DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12, 14-17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0177413) in view of Han et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0204506), alone, or, alternatively, further in view of Kosonen et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0319136).
With regards to claims 1, 15, 16 and 17, Kwon et al. disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, a wearable device and a blood pressure measurement method of a wearable device (paragraph [0051], referring to the touch-type blood pressure measurement apparatus being mounted in “wearable devices”), wherein the wearable device comprises a pressure transducer (PT) (130; paragraph [0072], referring to the force sensor (130) being disposed below the PPG sensor (120); Figures 1, 4A), a screen/cover of optical transparency (paragraph [0056], referring to the touch sensor (110) having optical transparency, wherein the touch sensor (110) transmits the light emitted from the PPG sensor (120) to the finger (10), wherein, as depicted in Figures 1 and 4A, the touch sensor (110) forms a cover/screen of the optical sensor (120); paragraph [0103], referring to the transparent cover (115”) which may be made of transparent plastic or transparent glass to have optical transparency, wherein the user touches an upper portion of the transparent cover (115”); Figure 11A), and a photo diode (PD) (122; paragraph [0067], referring to the photodetector being formed by a photo diode), and the method comprises:
emitting a first optical signal through a first region of the screen/cover of optical transparency (paragraphs [0056], [0067], referring to the light source (121) of the touch sensor (110) transmitting the light emitted from the PPG sensor (120) to the finger (10); Figures 1, 4A);
converting, into a first photoplethysmography (PPG) signal, the first optical signal received by the PD (paragraphs [0066]-[0070], referring to the photodetector (122), which may be formed by a photo diode, detecting light returning from the tissue of the user which is irradiated by the light source (121), wherein the photodetector detects and provides the PPG signal; paragraphs [0011]-[0112], referring to a plurality of the PPG sensors (120) being formed in an array, wherein the controller may extract PPG signals from the PPG sensors (120) “using a time-division method”, which would thus result in obtaining a plurality of PPG signals in respectively different time slots, wherein one of the plurality of PPG signals corresponds to a “first PPG signal”; Figures 1, 4A, 12);
emitting a second optical signal through a second region of the screen/cover after adjusting from the first region of the display screen to the second region of the display screen when the first PPG signal does not satisfy the signal quality requirement (i.e. PPG signal having the maximum amplitude/”optimal PPG signal”), wherein the second region and the first region are different in at least one of the following features: a position, a luminance, an area size, or a shape on the display screen and converting, into a second PPG signal, the optical signal received by a second PD (paragraph [0078], referring to when the contact pressure (CP) is equal to the mean arterial pressure (MAP), the amplitude of the PPG signal is maximized; paragraph [0080], referring to the controller (140) analyzing the change in PPG signal according to the CP and “estimate that the CP corresponding to the PPG signal having the maximum amplitude is the MAP” and the controller (140) may set a blood pressure estimation interval which includes the maximum amplitude, and thus the optimal PPG signal for determining the MAP corresponds to a PPG signal having the maximum amplitude (i.e. “signal quality requirement”); paragraph [0112], referring to the controller (140) extracting PPG signals from the PPG sensors (120) using a time-division method, and then select “an optimal PPG signal” therefrom, thereby achieving a more accurate blood pressure, wherein the “time-division method” would result in obtaining a plurality of PPG signals in respectively different time slots, wherein one of the plurality of PPG signals corresponds to the “optimal PPG signal” (i.e. “second PPG signal”; Figures 4-6, 12, in particular, see Figure 12, wherein the plurality of PPG sensors in the array are located in different positions, and thus it would follow that the second region and the first region are different in at least a position on the cover/screen; further note that the second optical signal through the second region occurs “after adjusting from the first region..to the second region” when the first PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement, as there is only one optimal PPG signal and therefore obtaining the plurality of PPG signals in the respectively different time slots (i.e. via the time-division method)” would inherently require that the condition of the first PPG signal (i.e. signal associated with a PPG signal other than the optimal PPG signal) not satisfying the signal quality requirement (i.e. less than optimal PPG signals) exists and is associated with a PPG sensor in a different position from the position associated with the selected optimal PPG signal);
obtaining a pressure value (i.e. contact pressure (CP) corresponding to the PPG signal having the maximum amplitude) collected by the PT when the second PPG signal satisfies the signal quality requirement (i.e. PPG signal has a maximum amplitude) (paragraph [0076], referring to the contact pressure (CP) being obtained based on the touch force and contact area; paragraph [0078], referring to when the contact pressure (CP) is equal to the mean arterial pressure (MAP), the amplitude of the PPG signal is maximized; paragraph [0080], referring to the controller (140) analyzing the change in PPG signal according to the CP and “estimate that the CP corresponding to the PPG signal having the maximum amplitude is the MAP” and the controller (140) may set a blood pressure estimation interval which includes the maximum amplitude, and thus the optimal PPG signal for determining the MAP corresponds to a PPG signal having the maximum amplitude, and average the CP in the set blood pressure estimation interval or average the CP by applying a weight; Figures 4-6); and
determining a blood pressure value (i.e. mean arterial pressure (MAP)) of a wearer based on the pressure value and the second PPG signal (paragraph [0074], referring to “the controller 140 may obtain the user’s blood pressure by analyzing a change of the PPG signal according to the calculated contact pressure; paragraph [0078], referring to when the contact pressure (CP) is equal to the mean arterial pressure (MAP), the amplitude of the PPG signal is maximized; paragraph [0080], referring to the controller (140) may set a blood pressure estimation interval which includes the maximum amplitude, and thus the optimal PPG signal for determining the MAP corresponds to a PPG signal having the maximum amplitude, and average the CP in the set blood pressure estimation interval or average the CP by applying a weight; Figures 3-6).
However, though Kwon et al. disclose that the touch sensor (110) may be mounted in a hardware or software module for wearable devices and further that the cover/screen has an optical transparency (paragraphs [0051], [0103]-[0104]), Kwon et al. do not specifically disclose that the cover/screen is a “display” screen.
Further, Kwon et al. do not specifically disclose that the second PPG signal is converted from the second optical signal received by “the PD” (i.e. the same PD that receives the optical signal that is converted into the first PPG signal)
Han et al. disclose a PPG device that includes one or more light emitters and one or more light sensors to generate multiple light paths for measuring a PPG signal and perfusion indices of a user, wherein the device can be implemented in a wearable device (144), such as a wristwatch, that can include a touch screen (128) and can be attached to a user using a strap (146) (Abstract; paragraphs [0030], [0047], [0053]; Figure 1C). The touch screen can be a combination of a sensing device and a display device, wherein the sensing device can be integrated with the display device and the touch screen can recognize touches and the position and magnitude of touches on its surface (paragraph [0073]; Figure 1C). The device can include light emitters (406, 416) and a light sensor (404), wherein the light emitter (406) can have a separation distance (411) from light sensor (404) and the light emitter (416) can have a separation distance (413) from light sensor (404) (paragraph [0040]; Figures 4A,B). Light 422 from light emitter 406 can be incident on skin 420 and can reflect back as light 432 to be detected by light sensor 404 (paragraph [0041]; Figure 4B). Similarly, light 424 from light emitter 416 can be incident on skin 420 and can reflect back as light 434 to be detected by light sensor 404 paragraph [0041]; Figure 4B). Separation distance 411 can be small compared to separation distance 413, and as a result, light information 432 can have a higher PPG signal strength than light information 434 (paragraph [0041]; Figure 4B). Light information 432 can be employed for applications requiring a higher PPG signal strength (paragraph [0041], note that the detected optical signal (432) is detected by the same light sensor/detector that detects the other detected optical signal (434), wherein the ”higher PPG signal” is viewed as the optimal/desired PPG signal; Figure 4B). Due to the different separation distances (411, 413), light information (432, 434) can provide various combinations of PPG signals and perfusion index values to allow the device to dynamically select light information for particular user skin types and usage conditions (e.g., sedentary, active motion, etc.) (paragraphs [0041], [0044]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the cover/screen of Kwon et al. with a “display” screen, as taught by Han et al., as the substitution of one known touch sensor screen/cover for another yields predictable results (i.e. providing effective touch sensing) to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results are reasonably predictable.
Additionally, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the second PPG signal of Kwon et al. be converted from the optical signal received by “the PD” (i.e. the same PD that receives the optical signal that is converted into the first PPG signal), as taught by Han et al., in order to provide different separation distances between optical signal sources and the photo diode, and thus the received optical signals/light information can provide various combinations of PPG signals and perfusion index values to allow the device to dynamically select light information for particular user skin types and usage conditions (e.g., sedentary, active motion, etc.) (paragraphs [0041], [0044]).
With regards to the limitation concerning emitting the second optical signal through the second region of the display screen after adjusting from the first region of the display screen to the second region of the display screen specifically occurring “when the first PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement…”, if this limitation is not considered to be taught by Kwon et al., alternatively:
Kosonen et al. disclose a method and apparatus comprising a wearable device comprising a sensor platform (140) that is sandwiched between the body (110) and the skin (130), wherein the sensor platform supports a sensor (150), such as a photoplethysmogram (PPG) sensor, and an actuator (160) configured to adjust the position of the sensor platform with relation to the skin (Abstract; paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0048]-[0049]; Figures 1-3). The apparatus further comprises a processor (170) configured to receive the sensor signals and to determine suitable compensating movement of the sensor platform (140) from the sensor signals and to cause the actuator (160) to adjust the position of the sensor platform (140) in order to compensate for movements of the sensor that result in measurements that do not function reliability (i.e. low quality signals) or that results in the sensor interfering with normal blood flow in underlying fine veins being measured, wherein the actuator can enhance the reliability/accuracy of the photoplethysmogram (paragraphs [0042], [0045], [0049], note that adjustments are performed when the measurements (i.e. PPG signals) are unreliable (i.e. do not meet a signal quality requirement)). As depicted in Figure 3, it is first determined/detected if the sensor platform should be adjusted based on the measurement data from the sensor signals, and if it is determined that the sensor platform should be adjusted (i.e. YES from step 330 to 340), then the adjustment of the sensor platform by the actuator that results in an enhancement of the reliability/accuracy of the photoplethysmogram occurs (i.e. step 340 or step 350-360, which calibrates the sensor by varying the position of the sensor platform (140) to perform measurements with different positions) (paragraph [0060], note that a step that leads to an enhanced/optimal PPG signal is performed when it is determined that the PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement; Figure 3).
Therefore, alternatively, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the adjustment that provides an optimal PPG signal (i.e. emitting the second optical signal through a second region of the display screen after adjusting from the first region of the display screen to the second region of the display screen) of the above combined references occur “when the first PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement…”, as taught by Kosonen et al., in order to automatically compensate for movements of the sensor that result in measurements that do not function reliability (i.e. low quality signals), thereby enhancing the reliability/accuracy of the PPG signal measurements (paragraphs [0045], [0049]).
Additionally, with regards to claims 15, 16 and 17, Kwon et al. disclose that the wearable device further comprises a processor (140) and a memory (inherent for performing the functions) configured to store a computer program, wherein when the processor invokes the computer program, the wearable device is caused to perform the method (paragraphs [0050], [0053]-[0054], referring to the controller (140) which obtains the user’s blood pressure based on the contact area signal, the PPG signal and the touch force signal; Figures 1-2, 7).
With regards to claim 3, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1. Further, Kwon et al. disclose that the first PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement comprises an intensity of the first PPG signal is less than or equal to a preset intensity (paragraphs [0078], [0080], referring to the PPG signal having the maximum amplitude/intensity considered to be the signal quality requirement for the MAP to be determined). However, Kwon et al. do not specifically disclose that the first PPG signal does not satisfy the signal quality requirement further comprises the luminance of the second region being greater than the luminance of the first region. Han et al. disclose that the light information (432) associated with a separation distance (411) that is small compared to the separation distance (413) can be employed for applications requiring a higher PPG signal strength (i.e. signal quality requirement), wherein, as depicted in Figure 4B, the area of luminous intensity corresponding to the smaller distance (411) is smaller than the area of luminous intensity corresponding to the larger distance (413), and thus it would follow that the signal quality requirement (i.e. higher PPG signal strength) is met when the concentration of light (i.e. luminance) is greater than other areas, and correspondingly, the signal quality requirement is not met when the concentration of light (luminance) is smaller than other areas; paragraph [0041]; as depicted in Figure 4B, it is clear that the a first PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement (i.e. higher PPG signal strength) when the luminance of the second region (i.e. region corresponding to the smaller distance (411), which corresponds to a smaller light area and thus greater concentration of light (i.e. luminance)) is greater than the luminance of the first region (i.e. region corresponding to the larger distance (413) which corresponds to a larger light area and thus lower concentration of light (i.e. luminance); Figure 4B). Due to the different separation distances (411, 413), light information (432, 434) can provide various combinations of PPG signals and perfusion index values to allow the device to dynamically select light information for particular user skin types and usage conditions (e.g., sedentary, active motion, etc.) (paragraphs [0041], [0044]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first PPG signal of the above combined references be determined to not satisfy the signal quality requirement if the luminance of the second region is greater than the luminance of the first region, as taught by Han et al., in order to allow the device to dynamically select light information for particular user skin types and usage conditions (e.g., sedentary, active motion, etc.) (paragraphs [0041], [0044]).
With regards to claim 4, Han et al. disclose that the luminance of the second region is a maximum value (paragraph [0041]; Figure 4B, see smaller area corresponding to the second region (i.e. 422, 432), thus resulting in a luminance that is a maximum value (relative to the larger area corresponding to the first region (i.e. 434, 424); and Kwon et al. disclose that the method further comprises emitting the optical signal through a third region of the display screen if the second PPG signal does not satisfy the signal quality requirement, wherein a distance between a projection region of the PD on the display screen and the third region is less than a distance between the projection region of the PD on the display screen and the first region; paragraph [0112], referring to the controller (140) extracting PPG signals from the PPG sensors (120) using a time-division method, and then select “an optimal PPG signal” therefrom, thereby achieving a more accurate blood pressure, wherein the “time-division method” would result in obtaining a plurality of PPG signals in respectively different time slots, wherein one of the plurality of PPG signals corresponds to the “second PPG signal” and the “third PPG signal”; Figures 4-6, 12, in particular, see Figure 12, wherein the plurality of PPG sensors in the array are located in different positions/distances, and thus it would follow that a distance between a projection region of the PD on the display screen (i.e. one of the photo diodes of the plurality of PPG sensors, such as the PD corresponding to a third PPG sensor) and the third region is less than a distance between the projection region of the PD on the display screen and the first region (i.e. another region corresponding to another PPG sensor of the array as depicted in Figure 12); paragraph [0076], referring to the contact pressure (CP) being obtained based on the touch force and contact area; paragraph [0078], Figures 4-6); converting, into a third PPG signal (i.e. a third signal corresponding to a third PPG sensor of the array of PPG sensors), the optical signal received by the PD; obtaining the pressure value collected by the PT when the third PPG signal satisfies the signal quality requirement; and determining the blood pressure value of the wearer based on the pressure value and the third PPG signal (paragraph [0078], referring to when the contact pressure (CP) is equal to the mean arterial pressure (MAP), the amplitude of the PPG signal is maximized; paragraph [0080], referring to the controller (140) analyzing the change in PPG signal according to the CP and “estimate that the CP corresponding to the PPG signal having the maximum amplitude is the MAP” and the controller (140) may set a blood pressure estimation interval which includes the maximum amplitude, and thus the optimal PPG signal for determining the MAP corresponds to a PPG signal having the maximum amplitude (i.e. “signal quality requirement”); paragraph [0112], referring to the controller (140) extracting PPG signals from the PPG sensors (120) using a time-division method, and then select “an optimal PPG signal” therefrom, thereby achieving a more accurate blood pressure, wherein the “time-division method” would result in obtaining a plurality of PPG signals in respectively different time slots, wherein one of the plurality of PPG signals corresponds to the “optimal PPG signal” (i.e. “second PPG signal”; paragraph [0080], referring to the controller (140) may set a blood pressure estimation interval which includes the maximum amplitude, and thus the optimal PPG signal for determining the MAP corresponds to a PPG signal having the maximum amplitude, and average the CP in the set blood pressure estimation interval or average the CP by applying a weight; Figures 4-6, 12, in particular, see Figure 12, wherein the plurality of PPG sensors in the array are located in different positions, and thus it would follow that the third region and the first region are different in at least a position/distance on the cover/screen).
With regards to claim 5, Han et al. disclose that the shape of the second region is different from the shape of the first region (paragraph [0041], see Figure 4B, wherein the shape of the region through which the optical signal (422, 432) passes through is a different shape from the region through which the optical signal (424, 434) passes through).
With regards to claim 6, Han et al. disclose that the area size of the second region is different from the area size of the first region (paragraph [0041], see Figure 4B, wherein the area size of the region through which the optical signal (422, 432) passes through is a different area size from the region through which the optical signal (424, 434) passes through).
With regards to claims 7 and 18, Kwon et al. disclose that the pressure value comprises a plurality of pressure values (i.e. CP value associated with each PPG sensor of the array), the second PPG signal comprises a plurality of second PPG signals, the plurality of pressure values are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of second PPG signals, and a collection moment of each of the plurality of pressure values is same as that of a corresponding one of the second PPG signals (paragraph [0112], referring to the controller (140) extracting PPG signals from the PPG sensors (120) using a time-division method, and then select “an optimal PPG signal” therefrom, thereby achieving a more accurate blood pressure, wherein the “time-division method” would result in obtaining a plurality of PPG signals in respectively different time slots, wherein one of the plurality of PPG signals corresponds to the “second PPG signal”; Figures 4-6, 12, in particular, see Figure 12; paragraph [0076], referring to the contact pressure (CP) being obtained based on the touch force and contact area; paragraph [0078], Figures 4-6); and the determining a blood pressure value of a wearer based on the pressure value and the second PPG signal comprises: extracting a waveform feature of each of the plurality of second PPG signals; and determining, if a target second PPG signal whose waveform feature is less than or equal to a preset waveform feature exists in the plurality of second PPG signals, a pressure value corresponding to the target second PPG signal as a systolic blood pressure SBP in the blood pressure value of the wearer (paragraphs [0077]-[0080], referring to the controller analyzing the change of the PPG signal according to the CP and estimate the DBP and the SBP; Figures 4-6, wherein waveform features (i.e. amplitude) of the PPG signals is extracted, wherein if the amplitude is less than or equal to a preset waveform feature (i.e. amplitude compared to CP), a pressure value corresponding to the target second PPG signal as systolic blood pressure (SBP) is determined; paragraph [0130], referring to the controller estimating the contact pressure corresponding to the maximum amplitude between a DBP and an SBP is an average blood pressure and estimate the DBP and the SBP at the maximum amplitude).
With regards to claim 9, Kwon et al. disclose that before the obtaining a pressure value collected by the PT, the method further comprises: outputting an operation guide, wherein the operation guide is configured to guide the wearer to apply a pressure perpendicular to a contact surface between the wearable device and human skin to the wearable device in a preset pressing region, and the operation guide comprises a pressure value required for the wearer to press (paragraph [0013], referring to the apparatus including a display configured to display a contact pressure of the finger in contact with the touch sensor and a guide for the user to apply the contact pressure in a predetermined pattern to the touch sensor; paragraphs [0083]-[0084], [0122], referring to the display displaying a guideline (GL) on a contact time axis and a contact pressure axis, wherein the guideline GL increases linearly and decreases linearly after reaching the maximum value and referring to the user paying attention to the displayed varying CP in a graph on the contact time axis and the contact pressure axis to ensure that the CP displayed on a screen of the display does not deviate from a set range along the guideline (GL); Figures 8-9; see Figures 1-2, wherein the pressure is applied perpendicular to a contact surface between the wearable device and human skin).
With regards to claim 11, Kwon et al. disclose that the method further comprises displaying a first interface, wherein the first interface is configured to display a pressure curve, prompt information, and a waveform of the second PPG signal, the pressure curve is the operation guide, and the prompt information is configured for prompting a pressing duration of the wearer (paragraphs [0082]-[0087], referring to display which can display a guideline (GL) on a contact time axis and a contact pressure axis (i.e. pressure curve which serves as the operation guide), prompt information in the form of the guideline GL which the user can view to ensure that they do not deviate from a set range (associated with a time duration) along the guideline GL; further referring to the display of blood pressure information, including a warning or alarm and providing the PPG signal, touch force signal, etc.; Figures 7-9).
With regards to claims 12 and 20, Kwon et al. disclose that, wherein before the emitting an optical signal through a first region of the display screen, the method further comprises: determining whether the wearable device satisfies a blood pressure measurement condition (paragraphs [0054]-[0055], referring to sensing of the contact area, wherein the PPG sensor (120) measures a PPG of the user in a state where the finger (10) is in contact with the touch sensor (110) to generate a PPG signal; paragraphs [0084]-[0085], referring to the display indicating whether CP is on a scale S of high, adequate and low on the screen); and the emitting an optical signal through a first region of the display screen comprises: emitting the optical signal through the first region of the display screen when the blood pressure measurement condition is satisfied (paragraphs [0083]-[0086], referring to the display of the contact pressure of the touch sensor (110) in contact with the finger (10) guides the user to apply a contact pressure of a predetermined pattern to the touch sensor (110); paragraphs [0054], [0074]-[0080], referring to the PPG sensor (120) measuring a PPG of the user in a state where the finger (10) is in contact with the touch sensor (110) to generate a touch force signal, and therefore the optical signal will be emitted when the blood pressure measurement condition (i.e. at least adequate contact pressure) is satisfied).
With regards to claim 14, Han et al. disclose that the display screen is supported by a screen bracket (i.e. housing 610; Figures 6A-D), the screen bracket comprises an optical window (601), the PD (i.e. 604) is directly below the optical window (note that in Figures 6C,D, the top is viewed closer to the skin and the bottom is viewed as further from the skin and therefore the PD (604) is directly below the optical window (601)), a preset distance is defined between the PD and the optical window (see Figures 6A,C and D, wherein there is a preset distance between the PD (604) and the optical window (601) and Kwon et al. disclose that the PT (130) is located at a bottom of the wearable device and is configured to collect a pressure value between the wearable device (i.e. wristwatch as depicted in Figure 1C of Han et al.) and a wearing part (i.e. elements above the PT (130) as depicted in Figure 4A), and the wearing part is a contact part between the wearable device and the wearer (note that in the above combined references, wherein the wearable device is a wristwatch (see Figure 1C of Han et al.), the wearing part (i.e. elements above PT (130) in Figure 4A) is a contact part between the wearable device (i.e. wristwatch of the above combined references) and the wearer (i.e. finger of wearer; see Figure 4A of Kwon et al.).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. in view of Han et al. (and Kosonen et al.) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ye et al. (CN 114073520). Note that the below rejection refers to the English translation of Ye et al..
With regards to claim 2, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1. However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the first PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement comprises: a perfusion rate of the first PPG signal is less than or equal to a preset perfusion rate; and a distance between a projection region of the PD on the display screen and the second region is greater than a distance between the projection region of the PD on the display screen and the first region.
Han et al. disclose that the light information (432) associated with a separation distance (411) that is small compared to the separation distance (413) can be employed for applications requiring a higher PPG signal strength (i.e. signal quality requirement), and thus it would follow that the signal quality requirement (i.e. higher PPG signal strength) is not met when a distance between a projection region of the PD on the display screen and the second region is greater than a distance between the projection region of the PD on the display screen and the first region (paragraph [0041]; as depicted in Figure 4B, it is clear that the a first PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement (i.e. higher PPG signal strength) when the distance (413) between a projection region of the PD (404) and the second region (i.e. 416 region) is greater than a distance (411) between the projection of the PD (404) and the first region (i.e. 406 region), wherein light information (432) is the one selected as providing the higher PPG signal strength). Due to the different separation distances (411, 413), light information (432, 434) can provide various combinations of PPG signals and perfusion index values to allow the device to dynamically select light information for particular user skin types and usage conditions (e.g., sedentary, active motion, etc.) (paragraphs [0041], [0044]). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first PPG signal of the above combined references be determined to not satisfy the signal quality requirement if a distance between a projection region of the PD on the display screen and the second region is greater than a distance between the projection region of the PD on the display screen and the first region, as taught by Han et al., in order to allow the device to dynamically select light information for particular user skin types and usage conditions (e.g., sedentary, active motion, etc.) (paragraphs [0041], [0044]).
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the first PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement comprises a perfusion rate of the first PPG signal is less than or equal to a preset perfusion rate.
Ye et al. disclose judging the quality of a PPG signal for satisfying a blood oxygen detection condition, wherein when the blood perfusion rate (or perfusion rate, Perfusion Index, PI) is low, the signal-to-noise ratio of red light and infrared AC signal is low, and thus the signal quality is low and lead to inaccurate blood oxygen detection (Abstract; pg. 2, see Background, 2nd paragraph). Though Ye et al. do not specifically disclose the use of a “preset perfusion rate” to determine that the perfusion rate is low, Ye et al. do disclose the use of threshold for determining the quality of the PPG signal (pg. 3, last two paragraphs), which allows an effective judgement of the PPG quality. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the signal quality requirement comprising the perfusion rate of the PPG signal being “low” of Ye et al. to further comprise determining a perfusion rate of the first PPG signal is less than or equal to a preset perfusion rate, as taught by Ye et al., in order to effectively judge the PPG signal quality (Abstract; pg3, last two paragraphs).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first PPG signal of the above combined references be determined as not satisfying a signal quality requirement if a perfusion rate of the first PPG signal is less than or equal to a preset perfusion rate, as taught by Ye et al., in order to determine if the PPG signal satisfies a blood oxygen detection condition (pg. 2, see Background, 2nd paragraph).
Claim(s) 8, 10, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. in view of Han et al. (and Kosonen et al.) as applied to claims 1, 9 and 12 above, and further in view of Jones et al. (US Pub No. 2022/0133158).
With regards to claim 8, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1. Kwon et al. disclose that the pressure value comprises a plurality of pressure values (i.e. CP value associated with each PPG sensor of the array), the second PPG signal comprises a plurality of second PPG signals, the plurality of pressure values are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of second PPG signals, and a collection moment of each of the plurality of pressure values is same as that of a corresponding one of the second PPG signals (paragraph [0112], referring to the controller (140) extracting PPG signals from the PPG sensors (120) using a time-division method, and then select “an optimal PPG signal” therefrom, thereby achieving a more accurate blood pressure, wherein the “time-division method” would result in obtaining a plurality of PPG signals in respectively different time slots, wherein one of the plurality of PPG signals corresponds to the “second PPG signal”; Figures 4-6, 12, in particular, see Figure 12; paragraph [0076], referring to the contact pressure (CP) being obtained based on the touch force and contact area; paragraph [0078], Figures 4-6); and the determining a blood pressure value of a wearer based on the pressure value and the second PPG signal comprises: extracting a waveform feature of each of the plurality of second PPG signals and, based on the waveform feature, measure blood pressure and determine a diastolic blood pressure (DBP) in the blood pressure value of the wearer (paragraphs [0077]-[0080], referring to the controller analyzing the change of the PPG signal according to the CP and estimate the DBP and the SBP; Figures 4-6, wherein waveform features (i.e. amplitude) of the PPG signals is extracted, wherein the controller analyzes the change of the PPG signal according to the CP and estimate the DBP and the SBP; paragraph [0130], referring to the controller estimating the contact pressure corresponding to the maximum amplitude between a DBP and an SBP is an average blood pressure and estimate the DBP and the SBP at the maximum amplitude).
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the blood pressure is measured by inputting the plurality of pressure values and the waveform features of the plurality of second PPG signals into a neural network model, wherein the neural network model is trained based on a historical pressure value and a waveform feature of a historical PPG signal, and determining output of the neural network as the DBP.
Jones et al. disclose a blood pressure estimation model that includes a machine learning model, such as a neural network, wherein PPG signals are used as an input for measuring the blood pressure of the user and the machine learning model can be trained using labeled data (Abstract; paragraphs [0091], [0596]-[0602]). The processors can generate a blood pressure value using the PPG signal an the identified blood pressure estimation model (paragraph [0101]). The machine leaning model can be trained using historical PPG signals and other features that are used to determine blood pressure, such as finger placement condition or state [note that in Kwon et al., the finger placement condition/state is determined using the contact pressure (i.e. plurality of pressures)] (paragraphs [0470], [0493], paragraphs [0532]-[0533], referring to the training data being labeled data, which can include finger placement condition or state).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the blood pressure of the above combined references be measured by inputting the plurality of pressure values and the waveform features of the plurality of second PPG signals into a neural network model, wherein the neural network model is trained based on a historical pressure value and a waveform feature of a historical PPG signal, and determining output of the neural network as the blood pressure (i.e. DBP), as taught by Jones et al., as the above combined references require determining blood pressure (i.e. DBP) and Jones et al. teach a known technique for determining blood pressure (i.e. DBP) using a neural network model. That is, using the known technique for determining blood pressure, as desired by the above combined references, by inputting the plurality of pressure values and the waveform features of the plurality of PPG signals into a neural network model, etc., as taught by Jones et al., would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regards to claims 10 and 13, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claims 9 and 12. However, they do not specifically disclose that the method further comprises ending, during the pressure application by the wearer, blood pressure measurement if the following condition is satisfied: an acceleration of the wearable device is greater than an acceleration threshold; and/or an angular velocity of the wearable device is greater than an angular velocity threshold. Further, with regards to claim 13, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the measurement condition comprises at least one of the following: the acceleration of the wearable device is less than or equal to the acceleration threshold, the pressure value is greater than or equal to a pressure threshold, or the angular velocity of the wearable device is less than or equal to the angular velocity threshold, wherein the acceleration is configured for representing a contact situation between the wearable device and the wearer, and the pressure value is configured for representing a tightness for wearing the wearable device.
Jones et al. disclose that to obtain a good PPG signal, the user or at least a body part (e.g., a finger) of the user present on the photodetector should be still, wherein an accelerometer measuring acceleration can be used to capture the movement or measure the stillness of the user (Abstract; paragraph [0484]). If the amplitude (A) of the acceleration signal is greater than a theta threshold, the computer system can determine that movement has been detected and alert the user of the error condition wherein no PPG signal of the user is measured (paragraphs [0493]-[0495]). If the user is not still or moving at times during the measurement, such as is determined when A is less than the theta threshold, the computer system can use at least the region when the user is still to measure the PPG of the user, such that accurate PPG measurements can be obtained at least for the respective region (paragraph [0495], note that only using measurements when the user is still would correspond to ending the blood pressure measurement in the above combined references when the acceleration is greater than an acceleration threshold (i.e. theta threshold can be 0.05, 0.04, 0.045, 0.055, 0.06, etc., as set forth in paragraph [0493]); further the measurement condition is met when the acceleration is less than or equal to the acceleration threshold and the acceleration is configured for representing a contact situation between the wearable device and the wearer).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the method further comprise ending, during the pressure application by the wearer, blood pressure measurement if the following condition is satisfied: an acceleration of the wearable device is greater than an acceleration threshold; and/or an angular velocity of the wearable device is greater than an angular velocity threshold and further have the measurement condition of the above combined references comprise at least one of the following: the acceleration of the wearable device is less than or equal to the acceleration threshold, the pressure value is greater than or equal to a pressure threshold, or the angular velocity of the wearable device is less than or equal to the angular velocity threshold, wherein the acceleration is configured for representing a contact situation between the wearable device and the wearer, and the pressure value is configured for representing a tightness for wearing the wearable device, as taught by Jones et al., in order to obtain accurate PPG signals (paragraph [0484]).
With regards to claim 19, Kwon et al. disclose that the method further comprises displaying a first interface, wherein the first interface is configured to display a pressure curve, prompt information, and a waveform of the second PPG signal, the pressure curve is the operation guide, and the prompt information is configured for prompting a pressing duration of the wearer (paragraphs [0082]-[0087], referring to display which can display a guideline (GL) on a contact time axis and a contact pressure axis (i.e. pressure curve which serves as the operation guide), prompt information in the form of the guideline GL which the user can view to ensure that they do not deviate from a set range (associated with a time duration) along the guideline GL; further referring to the display of blood pressure information, including a warning or alarm and providing the PPG signal, touch force signal, etc.; Figures 7-9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to Kwon, Applicant argues that Kwon does not teach or suggest emitting a first optical signal through a first region of a display screen, determining that a first PPG signal obtained from the first optical signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement, and then emitting a second optical signal through a second region of the display screen after adjusting from the first region to the second region when the first PPG signal does not satisfy the signal quality requirement as Kwon’s selection of an optimal PPG signal from among PPG sensors is not the claimed adjustment of a display screen region “based on a signal quality requirement”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., determining that a first PPG signal obtained from the first optical signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner notes that the claim does set forth emitting the second optical signal after adjusting from the first region to the second region of the display screen “when the first PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement…”, but this does not necessarily require that an actual determination of when the first PPG signal does not satisfy the signal quality requirement occurs (i.e. the claim does not positively recite that a step of determining when the first PPG signal does not satisfy a signal quality requirement is performed). Kwon does disclose the above limitation as there is only one optimal PPG signal (see for example, paragraph [0112] of Kwon which sets forth selecting “an optimal PPG signal therefrom”) and therefore obtaining the plurality of PPG signals in the respectively different time slots (i.e. via the time-division method) would inherently require that the condition of the first PPG signal (i.e. signal associated with a PPG signal other than the selected optimal PPG signal) not satisfying the signal quality requirement (i.e. less than optimal PPG signals) exists and is associated with a PPG sensor in a different position from the position associated with the selected optimal PPG signal.
The claims therefore remain rejected under the previously applied prior art.
However, if this is not persuasive, the claim is alternatively rejected further in view of Kosonen.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798