Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on June 25, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 25, 2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0107] on page 17 of the specification states “. . . EO/PO-containing defoaming agents . . . according to the formula
and in paragraph [0109], the example recited is ethoxylated propoxylated 2-ethyl-1-hexanol, such as LFE-1410 and LFE-635. Examples S19-S31 in Table 5 also comprise the LFE-1410.
Hence, said compound is not consistent with the structural formula. It appears that the structural formula has an extra -CH2- group as shown by the arrow above.
Please also note that the same structural formula is shown in paragraphs [0018] and [0031] of the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is indefinite because the structural formula shown in line 3 does not particularly point out the subject matter of the invention, i.e., ethoxylated propoxylated 2-ethyl-1-hexanol or LFE-1410 as the defoaming agent, as supported in the specification in paragraph [0109] and Examples S19-S31 in Table 5. It is suggested that the structural formula be corrected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nielsen et al. (WO 2010/055052), hereinafter “Nielsen.”
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5-6, Nielsen teaches in Example 1, a liquid detergent composition A which comprises 3.0 wt% primary alcohol ethoxylate (C12-15, 7EO; which meets the first alcohol ethoxylate of claims 1-3); 2.5 wt% primary alcohol ethoxylate (C12-15, 3EO; which meets the second alcohol ethoxylate of claims 1-3); 0.5 wt% ethanol (which meets claim 6); and 2.0 wt% monopropylene glycol; which meets claim 5); among others (see page 7, line 20 to page 8, line 5); and wherein the liquid composition may be a fabric cleaning composition (see page 6, line 23).
Nielsen teaches the limitations of the instant claims. Hence, Nielsen anticipates the claims.
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sepulveda et al. (US Patent No. 4,954,286), hereinafter “Sepulveda.”
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5-7, Sepulveda teaches, in Example 1, a mousse concentrate for the pretreatment of fabric in advance of laundering (see abstract), which comprises 6.0 wt% Neodol 25-3 (C12-15 + 3EO alcohol ethoxylate; which meets the second alcohol ethoxylate of claims 1-3); 6.0 wt% Neodol 25-9 (C12-15 + 9EO alcohol ethoxylate; which meets the first alcohol ethoxylate of claims 1-3); 13.0 wt% isopropyl alcohol and 10.0 wt% propylene glycol ; which meets claims 5-7); among others (see Table 1 under col. 4).
Sepulveda teaches the limitations of the instant claims. Hence, Sepulveda anticipates the claims.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michel et al. (US 2003/0148908), hereinafter “Michel.”
Regarding claims 1-6, Michel teaches, in Example 1, a liquid detergent formulation for laundry wash use (see abstract) which comprises 12.600 wt% C13/C15 fatty alcohol with 7EO (which meets the first alcohol ethoxylate of claims 1-4); 9.000 wt% C13/C15 fatty alcohol with 3EO (which meets the second alcohol ethoxylate of claims 1-4); 4.260 wt% denatured ethyl alcohol (i.e., ethanol) and propylene glycol (which meets claims 5-6) (see [0058]).
Michel teaches the limitations of the instant claims. Hence, Michel anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Nielsen.
Regarding claim 7, Michel, as discussed above, teaches a liquid detergent formulation for laundry wash use (see abstract) which comprises ethyl alcohol (see [0058]). Michel, however, fails to disclose isopropyl alcohol.
Nielsen, an analogous art, teaches the features as discussed above. Nielsen also teaches the equivalency of ethanol (i.e., ethyl alcohol) with isopropanol (i.e., isopropyl alcohol) as alcohol solvents (see page 7, lines 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the ethyl alcohol or ethanol of Michel with isopropanol or isopropyl alcohol because the substitution of art recognized equivalents as shown by Nielsen on page 7, lines 2-4 is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In addition, the substitution of one alcohol solvent for another is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Balliet et al. (US 2020/0140790), hereinafter “Balliet.”
Regarding claims 8-9, Michel teaches the features as discussed above. As discussed above, Michel teaches that the liquid detergent formulation preferably contains an amount of 20 to 50% of a nonionic surfactant blend like alcohol ethoxylates (see [0026]). Michel, however, fails to disclose the incorporation of ethoxylated/propoxylated 2-ethyl hexanol in its recited amount.
Balliet, an analogous art in cleaning compositions (see abstract), teaches nonionic surfactants like alcohol ethoxylates which include ethoxylated/propoxylated 2-ethyl hexanol EO-PO (see [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated ethoxylated/propoxylated 2-ethyl hexanol EO-PO into the liquid detergent composition of Michel because Michel specifically desires a blend of alcohol ethoxylates, and the ethoxylated/propoxylated 2-ethyl hexanol EO-PO is another alcohol ethoxylate as taught by Balliet. With respect to the amount of the ethoxylated/propoxylated 2-ethyl hexanol, considering that Michel teaches a total amount of 20 to 50 wt% nonionic surfactant blend, and considering that Michel already teaches 21.6 wt% alcohol ethoxylate blend in Example 1, i.e., 12.6 wt% C13/C15 fatty alcohol with 7EO + 9 wt% C13/C15 fatty alcohol with 3EO, the ethoxylated/propoxylated 2-ethyl hexanol EO-PO may be incorporated in amounts, say 1-10 wt%, to provide a total amount of about 23 to 33 wt% nonionic surfactant blend.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel as applied to claims 1-6 above.
Regarding claim 10, Michel teaches the features as discussed above. In addition, Michel teaches that the liquid detergent formulation preferably contains an amount of 20 to 50% of a nonionic surfactant blend, for example a blend of a condensed product of a C13/C15 synthetic alcohol with 3 moles of ethylene oxide and a condensed product of C13/C15 synthetic alcohol with 7 or 8 moles of ethylene oxide is preferred (see [0026]). In Example 3, Michel teaches a liquid detergent formulation which comprises 20.0 wt% C13/C15 fatty alcohol with 7 EO, 5.95 wt% denatured ethyl alcohol and 6.0 wt% propylene glycol, among others (see [0080]). Michel, however, fails to specifically disclose the incorporation of a C13/C15 fatty alcohol with 3 moles of ethylene oxide, say in Example 3, in an amount from about 10 wt% to about 30 wt%.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated C13/C15 fatty alcohol with 3 moles of ethylene oxide in its optimum proportion, say in Example 3, because Michel teaches that it is preferred to use a blend of a C13/C15 synthetic alcohol with 3 moles of ethylene oxide and a C13/C15 synthetic alcohol with 7 or 8 moles of ethylene as disclosed in [0026]. With respect to the specific amount of the C13/C15 fatty alcohol with 3 moles of ethylene oxide, considering that Michel teaches from 20 to 50 wt% total amount of a nonionic surfactant blend, and Michel already teaches 20 wt% C13/C15 fatty alcohol with 7 EO in Example 3, the remainder, like for example, 10 to 30 wt% may be attributed to the C13/C15 synthetic alcohol with 3 moles of ethylene oxide to provide a total amount of 30 to 50 wt% nonionic surfactant blend.
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761