indicate a sector where the radio communication apparatus belongs, the radio frame is transmitted.
In regard to Claim 10, Claim 10 recites: “transmitting, in a case that first information, included in a PHY header currently being received, to identify a radio system indicates a radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not, and it is unclear whether each instance of “a radio system” is the same “radio system” or a different “radio system”. The examiner suggests including the word if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, and to include the word the for the second instance of “radio system”, so that the above claim excerpt states: transmitting, if first information, included in a PHY header currently being received, is to identify a radio system, the first information indicates the radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs.
Claim 10 recites: “receiving a radio frame; … and in a case that a radio frame to be transmitted is a direct link, a radio frame to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether each instance of “a radio frame” is the same “radio frame” or a different “radio frame”, and it is unclear whether each instance of “a radio frame” is the same as or different from “a radio frame” recited earlier in the claim. The examiner suggests using the words first and second to distinguish different radio frames as a first radio frame and a second radio frame. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to state: receiving a first radio frame; … and in a case that a second radio frame to be transmitted is a direct link, the second radio frame is to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received.
Claim 10 recites: “and in a case that a radio frame to be transmitted is a direct link, a radio frame to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the word if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: and if a second radio frame to be transmitted is to be transmitted in a direct link, the second radio frame is to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received.
In regard to Claim 11, Claim 11 recites: “transmitting, in a case that first information, included in a PHY header currently being received, to identify a radio system indicates a radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not, and it is unclear whether each instance of “a radio system” is the same “radio system” or a different “radio system”. The examiner suggests including the word if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, and to include the word the for the second instance of “radio system”, so that the above claim excerpt states: transmitting, if first information, included in a PHY header currently being received, is to identify a radio system, the first information indicates the radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs.
Claim 11 recites: “receiving a radio frame; … in a case that a destination of a radio frame to be transmitted is the base station apparatus, a radio frame to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether each instance of “a radio frame” is the same “radio frame” or a different “radio frame”, and it is unclear whether each instance of “a radio frame” is the same as or different from “a radio frame” recited earlier in the claim. The examiner suggests using the words first and second to distinguish different radio frames as a first radio frame and a second radio frame. The examiner will treat the above claim excerpt to state: receiving a first radio frame; … in a case that a destination of a second radio frame to be transmitted is the base station apparatus, the second radio frame is to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received.
Claim 11 recites: “and in a case that a destination of a radio frame to be transmitted is the base station apparatus, a radio frame to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received” (emphasis added). It is unclear whether the limitations associated with a case are actually required or not. The examiner suggests including the word if in place of “in a case” and including other appropriate words in the associated limitations, so that the above claim excerpt states: and if a destination of a second radio frame to be transmitted is the base station apparatus, the second radio frame is to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomeba et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190029041 A1), hereafter referred to as Tomeba.
In regard to Claim 1 as best understood, Tomeba teaches A radio communication apparatus (radio communication apparatus 2-1, Para. 95, FIGS. 5, 8) configured to communicate with a base station apparatus (radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 94, FIGS. 5, 8) and another radio communication apparatus (a method can also be performed in an ad hoc mode, in which terminal apparatuses directly communicate with each other, Para. 33, FIG. 5), the radio communication apparatus comprising: a receive circuitry (FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating an example of an apparatus configuration of the radio communication apparatuses 2A, and 2B. A reception unit (reception step) 10004-1, Para. 77, FIGS. 6, 8) configured to receive a radio frame (The radio communication apparatus 2-1 that has received the frame 801, Para. 95, FIG. 8).
Tomeba teaches a transmit circuitry (transmission unit (transmission step) 10003-1, Para. 77, FIG. 6) configured to transmit a radio frame (transmit a frame (frame 804), Para. 97, FIG. 8).
Tomeba teaches a control circuitry (autonomous distributed control unit (autonomous distributed control step) 10002-1, Para. 77, FIG. 6) configured to control transmission and/or reception of a radio frame (received the frame 801, Para. 95, FIG. 8. Transmit a frame (frame 804), Para. 97, FIG. 8).
Tomeba teaches wherein the receive circuitry (reception unit (reception step) 10004-1, Para. 77, FIGS. 6, 8) receives the radio frame (The radio communication apparatus 2-1 that has received the frame 801, Para. 95, FIG. 8).
Tomeba teaches a PHYsical (PHY) header of the received radio frame is demodulated (the terminal apparatus start an operation of demodulating at least a PHY layer signal, Para. 46. The terminal apparatus serving as a receiving station receives the transmission frame, reads the PHY header of the transmission frame, and demodulates the received transmission frame, Para. 49), and in a case that first information, included in the PHY header currently being received, to identify a radio system indicates a radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs (the PHY header can include information for identifying the transmission source BSS of the transmission frame (also referred to as BSS identification information), Para. 37).
Tomeba teaches in a case that a radio frame to be transmitted by the control circuitry is a direct link (the radio communication apparatus 2-1 can transmit a frame (frame 804) addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97, FIG. 8), a radio frame is transmitted (transmit a frame (frame 804), Para. 97, FIG. 8) to fit within Network Allocation Vector (NAV) of the PHY header currently being received (The terminal apparatus configures a Network allocation vector (NAV), based on the Length of the transmission frame written in the PHY header, Para. 51, FIG. 8. The radio communication apparatus 10-1 writes information indicating the duration in which the apparatus itself uses a radio medium, in the PHY header of the frame to transmit, to thereby be able to cause radio communication apparatuses near the apparatus itself to configure a NAV only during the duration, Para. 90, FIG. 8. The radio communication apparatus 2-1 that has received the frame 801 configures a NAV only for the TXOP duration 802, based on information included in the frame 801. It is illustrated, in FIG. 8, that the NAV durations are started from the end of the Preamble of the frame, Para. 95, FIG. 8).
In regard to Claim 2 as best understood, Tomeba teaches, wherein in a case that second information included in the PHY header currently being received is specific information (physical layer header (PHY header) including header information for performing signal processing in the physical layer, Para. 35, FIG. 8. In a case that the frame transmitted from the radio communication apparatus 1-1, which is the TXOP holder in the TROP, includes information providing, to the apparatus 2-1 itself, an instruction of transmission of a frame addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97), the radio frame is transmitted (the radio communication apparatus 2-1 can transmit a frame (frame 804) addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97, FIG. 8).
In regard to Claim 3 as best understood, Tomeba teaches, wherein the second information is information indicating whether communication is directed to the base station apparatus, and in a case that the second information indicates that the communication is directed to the base station apparatus (physical layer header (PHY header) including header information for performing signal processing in the physical layer, Para. 35, FIG. 8. In a case that the frame transmitted from the radio communication apparatus 1-1, which is the TXOP holder in the TROP, includes information providing, to the apparatus 2-1 itself, an instruction of transmission of a frame addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97), the radio frame is transmitted (the radio communication apparatus 2-1 can transmit a frame (frame 804) addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97, FIG. 8).
In regard to Claim 6 as best understood, Tomeba teaches A radio communication apparatus (radio communication apparatus 2-1, Para. 95, FIGS. 5, 8) configured to communicate with a base station apparatus (radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 94, FIGS. 5, 8) and another radio communication apparatus (a method can also be performed in an ad hoc mode, in which terminal apparatuses directly communicate with each other, Para. 33, FIG. 5), the radio communication apparatus comprising: a receive circuitry (FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating an example of an apparatus configuration of the radio communication apparatuses 2A, and 2B. A reception unit (reception step) 10004-1, Para. 77, FIGS. 6, 8) configured to receive a radio frame (The radio communication apparatus 2-1 that has received the frame 801, Para. 95, FIG. 8).
Tomeba teaches a transmit circuitry (transmission unit (transmission step) 10003-1, Para. 77, FIG. 6) configured to transmit a radio frame (transmit a frame (frame 804), Para. 97, FIG. 8).
Tomeba teaches a control circuitry (autonomous distributed control unit (autonomous distributed control step) 10002-1, Para. 77, FIG. 6) configured to control transmission and/or reception of a radio frame (received the frame 801, Para. 95, FIG. 8. Transmit a frame (frame 804), Para. 97, FIG. 8).
Tomeba teaches wherein the receive circuitry (reception unit (reception step) 10004-1, Para. 77, FIGS. 6, 8) receives the radio frame (The radio communication apparatus 2-1 that has received the frame 801, Para. 95, FIG. 8).
Tomeba teaches a PHY header of the received radio frame is demodulated (the terminal apparatus start an operation of demodulating at least a PHY layer signal, Para. 46. The terminal apparatus serving as a receiving station receives the transmission frame, reads the PHY header of the transmission frame, and demodulates the received transmission frame, Para. 49), and in a case that first information, included in a PHY header currently being received, to identify a radio system indicates a radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs (the PHY header can include information for identifying the transmission source BSS of the transmission frame (also referred to as BSS identification information), Para. 37).
Tomeba teaches in a case that a destination of a radio frame to be transmitted by the control circuitry is the base station apparatus (In a case that the frame transmitted from the radio communication apparatus 1-1, which is the TXOP holder in the TROP, includes information providing, to the apparatus 2-1 itself, an instruction of transmission of a frame addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, the radio communication apparatus 2-1 can transmit a frame (frame 804) addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97, FIG. 8), a radio frame is transmitted (transmit a frame (frame 804), Para. 97, FIG. 8) to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received (The terminal apparatus configures a Network allocation vector (NAV), based on the Length of the transmission frame written in the PHY header, Para. 51, FIG. 8. The radio communication apparatus 10-1 writes information indicating the duration in which the apparatus itself uses a radio medium, in the PHY header of the frame to transmit, to thereby be able to cause radio communication apparatuses near the apparatus itself to configure a NAV only during the duration, Para. 90, FIG. 8. The radio communication apparatus 2-1 that has received the frame 801 configures a NAV only for the TXOP duration 802, based on information included in the frame 801. It is illustrated, in FIG. 8, that the NAV durations are started from the end of the Preamble of the frame, Para. 95, FIG. 8).
In regard to Claim 7 as best understood, Tomeba teaches, wherein in a case that second information included in the PHY header currently being received is specific information (physical layer header (PHY header) including header information for performing signal processing in the physical layer, Para. 35, FIG. 8. In a case that the frame transmitted from the radio communication apparatus 1-1, which is the TXOP holder in the TROP, includes information providing, to the apparatus 2-1 itself, an instruction of transmission of a frame addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97), the radio frame is transmitted (the radio communication apparatus 2-1 can transmit a frame (frame 804) addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97, FIG. 8).
In regard to Claim 8 as best understood, Tomeba teaches, wherein the second information is information indicating whether a direct link is used, and in a case that the second information indicates that the direct link is used (physical layer header (PHY header) including header information for performing signal processing in the physical layer, Para. 35, FIG. 8. In a case that the frame transmitted from the radio communication apparatus 1-1, which is the TXOP holder in the TROP, includes information providing, to the apparatus 2-1 itself, an instruction of transmission of a frame addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97), the radio frame is transmitted (the radio communication apparatus 2-1 can transmit a frame (frame 804) addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97, FIG. 8).
In regard to Claim 10 as best understood, Tomeba teaches A radio communication method used in a radio communication apparatus (radio communication apparatus 2-1, Para. 95, FIGS. 5, 8) that communicates with a base station apparatus (radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 94, FIGS. 5, 8) and another radio communication apparatus (a method can also be performed in an ad hoc mode, in which terminal apparatuses directly communicate with each other, Para. 33, FIG. 5), the method comprising the steps of: receiving a radio frame (The radio communication apparatus 2-1 that has received the frame 801, Para. 95, FIG. 8).
Tomeba teaches demodulating a PHY header of the received radio frame (the terminal apparatus start an operation of demodulating at least a PHY layer signal, Para. 46. The terminal apparatus serving as a receiving station receives the transmission frame, reads the PHY header of the transmission frame, and demodulates the received transmission frame, Para. 49).
Tomeba teaches transmitting (transmit a frame (frame 804), Para. 97, FIG. 8), in a case that first information, included in a PHY header currently being received, to identify a radio system indicates a radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs (the PHY header can include information for identifying the transmission source BSS of the transmission frame (also referred to as BSS identification information), Para. 37).
Tomeba teaches in a case that a radio frame to be transmitted is a direct link (the radio communication apparatus 2-1 can transmit a frame (frame 804) addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97, FIG. 8), a radio frame (transmit a frame (frame 804), Para. 97, FIG. 8) to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received (The terminal apparatus configures a Network allocation vector (NAV), based on the Length of the transmission frame written in the PHY header, Para. 51, FIG. 8. The radio communication apparatus 10-1 writes information indicating the duration in which the apparatus itself uses a radio medium, in the PHY header of the frame to transmit, to thereby be able to cause radio communication apparatuses near the apparatus itself to configure a NAV only during the duration, Para. 90, FIG. 8. The radio communication apparatus 2-1 that has received the frame 801 configures a NAV only for the TXOP duration 802, based on information included in the frame 801. It is illustrated, in FIG. 8, that the NAV durations are started from the end of the Preamble of the frame, Para. 95, FIG. 8).
In regard to Claim 11 as best understood, Tomeba teaches A radio communication method used in a radio communication apparatus (radio communication apparatus 2-1, Para. 95, FIGS. 5, 8) that communicates with a base station apparatus (radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 94, FIGS. 5, 8) and another radio communication apparatus (a method can also be performed in an ad hoc mode, in which terminal apparatuses directly communicate with each other, Para. 33, FIG. 5), the method comprising the steps of: receiving a radio frame (The radio communication apparatus 2-1 that has received the frame 801, Para. 95, FIG. 8).
Tomeba teaches demodulating a PHY header of the received radio frame (the terminal apparatus start an operation of demodulating at least a PHY layer signal, Para. 46. The terminal apparatus serving as a receiving station receives the transmission frame, reads the PHY header of the transmission frame, and demodulates the received transmission frame, Para. 49).
Tomeba teaches transmitting (transmit a frame (frame 804), Para. 97, FIG. 8), in a case that first information, included in a PHY header currently being received, to identify a radio system indicates a radio system where the radio communication apparatus belongs (the PHY header can include information for identifying the transmission source BSS of the transmission frame (also referred to as BSS identification information), Para. 37).
Tomeba teaches in a case that a destination of a radio frame to be transmitted is the base station apparatus (In a case that the frame transmitted from the radio communication apparatus 1-1, which is the TXOP holder in the TROP, includes information providing, to the apparatus 2-1 itself, an instruction of transmission of a frame addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, the radio communication apparatus 2-1 can transmit a frame (frame 804) addressed to the radio communication apparatus 1-1, Para. 97, FIG. 8), a radio frame (transmit a frame (frame 804), Para. 97, FIG. 8) to fit within NAV of the PHY header currently being received (The terminal apparatus configures a Network allocation vector (NAV), based on the Length of the transmission frame written in the PHY header, Para. 51, FIG. 8. The radio communication apparatus 10-1 writes information indicating the duration in which the apparatus itself uses a radio medium, in the PHY header of the frame to transmit, to thereby be able to cause radio communication apparatuses near the apparatus itself to configure a NAV only during the duration, Para. 90, FIG. 8. The radio communication apparatus 2-1 that has received the frame 801 configures a NAV only for the TXOP duration 802, based on information included in the frame 801. It is illustrated, in FIG. 8, that the NAV durations are started from the end of the Preamble of the frame, Para. 95, FIG. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomeba in view of Chou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240057153 A1), hereafter referred to as Chou.
In regard to Claim 4 as best understood, as presented in the rejection of Claim 2, Tomeba teaches second information.
Tomeba fails to teach wherein the second information is information indicating a station that is a destination, and in a case that the destination of the second information does not indicate a destination of the radio frame that is transmitted, the radio frame is transmitted.
Chou teaches wherein the second information is information indicating a station that is a destination, and in a case that the destination of the second information does not indicate a destination of the radio frame that is transmitted (gNB 104 generally determines 702 to configure the UE 102 to initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure, such as by broadcasting 704 information (e.g., physical RACH (PRACH) occasion and RA preamble) associated with a RACH procedure in system information on the shared carrier to the UE 102, Para. 67, FIG. 7A), the radio frame is transmitted (in response to receiving the broadcasted system information, the UE 102 selects the PRACH occasion and the RA preamble to initiate 705 the RACH procedure, Para. 68, FIG. 7A. The UE 102 subsequently transmit 722 the RA preamble to the gNB 104 at the PRACH occasion (e.g., indicated in the broadcasted system information by gNB 104), Para. 69, FIG. 7A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chou with the teachings of Tomeba since Chou provides a technique for conveying information through broadcasted communications without a dedicated destination address, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Tomeba to permit communication apparatuses to provide necessary information to other communication apparatuses through broadcasts without dedicated destination addresses of other devices.
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomeba in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160066198 A1), hereafter referred to as Wang.
In regard to Claim 5 as best understood, as presented in the rejection of Claim 2, Tomeba teaches second information.
Tomeba fails to teach wherein the second information is information indicating a sector, and in a case that the second information does not indicate a sector where the radio communication apparatus belongs, the radio frame is transmitted.
Wang teaches wherein the second information is information indicating a sector, and in a case that the second information does not indicate a sector where the radio communication apparatus belongs (the combined Sectorized TXOP indication and Sector ID indication field may consist of any number of bits. One of the bit patterns, for example, “00” for a two bit indication field, or “000” for a three bit indication field, may be used to indicate that the packet carrying the combined indication is used to reserve a TXOP for omni-directional transmissions. The bit patterns in the indication field that are not all zeros may be used to indicate the Sector ID for which a sectorized TXOP is being reserved, Para. 92), the radio frame is transmitted (Any response frame, such as an ACK or CTS, though transmitted omni-directionally, may also carry the Sectorized Transmission indication since it is part of the sectorized transmission packet exchange, Para. 93).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Tomeba since Wang provides a technique for utilizing a Sector ID to convey whether or not sectorized communications is to be exchanged, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Tomeba to permit communication apparatuses in systems employing sectorized communications to indicate whether or not sectorized communications are to be utilized in frame transmissions.
In regard to Claim 9 as best understood, as presented in the rejection of Claim 6, Tomeba teaches the PHY header.
Tomeba fails to teach wherein in a case that third information indicating a sector is included in the PHY header currently being received, and in a case that the third information does not indicate a sector where the radio communication apparatus belongs, the radio frame is transmitted.
Wang teaches, wherein in a case that third information indicating a sector is included in the PHY header currently being received, and in a case that the third information does not indicate a sector where the radio communication apparatus belongs (the combined Sectorized TXOP indication and Sector ID indication field may consist of any number of bits. One of the bit patterns, for example, “00” for a two bit indication field, or “000” for a three bit indication field, may be used to indicate that the packet carrying the combined indication is used to reserve a TXOP for omni-directional transmissions. The bit patterns in the indication field that are not all zeros may be used to indicate the Sector ID for which a sectorized TXOP is being reserved, Para. 92), the radio frame is transmitted (Any response frame, such as an ACK or CTS, though transmitted omni-directionally, may also carry the Sectorized Transmission indication since it is part of the sectorized transmission packet exchange, Para. 93).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Tomeba since Wang provides a technique for utilizing a Sector ID to convey whether or not sectorized communications is to be exchanged, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Tomeba to permit communication apparatuses in systems employing sectorized communications to indicate whether or not sectorized communications are to be utilized in frame transmissions.
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
8-4-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477