DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicants argument, see Remarks Page 4, paragraph 5, disclosing “Kormanyos only teaches characterizing an integrated circuit, not a PCB-Kormanyos' entire description centers around characterizing an IC.” Examiner disagrees. Kormanyos discloses in Para [0037] the stimulus is supplied to a “not powered on” IC. When microwave radiation moves across the IC, via leakage paths, parasitic coupling and reflection from discontinuities between the metal, polysilicon, and transistor devices influence the microwave signal. It is well known in printed circuit board testing, checks of the mechanical and electrical interconnects of the board as it relates to continuity of copper traces, solder joint quality, component soldering, and overall board assembly checks are carried out. Thus, Kormanyos disclosing the signal moving across the IC, via leakage paths, parasitic coupling and reflection from discontinuities between the metal, polysilicon, and transistor devices further correspond to authentication of the printed circuit board to which circuit devices are coupled to. Thus, Kormanyos discloses characterizing authentication of a printed circuit board. Further Applicant’s Specification discloses a DUT 102 as a printed circuit board including associated components on the PCB and packaging (Applicant’s Specification Para [0001, 0007, 0010]). The teaching in Applicant’s Specification of the PCB includes components when verifying the integrity and authenticity of the PCB (Para [0007]).
Regarding Applicant’s argument, see Remarks Pages 4-5, paragraph 6, disclosing “Kormanyos teaching of the use of RF signals coupled to pin pairs to observe how they propagate through "leakage paths, parasitic coupling and reflection from discontinuities between the metal, polysilicon, and transistor devices." (See Kormanyos [0037].) These are internal electromagnetic structures of the IC-not a power distribution network.” Examiner disagrees. Kormanyos' power distribution network is the RF signal coupled to deliver/propagate a signal to the paths and devices. It is well known in RF systems, power distribution networks apply signals to multiple points in the system. Kormanyos discloses the RF energy that is reflected back on the input signal, and measuring the RF energy present (Para [0010]). Further discloses the RF power level applied during the characterization may be controlled in Para [0051]. Applicant claims a characterization of a power distribution network while arguing “Such is also fundamentally different from characterizing a PDN. Kormanyos never measures supply-rail impedance, never probes a power terminal, and never discusses PDN behavior” which is not claimed. Therefore, Kormanyos discloses characterizing a power distribution network of a printed circuit board to produce a signature based upon a reflection response parameter; and comparing the signature from said characterizing to a known signature based upon a reflection response parameter for a corresponding authentic printed circuit board to identify differences.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks 5-6, Examiners response is similar to above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kormanyos (US 20120183186), hereinafter ‘Kormanyos’.
Regarding Claim 1, Kormanyos discloses a method for verifying whether a printed circuit board is authentic (Para [0013] a method for verifying the authenticity of an integrated circuit), comprising: characterizing a power distribution network of a printed circuit board to produce a signature based upon a reflection response parameter (Para [0037] a stimulus is supplied to DUT 104, for example, RF signals are coupled to pin pairs of a not "powered on" IC. When microwave radiation moves across the IC, via leakage paths, parasitic coupling and reflection from discontinuities between the metal, polysilicon, and transistor devices influence the microwave signal depending on their size and location. The response to this stimulus is captured in step s410, since the amplitude and phase of each signal path is a function of the frequency; It is well known in printed circuit board testing, checks of the mechanical and electrical interconnects of the board as it relates to continuity of copper traces, solder joint quality, component soldering, and overall board assembly checks are carried out. Thus, Kormanyos disclosing the signal moving across the IC, via leakage paths, parasitic coupling and reflection from discontinuities between the metal, polysilicon, and transistor devices further correspond to authentication of the printed circuit board to which circuit devices are coupled to. Thus Kormanyos discloses characterizing authentication of a printed circuit board; Further it is well known in RF systems, power distribution networks apply signals to multiple points in the system; Para [0010] stimulating a pin of an un-powered circuit direct RF probing, while measuring the RF energy that is reflected back on the input signal and measuring the RF energy that is present on the other pins. The measurement is repeated for every pin of the circuit. The generated measurement data represents a unique fingerprint of the circuit; the RF power level applied during the characterization may be controlled in Para [0051]); and comparing the signature from said characterizing to a known signature based upon a reflection response parameter for a corresponding authentic printed circuit board to identify differences (Para [0013] characterizing an integrated circuit of known pedigree, characterizing an integrated circuit of unknown background, and comparing the fingerprints of the two integrated circuits; Para [0034] the trusted fingerprint is compared to the new fingerprint. A match of the fingerprint characteristics points to the authenticity of the new DUT 104).
Regarding Claim 2, Kormanyos further discloses characterizing a power distribution network of the corresponding authentic printed circuit board to produce the known signature (Para [0032] DUT 104, such as an IC with a known pedigree is characterized, to create a "trusted" RF fingerprint. RF instrumentation 102 using probing means 110 is applied to DUT 104. The resulting RF fingerprint data is than stored as a "trusted fingerprint" in database 108).
Regarding Claims 3 and 7, Kormanyos further discloses wherein said reflection response parameter comprises amplitude (|S.sub.11|) and phase (∠S.sub.11) (Para [0037] The response to this stimulus is captured in step s410, since the amplitude and phase of each signal path is a function of the frequency).
Regarding Claim 6, Kormanyos a method for verifying whether a printed circuit board is authentic (Para [0013] a method for verifying the authenticity of an integrated circuit), comprising: characterizing a power distribution network of a printed circuit board to produce a first signature based upon a reflection response parameter (Para [0037] a stimulus is supplied to DUT 104, for example, RF signals are coupled to pin pairs of a not "powered on" IC. When microwave radiation moves across the IC, via leakage paths, parasitic coupling and reflection from discontinuities between the metal, polysilicon, and transistor devices influence the microwave signal depending on their size and location. The response to this stimulus is captured in step s410, since the amplitude and phase of each signal path is a function of the frequency; Para [0010] stimulating a pin of an un-powered circuit direct RF probing, while measuring the RF energy that is reflected back on the input signal and measuring the RF energy that is present on the other pins. The measurement is repeated for every pin of the circuit. The generated measurement data represents a unique fingerprint of the circuit); characterizing a power distribution network of a second printed circuit board to produce a second signature based upon a reflection response parameter (Para [0033] when a new DUT 104 is to be verified for authenticity, the new DUT 104 is probed using an identical characterization process to that used in step s302 to create the trusted fingerprint. The result is a new fingerprint representing new DUT 104); and determining a distance between the first signature and the second signature (Para [0013] characterizing an integrated circuit of known pedigree, characterizing an integrated circuit of unknown background, and comparing the fingerprints of the two integrated circuits; Para [0034] the trusted fingerprint is compared to the new fingerprint. A match of the fingerprint characteristics points to the authenticity of the new DUT 104, interpreted as determining a distance between first and second signature).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kormanyos (US 20120183186), hereinafter ‘Kormanyos’ as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keller et al. (US 20120226463), hereinafter “Keller’.
Regarding Claims 4 and 8, Kormanyos fails to explicitly disclose wherein said signature comprises S.sub.11 data, and further comprising: mathematically modeling the S.sub.11 data.
Keller teaches a system and method for detecting counterfeit electronic devices (Para [0004]) comprising mathematically modeling (Claim 43 high precision input injected into said semiconductor based device and the step of combining, through averaging or other mathematical transform, RF data collections of at least two measured responses to improve counterfeit inspection) the S.sub.11 data (Para [0124] frequency change may be associated with different frequency amplitude settings and/or different relative phases between two or more signals. When at least two inputs are injected with the oscillating input 44, the collected RF emission data for each input is compared individually against the expected signature and injection into all inputs simultaneously) for the benefit of determining condition of a genuine or counterfeit device (Para [0124]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine and provide wherein said signature comprises S.sub.11 data, and further comprising: mathematically modeling the S.sub.11 data for the benefit of determining condition of a genuine or counterfeit device as taught by Keller in Para [0124, Clm 43].
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kormanyos (US 20120183186), hereinafter ‘Kormanyos’ in view of Keller et al. (US 20120226463), hereinafter “Keller’ as applied to claim 4 and 8 above, and further in view of Goronzy et al. (US 20050131688), hereinafter ‘Goronzy’.
Regarding Claims 5 and 9, Kormanyos in view of Keller fail to explicitly disclose wherein said mathematically modeling comprises using a Gaussian mixture model to process data collected from said characterizing.
Goronzy discloses partitioning audio signals into audio clips, and class discrimination means for discriminating the audio clips provided by the audio signal clipping means into predetermined audio classes and a determination process to find acceptable audio class classifying rules for each audio class using mathematically modeling comprising a Gaussian mixture model to process data collected from said characterizing as it is profitable that parameters for maximum likelihood linear regression transformation and/or Maximum a Posteriori used in the Gaussian Mixture Models are adjusted to train the Gaussian Mixture Models.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine and use a Gaussian mixture model to process data collected from said characterizing as it is profitable that parameters for maximum likelihood linear regression transformation and/or Maximum a Posteriori used in the Gaussian Mixture Models are adjusted to train the Gaussian Mixture Models and provide class confidence value for signals as taught by Goronzy in Para [0121, Abstract].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALESA ALLGOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858